Detailed action
1. Status of Claims:
Claims 1-20 are pending in this Office Action.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/07/2025, 08/14/2025, 11/12/2025, 04/20/2026, and 09/24/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
3. Examiner acknowledges that this present application is a continuation of United States application titled “MESSAGING AMONG MESSAGE GROUPS IN A MESH NETWORK,” filed on September 16, 2022, and having Serial No. 17/933,007. The subject matter of this related application is hereby incorporated herein by reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (2) as being anticipated by WO2022082825A1 issued to Bo et al. (Bo).
As per claim 1, Bo teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a messaging application executing on a first node of a mesh network, a request from an agent executing on the first node to join a message group (Bo: Pg. 4, last paragraph - the multicast processing node located at the edge of the network receives and processes the join request message based on the multicast identifier forwarded by the multicast member agent, sends a resolution request to the identification resolution service module, and parses the multicast identifier carried in the join request message); in response to determining that the agent is permitted to join the message group, adding, by the messaging application, the agent to the message group (Bo: Pg. 6. 3rd Paragraph - if the destination network address carried in the modified join request message is the network address of the multicast processing node that currently receives the modified join request message, update the local multicast forwarding table (adding the agent by updating table) according to the modified join request message, and construct a Forward request response message); and delivering, by the messaging application, one or more messages associated with the message group between the agent and one or more other agents that are members of the messaging group (Bo: Pg. 9, 3rd Paragraph - one or more multicast member agents and one or more multicast receivers, and the multicast member agents and the multicast receivers are located in the same broadcast domain; multicast The member agent has a local identifier, which is used for information exchange between the multicast receiver and the multicast member agent in the local broadcast domain).
As per claim 2, Bo teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising creating, by the messaging application, the message group in response to a request from the agent to create the message group (Bo: Pg. 4, last paragraph - the multicast processing node located at the edge of the network receives and processes the join request message based on the multicast identifier forwarded by the multicast member agent, sends a resolution request to the identification resolution service module, and parses the multicast identifier carried in the join request message; Bo: Pg. 6. 3rd Paragraph – teaches if the destination network address carried in the modified join request message is the network address of the multicast processing node that currently receives the modified join request message, update the local multicast forwarding table (by adding the agent and update the table) according to the modified join request message. Examiner’s interpretation is when the table is updated by adding the agent, it becomes a new table and being created).
As per claim 17, Bo teaches a network device in a mesh network, comprising: one or more processors; and a memory storing executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: in response to receiving a request from an agent executing on the network device to access a message group (Bo: Pg. 4, last paragraph - the multicast processing node located at the edge of the network receives and processes the join request message based on the multicast identifier forwarded by the multicast member agent, sends a resolution request to the identification resolution service module, and parses the multicast identifier carried in the join request message), making the agent a member of the message group (Bo: Pg. 6. 3rd Paragraph - if the destination network address carried in the modified join request message is the network address of the multicast processing node that currently receives the modified join request message, update the local multicast forwarding table (adding the agent by updating table) according to the modified join request message, and construct a Forward request response message); and transmitting and receiving one or more messages having an identifier of the message group between the agent and one or more other agents that are included in the message group, the one or more other agents executing on respective other network devices in the mesh network (Bo: Pg. 9, 3rd Paragraph - one or more multicast member agents and one or more multicast receivers, and the multicast member agents and the multicast receivers are located in the same broadcast domain; multicast The member agent has a local identifier, which is used for information exchange between the multicast receiver and the multicast member agent in the local broadcast domain).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 3, 7-13, 15-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2022082825A1 issued to Bo et al. (Bo) in view of US 8,310,973 issued to Garofalo et al. (Garofalo) (Applicant IDS).
As per claim 3, Bo teaches the method of claim 1 however does not explicitly teach further comprising prior to transmitting a first message from the agent to the one or more other agents, verifying, by the messaging application, that a policy for the message group permits the agent to transmit the first message to the message group.
