DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-12, 20-21, 32-33 and 38-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Agevik et al. (US 2012/0064951 A1).
As to claim 1, Agevik et al. teaches a computer system configured to communicate with one or more input devices ([0027]: mobile terminal uses the head movement signals received from the headset to control a function of the mobile terminal), comprising: one or more processors ([0029]: processor); and memory ([0029]: memory 120 storing program instructions) storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors ([0029]: processor 110), the one or more programs including instructions ([0029]: memory storing program instructions) for: receiving, via the one or more input devices, an indication of a detection of a motion input ([0027]: mobile terminal uses the head movement signals received from the headset to control a function of the mobile terminal ); and in response to receiving the indication of the detection of the motion input ([0027]: head movement): in accordance with a determination that the motion input includes a first type of recognized head gesture ([0042]: the user nods his/her head vertically) and the computer system has a first configuration ([0039];[0041]: user prompted to select a corresponding function to associate with the head movement pattern;[0042]: configuration for when an incoming call is received, and the mobile terminal begins to ring), causing performance of a first operation ([0042]: user nods his/her head vertically to accept the call) ; in accordance with a determination that the motion input includes the first type of recognized head gesture ([0043]:vertical head nod) and the computer system has a second configuration ([0039];[0041]: user prompted to select a corresponding function to associate with the head movement pattern;[0042]: configuration for when a second incoming is received before the first call ends and when the second call ends) that is different from the first configuration ([0039];[0041]: user prompted to select a corresponding function to associate with the head movement pattern;[0042]: configuration for when an incoming call is received, and the mobile terminal begins to ring), forgoing causing performance of the first operation ([0043]: put the first call on hold and answer second call); and in accordance with a determination that the motion input includes a second type of recognized head gesture ([0043]: head shake) that is different from the first type of recognized head gesture ([0043]:vertical head nod) and the computer system has the second configuration ([0039];[0041]: user prompted to select a corresponding function to associate with the head movement pattern;[0042]: configuration for when a second incoming is received before the first call ends and when the second call ends), causing performance of the first operation ([0043]: resume the first call). As to claim 2, Agevik et al. teaches the computer system of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for: in response to receiving the indication of the detection of the motion input ([0043]: head movement): in accordance with a determination that the motion input includes the second type of recognized head gesture ([0043]: head shake) and the computer system has the first configuration ([0039];[0041]: user prompted to select a corresponding function to associate with the head movement pattern;[0042]: configuration for when an incoming call is received, and the mobile terminal begins to ring), causing performance of a second operation ([0042]: user shakes his/her head horizontally to decline the call) that is different from the first operation ([0042]: accept the call). As to claim 3, Agevik et al. teaches the computer system of claim 2, wherein the second operation includes responding to a notification by declining to take an action associated with the notification ([0042]: When a incoming call is received, the mobile terminal begins to ring. The user lifts the mobile terminal to a reading position to see the number of the calling party. User shakes his/her head horizontally to decline the call). As to claim 4, Agevik et al. teaches the computer system of claim 3, wherein the second operation includes causing, without performing another operation, at least a portion of an audio output associated with the notification to not be performed ([0042]: User shakes his/her head horizontally to decline the call (i.e. audio output (voice of the caller) associated with the notification not performed)). As to claim 5, Agevik et al. teaches the computer system of claim 4, wherein causing the portion of the audio output associated with the notification to not be performed includes causing the audio output associated with the notification to stop being performed before the portion of the audio output associated with the notification is output ([0042]: User shakes his/her head horizontally to decline the call (i.e. audio output (voice of the caller) associated with the notification to stop being performed before the portion of the audio output associated with the notification is output). As to claim 9, Agevik et al. teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein: in accordance with a determination that a head gesture configuration setting is in a first configuration state, the computer system is determined to have the first configuration ([0039];[0041]: user prompted to select a corresponding function to associate with the head movement pattern;[0042]: configuration for when an incoming call is received, and the mobile terminal begins to ring), and in accordance with a determination that the head gesture configuration setting is in a second configuration state ([0039];[0041]: user prompted to select a corresponding function to associate with the head movement pattern;[0042]: configuration for when a second incoming is received before the first call ends and when the second call ends) that is different from the first configuration state ([0039];[0041]: user prompted to select a corresponding function to associate with the head movement pattern;[0042]: configuration for when an incoming call is received, and the mobile terminal begins to ring), the computer system is determined to have the second configuration ([0039];[0041]: user prompted to select a corresponding function to associate with the head movement pattern;[0042]: configuration for when a second incoming is received before the first call ends and when the second call ends). As to claim 10, Agevik et al. teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the first type of recognized head gesture includes one or more head movements indicative of a head nod gesture ([0042]: the user nods his/her head vertically). As to claim 11, Agevik et al. teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the second type of recognized head gesture includes one or more head movements indicative of a head shake gesture ([0043]: head shake).
