DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 30, 2025 have been fully considered. Previous 35 U.S.C 112(a) and 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejections are withdrawn based on the amendments.
The drawing objection is withdrawn based on the amendments to the specification and drawings.
Applicant has removed only a portion of the new matter in the amended specification of December 29, 2025. The subject matter that corresponds to claim 10 that an angle is an acute angle is still present in paragraph [0176].
The claim objection is withdrawn based on the amendments.
With regard to 35 U.S.C 103 rejection of claim 1 and 15, the applicant argues that the amended limitation is not taught by the combination of Yang and Lee as air may enter from 171. The examiner disagrees as [0078] of Lee describes these holes may not be included and the rejection states that these holes are not present in the embodiment used to reject the claims. Claim 15 uses an additional rationale of including a duplicate partition plate. The applicant’s arguments with regard to claim 15 are therefore moot.
Changes to the rejection are necessitated by amendment and are therefore final.
Priority
Applicant states that this application is a continuation or divisional application of the prior-filed application. A continuation or divisional application cannot include new matter. Applicant is required to delete the benefit claim or change the relationship (continuation or divisional application) to continuation-in-part because this application contains the following matter not disclosed in the prior-filed application:
Paragraph [0176] contains subject matter that corresponds to the rejection made in the office action of September 30, 2025 which describes claim 10 as new matter.
Specification
The amendment filed June 6, 2025 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows:
The 35 U.S.C 112(a) rejection made in the office action of September 30, 2025 describes claim 10 as new matter. The specification of December 29, 2025 still recites similar matter in paragraph [0176]. Also see the “Priority” section above.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 15-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN213206107) hereinafter Yang in view of Lee (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20210368872) hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses:
A fan module {Figure 1 (10)}, comprising:
a first housing, arranged with an air outlet portion {Figure 3 the first housing (20) and (22) includes air outlet portion (25)};
the air outlet portion is configured to output a first airflow having a first flowing direction {Figure 5, the air outlet portion (25) outputs air upward along the rotational axis impeller},
a fan assembly {Figure 5 (26)},
wherein the fan assembly, during operating, is configured to intake air {Figure 5 (124) is the inlet}; and
the intaken air is capable of being discharged from the air outlet portion {Figure 5, air travels from the inlet (124) through the fan (26) to the air outlet portion (25)}.
Yang does not disclose:
a partition plate,
Yang therefore also does not disclose:
wherein the partition plate and at least a portion of the first housing cooperatively define a first space,
the partition plate defines a plurality of through holes,
the air outlet portion and the plurality of through holes are located at two ends of the first space along an axial direction of the first space;
a side wall of the first space is sealed;
the plurality of through holes are configured to output the plurality of finer airflows having a second flowing direction different from the first flowing direction
a fan assembly received in the first space and disposed directly facing the partition plate,
wherein the plurality of through holes defined in the partition plate are configured to disperse all airflow into a plurality of finer airflows to enable the fan assemble during operating to intake only the plurality of finer airflows through the plurality of through holes
the intaken finer airflows are capable of being discharged from the air outlet portion after passing through the first space
Lee pertains to neck fans. Lee teaches:
a partition plate {Figure 11 (121) has a partition plate formed by the front axial inlet (124)},
the partition plate defines a plurality of through holes {Figure 11 (124) has through holes; [0085]},
wherein the plurality of through holes defined in the partition plate are configured to disperse all airflow into a plurality of finer airflows to enable the fan assemble during operating to intake only the plurality of finer airflows through the plurality of through holes {Figure 11 (124) intakes air through the plurality of holes; [0085]. It is noted that the vent caps of Lee used for the neck fan of Yang only has front intake vent 124 and does not have side intake vents (122) based on [0078] of Lee. This paragraph states the vent cap has “at least one first side intake vent 122 and/or at least one first front intake vent 124”. The examiner is using the teaching of Lee based on the “or” statement above. Therefore the fan assemble only intakes airflow through the plurality of through holes of the partition plate which produces the finer airflows}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a vent cap with a partition plate as taught by Lee for the neck fan of Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for air to be filtered and to prevent objects from interacting with the fan {Lee [0089]}. It is noted that the vent caps of Lee used for the neck fan of Yang only has front intake vent 124 and does not have side intake vents (122) based on [0078] of Lee. This paragraph states the vent cap has “at least one first side intake vent 122 and/or at least one first front intake vent 124”. The examiner is using the teaching of Lee based on the “or” statement above.
