DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 07/15/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-11, 13-15 are pending in the application. The 112(d) rejection previously set forth is withdrawn in view of the amendment and remarks.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner notes the remarks indicate that a terminal disclaimer was filed, but no terminal disclaimer appears in the file.
In response to applicant’s argument that Wong is directed to resin regeneration and cleaning, Wong teaches methods of purifying a polypeptide from an impurity using ion exchange material (0009-0015, 0036-0045, 0115-0123, 0163-0179).
In response to applicant’s argument that Wong teaches Protein A followed by cation exchange, and citing example 1, using ion exchange chromatography, in embodiments the ion exchange is anion exchange (0014, 0018, 0117-0123, 0165-0196), examiner notes “A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments” (see MPEP 2123), in the interest of compact prosecution, see modified rejections below in view of Coffman.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Examiner notes examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiment (see MPEP 2123, “A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments”), and the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Wong teaches purification of antibodies, including omalizumab, with Protein A and anion exchange, Coffman teaches the specific combination of Protein A followed by flow through anion exchange removes HMW species, Yang teaches flow through anion exchange (0104, 0163-0166), antibodies include all therapeutic antibodies typically used in the art (0030), and when a neutral pH buffer is used, antibodies with higher isoelectric points escape without being attached to the anion exchange resin (0104), the anion exchange column adsorbs cation-bearing proteins at the isoelectric point or higher, in the case of an antibody with an isoelectric point of 7 or higher, when a neutral pH buffer is used the antibody escapes to the flow through without being attached to the anion exchange resin (0164).
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
Claim 1-15 of this application is patentably indistinct from claim 6-20, 27-31 of Application No. 17/922734. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7-17, 19-20, 22-31 of copending Application No. 17/922734 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims recite a substantially similar process comprising purification of an antibody or fusion protein with a pI of 7-8, and high molecular weight impurity, using Protein A or G affinity chromatography (instant claim 1, reference claims 21, 27), viral inactivation (instant claim 1, reference claims 1, 27), anion exchange with a pH 7-7.5 buffer (instant claim 1, reference claims 1, 27), specific HMW (instant claims 1-4, reference claims 27, 28), HWM reduction (instant claims 6-8, reference claims 7-9), pI, IgE, omalizumbab (instant claims 1, 10-12, reference claims 10, 11, 16, 17), buffer (instant claim 13, reference claim 15), resin (instant claim 14, 15, reference claim 19, 20).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong (US PG Pub 2022/0203347), with evidence from Sutter (US PG Pub 2021/0130396) and Yang, in view of Yang (US PG Pub 2023/0124565) and Coffman (US PG Pub 2013/0317198).
With respect to claim 1, Wong teaches purifying polypeptides, in embodiments the polypeptide is an antibody (0019), the pI of the polypeptide may be about any of 6 to 10, 7 to 9, or 8 to 9 In some embodiments, the polypeptide has a pi of about any of 6, 7, 7.5, 8, 8.5, 9, 9.5, or 10 (0229, pl of 7 to 8), purifying a polypeptide from a composition comprising the polypeptide and an impurity using an anion exchange chromatography material (0038, a process of purifying an antibody or fusion protein with pI of 7 to 8 from a protein mixture comprising antibody or fusion protein), contaminants removed include variants and aggregates or derivatives of the polypeptide (0083, 0211) and HMW (0216, 0564-0565, and high molecular weight (HMW) impurity), analyzed by SE-HPLC (0188-0189, 0565), using ion exchange chromatography, in embodiments the ion exchange is anion exchange (0014, 0018, 0117-0123, 0165-0196), in embodiments using affinity chromatography including Protein A, Protein G prior to ion exchange chromatography (0020), in embodiments the antibody is omalizumab (0019, 0235, 0544), loading the composition on the ion exchange chromatography material (0010), wherein the load density exceeds the dynamic binding capacity of the ion exchange chromatography for the polypeptide; c) collecting fractions comprising the polypeptide (0010-0014, 0117-0123, loading the protein mixture obtained from step (b) onto anion exchange resin), impurities preferentially bind to the resin while the product breakthrough is collected (0003, 0049, eluting the protein mixture in a flow-through mode whereby HMW impurity binds to the anion exchange resin).
