DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 15 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 (line 10) “coupling end” should recite –mounting end--.
In claim 1 (line 13) “coupling end” should recite –mounting end--.
In claim 15 (line 11) “coupling end” should recite –mounting end--.
In claim 15 (line 14) “coupling end” should recite –mounting end--.
In claim 21 (line 2) “the effector” should recite –the male ferrule--.
In claim 21 (line 2) “portion the the” should recite –portion of the--.
In claim 21 (line 4) “the effector” should recite –the male ferrule--.
For the purpose of examining the application, it is assumed that appropriate correction has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8-19 and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 (lines 6-12) recites “multiple teeth, defining detents therebetween, arranged in a circular arc at least partially around the coupling annulus; a first bulge on a first side of the coupling end… a second bulge on a second side of the coupling end opposite the first side”.
Claim 15 (lines 7-13) recites “multiple teeth, defining detents therebetween, arranged in a circular arc at least partially around the coupling annulus; and a first bulge on a first side of the male ferrule… a second bulge on a second side of the male ferrule opposite the first side”.
Claims 1 and 15 each fail to recite any limitations which enable one to properly determine how the first and second bulges are aligned and spaced relative to one another, and how each of first and second bulges and the multiple teeth extend and/or protrude relative to the longitudinal axis of the male ferrule. Accordingly, one is unable to properly determine the metes and bounds of such claims. Claims 2-6, 8-14, 16-19 and 21-25 depend from claims 1 and 15 and are likewise rejected as being indefinite.
Claims 22 and 24 (lines 2-6) each recite “at least four lock hole openings, the at least four lock hole openings comprising: the first lock hole opening; the second lock hole opening; a third lock hole opening; and a fourth lock hole opening”.
Claims 22 and 24 each fail to recite any limitations which enable one to properly determine what structural elements each of the first, second, third and fourth lock hole openings are formed within. Moreover, it is unclear as how the first, second, third and fourth lock hole openings are aligned and spaced relative to one another, and how each lock hole opening extends relative to the other lock hole openings and the longitudinal axis of the male ferrule. Accordingly, one is unable to properly determine the metes and bounds of such claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 11, 12, 15 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsu (US 5,996,162).
As to claim 1 as best understood, Hsu discloses a male ferrule 2 comprising:
a mounting end 21 comprising a cylindrical portion for receiving an effector, the cylindrical portion defining a central longitudinal axis;
a coupling end 22 opposite the mounting end, the coupling end comprising:
a coupling annulus 222 extending perpendicularly relative to the longitudinal axis;
multiple teeth, defining detents 222 therebetween, arranged in a circular arc at least partially around the coupling annulus;
a first bulge A on a first side of the coupling end between the coupling annulus and the cylindrical portion of the coupling end (first bulge A is defined by an outwardly protruding first side of the coupling annulus; Figure 1 reprinted below annotations);
a first lock hole opening [of hole 221] at a maximum of the first bulge;
a second bulge B on a second side of the coupling end opposite the first side and between the coupling annulus and the cylindrical portion of the coupling end (second bulge B is defined by an outwardly protruding second side of the coupling annulus); and
a second lock hole opening [of hole 221] at a maximum of the second bulge,
wherein the coupling end is configured to be inserted in a female ferrule 3 with a lock pin 5 of the female ferrule received in either one of the first lock hole opening and the second lock hole opening, and
wherein the coupling annulus and multiple teeth are capable of mounting on a hotstick adapter 3 for use with a hotstick 4 (Figure 1).
[AltContent: textbox (C)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A)]
As to claim 2, Hsu discloses a male ferrule wherein the coupling annulus 222 is flush with tops of the multiple teeth (Figure 1).
As to claim 8, Hsu discloses a male ferrule comprising an interface C connecting the mounting end 21 to the coupling end 22, wherein the interface is enlarged relative to the coupling end such that the interface serves as an insertion stop when the coupling end is inserted into a female ferrule 3 (Figure 1).
As to claim 9, Hsu discloses a male ferrule wherein:
the mounting end 21 is circularly cylindrical at an interface C connecting the mounting end to the coupling end 22; and
the coupling end is circularly cylindrical at the interface (Figure 1).
As to claim 11, Hsu discloses a male ferrule wherein the mounting end 21 proximal the interface is diametrically reduced relative to the coupling end 22 proximal the interface C, enabling insertion of the mounting end into a portion of an effector 3 (Figure 1).
As to claim 12, Hsu discloses a male ferrule wherein the coupling end 22 comprises a planed area around a slot 221 on a lateral side opposite the coupling annulus 222 (Figure 1).
As to claim 15 as best understood, Hsu discloses a mountable tool comprising:
a male ferrule 2 comprising:
a mounting end 21 defining a central longitudinal axis;
a coupling end 22 opposite the mounting end, the coupling end comprising:
a coupling annulus 222 extending perpendicularly relative to the longitudinal axis;
multiple teeth, defining detents 222 therebetween, arranged in a circular arc at least partially around the coupling annulus; and
a first bulge A on a first side of the male ferrule between the coupling annulus and the mounting end (first bulge A is defined by an outwardly protruding first side of the coupling annulus; Figure 1);
a first lock hole opening [of hole 221] at a maximum of the first bulge;
a second bulge on a second side of the male ferrule opposite the first side and between the coupling annulus and the mounting end (second bulge B is defined by an outwardly protruding second side of the coupling annulus);
a second lock hole opening [of hole 221] at a maximum of the second bulge, and
an effector mounted on the mounting end of the male ferrule,
wherein the coupling end is configured to be inserted in a female ferrule 3 with a lock pin 5 of the female ferrule received in either one of the first lock hole opening and the second lock hole opening, and
wherein the coupling annulus and multiple teeth are capable of mounting on a hotstick adapter 3 for use with a hotstick 4 (Figure 1).
