DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 15, 17, 19 and 22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 15, the preamble, "The glove" should read "The handwear" for consistency;
In claim 17, lines 2-3, "handwear -mounted" appears to read "handwear-mounted";
In claim 19, line 2, "each glove comprising each glove comprising" appears to read "each glove comprising".
In claim 22, the preamble, "A glove or pair of gloves" appears to read "The glove or pair of gloves".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 2-8, 10-11, 13, 16-18 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "a plurality of lighted components", which renders the claim indefinite. Claim 2 depends from claim 1, and claim 1 has set forth one or more lighted components. It is unclear whether "a plurality of lighted components" is referring to the previously defined one or more lighted components in claim 1 or different lighted components. For clarity, if the terms are to the same element, a consistent name should be used with "said" or "the" when referring back. For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted the one or more lighted components comprising a plurality of lighted components.
Similarly, claim 3 recites the limitation "four lighted components", which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether "four lighted components" is referring to the previously defined one or more lighted components in claim 1, the plurality of lighted components in claim 2 or different lighted components. For clarity, if the terms are to the same element, a consistent name should be used with "said" or "the" when referring back. For examination purposes, taken together the interpretation for claim 2, the examiner has interpreted the plurality of lighted components in claim 3 comprising four lighted components.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "wherein the second controller comprises application software installed on a mobile device", which renders the claim indefinite. The claim depends from claim 9, and claim 9 has set forth "a second controller not mounted on the handwear". As such, the second controller is not a part of the claimed handwear thus beyond the scope of the claimed handwear. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear and cannot be ascertained.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "wherein the second controller comprises application software installed on a mobile device", which renders the claim indefinite. The claim depends from claim 9, and claim 9 has set forth "a second controller not mounted on the handwear". As such, the second controller is not a part of the claimed handwear thus beyond the scope of the claimed handwear. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear and cannot be ascertained.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the motorcycle". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been construed to be a motorcycle.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the one and the another items", which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear what is being referred to. In addition, for clarity, when multiple terms have the same name but are intended to be distinct elements, clearly distinct labels, such as "first element" and "second element" should be used to make the distinct nature clear. For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted that the handwear comprising a first item of handwear configured to be donned on a left hand and a second item of handwear configured to be donned a right hand of the wearer, the first and second items of handwear comprising a pair.
Claim 20 recites the limitations "at least one lighted component", and "at least one other lighted component", which render the claim indefinite. Claim 20 depends from claim 19, and claim 19 has set forth "a plurality of lighted components". It is unclear whether the limitations are referring to any of the plurality of lighted components or different. In addition, for clarity, when multiple terms have the same name but are intended to be distinct elements, clearly distinct labels, such as "first element" and "second element" should be used to make the distinct nature clear. For examination purposes, the limitations have been respectively construed to be at least one first lighted component of the plurality of lighted components and at least one second lighted component of the plurality of lighted components
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the one or more lighted components", which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 20 depends from claim 19, and claim 19 has set forth "a plurality of lighted components". For examination purposes, the limitation has been construed to be the plurality of lighted components.
Similarly, claim 21 recites the limitation "the one or more lighted components", which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, taken the interpretation for claim 20, the limitation has been construed to be "the plurality of lighted components".
The remaining claims each depend from a rejected base claim and are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tiffin (US 2019/0166933 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tiffin discloses a handwear (illuminated glove 10; figs. 1-2; para. 0045) configured to be worn on a donned hand of a wearer (figs. 1-2; para. 0045), the handwear comprising
one or more lighted components (light sources 20; figs. 1-2; para. 0045) configured to emit light visible from at least a position distal and laterally adjacent to the donned hand of the wearer (figs. 1-2, 7; paras. 0045, 0059).
Regarding claim 2, Tiffin discloses the handwear of claim 1, and further discloses the handwear comprising a plurality of lighted components (light sources 20; figs. 1-2; para. 0045), each lighted component positioned to align with the dorsal aspect of one of the metacarpophalangeal finger joints of the donned hand of the wearer (in a horizontal direction; figs. 1-2; paras. 0050, 0059).