While Wong does not provide an example of Protein A followed by anion exchange or specifically state that anion exchange removes HMW, the use of Protein A followed by anion exchange, and anion exchange reducing HMW is known in the art as shown by Coffman, Coffman teaches
methods purifying protein such as an antibody, e.g. a monoclonal antibody, using a Protein A column followed by flow through anion exchange (0037-0041, 0066), where HMW species are removed by the anion exchange step (0121, 0131).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the specific step of Protein A followed by anion exchange as taugtht by Coffman, as Protein A followed by anion exchange is known in the art as shown by Coffman for reduction of HMW, and the courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143.
Wong teaches methods of purifying a polypeptide from an impurity using ion exchange material comprising equilibrating with an equilibration buffer, loading on the ion exchange material, collecting fractions, washing the ion exchange material with the equilibration buffer (0009-0015, 0036-0045, 0115-0123, 0163-0179), in embodiments the wash buffer is the same as the load buffer (0206), in embodiments the pH of the equilibrium buffer is about 6-10, or any of 6.0, 6.5, 7.0, 7.5, 8.0, 8.5, 9.0, 9.5 or 10.0 (0135, 0149, using a buffer having the pH in the range of 7.0 to 7.5). Wong teaches the recited protein and pH values which include the recited range, without showing unexpected results, the claimed pH cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the loading buffer pH in order that the protein to be purified does not bind (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223), and as evidenced by Sutter, Sutter teaches methods for purifying proteins (abstract), including omalizumab (0019), using Protein A chromatography followed by chromatography including anion exchange (0006-0009), and that the skilled person knows how to adapt the pH and/or the salt condition of the buffer in view of the pI (Isoelectric Point) of the protein to be purified in order that the protein to be purified does not bind (0057, 0068).
Additionally, Yang teaches methods of preparing and purifying high purity antibodies (abstract, 0001-0012), antibodies having an isoelectric point of 7-9 (0030), where the anion serves to exchange a specific anion in an aqueous solution with its own anion and the antibody escapes without being attached to the anion exchange resin when a neutral pH buffer is used, but impurities including with a low isoelectric point may be removed while being adsorbed onto the anion exchange resin, passing through an anion exchange column, and use of a buffer with a pH of 7.0-8.0, with an example of 7.5 (0018-0022, 0103-106, loading onto an anion exchange resin with a suitable buffer at suitable pH selected from a pH of 7.0 to 7.5); flow through anion exchange (0104, 0163-0166), antibodies include all therapeutic antibodies typically used in the art (0030), and when a neutral pH buffer is used, antibodies with higher isoelectric points escape without being attached to the anion exchange resin (0104), the anion exchange column adsorbs cation-bearing proteins at the isoelectric point or higher, in the case of an antibody with an isoelectric point of 7 or higher, when a neutral pH buffer is used the antibody escapes to the flow through without being attached to the anion exchange resin (0164).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a modify Wong's taught method to include Yang's method neutral buffer allows antibodies to escape to the flow through without being attached to the anion exchange resin and a buffer with pH of 7.0 to 7.5, into Wong's taught method, in order to allow antibodies with a higher isoelectric point to escape without being attached to the anion exchange resin (Yang 0104, 0164).
Wong teaches in examples virus inactivation prior to Protein A (0192), after anion exchange (0191, 0193), not specifically b) Subjecting the protein mixture obtained from affinity chromatography to viral inactivation. Yang teaches a similar system as discussed above, and steps of virus inactivation before and after anion exchange (0012, 0085-0090), and between chromatography steps (0128), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to subject the protein mixture obtained from affinity chromatography to viral inactivation, as a matter of design choice in view of Yang, as Yang teaches virus inactivation between chromatography steps, and selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (see MPEP 2144.04 IV. C), in the absence of new or unexpected results.
With respect to the limitations of wherein the eluted protein mixture obtained in step (d) comprises substantially pure monomer of the antibody or fusion protein and less than 0.5% of HMW impurity analyzed by Size Exclusion High-Performance Liquid Chromatography (SE-HPLC) Analysis, Wong and Yang teach purification of antibodies, Wong teaches the amount of aggregated protein may be reduced by a number of ranges of 5% to about 99% (0216), analyzed by SEC (0564-0565) Yang teaches in embodiments antibodies purified with a high purity of 99.9%, and a prepared population of antibodies containing the residual DNA and the host cell protein at a concentration of 0.1 ppb and 5 ppm or less, respectively (0117). Examiner notes "Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed. A “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.” Id. (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003); MPEP §2111.04). Where a reference discloses the terms of the recited method steps, and such steps necessarily result in the desired and recited effect, the fact that the reference does not describe the recited effect in haec verba is of no significance because the reference meets the claim under the doctrine of inherency." While the taught combination does not explicitly teach the HMW impurity is less than 0.5%, absent clarification of differences over the art, the recited values are considered inherent.
