DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed June 9, 2025 and claims filed August 20, 2025 in which claims 1-2, 5, 7-9, 11-15, 18, 21-23, and 25-29 are presented for examination and claims 3-4, 6, 10, 16-17, 19-20, 24, and 30-55 are canceled.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "30" and "50" have both been used to designate “EIAS” (see at least paragraph 0083 of the specification).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters “52, 55, 58, 61” have been used to designate both “impact absorbing components” and “holes” (see at least paragraph 0094 of the specification).
The drawings are objected to because reference numeral 50 appears to designate different elements in Figures 5 and 6.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5 depends from claim 3, which is canceled. For purposes of examination, claim 5 will be treated as depending from claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 18, 21-23, 25-27, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “wherein the non-rigid layer is configured to provide at least one of cushioning head of a wearer…” The meaning of this limitation is not understood and upon information and belief includes drafting error(s).
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the plurality of impact absorbing elements.” This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether it refers to the previously-recited “plurality of impact absorbing components” (claim 1, lines 5-6) or some other plurality of impact absorbing parts. For purposes of examination, the “plurality of impact absorbing elements” in claim 18 will be interpreted as referring to the “plurality of impact absorbing components” as recited in claim 1. Clarification is required.
Claim 22 recites the limitation “the plurality of impact absorbing elements.” This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether it refers to the previously-recited “plurality of impact absorbing components” (claim 1, lines 5-6) or some other plurality of impact absorbing parts. For purposes of examination, the “plurality of impact absorbing elements” in claim 22 will be interpreted as referring to the “plurality of impact absorbing components” as recited in claim 1. Clarification is required.
Claim 23 recites the limitations “the plurality of impact absorbing elements” and “an impact absorbing element.” These limitations render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether they refer to the previously-recited “plurality of impact absorbing components” (claim 1, lines 5-6) or some other plurality of impact absorbing parts. For purposes of examination, the “plurality of impact absorbing elements” and “impact absorbing element” in claim 23 will be interpreted as referring to the “plurality of impact absorbing components” as recited in claim 1. Clarification is required.
Claim 27 recites the limitation “the plurality of impact absorbing elements.” This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether it refers to the previously-recited “plurality of impact absorbing components” (claim 1, lines 5-6) or some other plurality of impact absorbing parts. For purposes of examination, the “plurality of impact absorbing elements” in claim 27 will be interpreted as referring to the “plurality of impact absorbing components” as recited in claim 1. Clarification is required.
Claim 28 recites the limitation “the plurality of impact absorbing elements.” This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether it refers to the previously-recited “plurality of impact absorbing components” (claim 1, lines 5-6) or some other plurality of impact absorbing parts. For purposes of examination, the “plurality of impact absorbing elements” in claim 28 will be interpreted as referring to the “plurality of impact absorbing components” as recited in claim 1. Clarification is required.
Dependent claims are rejected at least for depending from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 11-13, 18, 21-23, and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPN 7,802,320 Morgan (Morgan 320).
To claim 1, Morgan 320 discloses a protective headgear (1) (see Figures 1-5; col. 4, line 33 – col. 5, line 28) comprising:
a core (3) (see Figures 1, 2A, and 5; col. 4, lines 33-38); and
a plurality of impact absorbing layers (10) disposed on the core and configured to absorb impact incident on the protective headgear (see Figures 1-5; col. 4, line 33 – col. 5, line 16);
wherein at least one impact absorbing layer comprises a plurality of impact absorbing components (21) (see Figures 1-5; col. 4, line 33 – col. 5, line 16).
To claim 2, Morgan 320 further discloses a protective headgear wherein the core comprises a rigid material (col. 4, lines 33-38).
To claim 7, Morgan 320 further discloses a protective headgear wherein the plurality of impact absorbing layers comprises an outer layer (11) configured to contact a head of a wearer of the protective headgear, the outer layer being configured to conform to the head of the wearer and reduce any gaps between the outer layer and the head of the wearer (see especially Figures 1-2; col. 4, lines 40-51).
To claim 8, Morgan 320 further discloses a protective headgear wherein the plurality of impact absorbing layers comprises at least one of a rigid layer (15) and a non-rigid layer (13) (see especially Figures 1-2; col. 4, lines 33-38; “relatively high density foam layer 15” will be more rigid than “relatively low density foam layer 13;” it is respectfully noted that absent further distinguishing characteristics in the claim regarding parameters such as flexural rigidity and/or modulus of elasticity or specific materials, Morgan 320 meets the claim).
