Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hanschen et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0093703.
Hanschen discloses a method of making a film that include first and second polymer which form separate zones (regions) in the film. See paragraph 0036. The film comprising the first and second regions can be made by extruding the polymer flows using channels formed on the two outer faces of the die bar in the exit region of the die segments or by flowing different polymer compositions into side by side lanes using a single manifold die with a distribution plate. Both streams would pass through the coextruder body. See paragraph 0060. The regions extend across the entirety of the film. Hanschen teaches that controlling the materials, melt viscosities, additives, molecular weight, pressure in the cavities, flow rate of the polymer and/or the dimensions of the passageways will control the dimensions of the passageways. See paragraph 0067. The formed film can be elastic. See paragraph 0081. Suitable polymers include polybutylene and ethylene propylene copolymers. See paragraph 0087. Hanschen does not explicitly state that that the materials have different melt strengths. However, since Hanschen teaches employing two different polymers, it is reasonable to state that each polymer would have different melt strengths, or, in the alternative, since Hanschen teaches controlling material, additives, melt viscosities and molecular weight as well as processing conditions of the polymers to control the dimensions of the passageways, and since melt strength is related to molecular weight, molecular weight distribution, additives as well as processing conditions such as heat which reduces melt strength, it would have been obvious to have selected the materials, additives, melt viscosity, molecular weight and processing which produced regions having the desired dimensions in the film of Hanschen.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ausen et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0154683. Austen discloses extruded films comprising regions formed from first and second polymers. Ausen discloses the ability of a region to redistribute is related to melt strength. See paragraph 0026.
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789