DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to application no.19/231,058 filed on 06/06/2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 10-12 and 18-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “wherein the first camera represents a first eye of a user, and wherein the first image captures the display providing first content for the first eye and second content for a second eye of the user.” It is unclear whether the phrase “the first image captures the display” describing the act performed by the camera or it is the characteristic of “the first image”, which creates ambiguity since an image itself does not actively “capture” information, rather a camera captures an image, thereby renders the claim indefinite.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “wherein the second image captures the display providing third content for the first eye and fourth content for the second eye of the user.” It is unclear whether the phrase “the second image captures the display” describing the act performed by the camera or it is the characteristic of “the second image”, which creates ambiguity since an image itself does not actively “capture” information, rather a camera captures an image, thereby renders the claim indefinite.
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected due to the same reason set forth above with respect to claims 2 and 4.
Dependent claims 3-4 and 11 are rejected based on their dependency from the rejected claims 2 and 10.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “receiving a set of images from a camera, the set of images capturing an autostereoscopic display, and the camera representing an eye of a user”. It is unclear whether the phrase “the set of images capturing an autostereoscopic display” describing the act performed by the camera or it is the characteristic of “the set of images”, which creates ambiguity since an image itself does not actively “capture” information, rather a camera captures an image, thereby renders the claim indefinite.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “wherein a first image in the set of images captures the autostereoscopic display…” It is unclear whether the phrase “a first image in the set of images captures the autostereoscopic display” describing the act performed by the camera or it is the characteristic of “a first image in the set of images”, which creates ambiguity since an image itself does not actively “capture” information, rather a camera captures an image, thereby renders the claim indefinite.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “receiving a second set of images from a second camera, the second set of images capturing the autostereoscopic display, and the second camera representing a second eye of the user.” It is unclear whether the phrase “the second set of images capturing the autostereoscopic display” describing the act performed by the camera or it is the characteristic of “the second set of images”, which creates ambiguity since an image itself does not actively “capture” information, rather a camera captures an image, thereby renders the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeon et al. (US 9270979 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Jeon teaches the claim as follows:
A method comprising: identifying a first image of a display from a first camera (Figs. 1-2, col. 6, lines 32-35, col. 7, lines 7-11: The display 20 may be a stereoscopic display The display 20 may process a stereoscopic image and display the stereoscopic image...The first light sensor 111 may detect luminance of a left image passing the left lens of the 3D glasses 30); identifying a second image of the display from a second camera (col. 7, lines 7-11: The second light sensor 115 may detect luminance of a right image passing the right lens of the 3D glasses 30). Note that Figs. 6-19 of Jeon illustrates left images and right images of a stereoscopic image. Thus, “identifying” the left images and the right images is implicitly disclosed in Jeon; and determining a crosstalk for the display based on the first image and the second image (col. 6, lines 39-44, col. 7, lines 7-30: The left image and the right image passing from the 3D Glasses 30 are entered to the crosstalk measurement device 100. The crosstalk measurement device 100 may be an apparatus for measuring 3D interocular crosstalk… The controller 130 may calculate an interocular crosstalk based on a luminance value).
Regarding claim 2, Jeon teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first camera represents a first eye of a user, and wherein the first image captures the display providing first content for the first eye and second content for a second eye of the user (col. 7, lines 7-11: The light sensor 110 may include a first light sensor 111 and a second light sensor 115. The first light sensor 111 may detect luminance of a left image passing the left lens of the 3D glasses 30. The second light sensor 115 may detect luminance of a right image passing the right lens of the 3D glasses 30).
Regarding claim 3, Jeon teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the first content comprises a first color and wherein the second content comprises a second color (col. 11, lines 62-62; col. 12, lines 9-11: Referring to FIG. 11A to 11B, an image pattern 1100 may be the measurement pattern for measuring L.sub.LO,G1,G2 of the red color mode and a left image of a stereoscopic image…An image pattern 1150 may be the measurement pattern for measuring L.sub.RO,G1,G2 of the red color mode and a right image of a stereoscopic image).
