DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the above application filed on 06/06/2025 which claims foreign priority to Italian Patent Application No. 102024000013096 filed on 06/06/2024. Claims 1 – 20 are examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention ENGINE SYSTEM FOR AN AIRCRAFT is generic and non-descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Para. [0001] “The present application claims the benefit of Italian Patent Application No. 102024000013096, filed on June 6, 2025, which is hereby incorporated by reference herein in its entirety.” is in error for --The present application claims the benefit of Italian Patent Application No. 102024000013096, filed on June 6, [[2025]] 2024, which is hereby incorporated by reference herein in its entirety.--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Cedoz (9,878,798) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Cedoz (9,878,798).
Regarding Claim 1, Cedoz discloses, in Figs. 1 - 6, all the claimed limitations including an engine system (16) for an aircraft (10 – Fig. 1), the engine system (16) comprising: a first turbofan engine (14 – Col. 4, ll. 5 - 15) including: a first turbo-engine (14) having a first low-pressure shaft (line connecting 36 to 38 in Figs. 3 and 5); a first fan (24) having a first fan shaft (line connecting 24 to 38 in Figs. 3 and 5); and a counterclockwise gearbox assembly (38), the first fan shaft (line connecting 24 to 38 in Figs. 3 and 5) being drivingly coupled to the first low-pressure shaft (line connecting 36 to 38 in Figs. 3 and 5) through the counterclockwise gearbox assembly (38), wherein the first low-pressure shaft (line connecting 36 to 38 in Figs. 3 and 5) rotates in a counterclockwise direction (Col. 5, ll. 10 – 20 “In other embodiments, the turbines 26, 36 may rotate in the counterclockwise direction so long as they are similar in their direction of rotation to allow for common components and design.”) and the first fan shaft (line connecting 24 to 38 in Figs. 3 and 5) rotates in the counterclockwise direction (D2) such that the first fan (24) rotates in the counterclockwise direction (Col. 5, ll. 10 – 15 “The transmission 38 is configured to transmit rotation from the turbine 36 to the fan 24 to cause rotation of the fan 24 in the counterclockwise direction D2 about the axis 15 as shown in FIG. 5.”); and a second turbofan engine (12 – Col. 4, ll. 5 - 15) including: a second turbo-engine (12) having a second low-pressure shaft (line connecting 26 to 28 in Figs. 3 and 4); a second fan (22) having a second fan shaft (line connecting 22 to 28 in Figs. 3 and 4); and a clockwise gearbox assembly (28), the second fan shaft (line connecting 22 to 28 in Figs. 3 and 4) being drivingly coupled to the second low-pressure shaft (line connecting 26 to 28 in Figs. 3 and 4) through the clockwise gearbox assembly (28), wherein the second low-pressure shaft (line connecting 26 to 28 in Figs. 3 and 4) rotates in the counterclockwise direction (Col. 5, ll. 10 – 20 “In other embodiments, the turbines 26, 36 may rotate in the counterclockwise direction so long as they are similar in their direction of rotation to allow for common components and design.”) and the second fan shaft (line connecting 22 to 28 in Figs. 3 and 4) rotates in a clockwise direction such that the second fan (22) rotates in the clockwise direction (Col. 5, ll. 1 – 5 “The transmission 28 is configured to transmit rotation from the turbine 26 to the fan 22 to cause rotation of the fan 22 in the clockwise direction D1 about the axis 13 as shown in FIG. 4.”).
