FINAL REJECTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 03/02/2026 has been entered. Claims 3, 18 have been canceled. Claim 21 is newly added. Claims 1-2, 4-17, 19-21 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Drawings, Specification and Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 11/28/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Naik (US 2025/0224115 A1, previously cited).
Regarding independent claim 1, Naik discloses an apparatus 32 for a powerplant (Fig. 1), comprising:
a fuel nozzle 34 (Fig. 5) extending longitudinally along a nozzle centerline 157 to a distal end (Fig. 5), the fuel nozzle including a first gaseous fuel circuit 182a and a second gaseous fuel circuit 182c (Para. 0056, Fig. 5);
the first gaseous fuel circuit 182a including a first circuit fuel passage 182a, a first circuit fuel outlet 183a (Para. 0050) and a fuel swirler 60 (shown in the first gaseous fuel circuit in Fig. 5, labelled “260” in Fig. 6, Para. 0039, “the at least one swirler can be formed as a plurality of airfoils circumferentially spaced within the fuel nozzle 34 to define a fuel swirler”), the first circuit fuel passage extending longitudinally within the fuel nozzle along the nozzle centerline, in a direction towards the distal end of the fuel nozzle, to the first circuit fuel outlet 183a (Para. 0050), the first circuit fuel outlet extending circumferentially about the nozzle centerline and having a non-annular geometry (Para. 0050, “It is further contemplated that the first fuel outlet 183a provides a discontinuous supply of fuel. By way of non-limiting example, many small and/or discrete openings can define the first fuel outlet 183a”, the outlet can be a series of openings arranged about the centerline 72 instead of a single annular opening; note, “non-annular geometry” is very broad as to what could be considered an “annular geometry”; since the outlet 183a of Naik can be a series of multiple discrete openings providing a “discontinuous supply of fuel”, said outlet could be construed as not having an “annular geometry” by virtue of being formed as multiple separate openings that each have their own distinct geometry; see Response to Arguments below), and the fuel swirler 160 disposed within the first circuit fuel passage upstream of the first circuit fuel outlet (Fig. 5, Para. 0058, “a swirler 160 is located in the fuel nozzle 134”); and
the second gaseous fuel circuit 182c including a second circuit fuel annulus and a second circuit fuel outlet 183c (Para. 0054, the outlet 183c can be annular, which would thus define an annulus of the fuel circuit leading to an annular outlet shape), the second circuit fuel annulus extending longitudinally within the fuel nozzle along the nozzle centerline, in the direction towards the distal end of the fuel nozzle, to the second circuit fuel outlet (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 2, Naik discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the fuel swirler includes a center body (Fig. 5, the body forming the first air supply conduit 180a) and one or more helical vanes arranged circumferentially around and projecting radially out from the center body (Fig. 5, Para. 0039, “the at least one swirler can be formed as a plurality of airfoils circumferentially spaced within the fuel nozzle 34 to define a fuel swirler”; vanes are shown extending from the centerbody 180a as shown; in order to swirl the fuel, the vanes would necessarily have some helical structure).
Regarding claim 4, Naik discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first circuit fuel passage 180a extends radially out to an outer side (Fig. 5, to the wall of the injector as shown), and the first circuit fuel passage includes a first section (a straight section) and a second section 176 (tapered section) longitudinally between the first section and the first circuit fuel outlet along the nozzle centerline (Fig. 5, Para. 0090); and
a radius to the outer side of the first circuit fuel passage is uniform longitudinally along the first section (Fig. 5, the radius is shown to be constant along the longitudinal direction), and the radius to the outer side of the first circuit fuel passage decreases longitudinally along the second section (Fig. 5, forming the tapered section 176 as shown).
Regarding claim 5, Naik discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the first circuit fuel passage 180a further includes a third section longitudinally between the second section and the first circuit fuel outlet along the nozzle centerline (see Fig. 3 & 4 Detail below, which depicts the first circuit fuel passage along the centerline 57, having a third section 62 after the second/tapered section); and
the radius to the outer side of the first circuit fuel passage is uniform longitudinally along the third section (Fig. 3 & 4, the third section 62 is shown to have a uniform radius to the outlet end).
