DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final rejection on the merits of this application. Claims 1-20 are currently pending, as discussed below.
Examiner Notes that the fundamentals of the rejections are based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. Applicant is kindly invited to consider the reference as a whole. References are to be interpreted as by one of ordinary skill in the art rather than as by a novice. See MPEP 2141. Therefore, the relevant inquiry when interpreting a reference is not what the reference expressly discloses on its face but what the reference would teach or suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 is indefinite because it is unclear how a passenger of claim 5 is seated in the first row seat if the first row seat is positioned in the non-seating section. Under broadest reasonable interpretation these limitations are contradictory.
Claim 12 is indefinite because is unclear what the metes and bounds of relative term "close to the reference value" since relative terms are indefinite.
Claim(s) depending from claims expressly noted above are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 by/for reason of their dependency from a noted claim that is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, for the reasons given.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yaldo; Valor (US 20200353844 A1) in view of PROSS FRITZ(GB 2172500 A) (Machine Translation Attached) and IOPPOLO; Leo et al. (US 20170136920 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yaldo teaches, a seat control apparatus for a vehicle having a first-row seat and a second-row seat positioned rearward of the first-row seat (Fig. 1 depicts second front seat 112 and second rear seat 118, see at least, ¶18, Yaldo), the seat control apparatus comprising: a processor configured to control a movement position of the first-row seat according to whether a passenger is seated on the first-row seat (Fig. 3 the vehicle seat position controller 302 and Fig. 1 depicts an occupant sensor 122 that is adapted to detect the presence of an occupant in the second front seat 114 and if there is no occupant present, the vehicle seat positioning system moves the front seat 114 in a forward direction, see at least, ¶19-21, Yaldo)
Yaldo does not explicitly teach and to then perform relaxation control of the second-row seat, in response to a relaxation control command being input for the second-row seat; and a storage configured to store data and algorithms driven by the processor, wherein a range of travel of the first-row seat includes a seating section pre-determined as a first portion of the range of travel permitting a passenger to sit on the first-row seat and a non-seating section pre-determined as a section portion of the range of travel not permitting a passenger to sit on the first-row seat, and wherein the processor is configured to selectively control movement of the first-row seat to a reference position at a frontmost position of the seating section and to an extended position at a frontmost position of the non-seating section, forward of the reference position, according to whether a passenger is seated on the first-row seat
Pross, directed to an adjustable front passenger seat teaches, and to then perform relaxation control of the second-row seat, in response to a relaxation control command being input for the second-row seat (passenger seat second row to move the front passenger seat 3 into a position for increasing comfort of the passenger in the second row, see at least, Page 1 Line78-85, Pross).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Yaldo to incorporate the teachings of Pross which teaches and to then perform relaxation control of the second-row seat, in response to a relaxation control command being input for the second-row seat since they are both related to adjusting vehicle seats and incorporation of the teachings of Pross would increase the comfort of the rear passenger.
Ioppolo, directed to a longitudinally adjustable vehicle seat teaches wherein a range of travel of the first-row seat includes a seating section pre-determined as a first portion of the range of travel permitting a passenger to sit on the first-row seat and a non-seating section pre-determined as a section portion of the range of travel not permitting a passenger to sit on the first-row seat (Fig. 5 depicts the functional comfort adjustment range D is interpreted as a seating section and extended travel range E interpreted as a non-seating section, see at least, ¶40, Ioppolo) and wherein the processor is configured to selectively control movement of the first-row seat to a reference position at a frontmost position of the seating section and to an extended position at a frontmost position of the non-seating section, forward of the reference position, according to whether a passenger is seated on the first-row seat (Fig. 5 depicts the vehicle seat may be advanced from the functional comfort adjustment range D into an extended travel full forward position C must be based a passenger is seated in the first row seat since a passenger cannot be seated in the seat in the extended position C, see at least, ¶44, Ioppolo).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Yaldo and Pross to incorporate the teachings of Ioppolo which teaches wherein a range of travel of the first-row seat includes a seating section pre-determined as a first portion of the range of travel permitting a passenger to sit on the first-row seat and a non-seating section pre-determined as a section portion of the range of travel not permitting a passenger to sit on the first-row seat and wherein the processor is configured to selectively control movement of the first-row seat to a reference position at a frontmost position of the seating section and to an extended position at a frontmost position of the non-seating section, forward of the reference position, according to whether a passenger is seated on the first-row seat since they are both related to vehicle seat adjustments and incorporation of the teachings of Ioppolo would extend travel range of the front seat and improve the comfort of the rear passenger.