Regarding claim 3, Tiffin discloses the handwear of claim 2, and further discloses the handwear comprising four lighted components (more or less than 5, including four; para. 0057), each positioned to align with the dorsal aspect of one of the metacarpophalangeal finger joints of the donned hand of the wearer (in a horizontal direction; figs. 1-2; paras. 0050, 0059).
Regarding claim 5, Tiffin discloses the handwear of claim 2, and further discloses wherein at least one of the lighted components is configured to have a different color than at least one of the other of the plurality of lighted components (paras. 0061, 0090) or wherein the one or more lighted components are configured to blink, flash, or strobe in one or more patterns (paras. 0045, 0061).
Regarding claim 6, Tiffin discloses the handwear of claim 5, and further discloses wherein the one or more lighted components are configured to blink, flash, and/or strobe between a first color light and a second color light or to strobe a static color (paras. 0045, 0061).
Regarding claim 8, Tiffin discloses the handwear of claim 6, and further discloses wherein the second color light comprises white light, and the first color light is selected from the group consisting of: yellow, green, orange, and non-emergency shades of red and blue (white, green, red or blue; para. 0090).
Regarding claim 14, Tiffin discloses the handwear of claim 1, and further discloses the handwear further comprising at least one activation switch (switch 30; figs. 4A-4B; para. 0058) disposed on the handwear (figs. 4A-4B; para. 0058) for controlling one or more functions of the one or more lighted components selected from the group consisting of: on/off status, color selection, and illumination pattern (at least on/off status; para. 0058).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garvey (US 2017/0257934 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Garvey discloses a handwear (glove 1000; fig. 10; paras. 0048, 0063) configured to be worn on a donned hand of a wearer (function of a glove; fig. 10), the handwear comprising one or more lighted components (LED lights; paras. 0048, 0063) configured to emit light visible from at least a position distal and laterally adjacent to the donned hand of the wearer (fig. 10; para. 0063).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, 15-16, 19-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiffin (US 2019/0166933 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Tiffin discloses the handwear of claim 3, and further discloses wherein the handwear comprises a glove, and each of the lighted components is inset within a knuckle-protective member (inset within a pocket of housing 18; figs. 1-2; paras. 0045-0046) positioned to align with the dorsal aspect of one of the metacarpophalangeal finger joints of the donned hand of the wearer (figs. 1-2; paras. 0045-0046).
Tiffin does not explicitly disclose wherein the knuckle-protective member is rigid. However, Tiffin does disclose wherein the knuckle-protective member is constructed from any weather-resistant polymeric material (para. 0056). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected the weather-resistant polymeric material of the knuckle-protective member to be rigid, in order to provide a highly durable and impact-resistant material for the knuckle-protective member. Such a configuration would be considered as a mere choice of preferred material that is on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 7, Tiffin discloses the handwear of claim 6. Tiffin does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of lighted components is configured to alternate between a first color light and a second color light, wherein the first color light of each lighted component is different from the first color light of each other lighted component, and the second color light of all of the lighted components is the same. However, Tiffin does disclose wherein the plurality of lighted components are configured to change colors in a desired sequence (paras. 0060-0061, 0090). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the illumination pattern as claimed, in order to use a suitable illumination pattern as desired. Such a configuration is within the level of one of ordinary skill of the art.
Regarding claim 15, Tiffin discloses the handwear of claim 4. Tiffin does not explicitly disclose wherein the glove has a knuckle protection impact transmission resistance of less than 9 kN, optionally less than 5 kN, to an impact created by dropping a 2.5-kilogram mass onto the glove with an impact energy of 5 joules. However, Tiffin does disclose wherein the glove is configured to be used by any user who desires lighting while wearing the gloves such as cyclists, athletes, outdoorsmen, and survivalists (para. 0045). Tiffin has disclosed the general conditions of the handwear. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the glove to have a knuckle protection impact transmission resistance as claimed, since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range, and can be discovered by routine experimentation depending on the desired characteristics of a final product. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 16, Tiffin discloses the handwear of claim 1. Tiffin does not explicitly disclose the handwear comprising one item of handwear configured to be donned on a left hand and another item of handwear configured to be donned a right hand of the wearer, the one and the another items of handwear comprising a pair. However, Tiffin does disclose pairing of the gloves (para. 0088). Further, it has been a common practice to make pairs of gloves for both a left hand and a right hand of a human. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have made a pair of the glove of Tiffin, in order to provide illumination-enhanced protection for both left and right gloves. Such a configuration is within the level of one of ordinary skill of the art.