Regarding claim 6, Naik discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the fuel swirler 60 is disposed within the first section and upstream of the second section (Fig. 5, the fuel swirler is in the first section as shown upstream the converging/second section).
Regarding claim 7, Naik discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second circuit fuel outlet 183c is located radially outboard of the first circuit fuel outlet 183a (Fig. 5); and the second circuit fuel outlet is located longitudinally between the first circuit fuel outlet and the distal end of the fuel nozzle (Fig. 5, Para. 0056, “the first, second, and third fuel outlets 183a, 183b, 183c can be axially offset from each other. As illustrated each consecutive outlet can be located axially further downstream from the immediately upstream outlet”).
Regarding claim 10, Naik discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the fuel nozzle further includes a third gaseous fuel circuit 182b (Fig. 5), and the third gaseous fuel circuit includes a third circuit fuel annulus and a third circuit fuel outlet 183b (Fig. 5, Para. 0052, “The first fuel injector 186a is defined by a second fuel supply conduit 182b terminating in a second fuel outlet 183b. The second fuel outlet 183b can be annular about the second air outlet 181b”;
the annular outlet 183b implies an annulus to feed the annular shaped outlet); and the third circuit fuel annulus extends longitudinally within the fuel nozzle along the nozzle centerline (Fig. 5), in the direction towards the distal end of the fuel nozzle, to the third circuit fuel outlet (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, Naik discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the third circuit fuel outlet 183b is located radially between the first circuit fuel outlet and the second circuit fuel outlet (Fig. 5); and
the third circuit fuel outlet 183b is located longitudinally between the first circuit fuel outlet 183a and the second circuit fuel outlet 183c along the nozzle centerline (Fig. 5, Para. 0056, “the first, second, and third fuel outlets 183a, 183b, 183c can be axially offset from each other. As illustrated each consecutive outlet can be located axially further downstream from the immediately upstream outlet”).
Regarding claim 12, Naik discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the fuel nozzle further includes a third gaseous fuel circuit 182b, and the third gaseous fuel circuit includes a plurality of third circuit fuel passages and a plurality of third circuit fuel outlets 183b (Para. 0052, the third outlets 183b can be “many small and/or discrete openings can define the second fuel outlet 183b”, hence implying a plurality of fuel passages leading to respective outlets); and
the plurality of third circuit fuel passages are arranged circumferentially about the nozzle centerline, and each of the plurality of third circuit fuel passages extends longitudinally within the fuel nozzle along the nozzle centerline, in the direction towards the distal end of the fuel nozzle, to a respective one of the plurality of third circuit fuel outlets (Para. 0052, the “many small and/or discrete openings” are arranged about the centerline as an alternative to a single annular outlet).
Regarding claim 13, Naik discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the plurality of third circuit fuel outlets 183b are arranged along an inner periphery of the second circuit fuel outlet 183c (Fig. 5, the third outlets 183b are radially inward of the second outlets 183c, hence are along an inner periphery of the second outlets).
Regarding claim 14, Naik discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the fuel nozzle further includes an air circuit 180b (second air supply conduit, Fig. 5, Para. 0051), and the air circuit includes a circuit air annulus and a circuit air outlet 181b (Para. 0051, Fig. 5, the outlet 181b is annular, and implies an annulus); the circuit air annulus extends longitudinally within the fuel nozzle along the nozzle centerline (Fig. 5), in the direction towards the distal end of the fuel nozzle, to the circuit air outlet 181b; and the circuit air outlet is located radially between the first circuit fuel outlet 183a and the second circuit fuel outlet 183c (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 15, Naik discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the fuel nozzle further includes an air circuit 180d (“fourth air supply conduit”, Para. 0055) and a wall 158 (“monolithic body”, Para. 0048, Fig. 5), and the air circuit includes a plurality of circuit air passages 180d and a plurality of circuit air outlets 181d (Fig. 5, Para. 0055);
the plurality of circuit air passages 180d are arranged circumferentially about the nozzle centerline 157, and each of the plurality of circuit air passages extends longitudinally through the wall 158 of the fuel nozzle (Fig. 5), in the direction towards the distal end of the fuel nozzle (Fig. 5), to a respective one of the plurality of circuit air outlets 181d; and
the plurality of circuit air outlets 181d are located radially outboard of the first circuit fuel outlet 183a and the second circuit fuel outlet 183c (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 16, Naik discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a fuel delivery system 64, 66 comprising a gaseous fuel source (Fig. 3, Para. 0038, 0042);
the fuel delivery system configured to deliver gaseous fuel to the first gaseous fuel circuit and the second gaseous fuel circuit (Fig. 3, 5, via the passageway 66, 166 feeding inlets of the first and second gaseous fuel circuits as shown).