Regarding Claim 16, Yaldo teaches, a seat control method for a vehicle having a first-row seat and a second-row seat positioned rearward of the first-row seat (Fig. 1 depicts second front seat 112 and second rear seat 118, see at least, ¶18, Yaldo), the method comprising: controlling a position of the first-row seat based on determining whether a passenger is seated on the first-row seat (Fig. 3 the vehicle seat position controller 302 and Fig. 1 depicts an occupant sensor 122 that is adapted to detect the presence of an occupant in the second front seat 114 and if there is no occupant present, the vehicle seat positioning system moves the front seat 114 in a forward direction, see at least, ¶19-21, Yaldo).
Yaldo does not explicitly teach inputting a relaxation control command for the second-row seat; and performing relaxation control of the second-row seat, wherein a range of travel of the first-row seat includes a seating section pre-determined as a first portion of the range of travel permitting a passenger to sit on the first-row seat and a non-seating section pre-determined as a second portion of the range of travel not permitting a passenger to sit on the first-row seat, and wherein controlling the position of the first-row seat includes selectively controlling movement of the first-row seat to a reference position at a frontmost position of the seating section, and to an extended position at a frontmost position of the non-seating section, forward of the seating section, according to whether a passenger is seated on the first-row seat.
Pross, directed to an adjustable front passenger seat teaches, inputting a relaxation control command for the second-row seat; and performing relaxation control of the second-row seat, according to whether a passenger is seated on the first-row seat (passenger in the second row controls the front passenger seat 3 into a position for increasing comfort of the passenger in the second row when the front passenger seat is not occupied, see at least, Page 1 Line78-85, Pross).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Yaldo to incorporate the teachings of Pross which teaches inputting a relaxation control command for the second-row seat; and performing relaxation control of the second-row seat, according to whether a passenger is seated on the first-row seat since they are both related to adjusting vehicle seats and incorporation of the teachings of Pross would increase the comfort of the rear passenger.
Ioppolo, directed to a longitudinally adjustable vehicle seat teaches wherein a range of travel of the first-row seat includes a seating section pre-determined as a first portion of the range of travel permitting a passenger to sit on the first-row seat and a non-seating section pre-determined as a second portion of the range of travel not permitting a passenger to sit on the first-row seat (Fig. 5 depicts the functional comfort adjustment range D is interpreted as a seating section and extended travel range E interpreted as a non-seating section, see at least, ¶40, Ioppolo) , and wherein controlling the position of the first-row seat includes selectively controlling movement of the first-row seat to a reference position at a frontmost position of the seating section, and to an extended position at a frontmost position of the non-seating section, forward of the seating section (Fig. 5 depicts the vehicle seat may be advanced from the functional comfort adjustment range D into an extended travel full forward position C must be based a passenger is seated in the first row seat since a passenger cannot be seated in the seat in the extended position C, see at least, ¶44, Ioppolo).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Yaldo and Pross to incorporate the teachings of Ioppolo which teaches wherein a range of travel of the first-row seat includes a seating section pre-determined as a first portion of the range of travel permitting a passenger to sit on the first-row seat and a non-seating section pre-determined as a second portion of the range of travel not permitting a passenger to sit on the first-row seat, and wherein controlling the position of the first-row seat includes selectively controlling movement of the first-row seat to a reference position at a frontmost position of the seating section, and to an extended position at a frontmost position of the non-seating section, forward of the seating section since they are both related to vehicle seat adjustments and incorporation of the teachings of Ioppolo would extend travel range of the front seat and improve the comfort of the rear passenger.
Regarding Claim 2 and 17, Yaldo in view of Pross and Ioppolo teaches,
The seat control apparatus of claim 1 (re-claim 2) and the vehicle seat control method of claim 16 (re-claim 17), wherein the processor is configured to control the first-row seat to move to the reference position based on determining that a passenger is seated on the first-row seat (if an occupant is detected in the front seat 104/114 then the seat is not moved, see at least, ¶19-21, Yaldo).