Alternatively, if one of ordinary skill in the art would not have understood that Cedoz anticipated the claimed invention, then it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Cedoz with counterclockwise rotating turbines (26 and 36) rotating the first low-pressure shaft and the second low-pressure shaft, respectively in the counterclockwise direction because all the claimed elements, i.e., a first turbofan engine including: a first turbo-engine having a first low-pressure shaft; a first fan having a first fan shaft; and a counterclockwise gearbox assembly, the first fan shaft being drivingly coupled to the first low-pressure shaft through the counterclockwise gearbox assembly, wherein the first fan shaft rotates in the counterclockwise direction such that the first fan rotates in the counterclockwise direction; a second turbofan engine including: a second turbo-engine having a second low-pressure shaft; a second fan having a second fan shaft; and a clockwise gearbox assembly, the second fan shaft being drivingly coupled to the second low-pressure shaft through the clockwise gearbox assembly, the second fan shaft rotates in a clockwise direction such that the second fan rotates in the clockwise direction, and the first low-pressure shaft and the second low-pressure shaft both rotate in the counterclockwise direction, were known in the art, and one skilled in the art could have substituted the counterclockwise rotating turbines, taught by Cedoz, for the clockwise rotating turbines of Cedoz, with no change in their respective functions, to yield predictable results, i.e., the counterclockwise rotating first turbine would have rotated the first low-pressure shaft in a counterclockwise direction to drive the input of the counterclockwise gearbox assembly so that the counterclockwise gearbox assembly output would have rotated the first fan shaft in the counterclockwise direction such that the first fan rotates in the counterclockwise direction and the counterclockwise rotating second turbine would have rotated the second low-pressure shaft in a counterclockwise direction to drive the input of the clockwise gearbox assembly so that the clockwise gearbox assembly output would have rotated the second fan shaft in the clockwise direction such that the second fan rotates in the clockwise direction so that the net torque applied to the aircraft frame by the oppositely rotating first and second fans during operation approaches zero, Col. 4, ll. 25 – 35. As discussed above, Cedoz disclosed, in Col. 5, ll. 10 – 20 “In other embodiments, the turbines 26, 36 may rotate in the counterclockwise direction so long as they are similar in their direction of rotation to allow for common components and design.” KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1395; MPEP 2143(B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cedoz (9,878,798) in view of Facchini et al. (11,542,829).
Re Claim 2, Cedoz teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above including wherein the counterclockwise gearbox assembly and the clockwise gearbox assembly each has a gear ratio (ratio between the input rotational speed and the output rotational speed). Cedoz is silent on said gear ratio being in a range of 6:1 to 14:1.
Facchini teaches, in Figs. 1 – 12, Col. 16, ll. 40 – 45, Col. 18, ll. 1 – 5, and Col. 19, ll. 15 – 20, similar gearbox assemblies each having a gear ratio in a range of 6:1 to 14:1.
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Cedoz with gearbox assembly gear ratio in a range of 6:1 to 14:1, taught by Facchini, because all the claimed elements, i.e., a first turbofan engine including: a counterclockwise gearbox assembly, the first fan shaft being drivingly coupled to the first low-pressure shaft through the counterclockwise gearbox assembly; a second turbofan engine including: a clockwise gearbox assembly, the second fan shaft being drivingly coupled to the second low-pressure shaft through the clockwise gearbox assembly, and gearbox assemblies having a gear ratio in a range of 6:1 to 14:1, were known in the art, and one skilled in the art could have substituted the gear ratio in a range of 6:1 to 14:1, taught by Facchini, for the non-disclosed gear ratio range of Cedoz, with no change in their respective functions, to yield predictable results, i.e., the counterclockwise gearbox assembly and the clockwise gearbox assembly having gear ratios in the range of 6:1 to 14:1 would have meant that for six complete rotations of the low pressure shaft input to a respective gearbox assembly, said gearbox assembly would have output a single complete rotation of the connected fan shaft, i.e., 6:1 reduction ratio, or for fourteen complete rotations of the low pressure shaft input to a respective gearbox assembly, said gearbox assembly would have output a single complete rotation of the connected fan shaft, i.e., 14:1 reduction ratio, which meant that the fan driven by the fan shaft rotated six to fourteen times slower than the low pressure turbine driving the low pressure shaft. KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1395; MPEP 2143(B).
Claims 3 – 5 and 10 – 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cedoz (9,878,798) in view of Lewis et al. (8,870,699).
Re Claim 3, Cedoz teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except, wherein the counterclockwise gearbox assembly includes a counterclockwise gearbox casing, and a first stage gear assembly and a second stage gear assembly disposed within the counterclockwise gearbox casing.
Lewis teaches, in Figs. 1 – 4B, a similar gearbox assembly (20) includes a gearbox casing (32), and a first stage gear assembly (22) and a second stage gear assembly (24) disposed within the gearbox casing (32).
Thus, improving a particular device (engine system), based upon the teachings of such improvement in Lewis, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, i.e., applying this known improvement technique in the same manner to the engine system of Cedoz and the results would have been predictable and readily recognized, that locating a first stage gear assembly and a second stage gear assembly inside of a counterclockwise gearbox casing of the counterclockwise gearbox assembly would have facilitated retaining lubricating oil around the bearings of the first stage gear assembly and the second stage gear assembly to facilitate protecting against oil starvation of the bearings during negative “G” circumstances, Lewis – Col. 1, ll. 25 - 30.