Claim 20 & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwai (US 4,890,453 A, previously cited).
Regarding independent claim 20, Iwai discloses an apparatus 21 (fuel nozzle) for a powerplant (Fig. 1), comprising:
a fuel nozzle 21 extending longitudinally along a nozzle centerline to a distal end (Fig. 2 below), the fuel nozzle including a first fuel circuit 35, a second fuel circuit 41, and a third fuel circuit 42 (Fig. 2);
the first fuel circuit including a first circuit fuel passage 35 (“oil fuel passage”) and a first circuit fuel outlet 36 (Fig. 2, 3), the first circuit fuel passage extending within the fuel nozzle, in a longitudinal direction towards the distal end of the fuel nozzle, to the first circuit fuel outlet (Fig. 2, Col. 5, ln. 66-Col. 6, ln. 16);
the second fuel circuit 41 (“main flow chamber” for “coal gas fuel”) radially outboard of the first fuel circuit (Fig. 2), the second fuel circuit including a plurality of second fuel circuit passages 44 (“main injection ports”, Fig. 2, 3) and a plurality of second fuel circuit outlets (the downstream ends of each port 44, Fig. 3) arranged circumferentially around the nozzle centerline (Fig. 2 below), each of the plurality of second fuel circuit passages extending within the fuel nozzle (they extend longitudinally along a portion of the overall fuel nozzle, Fig. 2), in the longitudinal direction, to a respective one of the plurality of second fuel circuit outlets (Fig. 2 below, Col. 6, ln. 17-53); and
the third fuel circuit 42 (Fig. 2, from the “sub-pass inlet 23” through “sub-pass chamber 42” to the “sub-injection ports 43”) radially outboard of the second fuel circuit (Fig. 2), the third fuel circuit including a third circuit fuel annulus 42 (“sub-pass chamber”) and a third circuit fuel outlet 43 (“sub-injection ports 43” Fig. 2, 3), and the third circuit fuel annulus extending within the fuel nozzle (Fig. 2 the annulus sub-pass chamber extends longitudinally along the axis for a portion of the length of the fuel nozzle as shown), in the longitudinal direction and a radial inward direction (the annulus 42 extends radially inward from the sub-pass inlet 23 to the sub-pass chamber 42, and is formed between two radially spaced walls of the fuel nozzle as shown; hence, the annulus extends radially inward from a radially outer wall having the inlet 23 to a radially inner wall separating the third fuel circuit annulus from the second fuel circuit 41), to the third circuit fuel outlet 43 (Fig. 2, Col. 6, ln. 17-27; to the “sub-injection ports 43” at the distal end of the fuel nozzle; see Response to Arguments below); and
a fuel delivery system (Fig. 1) comprising a gaseous fuel source 5, 11 (“gas producer 5”, “gas oil” 11), the fuel delivery system configured to deliver gaseous fuel to at least one of the first fuel circuit, the second fuel circuit or the third fuel circuit (Fig. 1 & 2, via the conduits 12, 22, 23, Col. 4, ln. 34-Col. 5, ln. 13).
