Specification
The Abstract is objected to because it contains language in the alternative. The Abstract recites, “a video encoding/decoding method is provided […],” and “a video encoding/decoding apparatus is also provided.”
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Double Patenting
Co-pending 19/232,014
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of 19/232,014 in view of Zhou et al. (US 2012/0320984 A1 with Provisional 61/501,441) (hereinafter Zhou).
Instant 19/232,074
Co-pending 19/232,014
1. A method of decoding a video signal, comprising:
1. A video decoding apparatus, comprising:
determining a merge candidate list of a current block, wherein the merge candidate list comprises at least one of a spatial merge candidate or a temporal merge candidate;
determining a merge candidate list of a current block;
determining a combined merge candidate based on a first merge candidate and a second merge candidate in the merge candidate list;
determining a combined merge candidate based on a first merge candidate and a second merge candidate in the merge candidate list;
adding the combined merge candidate to the merge candidate list,
adding the combined merge candidate to the merge candidate list;
wherein the first merge candidate is a merge candidate with an index equal to 0 in the merge candidate list, and the first merge candidate corresponds to unidirectional prediction,
wherein the first merge candidate is a merge candidate with an index equal to 0 in the merge candidate list,
wherein the second merge candidate is a merge candidate with an index equal to 1 in the merge candidate list, and the second merge candidate corresponds to unidirectional prediction,
the second merge candidate is a merge candidate with an index equal to 1 in the merge candidate list,
determining motion information of the current block according to the merge candidate list of the current block, wherein the motion information comprises at least one of a prediction list utilization flag, a reference picture index or a motion vector; and
determining motion information of the current block according to the merge candidate list of the current block and a merge index, wherein the motion information comprises at least one of a prediction direction flag, a reference picture index or a motion vector; and
determining an inter-prediction value of the current block according to the motion information of the current block,
determining an inter-prediction value of the current block according to the motion information of the current block.
wherein a prediction list utilization flag corresponding to the first merge candidate indicates a reference picture list different from or same as a reference picture list indicated by a prediction list utilization flag corresponding to the second merge candidate.
Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the instant application falls within the scope of claim 1 of co-pending application 19/232,014. Furthermore, claim 1 in the instant application differs from claim 1 in the co-pending in that it recites a method of decoding a video signal, wherein the merge candidate list comprises at least one of a spatial merge candidate or a temporal merge candidate, the first merge candidate corresponds to unidirectional prediction, the second merge candidate corresponds to unidirectional prediction, and wherein a prediction list utilization flag corresponding to the first merge candidate indicates a reference picture list different from or same as a reference picture list indicated by a prediction list utilization flag corresponding to the second merge candidate. However these limitations were known in the art before the effective filing date of the invention as seen in Zhou, wherein Paragraph [0032]-[0043] disclose merging candidate list comprising spatial and temporal MVP candidates, Paragraph [0054]-[0057] & [0103]-[0115], virtual merging candidate may be a combined bi-predictive merging candidate, formed by combining a forward motion vector (unidirectional) and a forward reference picture index (0) of a native merging candidate in a merging candidate list with a backward motion vector (also unidirectional) and a backward reference picture index (1) from another native merging candidate in the merging candidate list, and appending to the candidate MVP list in index 3 as shown in Table A.5 in 61/501,441, and Paragraph [0034]-[0036] & [0112]-[0115], A merging candidate may include a prediction list utilization flag indicating prediction direction, i.e., forward, backward, or bi-directional. The prediction list utilization flag may be composed of two prediction list utilization flags used to indicate which of two reference picture lists, i.e., the forward reference picture list and the backward reference picture list, is to be used, as indicating same/different reference picture lists. It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the instant invention to add the teachings of Zhou as above, to implement and automate the invention in hardware and software (Zhou, Paragraphs [0145]-[0146]).
Regarding claims (2-8), claims (2-8) in the instant application correspond to
claims (2, 2, 3, 3, 4, 4, 5), respectively, in co-pending 19/232,014.