As to claim 21, Hsu discloses a mountable tool wherein:
an interface C of the male ferrule 2 is mounted on a cylindrical portion of the coupling end 22 of the male ferrule;
the interface of the male ferrule is wider than a diameter of the of the cylindrical portion of the coupling end of the male ferrule such that the interface serves as an insertion stop when the coupling end is inserted into a female ferrule 3 (Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6, 13, 14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu in view of Tuchscherer et al. (US 11,394,183).
As to claim 3, Hsu discloses a male ferrule wherein the coupling end 22 comprises a terminus opposite the mounting end 21 (Figure 1).
Hsu fails to disclose a male ferrule wherein the coupling annulus is interrupted by a slot extending from an edge of the terminus to a center of the coupling annulus.
Tuchscherer et al. teach a male ferrule wherein a coupling annulus 26 is interrupted by a slot 46 extending from an edge of a terminus to a center of the coupling annulus; the slot enabling a clamping bolt 20 to couple to the male ferrule to another coupler 128 without unscrewing and disassembly of the bolt, providing for easier, quicker assembly (Figures 10-11). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the male ferrule disclosed by Hsu to comprise a slot in the coupling annulus, as taught by Tuchscherer et al., in order to enable a clamping bolt to couple to the male ferrule to another coupler without unscrewing and disassembly of the bolt, providing for easier, quicker assembly.
As to claim 4, Hsu as modified by modified by Tuchscherer et al. discloses a male ferrule wherein the slot (46 Tuchscherer Figure 10) extends longitudinally (Figure 1).
As to claim 5, Hsu as modified by modified by Tuchscherer et al. discloses a male ferrule wherein the slot (46 Tuchscherer Figure 10) is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (Figure 1).
As to claim 6, Hsu discloses a male ferrule wherein the terminus comprises a round forward edge with a uniform radius taken from a center of the coupling annulus 222 to the forward edge (Figure 1).
As to claims 13 and 14, Hsu discloses a male ferrule wherein an effector 1 is mounted on the mounting end 21 by way of the cylindrical portion (Figure 1).
Hsu fails to disclose that the male ferrule is used with an effector comprising a hook or a toothed cutting edge.
Tuchscherer et al. teach use of a male ferrule structurally and functionally similar to the male ferrule disclosed by Hsu with an effector 100 comprising a hook or a toothed cutting edge (Figures 10-11).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the male ferrule disclosed by Hsu with an effector comprising a hook or a toothed cutting edge, as taught by Tuchscherer et al., as the two male ferrules are structural and functional equivalents within the art.
As to claims 16 and 17, Hsu fails to disclose that the male ferrule is used with an effector comprising a hook or a toothed cutting edge.
Tuchscherer et al. teach use of a male ferrule structurally and functionally similar to the male ferrule disclosed by Hsu with an effector 100 comprising a hook or a toothed cutting edge (Figures 10-11).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the male ferrule disclosed by Hsu with an effector comprising a hook or a toothed cutting edge, as taught by Tuchscherer et al., as the two male ferrules are structural and functional equivalents within the art.
As to claim 18, Hsu discloses a mountable tool wherein the coupling end 22 of the male ferrule 2 comprises a terminus opposite the mounting end 21 (Figure 1).
Hsu fails to disclose a male ferrule wherein the coupling annulus is interrupted by a slot extending from an edge of the terminus to a center of the coupling annulus.
Tuchscherer et al. teach a male ferrule wherein a coupling annulus 26 is interrupted by a slot 46 extending from an edge of a terminus to a center of the coupling annulus; the slot enabling a clamping bolt 20 to couple to the male ferrule to another coupler 128 without unscrewing and disassembly of the bolt, providing for easier, quicker assembly (Figures 10-11). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the male ferrule disclosed by Hsu to comprise a slot in the coupling annulus, as taught by Tuchscherer et al., in order to enable a clamping bolt to couple to the male ferrule to another coupler without unscrewing and disassembly of the bolt, providing for easier, quicker assembly.
As to claim 19, Hsu discloses a mountable tool wherein the terminus comprises a round forward edge with a uniform radius taken from a center of the coupling annulus 222 to the forward edge (Figure 1).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu in view of Miller (US 2012/0324665).
As to claim 10, Hsu discloses a male ferrule wherein the mounting end comprises a male coupling for receiving an effector; instead of a female coupling wherein the mounting end proximal the interface is diametrically enlarged relative to the coupling end proximal the interface, enabling the insertion of a portion of an effector into the mounting end.
Miller teaches a male ferrule 5001 wherein a mounting end comprises a female coupling wherein the mounting end proximal an interface is diametrically enlarged relative to a coupling end proximal the interface, enabling the insertion of a portion of an effector WP into the mounting end (Figure 16).
Inasmuch as the references disclose male and female couplings for receiving an effector as art recognized structural and functional equivalents, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the exercise art to substitute one for the other. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 301, 213 USPQ 532, 536 (CCPA 1982).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22-25 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 22 and 24 as best understood, Hsu discloses the claimed male ferrule with the exception of wherein the coupling end of the male ferrule comprises at least four lock hole openings, the at least four lock hole openings comprising: the first lock hole opening; the second lock hole opening; a third lock hole opening; and a fourth lock hole opening.
There is no teaching or suggestion, absent the applicant’s own disclosure, for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the male ferrule disclosed by Hsu to have the above mentioned elemental features. Furthermore, such modifications would not be obvious.
Conclusion
09/24/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619