Ioppolo, directed to a longitudinally adjustable vehicle seat teaches, move to the reference position (reference position is comfort full forward position B, is see at least, ¶50, Ioppolo).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Yaldo in view of Pross and Ioppolo to further to incorporate the teachings of Ioppolo which teaches move to the reference position since they are both related to vehicle seat adjustments and incorporation of the teachings of Ioppolo would extend travel range of the front seat and improve the comfort of the rear passenger.
Regarding Claim 3 and 18, Yaldo in view of Pross and Ioppolo teaches, the seat control apparatus of claim 1 (re-claim 3) and the vehicle seat control method of claim 16 (re-claim 18), wherein the processor is configured to control the first-row seat to move to the extended position based on determining that no passenger is seated on the first-row seat (Fig. 3 the vehicle seat position controller 302 and Fig. 1 depicts an occupant sensor 122 that is adapted to detect the presence of an occupant in the second front seat 114 and if there is no occupant present, the vehicle seat positioning system moves the front seat 114 in a forward direction, see at least, ¶19-21, Yaldo).
Ioppolo, directed to a longitudinally adjustable vehicle seat teaches to the extended position (Fig. 5 depicts the vehicle seat may be advanced from the functional comfort adjustment range D into an extended travel full forward position C must be based a passenger is seated in the first row seat since a passenger cannot be seated in the seat in the extended position C, see at least, ¶44, Ioppolo).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Yaldo in view of Pross and Ioppolo to further to incorporate the teachings of Ioppolo which teaches to the extended position since they are both related to vehicle seat adjustments and incorporation of the teachings of Ioppolo would extend travel range of the front seat and improve the comfort of the rear passenger.
Regarding Claim 4 and 19, Yaldo in view of Pross and Ioppolo teaches,
The vehicle seat control apparatus of claim 1 (re- claim 4) and the vehicle seat control method of claim 16 (re-claim 19),
Ioppolo, directed to a longitudinally adjustable vehicle seat teaches wherein the non-seating section is extended from the seating section (Fig. 5 depicts functional comfort adjustment range D extends to extended travel full forward position C, see at least, ¶44, Ioppolo)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Yaldo in view of Pross and Ioppolo to further to incorporate the teachings of Ioppolo which teaches wherein the non-seating section is extended from the seating section since they are both related to vehicle seat adjustments and incorporation of the teachings of Ioppolo would extend travel range of the front seat and improve the comfort of the rear passenger.
Claims 5-6, 8 and 13-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yaldo; Valor (US 20200353844 A1) in view of PROSS FRITZ(GB 2172500 A) (Machine Translation Attached) and IOPPOLO; Leo et al. (US 20170136920 A1) as applied to claims 1-4 and 16-19 and further in view of ZOUZAL; Winsen C. et al. (US 20170282753 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Yaldo in view of Pross and Ioppolo teaches, the seat control apparatus of claim 1.
Yaldo in view of Pross and Ioppolo does not explicitly teach wherein, based on determining that a passenger is seated on the first-row seat, the processor is configured to determine whether the first-row seat is positioned at the reference position.
Zouzal, directed to adjustable seat assemblies teaches, wherein, based on determining that a passenger is seated on the first-row seat, the processor is configured to determine whether the first-row seat is positioned at the reference position (Fig. 2 block 114, controller determines if the position of the front seat is acceptable, see at least, ¶26, Zouzal).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Yaldo in view of Pross and Ioppolo to incorporate the teachings of Zouzal which teaches wherein, based on determining that a passenger is seated on the first-row seat, the processor is configured to determine whether the first-row seat is positioned at the reference position since they are both related to adjustable seat assemblies and incorporation of the teachings of Zouzal would increase the comfort of the 2nd row occupant..
Regarding Claim 6, Yaldo in view of Pross, Ioppolo and Zouzal teaches, the seat control apparatus of claim 5.
Zouzal, directed to adjustable seat assemblies teaches, wherein the processor is configured to control the first-row seat to move to the reference position based on determining that the first-row seat is positioned in the non-seating section (Fig. 2 block 120 the front seat is adjusted and moves the seat to the accommodation position, see at least, ¶28, Zouzal).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Yaldo in view of Pross and Ioppolo to incorporate the teachings of Zouzal which wherein the processor is configured to control the first-row seat to move to the reference position based on determining that the first-row seat is positioned in the non-seating section since they are both related to adjustable seat assemblies and incorporation of the teachings of Zouzal would increase the comfort of the 2nd row occupant.