Regarding claims (9-16), method claims (9-16) are drawn to a method of encoding having limitations similar and reciprocal to the method of decoding using the same as claimed in claims (1-8) treated in the above rejections. Therefore method claims (9-16) in the instant application correspond to method claims (1-8) and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claims 17-20, claims (17-20) are drawn to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having limitations similar to the method of encoding as claimed in claims (9-11 & 14) treated in the above rejections. Therefore, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claims (17-20) correspond to method claims (9-11 & 14), respectively, and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-13 & 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (US 2012/0320984 A1 with Provisional 61/501,441) (hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses a method of decoding a video signal [Paragraph [0008], method for decoding encoded video bitstream], comprising:
determining a merge candidate list of a current block [Paragraph [0088]-[0090], video decoder forming inter-prediction merging candidate lists], wherein the merge candidate list comprises at least one of a spatial merge candidate or a temporal merge candidate [Paragraph [0032]-[0043], merging candidate list comprising spatial and temporal MVP candidates];
determining a combined merge candidate based on a first merge candidate and a second merge candidate in the merge candidate list; adding the combined merge candidate to the merge candidate list, wherein the first merge candidate is a merge candidate with an index equal to 0 in the merge candidate list, and the first merge candidate corresponds to unidirectional prediction, wherein the second merge candidate is a merge candidate with an index equal to 1 in the merge candidate list, and the second merge candidate corresponds to the unidirectional prediction [Paragraph [0054]-[0057] & [0103]-[0115], virtual merging candidate may be a combined bi-predictive merging candidate, formed by combining a forward motion vector (unidirectional) and a forward reference picture index (0) of a native merging candidate in a merging candidate list with a backward motion vector (also unidirectional) and a backward reference picture index (1) from another native merging candidate in the merging candidate list, and appending to the candidate MVP list in index 3 as shown in Table A.5 in 61/501,441],
determining motion information of the current block according to the merge candidate list of the current block, wherein the motion information comprises at least one of a prediction list utilization flag, a reference picture index, or a motion vector [Paragraph [0034]-[0036] & [0112]-[0115], A merging candidate includes motion vector information, prediction list utilization flag information, and reference picture index information for a candidate motion data position]; and
determining an inter-prediction value of the current block according to the motion information of the current block [Paragraph [0071], For each PU in the CU, the motion estimation component selects the better of merge mode and normal inter-predicted mode based on the coding costs as determining inter-prediction value of the current block accordingly from the motion vector candidates in merging candidate list],
wherein a prediction list utilization flag corresponding to the first merge candidate indicates a reference picture list different from or same as a reference picture list indicated by a prediction list utilization flag corresponding to the second merge candidate [Paragraph [0034]-[0036] & [0112]-[0115], A merging candidate may include a prediction list utilization flag indicating prediction direction, i.e., forward, backward, or bi-directional. The prediction list utilization flag may be composed of two prediction list utilization flags used to indicate which of two reference picture lists, i.e., the forward reference picture list and the backward reference picture list, is to be used, as indicating same/different reference picture lists].
Regarding claim 2, Zhou discloses the method according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the method further comprises:
when the prediction list utilization flag corresponding to the first merge candidate indicates a reference picture list 0, and the prediction list utilization flag corresponding to the second merge candidate indicates a reference picture list 1 [Paragraph [0034]-[0036] & [0112]-[0115], the forward motion vector may be referred to as the list 0 (or L0) motion vector, the backward motion vector may be referred to as the list 1 (or L1) motion vector, the two prediction list utilization flags be referred to as the list 0 (or L0) prediction list utilization flag and the list 1 (or L1) prediction list utilization flag],
determining, according to a reference picture index of the reference picture list 0 corresponding to the first merge candidate, a reference picture index of the reference picture list 0 corresponding to the combined merge candidate [Paragraph [0034]-[0036] & [0112]-[0115], and the reference picture indices may be referred to as the list 0 (or L0) reference picture index and the list 1 (or L1) reference picture index];
determining a prediction list utilization flag of the reference picture list 0 corresponding to the combined merge candidate to be equal to 1 [Paragraph [0034]-[0036] & [0112]-[0115], In some embodiments, the prediction utilization flags of the prediction list utilization flag entry are both set to 1 to indicate bi-directional prediction]; and
determining, according to a motion vector of the reference picture list 0 corresponding to the first merge candidate, a motion vector of the reference picture list 0 corresponding to the combined merge candidate [Paragraph [0034]-[0036], [0057] & [0112]-[0118], the motion vectors and reference picture indices are formed by combining a forward motion vector and a forward reference picture index of a native merging candidate in a merging candidate list with a backward motion vector and a backward reference picture index].