Regarding claim 4, Jeon teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the second camera represents the second eye of the user (col. 7, lines 7-11: The second light sensor 115 may detect luminance of a right image passing the right lens of the 3D glasses 30), and wherein the second image captures the display providing third content for the first eye and fourth content for the second eye of the user (col. 11, lines 62-62; col. 12, lines 9-11: Referring to FIG. 11A to 11B, an image pattern 1100 may be the measurement pattern for measuring L.sub.LO,G1,G2 of the red color mode and a left image of a stereoscopic image…An image pattern 1150 may be the measurement pattern for measuring L.sub.RO,G1,G2 of the red color mode and a right image of a stereoscopic image).
Regarding claim 5, Jeon teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the display comprises an autostereoscopic three- dimensional (3D) display (col. 2, lines 28-29: The stereoscopic image is displayed in…a non-glasses method).
Regarding claim 6, Jeon teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising: identifying one or more additional images of the display from the first camera (col. 6, lines 32-35, col. 7, lines 7-11: The display 20 may be a stereoscopic display The display 20 may process a stereoscopic image and display the stereoscopic image...The first light sensor 111 may detect luminance of a left image passing the left lens of the 3D glasses 30); and identifying one or more additional images of the display from the second camera (col. 7, lines 7-11: The second light sensor 115 may detect luminance of a right image passing the right lens of the 3D glasses 30). Note that Figs. 6-19 of Jeon illustrates left images and right images of a stereoscopic image. Thus, “identifying” the left images and the right images is implicitly disclosed in Jeon, wherein determining the crosstalk is further based on the one or more additional images of the display from the first camera and the one or more additional images of the display from the second camera (col. 11, lines 4-33: The luminance for measuring 3D interocular crosstalk is measured at the screen center…An image pattern 800 shown in the FIG. 8A may be the measurement pattern for measuring L.sub.LO,G1,G2 of the gray mode and may be a left image of a stereoscopic image…An image pattern 850 shown in the FIG. 8B may be the measurement pattern for measuring L.sub.RO,G1,G2 of the gray mode and may be a right image of a stereoscopic image).
Regarding claim 8, Jeon teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first image is captured at a first location and the second image is captured at a second location (col. 7, lines 7-12: The first light sensor 111 may detect luminance of a left image passing the left lens of the 3D glasses 30. The second light sensor 115 may detect luminance of a right image passing the right lens of the 3D glasses 30), and the method further comprising: identifying a third image of the display from the first camera, the third image captured at a third location; identifying a fourth image of the display from the second camera, the fourth image captured at a fourth location Note that Figs. 6-19 of Jeon illustrates left images and right images of a stereoscopic image. Thus, “identifying” the left images and the right images is implicitly disclosed in Jeon; and determining a second crosstalk for the display based on the third image and the fourth image (col. 12, lines 36-60: FIG. 14A to 14B are diagrams showing an exemplary embodiment of image pattern for measuring 3D interocular crosstalk in a green color mode…Referring to FIG. 14A to 14B, an image pattern 1400 may be the measurement pattern for measuring L.sub.LO,G1,G2 of the green color mode and a left image of a stereoscopic image…An image pattern 1450 may be the measurement pattern for measuring L.sub.RO,G1,G2 of the green color mode and a right image of a stereoscopic image).
Regarding claims 9-14 and 16, the claims are drawn to a system claim and recites the limitation analogous to claims 1-6 and 8, and is rejected due to the same reasons set forth above with respect to claims 1-6 and 8.
Regarding claim 17, Jeon teaches the system of claim 9 further comprising the first camera and the second camera (col. 7, lines 7-11: The first light sensor 111 may detect luminance of a left image passing the left lens of the 3D glasses 30. The second light sensor 115 may detect luminance of a right image passing the right lens of the 3D glasses 30).