Garofalo however explicitly teaches further comprising prior to transmitting a first message from the agent to the one or more other agents, verifying, by the messaging application, that a policy for the message group permits the agent to transmit the first message to the message group (Garofalo: Col. 4, ll. (50-59) – by delivery policy it is meant here a set of rules that guide the treatment of a content request according to specific conditions related to the user (i.e., his/her identity, his/her credit), the connectivity (the available bandwidth), the content (i.e. the necessary bandwidth and other attributes) and/or in general according to parameters that can be acquired in real time analyzing the session. These rules determine the action that will be acted (enforced) on the request i.e., authorizing the original one or modifying it with a different content reference).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Bo in view of Garofalo to teach prior to transmitting a first message from the agent to the one or more other agents, verifying, by the messaging application, that a policy for the message group permits the agent to transmit the first message to the message group. One would be motivated to do so as by delivery policy it is meant here a set of rules that guide the treatment of a content request according to specific conditions related to the user (i.e., his/her identity, his/her credit), the connectivity (the available bandwidth), the content (i.e. the necessary bandwidth and other attributes) and/or in general according to parameters that can be acquired in real time analyzing the session. These rules determine the action that will be acted (enforced) on the request i.e., authorizing the original one or modifying it with a different content reference (Garofalo: Col. 4, ll. (50-59)).
As per claim 7, Bo teaches the method of claim 1 however does not explicitly teach further comprising: receiving, by the messaging application, a first message for the message group from a second messaging application executing on a second node of the mesh network; and delivering, by the messaging application, the first message to the agent.
Garofalo however explicitly teaches further comprising: receiving, by the messaging application, a first message for the message group from a second messaging application executing on a second node of the mesh network; and delivering, by the messaging application, the first message to the agent (Garofalo: Col. 6, ll. (54-56) – for the multicast content if a content redirection 55 is active at the moment for the host 15 connected to the router).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Bo in view of Garofalo to teach receiving, by the messaging application, a first message for the message group from a second messaging application executing on a second node of the mesh network; and delivering, by the messaging application, the first message to the agent. One would be motivated to do so as for the multicast content if a content redirection is active at the moment for the host connected to the router (Garofalo: Col. 6, ll. (54-56)).
As per claim 8, the modified teaching of Bo teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the first message is included in a composite message that also includes a second message for a second message group, and the method further comprises: delivering, by the messaging application, content from the first message to the agent; and delivering, by the messaging application, content from the second message to at least one agent executing on the first node that is included in the second message group (Garofalo: Col. 6, ll. (46-55) – an Intermediate Agent (IA) 18 is disposed on the line towards hosts 15, between each host 15 and the Replication Point 13; the Intermediate Agent 18 deals with adding an interface (e.g., line) identifier to the IGMP signalling sent by the hosts 15, in order to identify the host in an unequivocal manner and independently of the credentials provided. Moreover, the Intermediate Agent 18 performs NAT/PAT (Network Address Translation/Port Address Translation) functionality for the multicast content if a content redirection is active at the moment for the host 15 connected to the router).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Bo in view of Garofalo to teach the first message is included in a composite message that also includes a second message for a second message group, and the method further comprises: delivering, by the messaging application, content from the first message to the agent; and delivering, by the messaging application, content from the second message to at least one agent executing on the first node that is included in the second message group. One would be motivated to do so as an Intermediate Agent (IA) is disposed on the line towards hosts, between each host and the Replication Point; the Intermediate Agent deals with adding an interface (e.g., line) identifier to the IGMP signalling sent by the hosts, in order to identify the host in an unequivocal manner and independently of the credentials provided. Moreover, the Intermediate Agent 18 performs NAT/PAT (Network Address Translation/Port Address Translation) functionality for the multicast content if a content redirection is active at the moment for the host connected to the router (Garofalo: Col. 6, ll. (46-55)).
As per claim 9, Bo teaches the method of claim 1 however does not explicitly teach wherein determining that the agent is permitted to join the message group comprises verifying that a policy permits the agent to join the message group.
Garofalo however explicitly teaches wherein determining that the agent is permitted to join the message group comprises verifying that a policy permits the agent to join the message group (Garofalo: Col. 4, ll. (32-34) – determine a delivery policy associated to that host for the requested group).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Bo in view of Garofalo to teach wherein determining that the agent is permitted to join the message group comprises verifying that a policy permits the agent to join the message group. One would be motivated to do to determine a delivery policy associated to that host for the requested group (Garofalo: Col. 4, ll. (32-34)).
As per claim 10, the modified teaching of Bo teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the policy indicates at least one of a permission of the agent to create message groups of one or more message group types, a permission of the agent to join one or more message groups, or a permission of the agent to transmit messages to one or more message groups (Garofalo: Col. 4, ll. (32-34) – determine a delivery policy associated to that host for the requested group).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Bo in view of Garofalo to teach wherein the policy indicates at least one of a permission of the agent to create message groups of one or more message group types, a permission of the agent to join one or more message groups, or a permission of the agent to transmit messages to one or more message groups. One would be motivated to do to determine a delivery policy associated to that host for the requested group (Garofalo: Col. 4, ll. (32-34)).