Regarding claim 19, Tiffin discloses a glove or pair of gloves (illuminated glove 10; figs. 1-2; para. 0045) configured to be worn on at least one donned hand of a wearer (figs. 1-2; para. 0045), each glove comprising a plurality of lighted components (light sources 20; figs. 1-2; para. 0045), each lighted component configured to emit light visible from at least a position distal and laterally adjacent to the donned hand of the wearer (figs. 1-2, 7; paras. 0045, 0059), each of the lighted components inset within a rigid knuckle-protective member (inset within a pocket of housing 18; figs. 1-2; paras. 0045-0046) positioned to align with the dorsal aspect of one of the metacarpophalangeal finger joints of the donned hand of the wearer (figs. 1-2; paras. 0045-0046).
Tiffin does not explicitly disclose wherein the knuckle-protective member is rigid. However, Tiffin does disclose wherein the knuckle-protective member is constructed from any weather-resistant polymeric material (para. 0056). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected the weather-resistant polymeric material of the knuckle-protective member to be rigid, in order to provide a highly durable and impact-resistant material for the knuckle-protective member. Such a configuration would be considered as a mere choice of preferred material that is on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Tiffin does not explicitly disclose each glove having a knuckle protection impact transmission resistance of less than 9 kN, measured by dropping a 2.5-kilogram mass onto the glove with an impact energy of 5 joules. However, Tiffin does disclose wherein the glove is configured to be used by any user who desires lighting while wearing the gloves such as cyclists, athletes, outdoorsmen, and survivalists (para. 0045), which involves various degrees of impact hazards to a wearer's hands. Tiffin has disclosed the general conditions of the handwear. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the glove to have a knuckle protection impact transmission resistance as claimed in order to protect a wearer's hand against at least minor impact hazards, since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range, and can be discovered by routine experimentation depending on the desired characteristics of a final product. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 20, Tiffin discloses the glove or pair of gloves of claim 19, and further discloses wherein: at least one lighted component is configured to have a different color than at least one other lighted component (paras. 0061, 0090); the one or more lighted components are configured to blink, flash, or strobe in one or more illumination patterns; or a combination thereof (paras. 0045, 0061).
Regarding claim 22, Tiffin discloses the glove or pair of gloves of claim 20, and further discloses the glove or pair of gloves further comprising at least one activation switch (switch 30; figs. 4A-4B; para. 0058) disposed on at least one glove (figs. 4A-4B; para. 0058) for controlling one or more functions selected from the group consisting of: on/off status, color selection, and illumination pattern (at least on/off status; para. 0058).
Claims 9-13, 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiffin (US 2019/0166933 A1) in view of Garvey (US 2017/0257934 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Tiffin discloses the handwear of claim 1, and further discloses the handwear further comprising a handwear-mounted controller (a controller including an illumination data controller; paras. 0061-0062) of the one or more lighted components (paras. 0061-0062) configured to establish a wireless communication link with a second controller not mounted on the handwear to send and receive data (configured for communication with other wireless receivers and transmitters to send and receive data; paras. 0063, 0085).