Regarding Claim 8, Yaldo in view of Pross, Ioppolo teaches, the seat control apparatus of claim 1, wherein, based on determining that no passenger is seated on the first-row seat, the processor is configured to determine body information of a passenger seated on the second-row seat and to control a position of the first-row seat based on the body information of the passenger seated on the second-row seat.
Yaldo in view of Pross, Ioppolo does not explicitly teach determine body information of a passenger seated on the second-row seat and to control a position of the first-row seat based on the body information of the passenger seated on the second-row seat.
Zouzal, directed to adjustable seat assemblies teaches, determine body information of a passenger seated on the second-row seat and to control a position of the first-row seat based on the body information of the passenger seated on the second-row seat (Fig. 2 block 110 the controller receives information regarding rear occupant and determine the amount of space or leg room required by the rear occupant and 120 adjust the 1st row seat, see at least, ¶24, Zouzal).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Yaldo in view of Pross and Ioppolo to incorporate the teachings of Zouzal which teaches determine body information of a passenger seated on the second-row seat and to control a position of the first-row seat based on the body information of the passenger seated on the second-row seat since they are both related to adjustable seat assemblies and incorporation of the teachings of Zouzal would increase the comfort of the 2nd row occupant.
Regarding Claim 13, Yaldo in view of Pross, Ioppolo and Diamond teaches, the seat control apparatus of claim 11.
Yaldo in view of Pross, Ioppolo and Diamond does not explicitly teach wherein, based on determining that the leg length of the passenger seated on the second-row seat is greater than the reference value, the processor is configured to control the first row seat to move to the extended position.
Zouzal, directed to adjustable seat assemblies teaches, based on determining that the leg length of the passenger seated on the second-row seat is greater than the reference value, the processor is configured to control the first row seat to move to the extended position (Fig. 2 block 110 the controller receives information regarding rear occupant and determine the amount of space or leg room required by the rear occupant and 120 adjust the 1st row seat, see at least, ¶24, Zouzal).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Yaldo in view of Pross and Ioppolo to incorporate the teachings of Zouzal which teaches based on determining that the leg length of the passenger seated on the second-row seat is greater than the reference value, the processor is configured to control the first row seat to move to the extended position since they are both related to adjustable seat assemblies and incorporation of the teachings of Zouzal would increase the comfort of the 2nd row occupant.
Regarding Claim 14, Yaldo in view of Pross, Ioppolo teaches, the seat control apparatus of claim 1.
Ref1 does not explicitly teach based on determining that a passenger is seated on the first-row seat, the processor is configured to: determine body information of the passenger seated on the first-row seat and body information of a passenger seated on the second row seat; and control a position of the first row seat based on the body information of the passenger seated on the first-row seat and the body information of the passenger seated in the second-row seat.
Zouzal, directed to adjustable seat assemblies teaches, based on determining that a passenger is seated on the first-row seat, the processor is configured to: determine body information of the passenger seated on the first-row seat and body information of a passenger seated on the second row seat; and control a position of the first row seat based on the body information of the passenger seated on the first-row seat and the body information of the passenger seated in the second-row seat (Fig. 2 block 110 the controller receives information regarding rear occupant and determine the amount of space or leg room required by the rear occupant and 120 adjust the 1st row seat and notifying the occupant of the 1st row occupant, see at least, ¶24-28, Zouzal).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Yaldo in view of Pross and Ioppolo to incorporate the teachings of Zouzal which teaches based on determining that a passenger is seated on the first-row seat, the processor is configured to: determine body information of the passenger seated on the first-row seat and body information of a passenger seated on the second row seat; and control a position of the first row seat based on the body information of the passenger seated on the first-row seat and the body information of the passenger seated in the second-row seat since they are both related to adjustable seat assemblies and incorporation of the teachings of Zouzal would increase the comfort of the 2nd row occupant.
Regarding Claim 20, Yaldo in view of Pross and Ioppolo teaches, the vehicle seat control method of claim 16,.R1Claim (see at least, ¶X, Ref1).
Yaldo in view of Pross and Ioppolo does not explicitly teach wherein, based on determining that a passenger is seated on the first-row seat, controlling the position of the first-row seat further includes: determining whether the first-row sheet is positioned at the reference position; and controlling the first-row seat to move to the reference position based on determining that the first-row seat is positioned in the non-seating section.