As to claim 12, Agevik et al. teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the detection of the motion input is performed with one or more wearable headphones ([0025-0027]: headset exchange audio signals, enables user to engage in hands-free voice conversation, and detects movement of the user’s head).
As to claim 20, Agevik et al. teaches the computer system of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for: in response to receiving the indication of the detection of the motion input ([0027]: head movement): prior to causing performance of an operation in accordance with a determination that the motion input includes a respective type of recognized head gesture ([0039]: associated control functions for different head movement patterns are predefined by the manufacturer or user-defined based on user preference settings): in accordance with a determination that a progress setting is in a first state ([0036]: when sensor is enabled), causing a first output via one or more output devices ([0036]: desktop icons, menus to perform any function); and in accordance with a determination that the progress setting is in a second state ([0036]: sensor disabled) that is different from the first state ([0036]: sensor is enabled), forgoing causing the first output via the one or more output devices ([0036]: sensor disabled, note that when the sensor is disabled and a predetermined event does not occur, the method 300 of controlling a function of the mobile terminal is not performed).
As to claim 21, Agevik et al. teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the first operation includes answering a call ([0042]: user nods his/her head vertically to accept the call).
As to claim 32, Agevik et al. teaches the computer system of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for: in response to receiving the indication of the detection of the motion input([0027]: head movement): in accordance with a determination that a motion input control setting is disabled ([0036];[0039]: associated control functions for different head movement patterns are predefined by the manufacturer or user-defined based on user preference settings), forgoing causing performance of an operation based on the motion input ([0036]: sensor disabled, note that when the sensor is disabled and a predetermined event does not occur, the method 300 of controlling a function of the mobile terminal is not performed).
As to claim 33, Agevik et al. teaches the computer system of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for: in accordance with a determination that a connection has been established between the computer system ([0025]: mobile terminal 100) and an external computer system ({0025]: headset 200), a user interface element for enabling the computer system to perform operations in response to motion inputs is displayed ([0031]: user interface includes display; [0041]: user places the mobile terminal 100 in a record mode via the user interface); an input corresponding to selection of the user interface element for enabling the computer system to perform operations in response to motion inputs is detected ([0041]: user places the mobile terminal 100 in a record mode via the user interface); and in response to detection of the input corresponding to selection of the user interface element for enabling the computer system to perform operations in response to motion inputs, the computer system is enabled to cause performance of operations in response to motion inputs ([0039];[0041]: user places the mobile terminal 100 in a record mode via the user interface, associate the recorded head movement pattern with mobile terminal function). As to claim 38, Agevik et al. teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs ([0029]: memory 120 storing program instructions) configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system that is in communication with one or more input devices ([0027]: mobile terminal uses the head movement signals received from the headset to control a function of the mobile terminal;[0029]), the one or more programs including instructions for: receiving, via the one or more input devices, an indication of a detection of a motion input ([0027]: mobile terminal uses the head movement signals received from the headset to control a function of the mobile terminal ); and in response to receiving the indication of the detection of the motion input ([0027]: head movement): in accordance with a determination that the motion input includes a first type of recognized head gesture ([0042]: the user nods his/her head vertically) and the computer system has a first configuration ([0039];[0041]: user prompted to select a corresponding function to associate with the head movement pattern;[0042]: configuration for when an incoming call is received, and the mobile terminal begins to ring), causing performance of a first operation ([0042]: user nods his/her head vertically to accept the call) ; in accordance with a determination that the motion input includes the first type of recognized head gesture ([0043]:vertical head nod) and the computer system has a second configuration ([0039];[0041]: user prompted to select a corresponding function to associate with the head movement pattern;[0042]: configuration for when a second incoming is received before the first call ends and when the second call ends) that is different from the first configuration ([0039];[0041]: user prompted to select a corresponding function to associate with the head movement pattern;[0042]: configuration for when an incoming call is received, and the mobile terminal begins to ring), forgoing causing performance of the first operation ([0043]: put the first call on hold and answer second call); and in accordance with a determination that the motion input includes a second type of recognized head gesture ([0043]: head shake) that is different from the first type of recognized head gesture ([0043]:vertical head nod) and the computer