To claim 11, Morgan 320 further discloses a protective headgear wherein the non-rigid layer is configured to provide at least one of cushioning head of a wearer of the protective headgear against the impact, absorption of the impact, and regulation of temperature of the head of the wearer (see Figures 1-5; col. 4, line 33 – col. 5, line 16).
To claim 12, Morgan 320 further discloses a protective headgear wherein the plurality of impact absorbing layers comprises at least one barrier layer (11) configured to reduce flow of environmental elements on the protective headgear (see especially Figures 1-2; col. 4, lines 33-51).
To claim 13, Morgan 320 further discloses a protective headgear wherein the barrier layer is configured to be at least one of air permeable, partially-permeable, and semi-permeable (see especially Figures 1-2; col. 4, lines 33-51).
To claim 18, Morgan 320 further discloses a protective headgear wherein the plurality of impact absorbing components/elements comprises at least one of fluid-filled bladders, gas-filled bladders, liquid-filled bladders, semifluid-filled bladders, semisolid bladders, vinyl encased impact absorbing members, and mechanical shock absorbing components, or wherein the plurality of impact absorbing elements comprise one or more layers of foam (see Figures 1-5; col. 4, line 33 – col. 5, line 16; foam).
To claim 21, Morgan 320 further discloses a protective headgear wherein the one or more layers of foam comprises at least one of a viscoelastic foam, a hard firmness foam, a medium firmness foam, a soft firmness foam, a soft to medium lightweight viscoelastic layer of foam, a gel like foam, a viscoelastic foam, and a soft dough-like consistency foam (col. 4, lines 33-51; foams of varying firmness).
To claim 22, Morgan 320 further discloses a protective headgear wherein the plurality of impact absorbing components/elements comprise at least one of one or more cylindrical-shaped impact absorbing components, one or more modified cylindrical-shaped impact absorbing components, one or more conical-shaped impact absorbing components, and one or more generally conical-shaped impact absorbing components (see Figures 1-5; col. 4, line 33 – col. 5, line 16; conical).
To claim 23, Morgan 320 further discloses a protective headgear wherein at least one of the plurality of impact absorbing elements comprises at least one hole (29), and wherein the at least one hole comprises at least one of a cylindrical hole, a cylindrical hole oriented along a longitudinal axis of an impact absorbing element, an axial hole, a through hole, a countersunk hole, and a hole positioned centrally within an impact absorbing element (see especially Figure 5; col. 4, lines 51-55).
To claim 25, Morgan 320 further discloses a protective headgear wherein the at least one impact absorbing layer comprises at least one of one or more conical-shaped impact absorbing components and one or more generally conical-shaped impact absorbing components in one or more areas of the protective headgear corresponding to portions of a head of a wearer of protective headgear that are expected to be exposed to increased levels of impact (see Figures 1-5; col. 4, line 33 – col. 5, line 16).
To claim 26, Morgan 320 further discloses a protective headgear wherein at least one conical-shaped impact absorbing component or at least one generally conical-shaped impact absorbing component comprises a first end coupled to core and a second end disposed on an opposite side of the first end (see Figures 1-5; col. 4, line 33 – col. 5, line 16).
To claim 27, Morgan 320 further discloses a protective headgear wherein at least two of the plurality of impact absorbing components/elements are disposed adjacent to and in contact with one another (see Figures 1-5; col. 4, line 33 – col. 5, line 16).
To claim 28, Morgan 320 further discloses a protective headgear wherein the plurality of impact absorbing components/elements are configured to be at least one of air permeable, partially-permeable, and semi-permeable (col. 4, lines 33-38).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morgan 320 (as applied to claim 1, above) in view of USPN 8,117,679 Pierce.
To claim 5, Morgan 320 discloses a protective headgear as recited in claim 1, above.
Morgan 320 does not explicitly disclose a protective headgear wherein the core comprises at least one of a layer of carbon fiber reinforced polymer and a layer of Kevlar® reinforced polymer.
However, Pierce teaches a protective headgear comprising a core comprising at least one of a layer of carbon fiber reinforced polymer and a layer of Kevlar® reinforced polymer (col. 1, lines 17-32).
