3Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because on line 7, the word “senor” should be --sensor--. Please recheck all claims to correct all typographical errors.
35 USC 102 rejections
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0056830 (Smits) (equivalent with DE 10 2010 028846).
Regarding independent claim 1, Smits discloses a method for monitoring an exhaust gas catalytic converter of an internal combustion engine, the method comprising the steps of: providing that the internal combustion engine includes a reactant metering device (note figure 1); operating the internal combustion engine at a first load point with a first metering rate of the reactant metering device (paragraph 27, the efficiency of the SCR system also depends greatly on the quantity of urea metered in); determining, during operation with the first metering rate, a first actual NH3 value and a first actual catalytic converter efficiency; calculating a first observation value based on the first actual NH3 value, the first actual catalytic converter efficiency, a first target NH3 value, and a first target catalytic converter efficiency ; operating the internal combustion engine at the first load point with a second metering rate of the reactant metering device; determining, during operation with the second metering rate, a second actual NH3 value and a second actual catalytic converter efficiency; calculating a second observation value based on the second actual NH3 value, the second actual catalytic converter efficiency, a second target NH3 value, and a second target catalytic converter efficiency (Paragraph 27 states “By monitoring the excess ammonia downstream from the ASC, optimal use may be made of the efficiency of the SCR system with regard to the metering quantity, without risking too large an ammonia excess, since in the event of a detection of ammonia due to overdosing by the SCR control, the sensor value is used for correcting the variable of the SCR control”, meaning the NH3 value is calculated at various locations that meets the claimed limitation “second NH3 value”); comparing a first observation value and a second observation value; and evaluating the exhaust gas catalytic converter based on a comparison resulting at least in part from the step of comparing (paragraph 41 states “[0041] The fitness function for optimizing the NH3 detection results from the sum of the matches between the detection of the virtual NH3 sensor with the comparison of the measured ammonia at the test stand. In other words, if the NH3 within the evaluated measuring window is on average above 10 ppm, the reference indicates a logical 1, and otherwise, a 0. The virtual parameterization of the NH3 sensor is now designed by the GA in such a way that the GA matches the reference preferably often”, meaning the observation values from continuously ammonia detections are compared and evaluated).
Regarding claim 2, Smits discloses that, wherein at least one of: (a) an actual NH3 value is determined by way of a first NOx sensor that is arranged fluidically upstream of the exhaust gas catalytic converter and a control of the reactant metering device that is arranged fluidically between the first NOx sensor and the exhaust gas catalytic converter; and (b) an actual catalytic converter efficiency is determined by way of first NOx sensor and a second NOx senor which is fluidically arranged downstream the from exhaust gas catalytic converter (figure 1 clearly shows two NOx sensors upstream and downstream of the catalytic converter connected to the reactant metering unit and NH3 sensors).
Regarding claim 3, Smits discloses that wherein at least one of:(a) the actual NH3 value is at least one of the first actual NH3 value and the second actual NH3 value; and (b) the actual catalytic converter efficiency is at least one of the first actual catalytic converter efficiency and the second actual catalytic converter efficiency (the NH3 value must be one of the actual NH3 values and the actual catalytic converter efficiency must also be one of the calculated actual catalytic converter efficiency).
Regarding claims 9-10, Smits clearly teaches that, wherein an evaluation of the internal combustion engine is stored in a load characteristic map (note figure 2).
Regarding independent claim 11, Smits discloses an internal combustion engine, comprising: an exhaust gas catalytic converter; a reactant metering device; a first NOx sensor; a second NOx sensor; and a control device, the first NOx sensor being arranged fluidically upstream from the exhaust gas catalytic converter, the reactant metering device being arranged fluidically between the first NOx sensor and the exhaust gas catalytic converter, the second NOx sensor being arranged fluidically downstream from the exhaust gas catalytic converter (note figure 1), the control device being configured for carrying out a method for monitoring an exhaust gas catalytic converter of an internal combustion engine, the method comprising the steps of: providing that the internal combustion engine includes the reactant metering device (paragraph 27, the efficiency of the SCR system also depends greatly on the quantity of urea metered in); operating the internal combustion engine at a first load point with a first metering rate of the reactant metering device; determining, during operation with the first metering rate, a first actual NH3 value and a first actual catalytic converter efficiency; calculating a first observation value based on the first actual NH3 value, the first actual catalytic converter efficiency, a first target NH3 value, and a first target catalytic converter efficiency; operating the internal combustion engine at the first load point with a second metering rate of the reactant metering device; determining, during operation with the second metering rate, a second actual NH3 value and a second actual catalytic converter efficiency (Paragraph 27 states “By monitoring the excess ammonia downstream from the ASC, optimal use may be made of the efficiency of the SCR system with regard to the metering quantity, without risking too large an ammonia excess, since in the event of a detection of ammonia due to overdosing by the SCR control, the sensor value is used for correcting the variable of the SCR control”, meaning the NH3 value is calculated at various locations that meets the claimed limitation “second NH3 value”); calculating a second observation value based on the second actual NH3 value, the second actual catalytic converter efficiency, a second target NH3 value, and a second target catalytic converter efficiency; comparing a first observation value and a second observation value; and evaluating the exhaust gas catalytic converter based on a comparison resulting at least in part from the step of comparing (paragraph 41 states “[0041] The fitness function for optimizing the NH3 detection results from the sum of the matches between the detection of the virtual NH3 sensor with the comparison of the measured ammonia at the test stand. In other words, if the NH3 within the evaluated measuring window is on average above 10 ppm, the reference indicates a logical 1, and otherwise, a 0. The virtual parameterization of the NH3 sensor is now designed by the GA in such a way that the GA matches the reference preferably often”, meaning the observation values from continuously ammonia detections are compared and evaluated).
35 USC 103 rejections
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. 2022/0056830 (Smits). Smits discloses all the claimed subject matter as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the specific operating steps including the percentages in claim 4, calculating the difference between observation values in claim 5, weighting functions in claims 6-7, and a second observation value is determined respectively at a plurality of points in time in claim 8. However, according to MPEP 2144.05, II. ROUTINE OPTIMIZATION, A) Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation, note In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007) (identifying "the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art."). It would have been a “routine optimization” to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to provide the operating steps (including the percentages in claim 4, calculating the difference between observation values in claim 5, weighting functions in claims 6-7, and a second observation value is determined respectively at a plurality of points in time in claim 8) as claimed in Smits for the purpose of improving the accuracy from calculating/forming the effective catalytic converter efficiency.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Graichen, Quiqley, Haft, Schwarz, and Ripper disclose systems for improving the catalytic converter efficiency by using NOx sensors, reactant metering device and controllers.
Conclusions
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/HOANG M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
HOANG NGUYEN
PRIMARY EXAMINER
ART UNIT 3746
Hoang Minh Nguyen
2/27/2026