system has the second configuration ([0039];[0041]: user prompted to select a corresponding function to associate with the head movement pattern;[0042]: configuration for when a second incoming is received before the first call ends and when the second call ends), causing performance of the first operation ([0043]: resume the first call). As to claim 39, Agevik et al. teaches a method, comprising: at a computer system that is in communication with one or more input devices ([0027]: mobile terminal uses the head movement signals received from the headset to control a function of the mobile terminal): receiving, via the one or more input devices, an indication of a detection of a motion input ([0027]: mobile terminal uses the head movement signals received from the headset to control a function of the mobile terminal ); and in response to receiving the indication of the detection of the motion input ([0027]: head movement): in accordance with a determination that the motion input includes a first type of recognized head gesture ([0042]: the user nods his/her head vertically) and the computer system has a first configuration ([0039];[0041]: user prompted to select a corresponding function to associate with the head movement pattern;[0042]: configuration for when an incoming call is received, and the mobile terminal begins to ring), causing performance of a first operation ([0042]: user nods his/her head vertically to accept the call) ; in accordance with a determination that the motion input includes the first type of recognized head gesture ([0043]:vertical head nod) and the computer system has a second configuration ([0039];[0041]: user prompted to select a corresponding function to associate with the head movement pattern;[0042]: configuration for when a second incoming is received before the first call ends and when the second call ends) that is different from the first configuration ([0039];[0041]: user prompted to select a corresponding function to associate with the head movement pattern;[0042]: configuration for when an incoming call is received, and the mobile terminal begins to ring), forgoing causing performance of the first operation ([0043]: put the first call on hold and answer second call); and in accordance with a determination that the motion input includes a second type of recognized head gesture ([0043]: head shake) that is different from the first type of recognized head gesture ([0043]:vertical head nod) and the computer system has the second configuration ([0039];[0041]: user prompted to select a corresponding function to associate with the head movement pattern;[0042]: configuration for when a second incoming is received before the first call ends and when the second call ends), causing performance of the first operation ([0043]: resume the first call).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-17, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agevik et al. (US 2012/0064951 A1) in view of Chalmers et al. (US 2020/0104194 A1).
As to claim 16, Agevik et al. teaches the computer system of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the detection of the motion input occurs within a threshold amount of time of a notification. However, Chalmers et al. teaches wherein the detection of the motion input occurs within a threshold amount of time of a notification ([0285]: movement of user’s head detected within predefined time period of respective audio notification).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Agevik et al. such that the detection of the motion input occurs within a threshold amount of time of a notification as taught by Chalmers et al. in
order to perform operations associated with a particular audio notification.
As to claim 17, Agevik et al. teaches the computer system as discussed above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the notification includes an audio notification. However, Chalmers et al. teaches wherein the notification includes an audio notification ([0285]: audio notification).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Agevik et al. such that the notification includes an audio notification as taught by Chalmers et al. in order to perform operations associated with a particular audio notification.
As to claim 29, Agevik et al. teaches the computer system of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first operation includes outputting content of a notification. However, Chalmers et al. teaches wherein the first operation includes outputting content of a notification ([0287]: outputting one or more audio notifications).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Agevik et al. such that the first operation includes outputting content of a notification as taught by Chalmers et al. in order to perform operations associated with a particular audio notification.
As to claim 30, Agevik et al. teaches the computer system as discussed above, but does not explicitly disclose the one or more programs further including instructions for: prior to receiving the indication of the detection of the motion input, audio of a summary of content of a notification is output. However, Chalmers et al. teaches the one or more programs further including instructions for: prior to receiving the indication of the detection of the motion input, audio of a summary of content of a notification is output ([0204]: after hearing audio notification 566 summarizing events 560-1 through 560-3, user 500 tilts his head).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Agevik et al. such that prior to receiving the indication of the detection of the motion input, audio of a summary of content of a notification is output as taught by Chalmers et al. in order to perform operations associated with a particular audio notification.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agevik et al. (US 2012/0064951 A1) in view of Park et al. (WO 2025/023475 A1, attached English machine translation is used in the rejection).