As per claim 11, Bo teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a node of a mesh network, cause the one or more processors to execute a messaging application performing operations comprising: receiving a request from an agent executing on the node to become a member of a messaging group (Bo: Pg. 4, last paragraph - the multicast processing node located at the edge of the network receives and processes the join request message based on the multicast identifier forwarded by the multicast member agent, sends a resolution request to the identification resolution service module, and parses the multicast identifier carried in the join request message); and exchanging one or more messages designated for the messaging group between the agent and one or more other agents executing on other nodes of the mesh network, the one or more other agents being members of the messaging group (Bo: Pg. 9, 3rd Paragraph - one or more multicast member agents and one or more multicast receivers, and the multicast member agents and the multicast receivers are located in the same broadcast domain; multicast The member agent has a local identifier, which is used for information exchange between the multicast receiver and the multicast member agent in the local broadcast domain).
Bo however does not explicitly teach subscribing the agent to the messaging group in response to determining that a policy for the messaging group allows the agent to become a member of the messaging group;
Garofalo however explicitly teaches subscribing the agent to the messaging group in response to determining that a policy for the messaging group allows the agent to become a member of the messaging group (Garofalo: Col. 4, ll. (32-34) – determine a delivery policy associated to that host for the requested group);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Bo in view of Garofalo to teach subscribing the agent to the messaging group in response to determining that a policy for the messaging group allows the agent to become a member of the messaging group. One would be motivated to do to determine a delivery policy associated to that host for the requested group (Garofalo: Col. 4, ll. (32-34)).
As per claim 12, the modified teaching of Bo teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a second request from the agent to form the messaging group; and in response to determining that the policy allows the agent to form the messaging group, forming the messaging group (Bo: Pg. 4, last paragraph - the multicast processing node located at the edge of the network receives and processes the join request message based on the multicast identifier forwarded by the multicast member agent, sends a resolution request to the identification resolution service module, and parses the multicast identifier carried in the join request message; Bo: Pg. 6. 3rd Paragraph – teaches if the destination network address carried in the modified join request message is the network address of the multicast processing node that currently receives the modified join request message, update the local multicast forwarding table (by adding the agent and update the table) according to the modified join request message. Examiner’s interpretation is when the table is updated by adding the agent, it becomes a new table and being created).
As per claim 13, the modified teaching of Bo teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving content for a first message from the agent; and in response to determining that the policy allows the agent to send the content to the messaging group, sending the first message to the one or more other agents (Garofalo: Col. 4, ll. (50-59) – by delivery policy it is meant here a set of rules that guide the treatment of a content request according to specific conditions related to the user (i.e., his/her identity, his/her credit), the connectivity (the available bandwidth), the content (i.e. the necessary bandwidth and other attributes) and/or in general according to parameters that can be acquired in real time analyzing the session. These rules determine the action that will be acted (enforced) on the request i.e., authorizing the original one or modifying it with a different content reference).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Bo in view of Garofalo to teach receiving content for a first message from the agent; and in response to determining that the policy allows the agent to send the content to the messaging group, sending the first message to the one or more other agents. One would be motivated to do so as by delivery policy it is meant here a set of rules that guide the treatment of a content request according to specific conditions related to the user (i.e., his/her identity, his/her credit), the connectivity (the available bandwidth), the content (i.e. the necessary bandwidth and other attributes) and/or in general according to parameters that can be acquired in real time analyzing the session. These rules determine the action that will be acted (enforced) on the request i.e., authorizing the original one or modifying it with a different content reference (Garofalo: Col. 4, ll. (50-59)).
As per claim 15, the modified teaching of Bo teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a first message for the messaging group from a second node of the mesh network; and delivering the first message to the agent (Garofalo: Col. 6, ll. (54-56) – for the multicast content if a content redirection 55 is active at the moment for the host 15 connected to the router).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Bo in view of Garofalo to teach wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a first message for the messaging group from a second node of the mesh network; and delivering the first message to the agent. One would be motivated to do so as for the multicast content if a content redirection is active at the moment for the host connected to the router (Garofalo: Col. 6, ll. (54-56)).