Regarding claim 21, Iwai discloses the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the third fuel circuit 42 includes a third circuit fuel passage 23 (a “sub-passage inlet” feeding the annulus 42);
the third circuit fuel annulus 42 is arranged between the third circuit fuel passage 23 and the third circuit fuel outlet 43 (Fig. 2, fuel flows serially within the third fuel circuit from the third circuit fuel passage 23/sub-passage inlet, the third circuit fuel annulus 42/sub-pass chamber, and then the third circuit fuel outlets 43 as shown; Col. 6, ln. 22-25, “the coal gas fuel introduced into the nozzle body 50 through a sub-pass inlet 23 is conducted to a sub-pass chamber 42 and injected through sub-injection ports 43”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naik in view of Shi (US 2013/0040255 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 8, Naik discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the second circuit fuel annulus tapers radially inward towards the nozzle centerline as the second circuit fuel annulus extends longitudinally along the nozzle centerline to the second circuit fuel outlet.
Shi discloses a fuel nozzle 180 having a first gaseous fuel circuit 236 and a second gaseous fuel circuit 240 (Para. 0024, “the second flow 236 may be a first fuel flow… the fourth flow 240 may be a second fuel flow”), and a third fuel circuit 284 (Para. 0030, “the sixth flow 284 may be a third fuel flow”), the second gaseous fuel circuit having an annulus and an outlet 262, wherein the second circuit fuel annulus tapers radially inward towards the nozzle centerline 190 as the second circuit fuel annulus extends longitudinally along the nozzle centerline to the second circuit fuel outlet (Fig. 4, Para. 0027).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus of Naik such that the second circuit fuel annulus tapers radially inwards towards the nozzle centerline as it extends to the second circuit fuel outlet, as taught by Shi, in order to allow the outlet to converge towards the centerline, to intensify premixing with the adjacent airflows through the fuel nozzle within the premixing region (Shi Para. 0027). The embodiment of Naik Fig. 5 depicts tapered walls 190 that cause the fuel from outlet 183c and airflow to converge towards the centerline 157, similarly to that shown in Shi. Hence, based on the teachings in Shi, one skilled in the art would be motivated to also taper the second circuit fuel annulus towards the centerline in a similar manner, such that the flows of fuel and air converge at a premix region downstream of the fuel nozzle, improving the premixing.
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naik in view of Morenko (US 2022/0356845 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 9, Naik discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the second gaseous fuel circuit further includes a plurality of second circuit fuel passages arranged circumferentially about the nozzle centerline; and each of the plurality of second circuit fuel passages extends longitudinally within the fuel nozzle to an upstream end of the second circuit fuel annulus.
Naik does teach a fuel swirler 60 can be implemented in the second gaseous fuel circuit (in the outer fuel injectors 36 that include the second gaseous fuel circuit, Para. 0039, “At least one swirler 60 associated with the outer most set of fuel injectors 36 can have zero swirl or low swirl. The swirl number associated with the outer most set of fuel injectors 36 can range from 0 to 0.6”).
Morenko teaches a fuel nozzle having a fuel circuit 32 (which can be used to provide a gaseous fuel in some arrangements, Para. 0025) with a circuit fuel annulus 57 (an “axial fuel passage 57”, Fig. 2C), the gaseous fuel circuit further includes a plurality of circuit fuel passages 68a (“fuel-directing apertures” that define a fuel swirler, Para. 0034-35) arranged circumferentially about the nozzle centerline L (Fig. 2C, 3A, Para. 0034); and each of the plurality of circuit fuel passages 68a extends longitudinally within the fuel nozzle to an upstream end of a circuit fuel annulus (Fig. 2C, the portion of the axial fuel passage 57 that is downstream of the protrusion 67a having the plurality of circuit fuel passages).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated into the apparatus of Naik, the plurality of circuit fuel passages extending longitudinally to an upstream end of a circuit fuel annulus as taught by Morenko, to the second gaseous fuel circuit of Naik, in order to provide the second gaseous fuel circuit with a fuel swirler having discrete passages that are angled to cause the fuel passing therethrough to mix and swirl within the downstream fuel annulus prior to reaching the fuel outlet (Morenko Para. 0035). Naik suggests fuel swirlers can be implemented in the fuel nozzle outer injectors 36 (i.e. the second gaseous fuel circuit) to provide a “low” swirling of the fuel (Naik Para. 0039), and one of ordinary skill would be motivated to incorporate a fuel swirler (such as the fuel swirler configuration of Morenko having a plurality of passages arranged circumferentially) to the second gaseous fuel circuit to improve fuel-air premixing of the fuel from the second gaseous fuel circuit similar to the first gaseous fuel circuit.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi in view of Naik.
