DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 6/6/2025 and 5/5/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al (KR 20100131778 A).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches An electronic device (mobile phone) comprising:
a housing (of the phone); and
at least one camera lens assembly disposed in the housing (Figs. 2-10), wherein the camera lens assembly comprises:
a cover (540);
a camera housing (510, 520) assembled with the cover (540), the camera housing accommodating a lens assembly (210) comprising at least one lens (L) and a lens barrel (220) comprising at least one support stand (boss 228) formed at an end of the lens barrel (Fig. 9; page 8; “the boss 228 at the bottom of the carrier 220 may be supported by the upper surface of the support end 532”), and a lens driver (VCM 300) carrying the lens assembly and configured to provide power for self-focusing and optical image stabilization of the lens assembly (Figs. 4, 9; page 8; VCM 300 for self-focusing and being capable for optical image stabilization);
an inner housing (530) assembled with the camera housing, the inner housing comprising a filter (Fig. 4; page 8; “although not shown in the drawings, a filter (for example, an IR filter) for controlling the amount of light by blocking a part of incident light entering through the lens to the hollow area of the base 530 is disposed, and the bottom of the base 530 An image sensor is formed”) and at least one contact region contacting the support stand (Fig. 9; page 8; “the boss 228 at the bottom of the carrier 220 may be supported by the upper surface of the support end 532”);
a printed circuit board coupled to the camera housing and facing the filter (Fig. 4; page 8; “although not shown in the drawings, a filter (for example, an IR filter) for controlling the amount of light by blocking a part of incident light entering through the lens to the hollow area of the base 530 is disposed, and the bottom of the base 530 An image sensor is formed”; there is a PCB on which the image sensor is mounted); and
a dust trap disposed between the inner housing and the lens assembly (Fig. 9; page 7; “A slightly protruding support end 532 and a foreign matter blocking portion 534 to which an adhesive is applied are formed to prevent foreign substances from entering”),
wherein the dust trap comprises a stepped portion formed in the at least one contact region, the dust trap being configured to cover the at least one contact region, and having a shape corresponding to a shape of the support stand (Fig. 9; page 8; “when the outer periphery of the window active window 535 is coated with an adhesive, it is difficult to move in the optical axis direction after the carrier 220 and the base 530 contact. In order to prevent this, in the present invention, four support ends 532 protrude upward from the inner peripheral surface of the edge of the base 530 so that the adhesive is not applied to the area. Accordingly, when the carrier 220 is disposed at the lowest position, the boss 228 at the bottom of the carrier 220 may be supported by the upper surface of the support end 532”).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the inner housing comprises:
a first portion (window opening 535) comprising a first surface and configured to support the filter (Figs. 9, 10);
a second portion (534) comprising a second surface and being along a circumference of a periphery of the first portion, the second portion being comprising an attaching area to be attached to a protective member of the filter (Figs. 9-10; foreign matter blocking part 534 having a flat cross section prevents foreign matter from entering the window active window 535 by applying an adhesive); and
a third portion (lower leg portion below label 530 in figure 10) comprising a third surface and being along a circumference of the second portion, the third portion comprising a base to be connected with the camera housing, wherein the stepped portion (532) is formed between the second portion and the third portion (Figs. 2-4, 9-10).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the stepped portion (532) has a shape extending along the at least one contact region contacting the support stand (Figs. 2, 9-10).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein a height of the stepped portion (532 within the U shape) is greater than a height of the third portion (leg of 532) and the height of the stepped portion (532) is lower than a height of the second portion (bottom portion of the U shape at 532 near the window 535) (Figs. 9-10).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the inner housing comprises: a pair of first sides (outer side walls of 530); and a pair of second sides (inner side walls of 535) shorter than the pair of first sides, the pair of second sides respectively disposed between the pair of first sides (Fig. 9), and wherein the stepped portion (532) comprises a first stepped portion and a second stepped portion respectively formed along the pair of first sides (Fig. 9; two step portion 532’s across the window 535).
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein a gap between the support stand and the stepped portion is less than a distance between the lens assembly and the filter (Figs. 4, 9).