The combination of Yang and Lee therefore teaches:
wherein the partition plate and at least a portion of the first housing cooperatively define a first space {Yang Figure 3 (226) and the vent cap (121) including the partition plate (124) of Lee cooperatively define a first space inside},
the air outlet portion and the plurality of through holes are located at two ends of the first space along an axial direction of the first space {Yang Figure 3, the air outlet portion (25) is at the downstream axial end of the first space. The plurality of through holes of the partition plate based on the teachings (124) of Lee is at the upstream axial end of the first space of the combination of Yang and Lee};
a side wall of the first space is sealed {Yang Figure 3 the side wall of (226) does not have holes. Also note that the vent caps of Lee used for the neck fan of Yang only has front intake vent 124 and does not have side intake vents (122) based on [0078] of Lee. This paragraph states the vent cap has “at least one first side intake vent 122 and/or at least one first front intake vent 124”. The examiner is using the teaching of Lee based on the “or” statement above};
the plurality of through holes are configured to output the plurality of finer airflows having a second flowing direction different from the first flowing direction {Lee Figure 11, the output of the through holes of (124) is along the axial direction of the fan. This is still true when applied to Yang. This output defines the second flowing direction. The second flowing direction is different from the first flow direction as shown by Yang which is radially outward relative to the rotation axis / axis of the housing extruded shape}.
a fan assembly received in the first space and disposed directly facing the partition plate {Yang Figure 5, the fan (26) is received in the first space and directly faces the partition plate (124) of Lee},
the intaken finer airflows are capable of being discharged from the air outlet portion after passing through the first space {Yang Figure 5, air travels from inlet of the vent cap of Lee to the inlet of the fan of Yang (124) through the fan (26) to the air outlet portion (25)}
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Yang and Lee further teaches:
wherein fan blades of the fan assembly are configured to rotate around a rotation shaft of the fan assembly {Yang Figure 3 (fan blades (264) rotate around rotation shaft (240)};
a depth direction of each of the plurality of through holes is parallel to an extending direction of the rotation shaft of the fan assembly {Lee Figure 11, the depth direction of the plurality of holes of (124) is along the axial direction of the fan; this is also true when the vent caps of Yang are applied to the neck fan of Yang}.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yang and Lee further teaches:
wherein the plurality of through holes have a same size and a same shape; the plurality of through holes are evenly distributed on the partition plate {Lee Figure 4, the plurality of through holes are only interpreted as only the outer slots which each have the same size and shape that are uniformly circumferentially distributed by being 120 degrees spaced apart}.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yang and Lee further teaches:
wherein fan blades of the fan assembly are configured to rotate around a rotation shaft of the fan assembly {Yang Figure 3 (fan blades (264) rotate around rotation shaft (240)},
the partition plate is a flat plate {Lee Figure 11 (124) is a flat plate}, and
an extending direction of the rotation shaft of the fan assembly is perpendicular to the partition plate {Yang Figure 3 (240) is perpendicular to the plane of the partition plate (124) of Lee};
or the plurality of through holes in the partition plate are distributed on a same plane {Lee Figure 11, the through holes of the partition plate (124) are all on the same plane}.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Yang and Lee further teaches:
wherein the plurality of through holes have a same depth direction so as to enable the plurality of finer airflows flowing through the plurality of through holes to have flowing directions parallel to each other {Lee Figure 11, the depth direction of the plurality of holes in (124) are all along the axial direction making the plurality of finer airflows flowing through have the flow directions parallel to each other; see also MPEP 2112.01}.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Yang and Lee further teaches:
wherein the first space is straight cylindrical {Yang Figure 5, the first space is cylindrical; see also the cylindrical shape of Lee with the vent caps (121) which are cylindrical in Figure 11. The examiner interprets cylindrical as approximately the shape of a cylinder but does not need to be the perfect geometric form of a circle at two ends linearly connected}, and
