DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on August 31, 2026, have been entered. Claims 1, 2, 7-9, 13, and 14 have been amended. Claims 1-14 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on August 31, 2026, in response to the Non-Final Office Action dated June 20, 2026, have been fully considered.
The amendments overcome the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections. Therefore, the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant argues, in pages 9-10 of the Remarks, “The independent claims are specifically directed to detecting OFDM packets over single-frequency input signals, wherein active processing is performed on the input signal in order to distinguish between these two types of signals. Shellhammner discloses match filtering, and using a sequence of known training fields to identify signals, but fails to provide motivation for altering a result of the match filtered output in order to specifically detect OFDM packets over other types of signals. As taught in the instant application, the post-calculation circuit is used for correctly identifying OFDM packets over single-frequency input signals. The Examiner has equated Shellhammer's auto-correlation with the post-calculation unit taught in the independent claims. The applicant respectfully disagrees with this analysis”.
In response, the input signal can be anything. As claim includes match filtering of the input signal based on a reference sequence to generate a match filtering output. Post calculation is done on the matched filtering output to generate calculation result. The calculation result is compared with threshold to determine if the input signal is target OFDM packet or anything other than the target OFDM packet. Shellhammner discloses the same. Fig. 6A, step 605, shows receiving a signal. Paragraph 0072 discloses a match filter perform match filtering in the input signal based on known sequence of training field to generate a output. Fig. 6A, step 615, shows performing autocorrelation on the matched filter output to generate a result as stated in paragraph 0072. Fig. 6A, step 620, discloses comparing the autocorrelation result to threshold to determine whether the target packet is detected.
Applicant argues, in page 10 of the Remarks, “As is well-known, auto-correlation is a measure of the correlation of a signal with a time-shifted version of 'itself', and therefore, during auto-correlation, there is only one signal involved. In the post-calculation unit of the instant application, however, there are two signals to be calculated and compared. Shellhammer is auto-correlating the signal to reduce noise and complexity, and then comparing this signal with a threshold to see if the signal has a sequence of known training fields. Shellhammer, however, is silent on auto-correlation having a different effect on an OFDM signal vs. a single-frequency input signal because, by definition, auto-correlation deals with only one signal. In the post-calculation unit of the instant application, processing is performed on the signal which has the effect of actively lowering peaks in the signal when the signal is a single-frequency signal, whereas the same processing performed on an OFDM packet will not have this result.” .
In response, the claim only recites using a post-calculation circuit to perform calculation on the matched filtering output. Claim does not preclude using auto-correlation.
The amendments overcome the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 7 and 14. Claims 7 and 14 are indicated as allowable subject matter.
Examiner’s Note about the Format of 35 U.S.C. 102/103 Rejections
Generally, limitations of a claim are reproduced identically and followed by examiner’s explanation with citation from prior art in Italic enclosed by a parenthesis, (), for each limitation. In examiner’s explanation, the mapping of the key elements of a limitation to the disclosed elements of prior art is shown by stating the disclosed element immediately followed by the claimed element inside a parenthesis. Specific quotation from prior art is delineated with quotation mark, ““. If primary art fails to teach a limitation or part of the limitation, the limitation or the part of the limitation is placed inside double square brackets, [[ ]], for better understandability, and appropriate secondary art(s) is/are applied later addressing the deficiency of the primary art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shellhammer et al. (US PGPUB No. US 20130094619 A1), hereinafter, Shellhammer.