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein a material (adhesive) of the stepped portion is different from a material (resin) of the inner housing, and the stepped portion comprises an elastic material (adhesive) (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a dust trap groove (532) along an inner edge of the stepped portion based on the stepped portion being seated in the inner housing (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 13, wherein the inner housing comprises a first seated groove configured to support the stepped portion, and wherein the first seated groove comprises a first protrusion configured to be inserted to at least a portion of the stepped portion, the first protrusion extending along an outer edge of the stepped portion (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 16, Lee teaches A camera lens assembly (Figs. 2-10) comprising:
a cover (540);
a camera housing (510, 520) on the cover (540), the camera housing comprising:
a lens assembly (210) comprising at least one lens (L) and a lens barrel (220) comprising at least one support stand (boss 228) at an end (Fig. 9; page 8; “the boss 228 at the bottom of the carrier 220 may be supported by the upper surface of the support end 532”), and a lens driver (VCM 300) carrying the lens assembly and configured to provide power for self-focusing and optical image stabilization of the lens assembly (Figs. 4, 9; page 8; VCM 300 for self-focusing and being capable for optical image stabilization); and
a lens driver (VCM 300) on the lens assembly and configured to provide power for self-focusing and optical image stabilization of the lens assembly (Figs. 4, 9; page 8; VCM 300 for self-focusing and being capable for optical image stabilization);
an inner housing (530) on the camera housing, the inner housing comprising a filter (Fig. 4; page 8; “although not shown in the drawings, a filter (for example, an IR filter) for controlling the amount of light by blocking a part of incident light entering through the lens to the hollow area of the base 530 is disposed, and the bottom of the base 530 An image sensor is formed”) and at least one contact region contacting the support stand (Fig. 9; page 8; “the boss 228 at the bottom of the carrier 220 may be supported by the upper surface of the support end 532”);
a printed circuit board on the camera housing and facing the filter (Fig. 4; page 8; “although not shown in the drawings, a filter (for example, an IR filter) for controlling the amount of light by blocking a part of incident light entering through the lens to the hollow area of the base 530 is disposed, and the bottom of the base 530 An image sensor is formed”; there is a PCB on which the image sensor is mounted); and
a dust trap between the inner housing and the lens assembly (Fig. 9; page 7; “A slightly protruding support end 532 and a foreign matter blocking portion 534 to which an adhesive is applied are formed to prevent foreign substances from entering”), wherein the dust trap comprises at least one stepped portion in the at least one contact region, the dust trap being configured to be on the at least one contact region, and having a shape corresponding to a shape of the support stand (Fig. 9; page 8; “when the outer periphery of the window active window 535 is coated with an adhesive, it is difficult to move in the optical axis direction after the carrier 220 and the base 530 contact. In order to prevent this, in the present invention, four support ends 532 protrude upward from the inner peripheral surface of the edge of the base 530 so that the adhesive is not applied to the area. Accordingly, when the carrier 220 is disposed at the lowest position, the boss 228 at the bottom of the carrier 220 may be supported by the upper surface of the support end 532”).
Regarding claims 17-20, claims 17-20 reciting features corresponding to claims 2-5 are also rejected for the same reasons above, respectively.
Claim(s) 1-5, 12, 14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cha (KR 20190110225 A).