a depth direction of each of the plurality of through holes is parallel to an axial direction of the first space {Lee Figure 11, the holes of (124) extend in the axial direction of the impeller which is also the axial direction of the first space of the combination of Yang and Lee}; and
the fan module is straight cylindrical {Yang Figure 5 and Lee Figure 11, the claimed elements form a cylindrical structure at the end of the neck fan. The examiner interprets cylindrical as approximately the shape of a cylinder but does not need to be the perfect geometric form of a circle at two ends linearly connected},
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Yang and Lee further teaches:
wherein a central axis of the partition plate is coaxially provided with a central axis of the air outlet portion. {Lee Figure 11 (124) is applied to the neck fan of Yang, the central axis of this partition plate is coaxial with the outlet portion (25) a shown in Figure 5 of Yang}
Regarding claim 15, Yang discloses:
A neck fan, configured to be worn around a neck of a user {Figure 1 (10) is a neck fan},
the neck fan comprising: a neck portion {Figure 3 (12)/(14) forms a neck portion}; and
at least one fan module, connected to the neck portion {Figure 3, there are fan modules on the left and right side which are comprised on components (30) and lower which are attached to the neck portion (12)/(14)},
each of the at least one fan module {the following applies to both the left and right instances of the fan module} comprising:
A fan module {Figure 1 (10)}, comprising:
a first housing, arranged with an air outlet portion {Figure 3 the first housing (20) and (22) includes air outlet portion (25)};
the air outlet portion is configured to output a first airflow having a first flowing direction {Figure 5, the air outlet portion (25) outputs air upward along the rotational axis impeller},
a fan assembly {Figure 5 (26)},
wherein the fan assembly, during operating, is configured to intake air {Figure 5 (124) is the inlet}; and
the intaken air is capable of being discharged from the air outlet portion {Figure 5, air travels from the inlet (124) through the fan (26) to the air outlet portion (25)}.
Yang does not disclose:
a partition plate,
Yang therefore also does not disclose:
wherein the partition plate and at least a portion of the first housing cooperatively define a first space,
the partition plate defines a plurality of through holes,
the air outlet portion and the plurality of through holes are located at two ends of the first space along an axial direction of the first space;
a side wall of the first space is sealed;
the plurality of through holes are configured to output the plurality of finer airflows having a second flowing direction different from the first flowing direction
a fan assembly received in the first space and disposed directly facing the partition plate,
wherein the plurality of through holes defined in the partition plate are configured to disperse all airflow into a plurality of finer airflows to enable the fan assemble during operating to intake only the plurality of finer airflows through the plurality of through holes
the intaken finer airflows are capable of being discharged from the air outlet portion after passing through the first space
wherein, each of the at least one fan module further comprises a second housing; the partition plate and at least a portion of the second housing cooperatively form a second space; the second space and the first space are located on two opposite sides of the partition plate; and the second housing is arranged with an air inlet portion; the all airflow that is intaken by the fan assemblyenters the neck fan through the air inlet portion in the second housing.
Lee pertains to neck fans. Lee teaches:
a partition plate {Figure 11 (121) has a partition plate formed by the front axial inlet (124)},
the partition plate defines a plurality of through holes {Figure 11 (124) has through holes; [0085]},
wherein, each of the at least one fan module further comprises a second housing {Figure 11 (121) defines a second housing};
the partition plate and at least a portion of the second housing cooperatively form a second space {Figure 11 (124) and (121) form a second space upstream of the fan}; and
the second housing is arranged with an air inlet portion {Figure 11, the inlet portion is a region inside the second housing};
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a vent cap with a partition plate as taught by Lee for the neck fan of Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for air to be filtered and to prevent objects from interacting with the fan {Lee [0089]}.