Regarding independent claim 17, Shi discloses an apparatus 180 (fuel injector) for a powerplant (Para. 0018, gas turbine engine or combustion engine), comprising:
a fuel nozzle 180 extending longitudinally along a nozzle centerline 190 to a distal end (Fig. 4), the fuel nozzle including a first fuel circuit 236, a second fuel circuit 240 (Para. 0024, “the second flow 236 may be a first fuel flow… the fourth flow 240 may be a second fuel flow”), and a third fuel circuit 284 (Para. 0030, “the sixth flow 284 may be a third fuel flow”);
the first fuel circuit 236 including a first circuit fuel passage 226 and a first circuit fuel outlet (Fig. 4, the outlet formed at tip 248), the first circuit fuel passage extending within the fuel nozzle, in a longitudinal direction towards the distal end of the fuel nozzle, to the first circuit fuel outlet (Fig. 4);
the second fuel circuit 240 radially outboard of the first fuel circuit (Fig. 4), the second fuel circuit including a second circuit fuel annulus 230 and a second circuit fuel outlet (Fig. 4, the outlet formed between tips 250, 252), and the second circuit fuel annulus extending within the fuel nozzle, in the longitudinal direction and a radial inward direction towards the nozzle centerline, to the second circuit fuel outlet (Fig. 4, the annulus extends longitudinally and radially inward at the downstream end to the outlet as shown); and
the third fuel circuit 284 radially outboard of the second fuel circuit (Fig. 4), the third fuel circuit including a third circuit fuel annulus 280 and a third circuit fuel outlet (Fig. 4, outlet between tips 254 and 288), and the third circuit fuel annulus extending within the fuel nozzle, in the longitudinal direction and the radial inward direction, to the third circuit fuel outlet (Fig. 4, the annulus extends longitudinally and radially inward at the downstream end to the outlet as shown); and
a fuel delivery system 308 comprising a gaseous fuel source 236, 240 (Fig. 5, Para. 0031), the fuel delivery system configured to deliver gaseous fuel to at least one of the first fuel circuit, the second fuel circuit or the third fuel circuit (Fig. 5, Para. 0031, “a first fuel control valve 312 may be used to adjust a flow rate of the first fuel flow 236, …a second fuel control valve 316 may be used to adjust a flow rate of the second fuel flow 240”).
Shi fails to disclose wherein the fuel nozzle further comprises a fuel swirler, the fuel swirler disposed within the first circuit fuel passage, and the fuel swirler including a centerbody and one or more helical vanes arranged circumferentially around and axially along and projecting radially out from the center body.
Naik teaches a fuel nozzle having first, second, and third fuel circuits, wherein the first circuit 134 has a first circuit fuel passage 182a with a fuel swirler 260 (Fig. 5, 6, Para. 0039), the fuel swirler disposed within the first circuit fuel passage 182a, and the fuel swirler including a centerbody (Fig. 5, the body forming the first air supply conduit 180a) and one or more helical vanes arranged circumferentially around and axially along and projecting radially out from the center body (Fig. 5, Para. 0039, “the at least one swirler can be formed as a plurality of airfoils circumferentially spaced within the fuel nozzle 34 to define a fuel swirler”; vanes are shown extending from the centerbody 180a as shown; in order to swirl the fuel, the vanes would necessarily have some angled/helical configuration).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated into the apparatus of Shi, a fuel swirler having a centerbody and helical vanes within the first circuit fuel passage, as taught by Naik, in order to impart a swirling motion to the fuel, causing a helical/swirling fuel flow downstream of the swirler that can improve mixing with the air passing through the fuel nozzle (Naik Para. 0039, Shi and Naik have similar concentric arrangements of fuel circuits interposed between air circuits, with a first gaseous fuel circuit surrounding a central air passage, Naik Fig. 5, Shi Fig. 4). By incorporating a fuel swirler as taught by Naik into the fuel nozzle of Shi, the similar “first conduit 224” forming a “first flow 234” could be used as the “centerbody” similar to how the air supply conduit 180a of Naik serves as a centerbody for their fuel swirler 160 (see Response to Arguments below). Incorporating a fuel swirler would improve fuel-air premixing in a manner well-known in the art.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi in view of Naik, further in view of Morenko.