Regarding claim 3, Zhou discloses the method according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the method further comprises:
when the prediction list utilization flag corresponding to the first merge candidate indicates a reference picture list 0, and the prediction list utilization flag corresponding to the second merge candidate indicates a reference picture list 1 [Paragraph [0034]-[0036] & [0112]-[0115], the forward motion vector may be referred to as the list 0 (or L0) motion vector, the backward motion vector may be referred to as the list 1 (or L1) motion vector, the two prediction list utilization flags be referred to as the list 0 (or L0) prediction list utilization flag and the list 1 (or L1) prediction list utilization flag],
determining, according to a reference picture index of the reference picture list 1 corresponding to the second merge candidate, a reference picture index of the reference picture list 1 corresponding to the combined merge candidate [Paragraph [0034]-[0036] & [0112]-[0115], and the reference picture indices may be referred to as the list 0 (or L0) reference picture index and the list 1 (or L1) reference picture index];
determining a prediction list utilization flag of the reference picture list 1 corresponding to the combined merge candidate to be equal to 1 [Paragraph [0034]-[0036] & [0112]-[0115], In some embodiments, the prediction utilization flags of the prediction list utilization flag entry are both set to 1 to indicate bi-directional prediction]; and
determining, according to a motion vector of the reference picture list 1 corresponding to the second merge candidate, a motion vector of the reference picture list 1 corresponding to the combined merge candidate [Paragraph [0034]-[0036], [0057] & [0112]-[0118], the motion vectors and reference picture indices are formed by combining a forward motion vector and a forward reference picture index of a native merging candidate in a merging candidate list with a backward motion vector and a backward reference picture index].
Regarding claim 4, Zhou discloses the method according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the method further comprises:
when the prediction list utilization flag corresponding to the first merge candidate indicates a reference picture list 1, and the prediction list utilization flag corresponding to the second merge candidate indicates a reference picture list 0 [Paragraph [0034]-[0036] & [0112]-[0115], For example, the forward prediction utilization flag may be set to 1, or L1 the values for the forward reference picture index and the motion vectors may be copied from the PU, the backward prediction list unitization flag may be set to 0, or L0],
determining, according to a reference picture index of the reference picture list 0 corresponding to the second merge candidate, a reference picture index of the reference picture list 0 corresponding to the combined merge candidate [Paragraph [0034]-[0036] & [0112]-[0115], the backward prediction list unitization flag may be set to 0, the backward reference picture index may be set to −1, with the reference picture indices may be referred to as the list 0 (or L0) reference picture index and the list 1 (or L1) reference picture index];
determining a prediction list utilization flag of the reference picture list 0 corresponding to the combined merge candidate to be equal to 1 [Paragraph [0034]-[0036] & [0112]-[0115], In some embodiments, the prediction utilization flags of the prediction list utilization flag entry are both set to 1 to indicate bi-directional prediction]; and
determining, according to a motion vector of the reference picture list 0 corresponding to the second merge candidate, a motion vector of the reference picture list 0 corresponding to the combined merge candidate [Paragraph [0034]-[0036], [0057] & [0112]-[0118], the motion vectors and reference picture indices are formed by combining a forward motion vector and a forward reference picture index of a native merging candidate in a merging candidate list with a backward motion vector and a backward reference picture index].