The combination of Yang and Lee therefore teaches:
wherein the partition plate and at least a portion of the first housing cooperatively define a first space {Yang Figure 3 (226) and the vent cap (121) including the partition plate (124) of Lee cooperatively define a first space inside},
the air outlet portion and the plurality of through holes are located at two ends of the first space along an axial direction of the first space {Yang Figure 3, the air outlet portion (25) is at the downstream axial end of the first space. The plurality of through holes of the partition plate based on the teachings (124) of Lee is at the upstream axial end of the first space of the combination of Yang and Lee};
a side wall of the first space is sealed {Yang Figure 3 the side wall of (226) does not have holes. Also note that the vent caps of Lee used for the neck fan of Yang only has front intake vent 124 and does not have side intake vents (122) based on [0078] of Lee. This paragraph states the vent cap has “at least one first side intake vent 122 and/or at least one first front intake vent 124”. The examiner is using the teaching of Lee based on the “or” statement above};
the plurality of through holes are configured to output the plurality of finer airflows having a second flowing direction different from the first flowing direction {Lee Figure 11, the output of the through holes of (124) is along the axial direction of the fan. This is still true when applied to Yang. This output defines the second flowing direction. The second flowing direction is different from the first flow direction as shown by Yang which is radially outward relative to the rotation axis / axis of the housing extruded shape}.
a fan assembly received in the first space and disposed directly facing the partition plate {Yang Figure 5, the fan (26) is received in the first space and directly faces the partition plate (124) of Lee},
the intaken finer airflows are capable of being discharged from the air outlet portion after passing through the first space {Yang Figure 5, air travels from inlet of the vent cap of Lee to the inlet of the fan of Yang (124) through the fan (26) to the air outlet portion (25)}.
The combination of Yang and Lee does not teach:
wherein the plurality of through holes defined in the partition plate are configured to disperse all airflow into a plurality of finer airflows to enable the fan assemble during operating to intake only the plurality of finer airflows through the plurality of through holes
the second space and the first space are located on two opposite sides of the partition plate;
the all airflow that is intaken by the fan assembly enters the neck fan through the air inlet portion in the second housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a duplicate partition plate as taught by Lee positioned just upstream of the first space / first impeller in the configuration of the combination of Yang and Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as a duplication of parts has been found to be obvious in certain circumstances, see MPEP 2144.04 VI B. A duplicate partition plate downstream of a first partition plate behaves in a predictable manner of allowing air to pass through but not larger objects and has no new or unexpected results produced.
The combination of Yang and Lee with a duplicate partition plate teaches:
wherein the plurality of through holes defined in the partition plate are configured to disperse all airflow into a plurality of finer airflows to enable the fan assemble during operating to intake only the plurality of finer airflows through the plurality of through holes {Figure 11 the duplicate instance of (124) intakes the finer airflows that entered via (121) via (122) or the more upstream instance of (124)}
the second space and the first space are located on two opposite sides of the partition plate {Figure 11, the partition plate may be considered the duplicate partition plate and satisfy the other limitations of the claim as well. This duplicate partition plate has the first space downstream of it and the second space upstream of it where these spaces are on opposite sides};
the all airflow that is intaken by the fan assembly enters the neck fan through the air inlet portion in the second housing {Figure 11, all airflow intake by the fan assembly must be intaken through the duplicate partition plate / air inlet portion in the second housing}.