With respect to claims 2-4, the process of purifying an antibody or fusion protein with pI of 7 to 8 from the protein mixture as claimed in claim 1, is taught above. As noted above, Wong and Yang teach purification of antibodies, Wong teaches the amount of aggregated protein may be reduced by a number of ranges of 5% to about 99% (0216), analyzed by SEC (0564-0565); Yang teaches in embodiments antibodies purified with a high purity of 99.9%, and a prepared population of antibodies containing the residual DNA and the host cell protein at a concentration of 0.1 ppb and 5 ppm or less, respectively (0117). Examiner notes "Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed. A “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.” Id. (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003); MPEP §2111.04). Where a reference discloses the terms of the recited method steps, and such steps necessarily result in the desired and recited effect, the fact that the reference does not describe the recited effect in haec verba is of no significance because the reference meets the claim under the doctrine of inherency." While the taught combination does not explicitly teach the HMW impurity is less than 0.4%, less than 0.3%, less than 0.2%, less than 0.1%, absent clarification of differences over the art, the recited values are considered inherent.
With respect to claims 6-8 the process of purifying an antibody or fusion protein with p1 of 7 to 8from the protein mixture as claimed in claim 1, is taught above. Wong teaches the amount of aggregated protein may be reduced by a number of ranges of 5% to about 99% (0216), analyzed by SEC (0564-0565) wherein HMW reduced by at least 80% analyzed by Size Exclusion High- Performance Liquid Chromatography (SE-HPLC) Analysis, HMW reduced by at least 90%, HMW reduced by at least 95%.
With respect to claims 9 and 10, the process of purifying an antibody or fusion protein with pI of 7 to 8 from the protein mixture as claimed in claim 1, is taught above. Wong teaches omalizumab (0019, 0235, 0544), and antibodies with isoelectric points of 6 to 10, 7 to 9, or 8 to 9, 6, 7, 7.5, 8, 8.5, 9, 9.5, or 10 (0229), the antibody or fusion protein has pI selected from 7.5, 7.6, 7.7, and 7.9, the antibody or fusion protein has pI 7.6).
With respect to claim 11, the process of purifying an antibody or fusion protein with pI of 7 to 8 from the protein mixture as claimed in claim 1 is taught above. Wong teaches omalizumab and IgE (0019, 0235, 0543-0544), wherein the antibody is capable to bind to IgE.
With respect to claim 13, the process of purifying an antibody or fusion protein with pl of 7 to 8
from the protein mixture as claimed in claim 1, is taught above. The taught combination teaches a buffer
as discussed above, Yang teaches Tris-HCL (0106, 0165-0167, buffer is selected from Sodium Phosphate, Tris-HCI, HEPES, Glycine-NaOH, and Tris-Acetate).
With respect to claims 14 and 15, the process of purifying an antibody or fusion protein with pI of 7 to 8 from the protein mixture as claimed in claim 1, is taught above. Wong teaches anion exchange materials known in the art and include, but are not limited to Poros™ HQ 50 (0185), wherein the anion exchange is a strong anion exchange, is POROS 50 HQ.
Claim 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong (US PG Pub 2022/0203347), with evidence from Sutter (US PG Pub 2021/0130396) and Yang, in view of Yang (US PG Pub 2023/0124565), in view of Sutter.
With respect to claim 13, the process of purifying an antibody or fusion protein with p1 of 7 to 8 from the protein mixture as claimed in claim 1, is taught above. The taught combination teaches a buffer as discussed above, Sutter teaches a similar system as discussed above and that buffers include but are not limited to phosphate buffers, Tris buffers including sodium phosphate (0053, 0057), Yang teaches Tris-HCL (0106, 0165-0167, buffer is selected from Sodium Phosphate, Tris-HCl, HEPES, Glycine-NaOH, and Tris-Acetate). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a sodium phosphate buffer as taught by Sutter as sodium phosphate is known in the art as a loading buffer in methods to purify omalizumab and the courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143.
Conclusion
/JEANNIE MCDERMOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/BRADLEY R SPIES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776