Zouzal, directed to adjustable seat assemblies teaches, wherein, based on determining that a passenger is seated on the first-row seat, controlling the position of the first-row seat further includes: determining whether the first-row sheet is positioned at the reference position; and controlling the first-row seat to move to the reference position based on determining that the first-row seat is positioned in the non-seating section ((Fig. 2 block 114, controller determines if the position of the front seat is acceptable and block 120 the front seat is adjusted and moves the seat to the accommodation position, see at least, ¶26-28, Zouzal).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Yaldo in view of Pross and Ioppolo to incorporate the teachings of Zouzal which teaches wherein, based on determining that a passenger is seated on the first-row seat, controlling the position of the first-row seat further includes: determining whether the first-row sheet is positioned at the reference position; and controlling the first-row seat to move to the reference position based on determining that the first-row seat is positioned in the non-seating section since they are both related to adjustable seat assemblies and incorporation of the teachings of Zouzal would increase the comfort of the 2nd row occupant.
Claims 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yaldo; Valor (US 20200353844 A1) in view of PROSS FRITZ(GB 2172500 A) (Machine Translation Attached) and IOPPOLO; Leo et al. (US 20170136920 A1) as applied to claims 1-4 and 16-19 and further in view of Diamond; Brendan et al. (US 20230339369 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Yaldo in view of Pross, Ioppolo teaches, the seat control apparatus of claim 1.
Yaldo in view of Pross, Ioppolo does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to detect whether a passenger is seated on the first-row seat based on whether a door is open, whether a seat belt is fastened, a detection result of a load sensor, a detection result of a mat sensor, an input of a seat control switch from the non-seating section to the seating section, or any combination thereof.
Diamond, directed to automatic adjustment of a seat in a vehicle teaches, wherein the processor is configured to detect whether a passenger is seated on the first-row seat based on whether a door is open, whether a seat belt is fastened, a detection result of a load sensor, a detection result of a mat sensor, an input of a seat control switch from the non-seating section to the seating section, or any combination thereof (sensors provided in the vehicle can include any device that can detect a presence of a person in the vehicle 105 including a pressure sensor, weight sensor, see at least, ¶20, Diamond).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Yaldo in view of Pross, Ioppolo to incorporate the teachings of Diamond which teaches wherein the processor is configured to detect whether a passenger is seated on the first-row seat based on whether a door is open, whether a seat belt is fastened, a detection result of a load sensor, a detection result of a mat sensor, an input of a seat control switch from the non-seating section to the seating section, or any combination thereof since they are both related to adjustment of vehicle seats and incorporation of the teachings of Diamond would increase the convenience and comfort of the passengers.
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yaldo; Valor (US 20200353844 A1) in view of PROSS FRITZ(GB 2172500 A) (Machine Translation Attached) and IOPPOLO; Leo et al. (US 20170136920 A1) and ZOUZAL; Winsen C. et al. (US 20170282753 A1) as applied to claims 5-6, 8 and 13-14 and 20 and further in view of Diamond; Brendan et al. (US 20230339369 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Yaldo in view of Pross, Ioppolo and Zouzal teaches, the seat control apparatus of claim 8.
Yaldo in view of Pross, Ioppolo and Zouzal does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to: determine whether the passenger seated on the second-row seat is an infant or under a predetermined age; and control the first row seat to move to the reference position based on determining that the passenger seated on the second row seat is an infant or under the predetermined age.
Diamond, directed to automatic adjustment of a seat in a vehicle teaches, wherein the processor is configured to: determine whether the passenger seated on the second-row seat is an infant or under a predetermined age; and control the first row seat to move to the reference position based on determining that the passenger seated on the second row seat is an infant or under the predetermined age (Fig. 7 depicts the vehicle seat auto-adjust system 115 may detect the presence of the child seat upon the rear passenger seat 136 by evaluating an image provided by the camera and adjust the driver seat based on available separation distance (reference position), see at least, ¶69-71, Diamond).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Yaldo in view of Pross, Ioppolo to incorporate the teachings of Diamond which teaches wherein the processor is configured to: determine whether the passenger seated on the second-row seat is an infant or under a predetermined age; and control the first row seat to move to the reference position based on determining that the passenger seated on the second row seat is an infant or under the predetermined age since they are both related to adjustment of vehicle seats and incorporation of the teachings of Diamond would increase the convenience and comfort of the passengers.
