Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-11, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tarvonen (WO2022253429), using the applicant provided original document.
Regarding claim 1, Tarvonen teaches:
A method of producing a dental object ([0005] and [0027] – [0028]), comprising the steps of:
printing a substructure ([0038] – [0039]; Figs. 4-5);
printing an intermediate layer from a support material on the substructure ([0038] – [0039]; Figs. 4-5); and
printing the dental object from the production material for the dental object on the intermediate layer ([0038] – [0039]; Figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 4, Tarvonen teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 4 depends on. Tarvonen further teaches:
wherein a thickness of the intermediate layer is 0.05 mm to 2 mm ([0038] – [0039]).
Regarding claim 5, Tarvonen teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 5 depends on. Tarvonen further teaches:
wherein a shape of a recess in the dental object corresponds to the shape of the substructure ([0038] – [0039]; Figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 6, Tarvonen teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 6 depends on. Tarvonen further teaches:
wherein the substructure is printed with an inner cavity ([0028] – [0042]; Figs. 1 and 4-5).
Regarding claim 7, Tarvonen teaches the limitations of claim 6, which claim 7 depends on. Tarvonen further teaches:
wherein the cavity of the substructure is filled with support material ([0028] – [0042]; Figs. 1 and 4-5).
Regarding claim 8, Tarvonen teaches the limitations of claim 6, which claim 8 depends on. Tarvonen further teaches:
wherein a thickness of the wall of the substructure surrounding the cavity is between 1 mm and 3 mm ([0028] – [0042]; Figs. 1 and 4-5).
Regarding claim 9, Tarvonen teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 9 depends on. Tarvonen further teaches:
wherein the substructure is printed with a tool interface ([0030] – [0039]).
Regarding claim 10, Tarvonen teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 10 depends on. Tarvonen further teaches:
wherein the substructure is printed from the production material for the dental object ([0030] – [0039]).
Regarding claim 11, Tarvonen teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 11 depends on. Tarvonen further teaches:
wherein the support material is removed after printing ([0036] – [0039]).
Regarding claim 14, Tarvonen teaches:
A printer for performing the method of claim 1 ([0030] – [0038]), see the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 15, Tarvonen teaches:
A computer program product comprising program code ([0008] – [0014] and [0031] – [0035]) which is stored on a non-transitory machine-readable medium ([0014]), the machine-readable medium comprising computer instructions ([0012] – [0014]) executable by a processor ([0008] and [0032] – [0035]) of a printer with a control device ([0032]), which computer instructions cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 1, see the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarvonen (WO2022253429) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hofer (US-20030186914), using the applicant provided original document.
Regarding claim 2, Tarvonen teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 2 depends on. Tarvonen does not explicitly teach the production material for the dental object comprises an oxide ceramic material, however, Hofer, in a similar field of endeavor, a method of producing a dental object, teaches:
wherein the production material for the dental object comprises an oxide ceramic material ([0076] – [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the production material of Tarvonen to incorporate the teachings of Hofer and have it explicitly comprise a ceramic oxide material. The purpose, as stated by Hofer, being that particularly worthy of mention in the field of biomaterials are oxide-ceramic materials ([0078]).
Regarding claim 3, Tarvonen teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 3 depends on. Tarvonen does not explicitly teach the support material comprising a water-soluble support material, a wax and/or a non-ionic surfactant, however, Hofer, in a similar field of endeavor, a method of producing a dental object, teaches:
wherein the support material comprises a water-soluble support material ([0038], [0069], and [0095]), a wax and/or a non-ionic surfactant.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support material of Tarvonen to incorporate the teachings of Hofer and have it explicitly comprise a water-soluble material. The purpose, as stated by Hofer, being that it is characterized in that water-soluble salts of a compound of formula (IA) or (IB) are used for the treatment of these surfaces ([0095]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarvonen (WO2022253429) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Haraszati (US-20120261848), using the applicant provided original document.
Regarding claim 12, Tarvonen teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 12 depends on. Tarvonen does not explicitly teach the support material being melted, however, Haraszati, in a similar field of endeavor, a method of producing a dental object, teaches:
wherein the support material is melted after printing ([0015], [0026] – [0029], [0031], [0036] – [0038], and [0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support material of Tarvonen to incorporate the teachings of Haraszati and melt it. The purpose, as stated by Haraszati, being unique, special anatomical form and color requirements can be produced quickly in great numbers, without involving significant professional expertise ([0034]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarvonen (WO2022253429) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Howe (US-20180042705), using the applicant provided original document.
Regarding claim 13, Tarvonen teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 13 depends on. Tarvonen does not explicitly teach the support material penetrating into the dental object after printing and/or the dental object being sintered together with the substructure, Howe, in a similar field of endeavor, a method of producing a dental object, teaches:
wherein the support material penetrates into the dental object after printing and/or the dental object is sintered together with the substructure ([0006] – [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support material of Tarvonen to incorporate the teachings of Howe and sinter it. The purpose, as stated by Howe, being to sinter it into a continuous hard coating ([0014]).
Conclusion
/A.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1741 /JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748