Re Claim 4, Cedoz, i.v., Lewis, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except, wherein the first low-pressure shaft is drivingly coupled to the first stage gear assembly, and the first fan shaft is drivingly coupled to the second stage gear assembly.
Lewis further teaches, in Figs. 1 – 4B, a first low-pressure shaft (26) is drivingly coupled to the first stage gear assembly (22), and a first fan shaft (25) is drivingly coupled to the second stage gear assembly (24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Cedoz, i.v., Lewis, with the first low-pressure shaft is drivingly coupled to the first stage gear assembly, and the first fan shaft is drivingly coupled to the second stage gear assembly arrangement, further taught by Lewis, because all the claimed elements, i.e., a reduction gearbox assembly includes a first stage gear assembly and a second stage gear assembly disposed within the counterclockwise gearbox casing, the first low-pressure shaft is drivingly coupled to the first stage gear assembly, and the first fan shaft is drivingly coupled to the second stage gear assembly arrangement, were known in the art, in combination each one of the components would perform the same function as it did separately, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, with no change in their respective functions, to yield predictable results, i.e., drivingly coupling the first low-pressure shaft to the first stage gear assembly would have facilitated the low-pressure turbine inputting rotational mechanical power into the first stage gear assembly while drivingly coupling the second stage gear assembly to the first fan shaft would have facilitated the second stage gear assembly outputting rotational mechanical power to the first fan shaft to rotate the first fan during operation of the engine system. KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1395; MPEP 2143(A).
Re Claim 5, Cedoz, i.v., Lewis, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except, wherein the counterclockwise gearbox assembly includes an interstage shaft coupled to the first stage gear assembly and the second stage gear assembly, the interstage shaft being an output of the first stage gear assembly and an input of the second stage gear assembly.
Lewis further teaches, in Figs. 1 – 4B and Col. 3, ll. 10 – 15, wherein the gearbox assembly (20) includes an interstage shaft (36, 40) coupled to the first stage gear assembly (22) and the second stage gear assembly (24), the interstage shaft (36, 40) being an output of the first stage gear assembly (22) and an input of the second stage gear assembly (24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Cedoz, i.v., Lewis, with the gearbox assembly includes an interstage shaft coupled to the first stage gear assembly and the second stage gear assembly, the interstage shaft being an output of the first stage gear assembly and an input of the second stage gear assembly arrangement, further taught by Lewis, because all the claimed elements, i.e., a reduction gearbox assembly includes a first stage gear assembly and a second stage gear assembly disposed within the counterclockwise gearbox casing, the first low-pressure shaft is drivingly coupled to the first stage gear assembly, and the first fan shaft is drivingly coupled to the second stage gear assembly arrangement, and the gearbox assembly includes an interstage shaft coupled to the first stage gear assembly and the second stage gear assembly, the interstage shaft being an output of the first stage gear assembly and an input of the second stage gear assembly, were known in the art, in combination each one of the components would perform the same function as it did separately, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, with no change in their respective functions, to yield predictable results, i.e., drivingly coupling the interstage shaft to the first stage gear assembly output and to the input of the second stage gear assembly would have facilitated rotational mechanical power from the first stage gear assembly output driving the second stage gear assembly input. KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1395; MPEP 2143(A).
Re Claim 10, Cedoz teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except, wherein the clockwise gearbox assembly includes a clockwise gearbox casing, and a first stage gear assembly and a second stage gear assembly disposed within the clockwise gearbox casing.
Lewis teaches, in Figs. 1 – 4B, a similar gearbox assembly (20) includes a gearbox casing (32), and a first stage gear assembly (22) and a second stage gear assembly (24) disposed within the gearbox casing (32).
Thus, improving a particular device (engine system), based upon the teachings of such improvement in Lewis, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, i.e., applying this known improvement technique in the same manner to the engine system of Cedoz and the results would have been predictable and readily recognized, that locating a first stage gear assembly and a second stage gear assembly inside of a clockwise gearbox casing of the clockwise gearbox assembly would have facilitated retaining lubricating oil around the bearings of the first stage gear assembly and the second stage gear assembly to facilitate protecting against oil starvation of the bearings during negative “G” circumstances, Lewis – Col. 1, ll. 25 - 30.
Re Claim 11, Cedoz, i.v., Lewis, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except, wherein the second low-pressure shaft is drivingly coupled to the first stage gear assembly, and the second fan shaft is drivingly coupled to the second stage gear assembly.