Regarding claim 5, Zhou discloses the method according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the method further comprises:
when the prediction list utilization flag corresponding to the first merge candidate indicates a reference picture list 1, and the prediction list utilization flag corresponding to the second merge candidate indicates a reference picture list 0 [Paragraph [0034]-[0036] & [0112]-[0115], For example, the forward prediction utilization flag may be set to 1, or L1 the values for the forward reference picture index and the motion vectors may be copied from the PU, the backward prediction list unitization flag may be set to 0, or L0],
determining, according to a reference picture index of the reference picture list 1 corresponding to the first merge candidate, a reference picture index of the reference picture list 1 corresponding to the combined merge candidate [Paragraph [0034]-[0036] & [0112]-[0115], the forward prediction utilization flag may be set to 1, the values for the forward reference picture index and the motion vectors may be copied from the PU with the reference picture indices may be referred to as the list 0 (or L0) reference picture index and the list 1 (or L1) reference picture index];
determining a prediction list utilization flag of the reference picture list 1 corresponding to the combined merge candidate to be equal to 1 [Paragraph [0034]-[0036] & [0112]-[0115], In some embodiments, the prediction utilization flags of the prediction list utilization flag entry are both set to 1 to indicate bi-directional prediction]; and
determining, according to a motion vector of the reference picture list 1 corresponding to the first merge candidate, a motion vector of the reference picture list 1 corresponding to the combined merge candidate [Paragraph [0034]-[0036], [0057] & [0112]-[0118], the motion vectors and reference picture indices are formed by combining a forward motion vector and a forward reference picture index of a native merging candidate in a merging candidate list with a backward motion vector and a backward reference picture index].
Regarding claims (9-13), method claims (9-13) are drawn to a method of encoding having limitations similar and reciprocal to the method of decoding using the same as claimed in claims (1-5) treated in the above rejections. Therefore method claims (9-13) in the instant application correspond to method claims (1-5) and are rejected for the same rationale as used above.
Furthermore, Zhou discloses a method of encoding a video signal [Paragraph [0010], a method for encoding a video stream in a video encoder to generate an encoded bit stream].
Regarding claims (17-19), claims (17-19) are drawn to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having limitations similar to the method of encoding of using the same as claimed in claims (9-11) treated in the above rejections. Therefore, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claims (17-19) correspond to video encoding apparatus claims (9-11) and are rejected for the same rationale as used above.
Furthermore, in claims 17-20, “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising a bitstream, wherein the bitstream is generated according to a method for encoding a video signal, the method comprising…” is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bitstream and the process are the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps.” Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the information and samples manipulated by the steps. “To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated.” MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed, “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium,” merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP §2111.05(III). The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium in claims 17-20 merely services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefore the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Zhou which recites in Paragraph [0081] & [0140] of a video buffer 636 storing compressed bitstream, coded video sequence stored in memory 1512.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, 14-15 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2012/0320984 A1 with Provisional 61/501,441) (hereinafter Zhou) in view of Lin et al. (US 2018/0324454 A1) (hereinafter Lin), and further in view of Coban et al. (US 2013/0083853 A1) (hereinafter Coban).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou discloses the method according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the method further comprises:
when the prediction list utilization flag corresponding to the first merge candidate and the prediction list utilization flag corresponding to the second merge candidate indicate a reference picture list 0 [Paragraph [0034]-[0036] & [0112]-[0115], the prediction list utilization flag is set to indicate bidirectional prediction, the forward motion vector and the backward motion vector are set to zero, and the forward and backward reference picture indices are set to zero],
determining, according to a reference picture index of the reference picture list 0 corresponding to the first merge candidate, a reference picture index of the reference picture list 0 corresponding to the combined merge candidate [Paragraph [0034]-[0036] & [0112]-[0115], and the reference picture indices may be referred to as the list 0 (or L0) reference picture index and the list 1 (or L1) reference picture index];
determining a prediction list utilization flag of the reference picture list 0 corresponding to the combined merge candidate to be equal to 1 [Paragraph [0034]-[0036] & [0112]-[0115], In some embodiments, the prediction utilization flags of the prediction list utilization flag entry are both set to 1 to indicate bi-directional prediction].
