DETAILED ACTION
This application has been examined. Claims 1-16 are pending.
The prior art submitted on 6/9/25, 6/12/25, and 7/9/26 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-10, and 12-14, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bernards et al. (12560937).
As per claim 1, Bernards et al. disclose a mobile robot, comprising a locomotion unit, configured to provide locomotion of the robot over ground (see at least columns 9-10, lines 66-19 disclose the robot motion about the leg joints 162g-162l of the leg 120b), a mechanically actuated multi-joint articulation system comprising multiple joints and being configured to provide movement of an interaction component relative to a reference point on the robot (see at least columns 6-7, lines 47-39 disclose the robot 100 can include arm joints 160, leg joints 162, and calf joints 162e, 162k and the foot joints 162f, 162l; and column 11, lines 20-65 disclose maximum degree of rotation for a joint, a maximum speed at which a component is allowed to move, a maximum acceleration rate for one or more components),
the interaction component, which comprises a probing sensor configured to provide optical and/or tactile distance probing of a surface of an object to be measured by the robot (see at least column 16, lines 4-60 disclose the mobile robot 210 employs one or more sensors 262 to read the coarse alignment markings 220 as it approaches the dock 200… the mobile robot 210 can use optical sensors and maintain the body 224 in an upright position or configuration during this alignment), and a position determination arrangement configured to provide determination of angular positions of the multiple joints (see at least columns 16-17, lines 33-6 disclose the mobile robot 210 can lean the body 224 at other angles relative to the ground 250 during the alignment process), wherein the robot comprises a coupling interface, wherein the coupling interface is configured to provide docking of a docking point of the robot to a coupling counterpart, wherein the interaction component is connected to the docking point via a subset of the multiple joints so that freedom of movement of the interaction component relative to the docking point depends on joint positions of the subset of the multiple joints and is independent of joint positions of the remainder of the multiple joints (see at least columns 16-17, lines 33-6 disclose the dock 200 or portions thereof can have predetermined three-dimensional configurations to function as landmarks to guide or to align the mobile robot 210 to engage the dock 200), the position determination arrangement is configured to provide increased angular position determination accuracy for the subset of the multiple joints compared to the remainder of the multiple joints (see at least columns 18-19, lines 20-25 disclose as shown in figure 40, the robot 310 can lower itself onto the seat 336, further using the fine alignment fiducial markers 338 in conjunction with sensors located near the lower portion 324 of the body to facilitate proper positioning. Finally, as shown in figure 41, the body 316 can rotate (e.g., in the range of 15 degrees forward) toward the elongated member 312), and the robot is configured to provide 3D scanning by moving the subset of multiple joints and taking measurements by the probing sensor (see at least columns 17-18,lines 25-19 disclose the bipedal mobile robot 310 includes a sensor not only to assist with navigation, but also for detecting properties associated the dock 300 in order to assist with alignment. In certain embodiment, the sensor is an optical sensor).
As per claim 2, Bernards et al. disclose the docking is a releasable mechanical docking and in a docked state the interaction component is mechanically connected to the coupling counterpart via the subset of the multiple joints and the coupling interface (see at least columns 13-14, lines 36-28 disclose the dock can recognize when the robot contacts the seat and increase the power flow to the seat upon contact. The dock can be configured to support the robot’s weight via engagement between the dock and the robot outside the charging interface).
As per claim 3, Bernards et al. disclose the coupling interface is configured that the docking is provided as rigid docking to the coupling counterpart (see at least columns 14-15, lines 29-13 disclose the dock 200 includes base 236 and member assembly 238 projecting upwardly from the base 236 and forming at least a portion of the robot support system 216).
As per claim 4, Bernards et al. disclose a three-point support between the coupling interface and the coupling counterpart (see at least columns 13-14, lines 65-59 disclose fine alignment fiducial markings 222 of the alignment system 218 can work in conjunction with the same or different sensors 262 of the robot to guide the robot 210 into a connected position for charging by the power supply system 214).
As per claim 5, Bernards et al. disclose the coupling interface is configured to provide that all six degrees of freedom in space are fixed when the coupling interface is docked to the coupling counterpart (see at least columns 27-28, lines 31-49 disclose the dock 700 can include one or more fiducial marking that the robot 852 detects to cause the robot 852 to move to a reference position relative to the dock 700; and also columns 12-56, lines 61-56).
As per claim 6, Bernards et al. disclose the coupling interface comprises a coupling sensor unit or a capacitive sensor with a measuring range of less than 1 cm and/or a camera, configured to continuously determine a positional 6DoF change relative to the coupling counterpart (see at least columns 17-18, lines 25-42 disclose as shown in figure 40, the robot 310 can lower itself onto the seat 336, further using the fine alignment fiducial markers 338 in conjunction with sensors located near the lower portion 324 of the body to facilitate proper positioning).
As per claim 8, Bernards et al. disclose the robot comprises a laser tracker configured to be arranged in a fixed positional relationship to the docking point, wherein the laser tracker is configured to provide automatic laser-based tracking of a part of the robot which is moved by at least one of the joints of the subset of the multiple joints and to determine 3D position data of the part of the robot (see at least column 11, lines 21-65 disclose the sensor arrays 117… include a location sensor, a distance sensor, a contact sensor, and LIDAR system sensor).
As per claim 9, Bernards et al. disclose the robot comprises a camera arrangement configured to be arranged in a fixed positional relationship to the docking point, wherein the camera arrangement is configured to provide automatic image-based tracking of a further part of the robot which is moved by at least one of the joints of the subset of the multiple joints and to determine 3D position data of the further part of the robot (see at least column 11, lines 21-65 disclose the sensor arrays 117… include a location sensor, a distance sensor, a contact sensor, and LIDAR system sensor).
As per claim 10, Bernards et al. disclose a visual pattern for aiding the image-based tracking (see at least column 11, lines 21-65 disclose a vision system; and column 17, lines 46-56 disclose optical sensor).
As per claim 12, Bernards et al. disclose to derive pose information of the coupling counterpart relative to a mounting platform carrying the coupling interface, wherein the coupling counterpart is arranged on the mounting platform and configured to interact with the coupling interface to provide the docking (see at least columns 27-28, lines 30-59 disclose a counterpart of the charging interface 864 moves relative to the dock 700. For example, the method 800 can include deflecting (e.g., resiliently deflecting) a counterpart of the charging dispensing electrodes 746. This deflection can occur, for example, while the counterpart of the charge-dispensing electrodes 746 is in contact with the charge-receiving electrodes 610).
As per claim 13, Bernards et al. disclose the robot is configured to access the pose information by electronic communication through the docking point (see at least columns 27-28, lines 30-49 disclose the robot 852, when in a charge-seeking state, recognize the fiducial markings and switches from a forward ambulation mode to a rearward ambulation mode).
As per claim 14, Bernards et al. disclose the robot comprises an optical perception sensor and is configured: to use the perception sensor for pattern identification and pattern analysis of a pattern arranged on the coupling counterpart and/or the mounting platform, and to associate the pattern with a pose parameter providing the pose information, by accessing a database comprising different patterns and associated pose parameters for each of the different patterns (see at least columns 17-18, lines 25-67 disclose the bipedal mobile robot 310 includes a sensor not only to assist with navigation, but also for detecting properties associated with the dock 300 in order to assist with alignment. In certain embodiments, the sensor is an optical sensor).
Claims 7, 11, and 15-16, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
. Mancuzo et al. (12240118)
. Sohmshetty et al. (US 2022/0105622 A1)
. Suyama (US 2022/0024043 A1)
. Kalouche (US 2021/0032031 A1)
/DALENA TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657