Regarding claim 19, Shi in view of Naik teaches the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the fuel nozzle 180 further includes a first air circuit 238 (“third flow” which can be oxygen/air, Para. 0020, 0024-25, Fig. 4); the first air circuit includes a first circuit air annulus (the cylindrical portion and tapered portion, Fig. 4) and a first circuit air outlet 260 (Fig. 3 & 4, formed between the tips 248, 250), the first circuit air annulus is radially outboard of the first fuel circuit 236 and radially inboard of the second fuel circuit 240 (Fig. 4), and the first circuit air annulus extends within the fuel nozzle, in the longitudinal direction and the radial inward direction (Fig. 4, the annulus has a straight longitudinally extending portion and a tapering portion as shown), to the first circuit air outlet (Fig. 4).
Shi in view of Naik fails to disclose a wall, and a second air circuit; the second air circuit includes a plurality of second circuit air passages and a plurality of second circuit air outlets, the plurality of second circuit air passages are radially outboard of the third fuel circuit, and each of the plurality of second circuit air passages extends through the wall of the fuel nozzle, in the longitudinal direction and the radial inward direction, to a respective one of the plurality of second circuit air outlets.
Morenko teaches a fuel nozzle 20 (Fig. 2C) having a wall 43, and a second air circuit 45a, 45b, the second air circuit includes a plurality of second circuit air passages 45a, 45b (Fug. 2C) and a plurality of second circuit air outlets (formed on the downstream face 44 of the wall 43, Fig. 2C), the plurality of second circuit air passages are radially outboard of the fuel circuits 54, 57 of the fuel nozzle, and each of the plurality of second circuit air passages extends through the wall of the fuel nozzle (Fig. 2C), in the longitudinal direction and the radial inward direction, to a respective one of the plurality of second circuit air outlets (Fig. 2C, the air passages 45a, 45b extend longitudinally and are angled towards the centerline L).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated into the apparatus of Shi, the wall and second air circuit with second circuit air passages extending through the wall in longitudinal and radial inward directions, as taught by Morenko, in order to provide additional compressed air flow into fuel-air mixing zone downstream the fuel nozzle, the air directed radially inwards and with circumferential direction, to promote fuel-air mixing (Morenko Para. 0027-28). The amount of air provided to the fuel nozzle would depend on operational parameters such fuel type, combustion requirements, or required gas pressure, and one of ordinary skill would be motivated to incorporate additional air circuits as needed to provide a required amount of air to the combustor to achieve a desired level of performance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 & 17 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection that was necessitated by Applicant’s amendment. However, to the extent possible, Applicant’s arguments have been addressed below and in the body of the rejections, at the appropriate locations.