Lewis further teaches, in Figs. 1 – 4B, a second low-pressure shaft (26) is drivingly coupled to the first stage gear assembly (22), and a second fan shaft (25) is drivingly coupled to the second stage gear assembly (24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Cedoz, i.v., Lewis, with the second low-pressure shaft is drivingly coupled to the first stage gear assembly, and the second fan shaft is drivingly coupled to the second stage gear assembly arrangement, further taught by Lewis, because all the claimed elements, i.e., a reduction gearbox assembly includes a first stage gear assembly and a second stage gear assembly disposed within the counterclockwise gearbox casing, the second low-pressure shaft is drivingly coupled to the first stage gear assembly, and the second fan shaft is drivingly coupled to the second stage gear assembly arrangement, were known in the art, in combination each one of the components would perform the same function as it did separately, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, with no change in their respective functions, to yield predictable results, i.e., drivingly coupling the second low-pressure shaft to the first stage gear assembly would have facilitated the low-pressure turbine inputting rotational mechanical power into the first stage gear assembly while drivingly coupling the second stage gear assembly to the second fan shaft would have facilitated the second stage gear assembly outputting rotational mechanical power to the second fan shaft to rotate the second fan during operation of the engine system. KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1395; MPEP 2143(A).
Re Claim 12, Cedoz, i.v., Lewis, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except, wherein the clockwise gearbox assembly includes an interstage shaft coupled to the first stage gear assembly and the second stage gear assembly, the interstage shaft being an output of the first stage gear assembly and an input of the second stage gear assembly.
Lewis further teaches, in Figs. 1 – 4B and Col. 3, ll. 10 – 15, wherein the gearbox assembly (20) includes an interstage shaft (36, 40) coupled to the first stage gear assembly (22) and the second stage gear assembly (24), the interstage shaft (36, 40) being an output of the first stage gear assembly (22) and an input of the second stage gear assembly (24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Cedoz, i.v., Lewis, with the gearbox assembly includes an interstage shaft coupled to the first stage gear assembly and the second stage gear assembly, the interstage shaft being an output of the first stage gear assembly and an input of the second stage gear assembly arrangement, further taught by Lewis, because all the claimed elements, i.e., a reduction gearbox assembly includes a first stage gear assembly and a second stage gear assembly disposed within the counterclockwise gearbox casing, the first low-pressure shaft is drivingly coupled to the first stage gear assembly, and the first fan shaft is drivingly coupled to the second stage gear assembly arrangement, and the gearbox assembly includes an interstage shaft coupled to the first stage gear assembly and the second stage gear assembly, the interstage shaft being an output of the first stage gear assembly and an input of the second stage gear assembly, were known in the art, in combination each one of the components would perform the same function as it did separately, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, with no change in their respective functions, to yield predictable results, i.e., drivingly coupling the interstage shaft to the first stage gear assembly output and to the input of the second stage gear assembly would have facilitated rotational mechanical power from the first stage gear assembly output driving the second stage gear assembly input. KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1395; MPEP 2143(A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 7 depends from Claim 6 and is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 8 and 9 depend from Claim 7 and are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 14 depends from Claim 13 and is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 15 and 16 depend from Claim 14 and are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 17 – 20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding independent apparatus Claim 17, prior art fails to teach in combination with the other limitations of the claim, “…the interstage shaft being coupled to the first stage ring gear such that the first stage ring gear and the interstage shaft rotate in the counterclockwise direction, … the interstage shaft being coupled to the second stage sun gear such that the second stage sun gear rotates in the counterclockwise direction, and the fan shaft being coupled to the second stage ring gear such that the second stage ring gear and the fan shaft rotate in the counterclockwise direction.” Claim 18 depends from Claim 17 and is in condition of allowance for the same reasons.
Regarding independent apparatus Claim 19, prior art fails to teach in combination with the other limitations of the claim, “…the interstage shaft being coupled to the first stage ring gear such that the first stage ring gear and the interstage shaft rotate in the counterclockwise direction, … the interstage shaft being coupled to the second stage sun gear such that the second stage sun gear rotates in the counterclockwise direction, and the fan shaft being coupled to the second stage planet carrier such that the second stage planet carrier and the fan shaft rotate in the clockwise direction.” Claim 20 depends from Claim 19 and is in condition of allowance for the same reasons.
Correspondence
/LORNE E MEADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741