Regarding Claim 10, Yaldo in view of Pross, Ioppolo and Zouzal teaches, the seat control apparatus of claim 8.
Yaldo in view of Pross, Ioppolo and Zouzal does not explicitly teach based on determining that the passenger seated on the second row seat is not an infant or is over the predetermined age, the processor is configured to determine a leg length of the passenger seated on the second-row seat.
Diamond, directed to automatic adjustment of a seat in a vehicle teaches, based on determining that the passenger seated on the second row seat is not an infant or is over the predetermined age, the processor is configured to determine a leg length of the passenger seated on the second-row seat (the vehicle seat auto-adjust system 115 may determine that the passenger is an adult by evaluating images provided by the camera and moves the driver seat backwards over distance “d3” based on distance “d1” extending between the rear edge of the driver seat 126 and a body part of the passenger 135 (a knee) which is interpreted as leg length, see at least, ¶33-35, Diamond).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Yaldo in view of Pross, Ioppolo to incorporate the teachings of Diamond which teaches based on determining that the passenger seated on the second row seat is not an infant or is over the predetermined age, the processor is configured to determine a leg length of the passenger seated on the second-row seat since they are both related to adjustment of vehicle seats and incorporation of the teachings of Diamond would increase the convenience and comfort of the passengers.
Regarding Claim 11, Yaldo in view of Pross, Ioppolo and Diamond teaches, the seat control apparatus of claim 10, wherein the processor is configured to: determine whether the leg length of the passenger seated on the second-row seat is equal to or less than a reference value; and based on determining that the leg length of the passenger seated on the second-row seat is equal to or less than the reference value, control a position of the first-row seat according to the leg length of the passenger seated on the second row seat (Fig. 1 depicts proximity sensor 106 (measuring leg length) is less than a threshold distance (reference value) from the second rear seat 118 and limit the motion of the second front seat 114 from continuing to move in the rearward direction (control a position of the first row seat) see at least, ¶18, Yaldo).
Regarding Claim 12, Yaldo in view of Pross, Ioppolo and Diamond teaches, the seat control apparatus of claim 10, wherein the processor is configured to control a position of the first-row seat to be moved to a position closer to the reference position within the seating section based on determining that the leg length of the passenger seated on the second-row seat is less than or equal to the reference value and based on the leg length of the passenger seated on the second-row seat being close to the reference value (the signal from the proximity sensor 308 indicates that the distance between the vehicle seat 304 and an object behind the vehicle seat (pictured are the legs of a person) then the vehicle seat controller will command the vehicle seat to move forward, see at least, ¶21, Yaldo).
Claims 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yaldo; Valor (US 20200353844 A1) in view of PROSS FRITZ(GB 2172500 A) (Machine Translation Attached) and IOPPOLO; Leo et al. (US 20170136920 A1) as applied to claims 1-4 and 16-19 and further in view of Yogo; Hiroshi (US 20180178681 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Yaldo in view of Pross, Ioppolo teaches, the seat control apparatus of claim 1, wherein, based on determining that no passenger is seated on the first-row seat.
Yaldo in view of Pross, Ioppolo does not explicitly teach the processor is configured to control reclining of the second-row seat to a frontmost position along with movement control of the first-row seat, control tilt of the second-row seat to a lowest position, and control a backrest height of the second-row seat to a lowest position.
Yugo, directed to a movement adjustment system capable of movably adjusting front and rear seats teaches, the processor is configured to control reclining of the second-row seat to a frontmost position along with movement control of the first-row seat, control tilt of the second-row seat to a lowest position, and control a backrest height of the second-row seat to a lowest position ( Fig. 2C depicts a state that the rear seat 4 is brought close to the passenger seat 2 in a state that the back of the passenger seat 2 is lowered and the person H uses passenger seat 2 as an ottoman, see at least, ¶41, Yugo).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Yaldo in view of Pross, Ioppolo to incorporate the teachings of Yugo which teaches the processor is configured to control reclining of the second-row seat to a frontmost position along with movement control of the first-row seat, control tilt of the second-row seat to a lowest position, and control a backrest height of the second-row seat to a lowest position since they are both related to adjusting vehicle seats and incorporation of the teachings of Yugo would increase the comfort of a person allowing the person to use the front seat as an ottoman.
Conclusion
/IRENE C KHUU/
Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664