Morgan 320 and Pierce teach analogous inventions in the field of protective headgear. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the core of the protective headgear of Morgan 320 in at least one of a layer of carbon fiber reinforced polymer and a layer of Kevlar® reinforced polymer as taught by Pierce because Pierce teaches that this configuration is known in the art and serves to help prevent penetration of the helmet by a pointed object that might otherwise puncture the skull (col. 1, lines 17-32). It is further respectfully noted that it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (see MPEP 2144.07).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morgan 320 (as applied to claim 1, above) in view of USPN 10,806,201 Morgan (Morgan 201).
To claim 9, Morgan 320 discloses a protective headgear wherein the non-rigid layer comprises a foam (col. 4, lines 33-38).
Morgan 320 does not explicitly disclose a protective headgear wherein the non-rigid layer comprises a viscoelastic material.
However, Morgan 201 teaches a protective headgear comprising a non-rigid layer that comprises a viscoelastic material (col. 6, lines 27-34).
Morgan 320 and Morgan 201 teach analogous inventions in the field of protective headgear. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the non-rigid layer of Morgan 320 in a viscoelastic material as taught by Morgan 201 because Morgan 201 teaches that this configuration is known in the art and is a suitable material for an impact absorbing layer of a protective headgear. It is further respectfully noted that it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (see MPEP 2144.07).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morgan 320 (as applied to claim 1, above) in view of US Pub No. 2010/0000009 Morgan (Morgan 009).
To claim 14, Morgan 320 further discloses a protective headgear wherein the plurality of impact absorbing layers comprises a liner (11) coupled to an interior of the protective headgear (see especially Figures 1-2; col. 4, lines 40-51).
Morgan 320 does not explicitly disclose liner (11) being removably and replaceably coupled to an interior of the protective headgear.
However, Morgan 009 teaches a protective headgear comprising a liner that is removably and replaceably coupled to an interior of the protective headgear (para. 0015).
Morgan 320 and Morgan 009 teach analogous inventions in the field of protective headgear. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure liner (11) of Morgan 320 to be removable and replaceable as taught by Morgan 009 because Morgan 009 teaches that this configuration is known in the art. It would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a removable liner would allow for the liner to be replaced in the event that it becomes soiled.
To claim 15, the modified invention of Morgan 320 (i.e., Morgan 320 in view of Morgan 009, as detailed above) further teaches a protective headgear wherein the liner comprises at least one of a material providing a wicking effect, a material providing an anti-bacterial effect, a material providing an anti-microbial effect, and a material configured to function as a moisture barrier (especially Figures 1-2 and col. 4, lines 40-51 of Morgan 320).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morgan 320 (as applied to claim 1, above) in view of USPN 5,025,504 Benston et al.
To claim 29, Morgan 320 discloses a protective headgear as recited in claim 1, above.
Benston teaches a protective headgear comprising at least one of: a forehead pad (10) configured to be disposed at a portion of the protective headgear where a forehead of a wearer of the protective headgear is expected to abut the protective headgear (see Figures 1-5; col. 3, line 16 – col. 6, line 28), one or more elongate strips configured to be disposed at a portion of the protective headgear where a side of the wearer's head is expected to abut the protective headgear, and one or more ear strips configured to be disposed at a portion of the protective headgear where an ear of the wearer is expected to abut the protective headgear, wherein at least one of the forehead pad, the one or more elongate strips, and the one or more ear strips comprises at least one impact absorbing component (18,20,22) (see Figures 1-5; col. 3, line 16 – col. 6, line 28).
Morgan 320 and Benston teach analogous inventions in the field of protective headgear. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the protective headgear of Morgan 320 to include a forehead pad as taught by Benston because Benston teaches that this configuration is known in the art and beneficial for use in situations when the wearer may perspire heavily (col. 3, lines 16-42).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-9, 11-15, 18, 21-23, and 25-29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,324,473.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they each recite protective headgear comprising substantially the same elements including a core and a plurality of impact absorbing layers disposed on the core and configured to absorb impact incident on the protective headgear, wherein at least one impact absorbing layer comprises a plurality of impact absorbing components.
INSTANT APPLICATION
USPN 12,324,473
CLAIMS
1
1
2
1
5
3-4
7
5
8
1
9
9
11
5
12
1
13
1
14
6
15
7
18
8-9
21
9
22
1,10
23
1,10
25
1,10
26
1,10
27
1
28
1
29
11
Conclusion
/F Griffin Hall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732