Regarding claim 1:
Shellhammer teaches:
A method for detecting a target detection packet, wherein the method is applicable to a packet detector, the target detection packet is an Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiplexing (OFDM) packet, and the method comprises (paragraph 0034 discloses OFDM packet. Fig. 6A shows method for detecting OFDM packet):
utilizing a match filter of the packet detector to perform match filtering on an input signal based on a reference sequence to generate a match filtering output, wherein the reference sequence corresponds to the target detection packet (Fig. 6A, step 605, shows receiving a signal (input signal). Paragraph 0072 discloses a match filter perform match filtering in the input signal based on known training field (reference sequence) to generate a output (match filtering output));
utilizing a post-calculation circuit of the packet detector to perform calculation on the match filtering output to generate a calculation result (Fig. 6A, step 615, shows performing autocorrelation (calculation) on the matched filter output to generate a result as stated in paragraph 0072 “Further, at a block 615 the first N.sub.0 terms of each block of N terms of the output y(n) are autocorrelated similar to as discussed above, where N.sub.0 is less than N.” );
utilizing a comparator of the packet detector to compare the calculation result with a predetermined threshold to generate a comparison result; and determining whether the input signal is the target detection packet or not according to the comparison result (Fig. 6A, step 620, discloses comparing the autocorrelation result to threshold to determine whether the target packet is detected as stated in paragraph 00072 “At a block 620, the results of the autocorrelation are compared to a threshold to determine whether the signal r(n) includes a sequence of known training fields and thus includes a data packet.” );
wherein the generated calculation result when the input signal is a single-frequency signal will be lower than the generated calculation result when the input signal is the target detection packet (paragraph 0066 discloses determining the signal is the target packet when the autocorrelation result is higher than the threshold and the signal is not the target packet when the autocorrelation result is lower than the threshold as stated “The output z(n) of the absolute value module 520 is input into the threshold module 525 which compares the value of z(n) to a threshold value T. In one implementation, if the value of z(n)>T, the signal detector 218 of the wireless device 202r determines that a received signal r(n) has a sequence of known training fields and the signal detector 218 of the wireless device 202r may determine that a data packet is detected. Further, in such an implementation, if the value of z(n)<T, the signal detector 218 of the wireless device 202r determines that a received signal r(n) does not have a sequence of known training fields and the signal detector 218 of the wireless device 202r may determine that a data packet is not detected.”. Therefore, in the case when the signal is single-frequency signal, the signal will not contain the sequence, and the correlation will be lower than the threshold.).
As to claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Shellhammer teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Shellhammer further teaches wherein the step of utilizing a comparator of the packet detector to compare the calculation result with a predetermined threshold to generate a comparison result comprises comparing a peak of the calculation result with the predetermined threshold, wherein when the input signal is the target detection packet, a peak of the resultant calculation result is greater than a peak of the resultant calculation result when the input signal is a single-frequency signal (paragraph 0068 discloses input signal can be single frequency. Paragraph 0066 discloses determining the signal is the target packet when the autocorrelation result is higher than the threshold and the signal is not the target packet when the autocorrelation result is lower than the threshold).
As to claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Shellhammer teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Shellhammer further teaches wherein the step of determining whether the input signal is the target detection packet according to the comparison result comprises: in response to the calculation result being periodically greater than the predetermined threshold, determining that the input signal is the target detection packet (Fig. 5, element 525 shows on the calculation results Z(n) is greater than threshold T, determining the target packet is detected as stated in paragraph 0066 “The output z(n) of the absolute value module 520 is input into the threshold module 525 which compares the value of z(n) to a threshold value T. In one implementation, if the value of z(n)>T, the signal detector 218 of the wireless device 202r determines that a received signal r(n) has a sequence of known training fields and the signal detector 218 of the wireless device 202r may determine that a data packet is detected”).
As to claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Shellhammer teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Shellhammer further teaches wherein the step of determining whether the input signal is the target detection packet according to the comparison result comprises: in response to the calculation result being continuously less than the predetermined threshold, determining that the input signal is not the target detection packet (Fig. 5, element 525 shows on the calculation results Z(n) is less than threshold T, determining the target packet is not detected as stated in paragraph 0066 “Further, in such an implementation, if the value of z(n)<T, the signal detector 218 of the wireless device 202r determines that a received signal r(n) does not have a sequence of known training fields and the signal detector 218 of the wireless device 202r may determine that a data packet is not detected”).
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Shellhammer teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Shellhammer further teaches wherein the step of utilizing the post-calculation circuit of the packet detector to perform calculation on the match filtering output to generate the calculation result comprises: calculating a present value of a low-pass filtering result according to a previous value of the low-pass filtering result, a present value of the match filtering output and a preset parameter; and generating a present value of the calculation result according to the present value of the low-pass filtering result and the present value of the match filtering output (paragraph 0064 discloses implementation of low pass filter using shift registers. The output of the matched filter is arranged in consecutive blocks and computing dot product of present block and previous block to generate autocorrelation results).
Regarding claim 8:
Claim 8 is directed towards a packet detector performing the method of claim 1. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 9 is directed towards a packet detector performing the method of claim 2. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 10 is directed towards a packet detector performing the method of claim 3. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 11 is directed towards a packet detector performing the method of claim 4. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 12 is directed towards a packet detector performing the method of claim 5. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6, 7, 13, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
November 4, 2026
/KAMAL M HOSSAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444