DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bressi, Jr. (5,052,559).
Claims 1, 2 and 17
Bressi, Jr. discloses a food storage box (12) configured to store food, the food storage box comprising a base plate (14) configured to support the food to be stored thereon; and a cover (16) configured to cover the food from above, wherein the base plate comprises at least one food lifting opening (defined by opening formed by tab 28 when lifted) capable such that a food lifting element is able to penetrate the at least one food lifting opening to lift the food to be stored, wherein a first flap arrangement/support strip (30) is assigned to the at least one food lifting opening and is configured to open and close the at least one food lifting opening, wherein the first flap arrangement is inlay attached/connected by adhesive to an inner side of the base plate of the food storage box (see column 3 lines 36-41), and wherein in a closed state the first flap arrangement fully covers an area of the at least one food lifting opening and an area adjacent thereto (see figures 2-5). Bressi, Jr. discloses the first flap arrangement can be folded and straightened, so when in use, the first flap arrangement/support strip is folded in triangular form, pushing upwardly tabs (28) by free end of the first flap arrangement/support strip (see column 3 lines 62-68 and column 4 lines 1-2).
Claim 3
Bressi, Jr. further discloses the first flap arrangement comprises plurality of folding zones that are each configured to define a pivoting or deflection axis responsive to the first flap arrangement (see figures 5 and 6).
Claims 7 and 8
Bressi, Jr. further discloses the base plate and the cover are pivotably connected to each other by a common side wall (22) (see figures 2 and 3), at least one of the base plate or the cover comprises one or more side walls (defined by base plate side walls 20 and 22 and cover sidewalls 20a and 22a) (see figure 2); and/or side walls (20 and 22) of the base plate and side walls (220a and 22a) of the cover are substantially in contact with each other responsive to the food storage box being in a closed state (see figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bressi, Jr. (5,052,559) as applied to claim 8 above.
Bressi, Jr. discloses the first flap arrangement/support strip in combination with tabs (28) defining a maximum angle to lift food to prevent the food from becoming soggy (see column 3 lines 62-68 and column 4 lines 1-3). Bressi, Jr. further discloses the maximum opening angle is 45° (see figure 4). From the argument Bressi, Jr. does not disclose the required angle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bressi, Jr. to have the required maximum opening angle, i.e. 70°, 60°, 50°, or 45° to allow air entering into the box prevent the food from becoming soggy.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 7, 8, 17 and 18 have been considered but are moot in view of a new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or prior art(s) disclosed by the Examiner (in the attached PTO-892 form).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RAFAEL A. ORTIZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3736
/RAFAEL A ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736