Regarding claim 18, Jeon teaches the claim as follows:
A method comprising: receiving a set of images from a camera, the set of images capturing an autostereoscopic display, and the camera representing an eye of a user (Figs. 1-2, col. 7, lines 7-11: The first light sensor 111 may detect luminance of a left image passing the left lens of the 3D glasses 30. The second light sensor 115 may detect luminance of a right image passing the right lens of the 3D glasses 30…The controller 130 may calculate an interocular crosstalk based on a luminance value. Col. 2, lines 27-28: The stereoscopic image is displayed in…a non-glasses method. See Figs. 8-19 illustrating the left and right images of the stereoscopic image); and determining a crosstalk for the autostereoscopic display based on the set of images (col. 11, lines 4-33: The luminance for measuring 3D interocular crosstalk is measured at the screen center…An image pattern 800 shown in the FIG. 8A may be the measurement pattern for measuring L.sub.LO,G1,G2 of the gray mode and may be a left image of a stereoscopic image…An image pattern 850 shown in the FIG. 8B may be the measurement pattern for measuring L.sub.RO,G1,G2 of the gray mode and may be a right image of a stereoscopic image. Col. 2, lines 27-28: The stereoscopic image is displayed in…a non-glasses method).
Regarding claim 19, Jeon teaches the method of claim 18, wherein a first image in the set of images captures the autostereoscopic display displaying a first color for the eye of the user and a second color for a second eye of the user (col. 11, lines 57 to col. 12 lines 11: Referring to FIG. 11A to 11B, an image pattern 1100 may be the measurement pattern for measuring L.sub.LO,G1,G2 of the red color mode and a left image of a stereoscopic image…An image pattern 1150 may be the measurement pattern for measuring L.sub.RO,G1,G2 of the red color mode and a right image of a stereoscopic image. Col. 2, lines 27-28: The stereoscopic image is displayed in…a non-glasses method).
Regarding claim 20, Jeon teaches the method of claim 18 further comprising: receiving a second set of images from a second camera, the second set of images capturing the autostereoscopic display, and the second camera representing a second eye of the user (col. 7, lines 7-11: The second light sensor 115 may detect luminance of a right image passing the right lens of the 3D glasses 30. Col. 2, lines 27-28: The stereoscopic image is displayed in…a non-glasses method).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 9270979 B2) in view of Ryu et al. (US 8537208 B2).
Regarding claim 7, Jeon teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising: identifying a third image of the display from the first camera (col. 6, lines 32-35, col. 7, lines 7-11: The display 20 may be a stereoscopic display The display 20 may process a stereoscopic image and display the stereoscopic image...The first light sensor 111 may detect luminance of a left image passing the left lens of the 3D glasses 30); identifying a fourth image of the display from the second camera (col. 7, lines 7-11: The second light sensor 115 may detect luminance of a right image passing the right lens of the 3D glasses 30). Note that Figs. 6-19 of Jeon illustrates left images and right images of a stereoscopic image. Thus, “identifying” the left images and the right images is implicitly disclosed in Jeon.
Jeon does not teach determining a location of the first camera and the second camera based on the third image and the fourth image.
Ryu teaches determining a location of the first camera and the second camera based on the third image and the fourth image (col. 5, lines 14-23: The position measurement module 130 serves to measure the position of the user who converges on the three-dimensional image. In other words, the position measurement module 130 measures the distance between the three-dimensional image module 100 and the user, specifically the distance between the display device 110 and the user. In this case, the position measurement module 130 can measure the distance between the display device 110 and the user using at least one of a camera…). Note that the three-dimensional image corresponds to the left eye and the image for the right eye. See col. 4, lines 59-67.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeon’s crosstalk measurement system by incorporating the teaching of Ryu, for providing a method of displaying a three-dimensional image according to the position of a user, and adjusting a position of the three-dimensional optical device if the level of crosstalk exceeds a predetermined threshold value (Ryu: col. 2, line 61 to col. 3, line 3).
Regarding claim 15, the claim is drawn to a system claim and recites the limitation analogous to claim 7, and is rejected due to the same reasons set forth above with respect to claim 7.
The following are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kuwahara et al. (US 20120262556 A1) describes detecting crosstalk on a display surface compartmentalized into display regions by image patterns contained in an input image signal to a display device. Abstract.
Lim et al. (US 20120105604 A1) describes an optical measuring apparatus and method for a stereoscopic display device, which facilitates measuring optical characteristics of the stereoscopic display device. ¶0003.
Jung et al. (US 20120050498 A1) describes a system and a method for evaluating a crosstalk of a stereoscopic image display. ¶0003
Conclusion
/NATHNAEL AYNALEM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488