As to claim 18, Agevik et al. teaches the computer system of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the one or more programs further including instructions for: in response to receiving the indication of the detection of the motion input: prior to causing performance of an operation in accordance with a determination that the motion input includes a respective type of recognized head gesture, causing a first output via one or more output devices. However, Park et al. teaches the one or more programs further including instructions for: in response to receiving the indication of the detection of the motion input (page 18 : a gesture in which a body part (e.g. head) points to an object): prior to causing performance of an operation in accordance with a determination that the motion input includes a respective type of recognized head gesture, causing a first output via one or more output devices (page 18: a gesture in which a body part (e.g., head) points to an object; page 27: output the manipulation command of the controller in the form of voice or text before performing the operation according to the manipulation command of the controller indicated by the user's gesture).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Agevik et al. such that prior to causing performance of an operation in accordance with a determination that the motion input includes a respective type of recognized head gesture, causing a first output via one or more output devices as taught by Park et al. in order to allow the user to cancel the operation before the operation is performed.
As to claim 19, Agevik et al. teaches the computer system as discussed above, but does not explicitly disclose the one or more programs further including instructions for: in response to receiving the indication of the detection of the motion input: after causing the first output and in accordance with a determination that the motion input includes a respective type of recognized head gesture, causing a second output via the one or more output devices. However, Park et al. teaches the one or more programs further including instructions for: in response to receiving the indication of the detection of the motion input (page 18 : a gesture in which a body part (e.g. head) points to an object): after causing the first output and in accordance with a determination that the motion input includes a respective type of recognized head gesture, causing a second output via the one or more output devices (page 18: a gesture in which a body part (e.g., head) points to an object; page 27: output the manipulation command of the controller in the form of voice or text before performing the operation according to the manipulation command of the controller indicated by the user's gesture; note: performing the operation after output of the manipulation command of the controller in the form of voice or text is interpreted as the second output). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Agevik et al. such that after causing the first output and in accordance with a determination that the motion input includes a respective type of recognized head gesture, causing a second output via the one or more output devices as taught by Park et al. in order to perform a desired operation.
Claim(s) 22 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agevik et al. (US 2012/0064951 A1) in view of Ghasemlou et al. (US 2024/0302905 A1).
As to claim 22, Agevik et al. teaches the computer system of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first operation includes a recommended operation that is presented to a user. However, Ghasemlou et al. teaches wherein the first operation includes a recommended operation that is presented to a user ([0080]: suggest interactions; [0119];[0153]: suggestion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Agevik et al. such that the first operation includes a recommended operation that is presented to a user as taught by Ghasemlou et al. in order to improve user experience.
As to claim 31, Agevik et al. teaches the computer system of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the one or more programs further including instructions for: prior to receiving the indication of the detection of the motion input, audio of a portion of content of a notification is output. However, Ghasemlou et al. teaches the one or more programs further including instructions for: prior to receiving the indication of the detection of the motion input, audio of a portion of content of a notification is output ([0160]: your brother is calling you. Would you like to answer it? 1020 in Fig. 10B. FIG. 10C illustrates that the user shakes his head declining the phone call).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Agevik et al. such that prior to receiving the indication of the detection of the motion input, audio of a portion of content of a notification is output as taught by Ghasemlou et al. in order to in order to perform operations associated with a particular audio notification.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agevik et al. (US 2012/0064951 A1) in view of Ghasemlou et al. (US 2024/0302905 A1) and further in view of Bao (US 2025/0217024 A1).
As to claim 23, Agevik et al. in view of Ghasemlou et al. teaches the computer system of claim 22, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the recommended operation includes creating a reminder. However, Bao teaches wherein the recommended operation includes creating a reminder ([0195]: providing a message reminder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Agevik et al. in view of Ghasemlou et al. such that the recommended operation includes creating a reminder as taught by Bao in order to improve convenience and information display efficiency.