Tiffin does not explicitly disclose wherein the handwear-mounted controller is configured to control at least one aspect of the one or more lighted components based upon a signal received from the second controller. However, Garvey, in an analogous art, teaches a handwear (glove 1000; fig. 10; paras. 0048, 0063) comprising a handwear-mounted controller (a wireless receiver unit 200; figs. 2, 10; paras. 0048, 0056, 0058, 0063) of one or more lighted components (LED lights 604; fig. 10; paras. 0048, 0063) configured to establish a wireless communication link with a second controller (a wireless transmitter 100; fig. 1; para. 0039) not mounted on the handwear (in a mobile phone or mounted on a motorcycle; figs. 3-4; paras. 0041-0042) and to control at least one aspect of the one or more lighted components based upon a signal received from the second controller (paras. 0048, 0056, 0058, 0063). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the handwear-mounted controller as disclosed by Tiffin, with wherein the handwear-mounted controller is configured to control at least one aspect of the one or more lighted components based upon a signal received from the second controller as taught by Garvey, in order to provide an approach to remotely control the one or more lighted components for generating a corresponding illumination pattern.
Regarding claim 10, the claim does not provide any additional feature for the claimed handwear. In addition, Garvey further teaches wherein the second controller comprises application software installed on a mobile device (fig. 3; para. 0041).
Regarding claim 11, the claim does not provide any additional feature for the claimed handwear. In addition, Garvey further teaches wherein the second controller is configured to control lighted features of a vehicle operated by the wearer (fig. 4; para. 0042).
Regarding claim 12, Tiffin and Garvey, in combination, disclose the handwear of claim 11, and Tiffin further discloses wherein the first controller is configured to control an aspect of the one or more lighted components selected from the group consisting of: on/off, intensity, blinking/flashing/strobing pattern, color, and combination thereof, based upon a signal received from the second controller (paras. 0061, 0063, 0085).
Regarding claim 13, Tiffin and Garvey, in combination, disclose the handwear of claim 12. Tiffin does not explicitly disclose wherein the first controller is configured to change the aspect of the one or more lighted components based upon a signal from the second controller corresponding to activation of one or more lights on the motorcycle consisting of: a turn signal, a hazard flasher, a brake light, a headlight, a parking light, a running light, or a combination thereof. However, Garvey teaches wherein the first controller is configured to change the aspect of the one or more lighted components (yellow or orange left and right turn signal LEDs; paras. 0003, 0063; claims 1, 4) based upon a signal from the second controller corresponding to activation of one or more lights on the motorcycle consisting of: a turn signal, a hazard flasher, a brake light, a headlight, a parking light, a running light, or a combination thereof (left and right turn signals paras. 0003, 0063; claims 1, 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the first controller as disclosed by Tiffin, with wherein the first controller is configured to change the aspect of the one or more lighted components based upon a signal from the second controller corresponding to activation of one or more lights on the motorcycle consisting of: a turn signal, a hazard flasher, a brake light, a headlight, a parking light, a running light, or a combination thereof as taught by Garvey, in order to provide timely light signals using a rider's gloves for better visibility thereby preventing possible accidents.
Regarding claim 17, Tiffin discloses a handwear system comprising the pair of handwear of claim 16 as discussed above, and further discloses a handwear-mounted controller (a controller including an illumination data controller; paras. 0061-0062) disposed in each item of handwear (paras. 0061-0062), each handwear-mounted controller configured to be communicatively coupled to a remote controller to establish a wireless communication link to send and receive data (configured for communication with other wireless receivers and transmitters to send and receive data; paras. 0063, 0085).
Tiffin does not explicitly disclose wherein the handwear-mounted controller configured to control an aspect of the one or more lighted components in at least one of the items of handwear based upon a signal received from the remote controller. However, Garvey, in an analogous art, teaches a handwear (glove 1000; fig. 10; paras. 0048, 0063) comprising a handwear-mounted controller (a wireless receiver unit 200; figs. 2, 10; paras. 0048, 0056, 0058, 0063) of one or more lighted components (LED lights; paras. 0048, 0056, 0058, 0063) configured to be communicatively coupled to a remote controller (a wireless transmitter 100 in a mobile phone or mounted on a motorcycle; figs. 1, 3-4; paras. 0039, 0041-0042) configured to control an aspect of the one or more lighted components in at least one of the items of handwear based upon a signal received from the remote controller (paras. 0048, 0056, 0058, 0063). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the handwear-mounted controller as disclosed by Tiffin, with wherein the handwear-mounted controller configured to control an aspect of the one or more lighted components in at least one of the items of handwear based upon a signal received from the remote controller as taught by Garvey, in order to provide an approach to remotely control the one or more lighted components for generating a corresponding illumination pattern.
