DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/7/2026 and 6/6/2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2 and 9-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 1, 13, 6-11, 1, 1, 6 and 1 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 11,405,552. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of the claims of the present invention are taught by the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,405,552.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16, 1, 1, 11 and 1 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12,363,427. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of the claims of the present invention are taught by the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,363,427.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1: Claim(s) 1, 2, 9, 11-14 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20190268668 A1 Moskovchenko et al.
2: As for Claim 1, Moskovchenko et al teaches in Paragraph [0081] and depicts in Figures 1A and 6 A wearable device (Figure 6) comprising: an integrated on-board camera (230); an integrated camera trigger (212) operable exclusively between a pressed condition and a released condition (Paragraph [0038]); onboard electronics comprising one or more computer processor devices (Paragraph [0083]) configured to perform operations comprising: identifying press duration (Paragraph [0043]) of a user input received via the camera trigger (212); if the press duration is shorter than a predefined photo trigger period (short press), automatically capturing video content via the camera (230); and if the press duration exceeds the photo trigger period (long press), automatically capturing photo content via the camera (Paragraph [0038]).
3: As for Claim 2, Moskovchenko et al teaches wherein the onboard electronics is configured to by default maintain the camera in a dormant mode (standby mode) while the wearable device is in active use during wear, and to automatically boot up (exit standby mode) the camera to an active mode (sensor mode or video mode) responsive to user-disposal of the camera trigger (212) to the pressed condition at initiation of the user input. Moskovchenko et al teaches in Paragraph [0037] the display can display power mode information indicating if the camera is in standby mode, sensor mode or video mode). Therefore, Moskovchenko et al teaches a system that can be in standby mode and enter video mode when the input mechanism (212) is pressed.
4: As for Claim 9, Moskovchenko et al teaches in Paragraph [0081] and depicts in Figures 1A and 6 wherein the wearable device is an eyewear device comprising a lens-carrying eyewear frame (602) in which the camera (230) is incorporated, the camera trigger (212) being housed on the eyewear frame (602).
5: As for Claim 11, Moskovchenko et al teaches in Paragraph [0038] wherein the onboard electronics is further configured to perform operations comprising: upon initiation of the user input via the camera trigger (button pressed), disposing the eyewear device (600) in a video capture mode in which release of the camera trigger initiates video capture (Moskovchenko et al teaches video or photo capture for a given time duration or a number of frames (burst capture) may be triggered in response to a single short button press. The examiner asserts that In order for the system to determine that the press was short, the activation could not occur until the holding duration ends); thereafter, while the press duration is shorter than the photo trigger period, maintaining the eyewear device in the video capture mode; and thereafter, in response to the press duration exceeding the photo trigger period, switching the eyewear device to a photo capture mode in which release of the camera trigger initiates photo capture.
6: As for Claim 12, Moskovchenko et al depicts in Figure 6 and teaches in Paragraph [0087] further comprising a mode indication mechanism (610) configured to indicate to a user, during the press duration, a current mode of the eyewear device selected from the video capture mode and the photo capture mode. Moskovchenko et al teaches illuminating an indicator when video is streaming.
7: As for Claim 13, Moskovchenko et al depicts in Figure 6 and teaches in Paragraph [0087] wherein the mode indication mechanism comprises an indicator light (614 and 616) positioned on the eyewear frame (602) to be visible to a wearer of the eyewear device.
8: As for Claim 14, Moskovchenko et al depicts in Figure 6 and teaches in Paragraph [0087] wherein the mode indication mechanism is configured such that a video mode indication provided during that the indicator light is illuminated in the video capture mode and is off in the photo capture mode, or vice versa.
9: As for Claim 17, Claim 17 is rejected for reasons discussed related to Claim 1.
10: As for Claim 18, Claim 18 is rejected for reasons discussed related to Claim 1.
11: As for Claim 19, Claim 19 is rejected for reasons discussed related to Claim 12.
12: As for Claim 20, Claim 20 is rejected for reasons discussed related to Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13: Claim(s) 3-7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190268668 A1 Moskovchenko et al in view of Official Notice.
14: As for Claim 4, Moskovchenko et al teaches in Paragraphs [0037 and 0038] wherein at least one of the camera controller (222) and the camera (230) is configured to: by default be maintained in a dormant mode (standby mode) during active worn use of the wearable device (600); and automatically to boot up (leave standby mode) to an active mode responsive to user-disposal of the camera trigger (212) to the pressed condition at initiation of the user input.
15: As for Claims 3 and 5-7, Moskovchenko et al teaches a camera system in an eyewear device that has a standby power feature. However, does not teach the specifics of the standby feature and does not teach what specific portions of the camera are powered down during standby operation.
Official Notice is taken that it was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to shut down different portions of a camera system during standby mode depending on different operational modes to maximize power savings or increase the speed including shutting down the camera controller but not the camera, the camera but not the camera controller or both the camera and the camera controller depending on the desired level of power savings.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the standby power saving mode of Moskovchenko et al to be configured to shut down different portions of the camera system during standby mode depending on different operational modes to maximize power savings or increase the speed including shutting down the camera controller but not the camera, the camera but not the camera controller or both the camera and the camera controller depending on the desired level of power savings in order to maximize power savings.
16: As for Claim 16, Moskovchenko et al teaches in Paragraphs [0052 and 0082] a camera system in an eyewear device wherein the mode indication mechanism having an indicator light to indicate the current mode and an ambient light sensor. However, does not teach the intensity of the illumination of the indicator is variable depending on ambient lighting conditions.
Official Notice is taken that it was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the brightness of a display based on the detected ambient lighting in order to improve the image recognition on the screen in a high ambient light environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the brightness of the display of Moskovchenko et al including the indicator lights based on the detected ambient lighting from the ambient light sensor in order to improve the image recognition on the screen in a high ambient light environment.
17: Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190268668 A1 Moskovchenko et al in view of US 2015/0009309 A1 Heinrich et al.
18: As for Claim 10, Moskovchenko et al depicts in Figures 1B and 6 a camera trigger button mechanism on the eyewear frame (depicted on the side of the frame in Figure 1B) and being manually disposable to the pressed condition (the button can be pressed). However, Moskovchenko et al does not teach the shutter button is on a top surface of the eyewear frame.
Heinrich et al depicts in Figure 2 and teaches in Paragraphs [0021] smart glasses (12) having a built in camera (16) that is activated by a shutter button (24) disposed on the top of the eyewear frame (12). Heinrich et al teaches this location is advantageous because it is a very useful position because it is readily actuated by the wearer holding the frame with a thumb on the lower part of the frame and the "pointing" finger opposed to the thumb and on the button.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the capture button of Moskovchenko et al on the top of the eyewear frame as taught by Heinrich et al in order to improve the ease of use of the shutter button.
Conclusion
/JAMES M HANNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639
JMH
August 19, 2026