Regarding claim 16, the claim limitations are substantially identical to the claim limitations of claims 2 through 7. For purposes of brevity and clarity these discussions are not repeated. Please see the rejection of claim 1 above as the duplicate partition plate has identical properties to the partition plate of claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Yang and Lee further teaches:
wherein the number of at least one fan module is two {Yang Figure 5, there is a fan module on the left and right side|; and
the two fan modules are respectively disposed at two free ends of the neck portion {Yang Figure 6, the two fan modules are at the two free ends of the neck portion (12)/(14)};
the partition plate is disposed at a side of the air outlet portion away from a corresponding one of the two free ends {Lee Figure 11 (124) is at a side of the air outlet portion (25) of Yang that is away from the free end of the neck portion that the fan modules are attached to};
the corresponding free end is one of the two free ends of the neck portion which is disposed closer to the air outlet portion {the limitation above uses the corresponding free end as claimed}.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Yang and Lee further teaches:
wherein the air outlet portion is configured to output air towards a corresponding one of two free ends of the neck portion {Yang Figure 5, the air outlet portion (25) outputs air towards the free end of the neck portion which is the end of (12); this is true for each of the two free ends},
the corresponding free end is one of the two free ends of the neck portion which is disposed closer to the air outlet portion {the limitation above uses the corresponding free end as claimed}.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Yang and Lee further teaches:
wherein the neck fan further comprises:
an external portion, configured to detachably connect the at least one fan module {Yang Figure 3 (12) and the components inside are consider an external portion as it is external to the fan assembly portion within. The external portion is detachably connected via (220)},
wherein the external portion comprises a power supply assembly and contacts coupling with the power supply assembly {Figure 3 (30) is a power supply and is housed inside the external portion (30) with contacts the implicitly couple with the power supply that connect to the fan, see MPEP 2144.01};
wherein each of the at least one fan module is arranged with a probe coupled to the fan assembly {Figure 3, the fan is electrically connected to the battery, see discussion of (30) in Yang. Therefore, some form of probe must be coupled to the fan; see MPEP 2144.01},
the probe is detachably coupled to the contacts {Yang Figure 3, the detachable aspect of (220) along with the distinct batter component from the motor implicitly means the probe of the fan is detachable, see MPEP 2144.01};
the power supply assembly is configured to supply power to the fan assembly when the probe is coupled to the contacts {The electrical connection of Yang between the fan and the battery implicitly has the probe supply power when coupled to the contacts see MPEP 2144.01}.
Claims 8-10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN213206107) hereinafter Yang in view of Lee (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20210368872) hereinafter Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chang (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20200124051) hereinafter Chang and Fu et al. (CN105749394) hereinafter Fu.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Yang and Lee further teaches:
wherein the first housing comprises an airflow guide member {Yang Figure 5 (22) includes (224) which guides airflow downstream}, and
the air outlet portion is arranged on the airflow guide member {Yang Figure 5, the air outlet portion (25) is arranged on (224)}.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Yang and Lee teaches the fan module of claim 8 but does not teach:
wherein, the airflow guide member comprises a plurality of static blades ,
the plurality of static blades are spaced apart from each other to form a plurality of air outlet channels,
the plurality of air outlet channels cooperatively form the air outlet portion.
Chang pertains to fans. Fu pertains to portable/wearable fans. Both Chang and Fu are reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor as they have stators that direct airflow for more advantageous aerodynamic effects. Chang teaches:
wherein, the airflow guide member comprises a plurality of static blades {Figure 2 (113) has static blades; [0046]},
the plurality of static blades are spaced apart from each other to form a plurality of air outlet channels {Figure 5 (113) form a plurality of air outlet channels in between the individual blade instances},
the plurality of air outlet channels cooperatively form the air outlet portion {Figure 2, the air outlet channels described above cooperatively form the air outlet portion, see (o1)}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed a second air guiding assembly as taught by Chang in the neck fan of Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to provide diffusion and to direct the air efficiently toward the outlet {Yang [0050] and Chang [0062] and Figure 11}. Also it is known to use a stator in portable fan devices that are worn by the user {Fu Figures 28, 40, and 50: (534)/(535); wearability is shown in Figures 141-175 in different manners}. It is noted the second air guiding assembly as taught by Chang would necessarily be located upstream of the cone portion that is downstream of (25) in the configuration of Yang.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Yang, Lee, and Chang further teaches:
wherein the air outlet portion is configured to generate a plurality of airflows passing through the plurality of air outlet channels having a third flowing direction {Chang Figure 5, the air outlet channels have a third flow direction, that is offset from the axial direction due to the 3D angle of the blades (113)},
a cross-sectional area of each of the plurality of air outlet channels is larger than a cross- sectional area of each of the plurality of through holes {Chang, the air outlet channels formed by (113) are larger than the through holes of the partition plate of Lee (124); this is implicit as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the air inlet openings are small to prevent objects from entering, see Lee [0089]. See MPEP 2144.01.}.