As per claim 16, the claim resembles claim 10 and is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 18, the claim resembles claim 13 and is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 20, the claim resembles claim 7 and is rejected under the same rationale.
6. Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2022082825A1 issued to Bo et al. (Bo) in view of US 2004/0111612 issued to Choi et al. (Choi) (Applicant IDS).
As per claim 4, Bo teaches the method of claim 1 however does not explicitly teach further comprising: encrypting, by the messaging application, a first message with a cryptographic key that is associated with the message group; and transmitting, by the messaging application, the encrypted first message to the one or more other agents.
Choi however explicitly teaches further comprising encrypting, by the messaging application, a first message with a cryptographic key that is associated with the message group; and transmitting, by the messaging application, the encrypted first message to the one or more other agents (Choi: ¶ 0062 – to implement authentication, the group owner challenges a group member by sending an instant value of a symmetric key variable encrypted by its private key).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Bo in view of Choi to teach further comprising encrypting, by the messaging application, a first message with a cryptographic key that is associated with the message group; and transmitting, by the messaging application, the encrypted first message to the one or more other agents. One would be motivated to do so as to implement authentication, the group owner challenges a group member by sending an instant value of a symmetric key variable encrypted by its private key (Choi: ¶ 0062).
As per claim 5, Bo teaches the method of claim 1 however does not explicitly teach further comprising transmitting, by the messaging application, a first message from the agent to the message group and a second message for a second message group in a composite message.
Choi however explicitly teaches transmitting, by the messaging application, a first message from the agent to the message group and a second message for a second message group in a composite message (Choi: Claim 1 – a group message distribution module to convert a single group message addressed to a group into a plurality of individual messages and to deliver one individual message to each group member, wherein the identities of the group members are kept undisclosed to one another and group message routing information is attached for successive group message exchanges).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Bo in view of Choi to teach wherein the transmitting includes transmitting the message and a second message for a second message group in a composite message. One would be motivated to do so as a group message distribution module to convert a single group message addressed to a group into a plurality of individual messages and to deliver one individual message to each group member, wherein the identities of the group members are kept undisclosed to one another and group message routing information is attached for successive group message exchanges (Choi: Claim 1).
As per claim 6, the modified teaching of Bo teaches the method of claim 5, wherein content of the first message is encrypted using a first cryptographic key that is associated with the message group and content of the second message is encrypted using a second cryptographic key that is associated with the second message group (Choi: ¶ 0015 – the sender encrypts the symmetric key once per group using the group public key).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Bo in view of Choi to teach wherein the transmitting includes transmitting the message and a second message for a second message group in a composite message. One would be motivated to do so as a group message distribution module to convert a single group message addressed to a group into a plurality of individual messages and to deliver one individual message to each group member, wherein the identities of the group members are kept undisclosed to one another and group message routing information is attached for successive group message exchanges (Choi: ¶ 0015).
7. Claims 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2022082825A1 issued to Bo et al. (Bo) in view of US 8,310,973 issued to Garofalo et al. (Garofalo) (Applicant IDS) and further in view of US 2004/0111612 issued to Choi et al. (Choi) (Applicant IDS).
As per claim 14, the modified teaching of Bo teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11 however does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise: receiving first content for a first message to the messaging group from the agent; receiving second content for a second message to a second messaging group from the agent; combining the first message and the second message to create a composite message; and sending the composite message.
Choi however explicitly teaches wherein the operations further comprise: receiving first content for a first message to the messaging group from the agent; receiving second content for a second message to a second messaging group from the agent; combining the first message and the second message to create a composite message; and sending the composite message (Choi: Claim 1 – a group message distribution module to convert a single group message addressed to a group into a plurality of individual messages and to deliver one individual message to each group member, wherein the identities of the group members are kept undisclosed to one another and group message routing information is attached for successive group message exchanges).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Bo in view of Choi to teach wherein the operations further comprise: receiving first content for a first message to the messaging group from the agent; receiving second content for a second message to a second messaging group from the agent; combining the first message and the second message to create a composite message; and sending the composite message. One would be motivated to do so as a group message distribution module to convert a single group message addressed to a group into a plurality of individual messages and to deliver one individual message to each group member, wherein the identities of the group members are kept undisclosed to one another and group message routing information is attached for successive group message exchanges (Choi: Claim 1).
As per claim 19, the claim resembles claim 10 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SM A RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434