Regarding claim 21, Tiffin discloses the glove or pair of gloves of claim 20, and further discloses wherein each glove comprises a glove-mounted controller (a controller including an illumination data controller; paras. 0061-0062) configured to: control the plurality of lighted components (para. 0061), establish a communication link with a second controller not mounted on the glove (configured for communication with other wireless receivers and transmitters to send and receive data; paras. 0063, 0085), control at least one aspect of the one or more lighted components based upon a signal received from the second controller, or combination thereof.
Tiffin does not explicitly disclose wherein the glove-mounted controller is configured to control at least one aspect of the one or more lighted components based upon a signal received from the second controller. However, Garvey, in an analogous art, teaches a handwear (glove 1000; fig. 10; paras. 0048, 0063) comprising a handwear-mounted controller (a wireless receiver unit 200; figs. 2, 10; paras. 0048, 0056, 0058, 0063) of one or more lighted components (LED lights 604; fig. 10; paras. 0048, 0063) configured to establish a wireless communication link with a second controller (a wireless transmitter 100; fig. 1; para. 0039) not mounted on the handwear (in a mobile phone or mounted on a motorcycle; figs. 3-4; paras. 0041-0042) and to control at least one aspect of the one or more lighted components based upon a signal received from the second controller (paras. 0048, 0056, 0058, 0063). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the handwear-mounted controller as disclosed by Tiffin, with wherein the handwear-mounted controller is configured to control at least one aspect of the one or more lighted components based upon a signal received from the second controller as taught by Garvey, in order to provide an approach to remotely control the one or more lighted components for generating a corresponding illumination pattern.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garvey (US 2017/0257934 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Garvey discloses the handwear of claim 1. Garvey does not explicitly disclose the handwear comprising one item of handwear configured to be donned on a left hand and another item of handwear configured to be donned a right hand of the wearer, the one and the another items of handwear comprising a pair. However, Garvey does disclose multiple gloves (gloves; para. 0063). Further, it has been a common practice to make pairs of gloves with same features for both a left hand and a right hand of a human. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have made a pair of the gloves of Garvey with the same features, one for a left hand and the other one for the right hand, in order to provide illumination-enhanced protection for both left and right gloves. Such a configuration is within the level of one of ordinary skill of the art.
Regarding claim 17, Garvey discloses a handwear system comprising the pair of handwear of claim 16 as discussed above. Garvey further discloses a handwear-mounted controller (a wireless receiver unit 200; figs. 2, 10; paras. 0048, 0056, 0058, 0063) disposed in each item of handwear (fig. 10; para. 0063), each handwear-mounted controller configured to be communicatively coupled to a remote controller (a wireless transmitter 100; fig. 1; para. 0039) configured to control an aspect of the one or more lighted components in at least one of the items of handwear based upon a signal received from the remote controller (paras. 0048, 0056, 0058, 0063).
Regarding claim 18, Garvey discloses the handwear system of claim 17, and further discloses the handwear system further comprising the remote controller (wireless transmitter 100; fig. 1; para. 0039), wherein the remote controller is a vehicle-mounted controller (fig. 4; para. 0042) configured to communicate an illumination signal from the vehicle (fig. 4; para. 0042) or a mobile-device-mounted controller (fig. 3; para. 0041) comprising interactive application software running on the mobile device configured to send one or more operating signals to the handwear based upon wearer input (figs. 3, 10; para. 0041, 0063).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional relevant references cited on attached PTO-892 form(s) can be used to formulate a rejection if necessary. Chung-Piao (US 5,177,467 A) and Shin (KR 200418507 Y1) each can be another 102 reference.
/AIYING ZHAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732