Regarding claim 17, the claim limitations are substantially identical to the claim limitations of claims 8 through 10. For purposes of brevity and clarity these discussions are not repeated. Please see the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN213206107) hereinafter Yang in view of Lee (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20210368872) hereinafter Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takashima et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20170241443) hereinafter Takashima.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Yang and Lee teaches the fan module of claim 1, but does not teach:
wherein the fan module comprises a second housing,
the partition plate and at least a portion of the second housing cooperatively form a second space;
the second space and the first space are located on two sides of the partition plate; and
the second housing is arranged with an air inlet portion;
when the fan module is in operation, the air inlet portion is configured to intake air, and
the intaken air is capable of being discharged from the air outlet portion after passing through the second space, the plurality of through holes and the first space sequentially.
Takashima pertains to a fan module and is therefore considered in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Takashima is also reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of making a fan safe and effective for users.
Takashima teaches:
wherein the fan module comprises a second housing {Figure 3 (40)},
the partition plate and at least a portion of the second housing cooperatively form a second space {Figure 2 (25) and (40) form a second space. It is noted the second space does not have to be fully enclosed. The second space may be considered as the region between (25) and the volume within (40)};
the second housing is arranged with an air inlet portion {Figure 2 (45); [0043]};
when the fan module is in operation, the air inlet portion is configured to intake air {Figure 3, air enters through (44a/b/c) and (45) and (25); [0050]}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a second housing as taught by Takashima for the intake of the combination of Yang and Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to provide a safety guard that functions effectively even if there is a partial block {Takashima [0024]-[0026]}.
The combination of Yang, Lee, and Takashima therefore also teaches:
the second space and the first space are located on two sides of the partition plate {The first space of the combination of Yang and Lee is towards the downstream side of the partition plate taught by Lee (124). The second space as taught by Takashima is on the upstream side of the partition plate of the combination of Yang and Lee};
the intaken air is capable of being discharged from the air outlet portion after passing through the second space, the plurality of through holes and the first space sequentially {The air first enters into the second space via (44a/b/c) and (45), see Takashima [0050]. The air next enters the plurality of through holes in the partition plate, see Lee (124). The air then enters the first space downstream of the partition plate where the fan is, see region around (26) of Yang. The air is then outlet through Yang (122)}.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Yang, Lee, and Takashima further teaches:
wherein the air inlet portion comprises a plurality of air inlets {Takashima Figure 3 (44a/b/c)},
a depth direction of each of the plurality of air inlets is different from a depth direction of each of the plurality of through holes {Takashima Figure 3/5B (44a/b/c) has a depth direction rough radially inward which is perpendicular to the direction of the plurality of through holes of (25) which is analogous to through holes of the partition plate of Lee (124)}.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Yang, Lee, and Takashima further teaches:
wherein the depth direction of each of the plurality of air inlets is perpendicular to the depth direction of each of the plurality of through holes {Takashima Figure 3/5B (44a/b/c) has a depth direction rough radially inward which is perpendicular to the direction of the plurality of through holes of (25) which is analogous to through holes of the partition plate of Lee (124)}.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Yang, Lee, and Takashima further teaches:
wherein a cross-sectional area of each of the plurality of through holes is less than a cross-sectional area of each of the plurality of air inlets {Takashima Figure 3 (44a/b/c) are 3 large holes with areas that are greater than the entire area of the axial inlet (25) which is analogous to the plurality of through holes of (124) of Lee; [0049]};
the number of the plurality of through holes is greater than the number of the plurality of air inlets {Takashima (44a/b/c) are three air inlets which is a far less number than the numerous inlets of Lee of (124)}; and
each of the plurality of air inlets is elongated {Takashima (44a/b/c) are considered to be elongated because the shape does not have equivalent distances such as a circle or square}.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL K. REITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3745