Regarding claim 1, Cha teaches An electronic device (Figs. 1-10, 14) comprising:
a housing (of the smartphone); and
at least one camera lens assembly (Figs. 1-10) disposed in the housing, wherein the camera lens assembly comprises:
a cover (300);
a camera housing (140, 210) assembled with the cover, the camera housing accommodating a lens assembly (400) comprising at least one lens and a lens barrel comprising at least one support stand formed at an end of the lens barrel (Figs. 2, 5-6; page 7, line 26; “The lower end of the lens or lens barrel 400 moved by the AF drive may be in contact with the bottom surface 506a of the stopper 506, but may not go down below the bottom surface 506a by the bottom surface 506a”), and a lens driver carrying the lens assembly and configured to provide power for self-focusing and optical image stabilization of the lens assembly (page 5, line 49; “The bobbin 110 and the lens or lens barrel 400 coupled thereto may be moved in the optical axis direction by the electromagnetic force due to the interaction between the first coil 120 and the magnet 130. By controlling the displacement in the optical axis direction, AF driving can be implemented. In addition, the housing 140 may be moved in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis by the electromagnetic force caused by the interaction between the second coil 230 and the magnet 130, thereby implementing image stabilization or OIS driving”);
an inner housing (600) assembled with the camera housing, the inner housing comprising a filter (610) and at least one contact region contacting the support stand (Figs. 2, 5-6; page 7, line 26; “The lower end of the lens or lens barrel 400 moved by the AF drive may be in contact with the bottom surface 506a of the stopper 506, but may not go down below the bottom surface 506a by the bottom surface 506a”);
a printed circuit board (800) coupled to the camera housing and facing the filter; and
a dust trap (506) disposed between the inner housing and the lens assembly (Figs. 2-6),
wherein the dust trap comprises a stepped portion (dust trap grooves 506) formed in the at least one contact region, the dust trap being configured to cover the at least one contact region, and having a shape corresponding to a shape of the support stand (Figs. 2-6; page 7; “The overall shape of the four grooves of the stopper 506 may have a shape that matches the shape of the lens or lens barrel”; “Holder 600 may include a stopper 506 disposed around seating portion 500 and recessed from top surface 505. The stopper 506 may be in the form of a groove”; “The holder 600 may include a foreign matter collecting part 507 in the form of a groove recessed from the upper surface 505. The foreign material collecting unit 507 may be disposed adjacent to the stopper 506, but is not limited thereto”).
Regarding claim 2, Cha teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the inner housing comprises:
a first portion (512) comprising a first surface and configured to support the filter;
a second portion (506, 505) comprising a second surface and being along a circumference of a periphery of the first portion, the second portion being comprising an attaching area to be attached to a protective member of the filter; and
a third portion (leg portion of 600) comprising a third surface and being along a circumference of the second portion, the third portion comprising a base to be connected with the camera housing, wherein the stepped portion (506) is formed between the second portion and the third portion (Figs. 3-6).
Regarding claim 3, Cha teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the stepped portion has a shape extending along the at least one contact region contacting the support stand (Figs. 2-6; page 7).
Regarding claim 4, Cha teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein a height of the stepped portion (groove 506) is greater than a height of the third portion (leg portion) and the height of the stepped portion is (groove 506 is lower than portion 505) lower than a height of the second portion (506, 505) (Figs. 2-6; page 7).
Regarding claim 5, Cha teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the inner housing comprises:
a pair of first sides (two outer sides of 600); and
a pair of second sides (two inner sides 512) shorter than the pair of first sides, the pair of second sides respectively disposed between the pair of first sides (across window 501), and wherein the stepped portion (506) comprises a first stepped portion (on one side) and a second stepped portion (on the other side) respectively formed along the pair of first sides (Figs. 3-6).
Regarding claim 12, Cha teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein a gap between the support stand (of 400) and the stepped portion (506) is less than a distance between the lens assembly and the filter (Figs. 2, 5-6; page 7).
Regarding claim 14, Cha teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a dust trap groove along an inner edge of the stepped portion based on the stepped portion being seated in the inner housing (Figs. 2-6; page 7).
Regarding claims 16-20, claims 16-20 reciting features corresponding to claims 1-5 are also rejected for the same reasons above, respectively.
Alternative Rejections
Lee et al (US 20230176318 A1): camera module 1200 may be any one of an autofocus (AF) camera module and an optical image stabilization (OIS) camera module. The AF camera module may be a camera module capable of performing only an autofocus function, and the OIS camera module may be a camera module capable of performing an autofocus function and an optical image stabilization (OIS) function (para. 0398) which can be used in combination with Lee to teach a lens driver carrying the lens assembly and configured to provide power for self-focusing and optical image stabilization of the lens assembly for improving image quality with best focus and preventing blur due to shake.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen (US 20190141172 A1): The camera device may include the camera unit and the bracket. The bracket may include the frame body and the at least one fixing portion. The frame body may define a receiving space, and at least part of the camera unit may be accommodated in the receiving space (Fig. 10).
Lee et al (US 20230176318 A1): a foreign matter adsorption portion may be adjacent to an active area of the image sensor so as to collect foreign matter, whereby it is possible to reduce a defect rate of the image sensor due to stains caused by foreign matter.
/Quan Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637