However, Zhou does not explicitly disclose determining, according to a motion vector of the reference picture list 0 corresponding to the first merge candidate and a motion vector of the reference picture list 0 corresponding to the second merge candidate, a motion vector of the reference picture list 0 corresponding to the combined merge candidate
Lin teaches of determining, according to an average motion vector of the reference picture list 0 corresponding to the first merge candidate and a motion vector of the reference picture list 0 corresponding to the second merge candidate, a motion vector of the reference picture list 0 corresponding to the combined merge candidate [Abstract, Paragraph [0046]-[0051], Figs. 4-6, Proposed mean candidate is derived by Average candidate 524 (merge_idx = 4) derived as the average of selected motion vectors of first motion vector MVL0_a 520 and second motion vector MVL0_b 522].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Zhou to integrate the combined merge candidate in Lin, to improve coding efficiency (Lin, Paragraph [0046]). As shown above, all of the limitations are known, they can be applied to a known method or device to yield a predictable result of adding a combined merging block candidate to a candidate list that is combined/derived through averaging of two merging candidates.
Lastly, Zhou and Lin do not explicitly disclose determining, according to a weighted average of a motion vector of the reference picture list.
Coban teaches of according to a weighted average of a motion vector of the reference picture list [Paragraph [0074]-[0075], Fig. 4B, the motion vector predictor candidates may include combinations of motion vectors for two or more of the neighboring blocks, e.g., an average, median, or weighted average of the two or more motion vectors].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Zhou to integrate the motion vector combining techniques in Coban, to increase signaling efficiency (i.e., fewer bits), thus improving video coding efficiency (Coban, Paragraph [0072]-[0073]). As shown above, all of the limitations are known, they can be applied to a known method or device to yield a predictable result of adding a combined merging block candidate to a candidate list that is combined/derived through weighted averaging of two merging candidates.
Regarding claim 7, Zhou discloses the method according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the method further comprises:
when the prediction list utilization flag corresponding to the first merge candidate and the prediction list utilization flag corresponding to the second merge candidate indicate a reference picture list 1 [Paragraph [0034]-[0036] & [0112]-[0115], In some embodiments, the prediction utilization flags of the prediction list utilization flag entry are both set to 1 to indicate bi-directional prediction],
determining, according to a reference picture index of the reference picture list 1 corresponding to the first merge candidate, a reference picture index of the reference picture list 1 corresponding to the combined merge candidate [Paragraph [0034]-[0036] & [0112]-[0115], and the reference picture indices may be referred to as the list 0 (or L0) reference picture index and the list 1 (or L1) reference picture index]; and
determining a prediction list utilization flag of the reference picture list 1 corresponding to the combined merge candidate to be equal to 1 [Paragraph [0034]-[0036] & [0112]-[0115], In some embodiments, the prediction utilization flags of the prediction list utilization flag entry are both set to 1 to indicate bi-directional prediction].
However, Zhou does not explicitly disclose determining, according to an average of a motion vector of the reference picture list 1 corresponding to the first merge candidate and a motion vector of the reference picture list 1 corresponding to the second merge candidate, a motion vector of the reference picture list 1 corresponding to the combined merge candidate.
Lin teaches determining, according to an average of a motion vector of the reference picture list 1 corresponding to the first merge candidate and a motion vector of the reference picture list 1 corresponding to the second merge candidate, a motion vector of the reference picture list 1 corresponding to the combined merge candidate [Abstract, Paragraph [0046]-[0051], Figs. 4-6, Proposed mean candidate is derived by Average candidate 524 (merge_idx = 4) derived as the average of selected motion vectors of first motion vector MVL1_a 620 and second motion vector MVL1_c 622].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Zhou to integrate the combined merge candidate in Lin, to improve coding efficiency (Lin, Paragraph [0046]). As shown above, all of the limitations are known, they can be applied to a known method or device to yield a predictable result of adding a combined merging block candidate to a candidate list that is combined/derived through averaging of two merging candidates.