Regarding independent claim 1, applicant argues in the Remarks filed 03/02/2026 that prior at of record Naik fails to disclose the limitation “the first circuit fuel outlet extending circumferentially about the nozzle centerline and having a non-annular geometry” (Remarks Pg. 9-10). Applicant states that Naik’s disclosure of the first circuit fuel outlet 183a having “many small and/or discrete openings” equates to an “annular geometry”, since “any such opens would be distributed circumferentially about Naik's central axis forming an annular configuration of discrete openings” (Remarks Pg. 10). However, this argument is unpersuasive. The phrase “non-annular geometry” is very broad as to what could be considered an “annular geometry”. Since the outlet 183a of Naik can be a series of multiple discrete openings providing a “discontinuous supply of fuel”, said outlet could be construed as not having an “annular geometry” by virtue of being formed as multiple separate openings arranged around the nozzle centerline, each opening have their own distinct geometry. Applicant appears to be equating an “annular arrangement” of multiple discrete openings as an “annular geometry”, however, the term “geometry” implies a distinct shape for the outlet opening, and the claim language could be broadly interpreted as merely requiring the first circuit fuel outlet not include a singular geometric shape that is annular (i.e. single a ring-shaped opening), which the multiple “discrete” openings forming a “discontinuous supply of fuel” of Naik would satisfy. Based on the instant disclosure, the “non-annular geometry” that applicant appears to be attempting to encompass from the claim language is a “solid (e.g. non-annular) outlet” or “solid circular geometry” (Para. 0056, 0068). However, this feature is not clearly captured by the current claim language.
Regarding independent claim 17, applicant argue (Remarks pg. 11-12) that Shi fails to disclose the recited “fuel swirler” having a centerbody within the first circuit fuel passage, and contends that Naik also fails to teach a fuel swirler having a centerbody that could be incorporated into Shi. However, this argument is unpersuasive. Both Shi and Naik teach respective first circuit fuel passages (in Shi, passage 226 for a flow 236, Fig. 4 & 5; in Naik, passage 182a, Fig. 5). Naik also teaches a fuel swirler 160 disposed within their respective first circuit fuel passage 182a, with a centerbody that doubles as a “first air supply conduit 180a” extending along the centerline axis 157 (Naik Fig. 5, Para. 0049, 0058). Similarly, Shi teaches a first gas supply conduit 224 for a gas flow 234 that is disposed within their respective first circuit fuel passage 226, 236 (Shi Fig. 4-5). Consequently, it would have been obvious based on the teachings of Naik to incorporate a fuel swirler into the first circuit fuel passage of Shi, at a similar location, using the first gas supply conduit 224 of Shi as the “centerbody” in the same manner as taught by Naik, in order to provide swirler vanes within the first circuit fuel passage, to improve fuel mixing downstream of the nozzle. Such a combination would not interfere with the functioning of Shi’s nozzle, as only swirler vanes using the first gas supply conduit as a “centerbody” would be incorporated from Naik, to achieve a predictable result of swirling the fuel flow within the first circuit fuel passage.
Regarding independent claim 20, applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant asserts (Remarks pg. 12-13) that prior art of record Iwai fails to disclose the claim limitation “the third fuel circuit radially outboard of the second fuel circuit, the third fuel circuit including a third circuit fuel annulus and a third circuit fuel outlet, and the third circuit fuel annulus extending within the fuel nozzle, in the longitudinal direction and a radial inward direction, to the third circuit fuel outlet”. Applicant states that the respective “third circuit fuel annulus” of Iwai extends in a radially outward direction to the third circuit fuel outlet instead of radially inward direction (Remarks Pg. 13). However, the argument is unpersuasive. The claim does not explicitly require that the “third circuit fuel annulus” possess a converging shape or extends towards the nozzle centerline as it extends longitudinally. The claim only recites that the annulus extends in “a longitudinal direction and a radial inward direction, to the third circuit fuel outlet”. The annulus 42 is a “sub-pass chamber” that extends between two radially spaced walls, an outer wall having an inlet passage 23, and an inner wall that separates the annulus from the second fuel circuit 41 (Iwai Fig. 2); hence, the annulus 42 extends radially inward from the inlet 23 to the inner wall, providing its radial thickness. The annulus also extends in a longitudinal direction from the inlet 23 to the outlet 43 (Iwai Fig. 2). It is recommended that the claim language be revised to more explicitly capture that the third circuit fuel annulus extends radially inward as it extends longitudinally towards the third circuit fuel outlet, thus providing the annulus with a converging shape towards the nozzle centerline. Consequently, the rejection of claim 20 as anticipated by Iwai is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAIN CHAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741