Claim(s) 24-26 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agevik et al. (US 2012/0064951 A1) in view of Ghasemlou et al. (US 2024/0302905 A1) and further in view of Choi et al. (US 2019/0204868 A1). As to claim 24, Agevik et al. in view of Ghasemlou et al. teaches the computer system of claim 22, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the recommended operation includes responding to a message. However, Choi et al. teaches wherein the recommended operation includes responding to a message ([0156]: recommended response mode as a scheme of responding to the received message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Agevik et al. in view of Ghasemlou et al. such that the recommended operation includes responding to a message as taught by Choi et al. in order to allow the user to quickly transmit a suitable response to a received message.
As to claim 25, Agevik et al. in view of Ghasemlou et al. teaches the computer system of claim 24, but does not explicitly disclose wherein responding to the message includes generating a response with content that is based on a user input and sending the response. However, Choi et al. teaches wherein responding to the message includes generating a response with content that is based on a user input and sending the response ([0156]: user provides an input to change a property of a selected response and transmits a response).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Agevik et al. in view of Ghasemlou et al. such that responding to the message includes generating a response with content that is based on a user input and sending the response as taught by Choi et al. in order to allow the user to quickly transmit a suitable response to a received message.
As to claim 26, Agevik et al. in view of Ghasemlou et al. teaches the computer system of claim 24, but does not explicitly disclose wherein responding to the message includes sending a predefined response.
However, Choi et al. teaches wherein responding to the message includes sending a predefined response ([0155-0156]: transmit a recommended response to a received message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Agevik et al. in view of Ghasemlou et al. by responding to the message includes sending a predefined response as taught by Choi et al. in order to allow the user to quickly transmit a suitable response to a received message.
As to claim 28, Agevik et al. in view of Ghasemlou et al. teaches the computer system of claim 26, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the predefined response includes content that is based on information associated with a user of the computer system and that is available to the computer system.
However, Choi et al. teaches wherein the predefined response includes content that is based on information associated with a user of the computer system and that is available to the computer system ([0155-0156]: user provides an input to change a property of a selected response).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Agevik et al. in view of Ghasemlou et al. such that providing the predefined response includes content that is based on information associated with a user of the computer system and that is available to the computer system as taught by Choi et al. in order to allow the user to quickly transmit a suitable response to a received message.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agevik et al. (US 2012/0064951 A1) in view of Ghasemlou et al. (US 2024/0302905 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US 2019/0204868 A1) and further in view of Siminoff et al. (US 2017/0251182 A1).
As to claim 27, Agevik et al. in view of Ghasemlou et al. and Choi et al. teaches the computer system of claim 26, but does not explicitly disclose wherein sending the predefined response includes sending a response that is a confirmation to the message. However, Siminoff teaches wherein sending the predefined response includes sending a response that is a confirmation to the message ([0196]: select OK button, Fig. 24)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Agevik et al. in view of Ghasemlou et al. and Choi et al. by sending the predefined response includes sending a response that is a confirmation to the message as taught by Siminoff et al. in order to quickly transmit a confirmation to a received message.
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agevik et al. (US 2012/0064951 A1) in view of Kasilya Sudarsan et al. (US 2016/0014579 A1). As to claim 37, Agevik et al. teaches the computer system of claim 1, further including instructions for: receiving, via the one or more input devices, an indication of a detection of a physical press input ([0026]: press the keys); and in response to receiving the indication of the detection of the physical press input ([0026]: press): in accordance with a determination that the physical press input is a first type of physical press input, causing performance of the first operation ([0026]: press the keys, unlock the mobile terminal); but does not explicitly disclose in accordance with a determination that the physical press input is a second type of physical press input, causing performance of a second operation that is different from the first operation. However, Kasilya Sudarsan et al. teaches the one or more programs further including instructions for: receiving, via the one or more input devices, an indication of a detection of a physical press input ([0074-0075]: press a user interface button); and in response to receiving the indication of the detection of the physical press input ([0074-0075]: press): in accordance with a determination that the physical press input is a first type of physical press input, causing performance of the first operation ([0074-0075]: press user interface button to answer the call); and in accordance with a determination that the physical press input is a second type of physical press input, causing performance of a second operation that is different from the first operation ([0074]: reject call by pressing decline icon). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Agevik et al. such in accordance with a determination that the physical press input is a second type of physical press input, causing performance of a second operation that is different from the first operation as taught by Kasilya Sudarsan et al. in order to answer or reject a call on a mobile device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, 13-15, and 34-36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/STACY KHOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624