Lastly, Zhou and Lin do not explicitly disclose determining, according to a weighted average of a motion vector of the reference picture list.
Coban teaches of according to a weighted average of a motion vector of the reference picture list [Paragraph [0074]-[0075], Fig. 4B, the motion vector predictor candidates may include combinations of motion vectors for two or more of the neighboring blocks, e.g., an average, median, or weighted average of the two or more motion vectors].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Zhou to integrate the motion vector combining techniques in Coban, to increase signaling efficiency (i.e., fewer bits), thus improving video coding efficiency (Coban, Paragraph [0072]-[0073]). As shown above, all of the limitations are known, they can be applied to a known method or device to yield a predictable result of adding a combined merging block candidate to a candidate list that is combined/derived through weighted averaging of two merging candidates.
Regarding claims (14-15), method claims (14-15) are drawn to a method of encoding having limitations similar and reciprocal to the method of decoding using the same as claimed in claims (6-7) treated in the above rejections. Therefore method claims (14-15) in the instant application correspond to method claims (6-7) and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Furthermore, Zhou discloses a method of encoding a video signal [Paragraph [0010], a method for encoding a video stream in a video encoder to generate an encoded bit stream].
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is drawn to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having limitations similar to the method of encoding of using the same as claimed in claim 14 treated in the above rejections. Therefore, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claims 20 correspond to method claim 14 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claims 8 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2012/0320984 A1 with Provisional 61/501,441) (hereinafter Zhou), Lin et al. (US 2018/0324454 A1) (hereinafter Lin), and Coban et al. (US 2013/0083853 A1) (hereinafter Coban) in view of Demos (US 2012/0044995 A1) (hereinafter Demos).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou, Lin, and Coban disclose the method according to claim 6, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
However, Zhou, Lin, and Coban do not disclose the particulars of claim 8.
Demos teaches wherein a weight of the weighted average is [1:1] [Paragraph [0071] & [0170], For example, for mode 3, the bi-directional prediction for each macroblock of a frame is an equal average of the subsequent and previous frame macroblocks, as displaced by the two corresponding motion vectors. It is specified in MPEG-1, 2, and 4, as well as in the H.261 and H.263 standards, that B frames use an equal weighting, as 1:1, of pixel values of the forward referenced and backward referenced frames]; or wherein a weight of the motion vector corresponding to the first merge candidate is equal to a weight of the motion vector corresponding to the second merge candidate [Paragraph [0071] & [0170], For example, for mode 3, the bi-directional prediction for each macroblock of a frame is an equal average of the subsequent and previous frame macroblocks, as displaced by the two corresponding motion vectors. It is specified in MPEG-1, 2, and 4, as well as in the H.261 and H.263 standards, that B frames use an equal weighting of pixel values of the forward referenced and backward referenced frames]; or wherein a ratio of the weight of the motion vector corresponding to the first merge candidate to the weight of the motion vector corresponding to the second merge candidate is [1:1] [Paragraph [0071] & [0170], For example, for mode 3, the bi-directional prediction for each macroblock of a frame is an equal average of the subsequent and previous frame macroblocks, as displaced by the two corresponding motion vectors. It is specified in MPEG-1, 2, and 4, as well as in the H.261 and H.263 standards, that B frames use an equal weighting, as 1:1, of pixel values of the forward referenced and backward referenced frames].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Zhou to integrate the bidirectional weighing average in Demos, to determine pixels of bi-directionally predicted frames as a weighted proportion of corresponding pixel values in non-bidirectionally predicted frames for improving the image quality of one or more predicted frames in a video compression system (Demos, Paragraph [0017]-[0019]).
Regarding claim 16, method claim 16 is drawn to a method of encoding having limitations similar and reciprocal to the method of decoding using the same as claimed in claim 8 treated in the above rejections. Therefore method claim 16 in the instant application correspond to method claim 8 and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Furthermore, Zhou discloses a method of encoding a video signal [Paragraph [0010], a method for encoding a video stream in a video encoder to generate an encoded bit stream].
Conclusion
/DANIEL CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487