DETAILED ACTION
Application # 19/232,100 was filed on 6/9/2025.
Claims 1-20 are subject to examination.
An IDS filed on 9/10/2025 has been fully considered and entered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. With respect to claims 1, 8, 15, they recite(s) receiving a configuration instruction which falls under mental process wherein one can receiving configuration instruction/direction on a piece of paper similar to receiving printed instructions; determine a configuration setting for the plurality of heterogenous client devices which also falls under mental process wherein one can check all the devices based on the printed configuration instruction to see if there is configuration setting on the device; transmitting the configuration setting to each device of the plurality of heterogenous client devices wherein entering a particular setting in the device. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because claim recites using administrator device to perform receiving configuration instruction. The device in the steps are recited at a high-level of generality such that amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions using a generic computer device. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because administrator devices, client devices to perform receiving and identifying and transmitting steps. The device in the steps are recited at a high-level of generality such that amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions using a generic computer device does not provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
With respect to dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, 16-20, they do not include additional elements that are sufficient to an amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because claim recites using administrator device to perform receiving configuration instruction. The device in the steps are recited at a high-level of generality such that amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions using a generic computer device. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because administrator devices, client devices to perform receiving and identifying and transmitting steps. The device in the steps are recited at a high-level of generality such that amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions using a generic computer device does not provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 15, 17 respectively rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 8, 10, 8, 16, 8 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 11,652,689 (hereinafter ‘689 patent) in view of Haight et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2015/0074765 (hereinafter Haight) in view of Yu et al. U.S. Patent Publication # (hereinafter Yu)
Although the claims in the instant application and the ‘689 Patent are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they container similar subject as follows:
-receiving from the administrator device, a configuration instruction, determining a configuration setting.
‘689 Patent does not teach “setting for the plurality of heterogeneous client devices, wherein the configuration instruction includes a plurality of device identifiers, corresponding to the plurality of heterogeneous client devices; and transmitting the configuration setting to each client device of the plurality of heterogeneous client devices, wherein the configuration setting is configured to update a setting of the respective client device.”
Haight teaches receiving, from the administrator device, a configuration instruction (i.e. mapping settings to devices wherein certain settings are whether returns or gift card transactions are permitted, only allow sales transactions, also including POS parameters included in the settings) (Paragraph 37-39);
-responsive to receiving the configuration instruction: determining, based on the configuration instruction, a configuration setting (i.e. accepting credit cards, gift cards, certain parameters, only sales transactions etc.) for the plurality of heterogeneous client devices (i.e. identical settings are provided to all client devices)(Paragraph 36-37), wherein the configuration instruction includes a plurality of device identifiers (i.e. universal device ID or UDID as the device identifier), corresponding to the plurality of heterogeneous client devices (i.e. for each thin client devices and POS device) (Paragraph 36-37); and
-transmitting the configuration setting to each client device of the plurality of heterogeneous client devices (i.e. setting are provided to all client devices) (Paragraph 37-38), wherein the configuration setting is configured to update a setting of the respective client device (i.e. coding directly into mappings portion of device profile, device and register identifiers wherein multiple device identifiers and corresponding register identifiers are stored and then saving an updated device profiles)(Paragraph 48-50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Haight’s teaching in ‘689 Patent to come up with determining configuration setting for plurality of heterogeneous client devices and transmitting configuration setting to each client device wherein the configuration setting is configured to update the setting of the respective client device. The motivation for doing so would be to make sure all the devices are updated with latest configuration settings therefore, every device is uniform for providing services to customers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 10, 12-14, 15-17, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haight et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2015/0074765 (hereinafter Haight) in view of Yu et al. U.S. Patent # 9,928,697 (hereinafter Yu)
With respect to claim 1, Haight teaches method performed by a management server configured to permit an administrator device to remotely update a plurality of heterogeneous client devices, the method comprising:
receiving, from the administrator device, a configuration instruction (i.e. mapping settings to devices wherein certain settings are whether returns or gift card transactions are permitted, only allow sales transactions, also including POS parameters included in the settings) (Paragraph 37-39);
-responsive to receiving the configuration instruction: determining, based on the configuration instruction, a configuration setting (i.e. accepting credit cards, gift cards, certain parameters, only sales transactions etc.) for the plurality of heterogeneous client devices (i.e. identical settings are provided to all client devices)(Paragraph 36-37), wherein the configuration instruction includes a plurality of device identifiers (i.e. universal device ID or UDID as the device identifier), corresponding to the plurality of heterogeneous client devices (i.e. for each thin client devices and POS device) (Paragraph 36-37); and
-transmitting the configuration setting to each client device of the plurality of heterogeneous client devices (i.e. setting are provided to all client devices) (Paragraph 37-38), wherein the configuration setting is configured to update a setting of the respective client device (i.e. coding directly into mappings portion of device profile, device and register identifiers wherein multiple device identifiers and corresponding register identifiers are stored and then saving an updated device profiles including updating application profile data)(Paragraph 48-50)
Although Haight teaches wherein the configuration setting is configured to update the respective client device (i.e. coding directly into mappings portion of device profile, device and register identifiers wherein multiple device identifiers and corresponding register identifiers are stored and then saving an updated device profiles including updating application profile data)(Paragraph 48-50) but Haight does not explicitly state updating a setting.
Yu teaches configuration setting is configured to update a setting of the respective client device (i.e. updating configuration setting for the POS device and updating the configuration of the POS application for the POS device)(claim 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to implement Yu’s teaching in Haight’s teaching to come up with updating a setting of the respective client device. The motivation for doing so would be to make sure all the devices are updated with latest configuration settings therefore, every device is uniform for providing services to customers.
With respect to claim 2, Haight and Yu teaches the method of claim 1, but Haight further teaches further comprising: identifying, based on the configuration instruction, the configuration setting (i.e. accepting credit cards, gift cards, certain parameters, only sales transactions etc.) , wherein the configuration setting is configured to update a setting of a device component of a client device (i.e. updating the profile) identifying the plurality of heterogeneous client devices (Paragraph 48-50) wherein each client device of the plurality of heterogeneous client devices includes the device component (i.e. POS device)(Paragraph 48-50); and transmitting the configuration setting to each client device of the plurality of heterogeneous client devices (Paragraph 37-38)
With respect to claim 3, Haight and Yu teaches the method of claim 1, but Haight further teaches wherein the configuration setting is configured to update a setting of a device component of a client device, and wherein the device component is one of an operating system, an installed application (i.e. application profile data is updated)(Paragraph 49, 38), a content item, or a device peripheral.
With respect to claim 5, Haight and Yu teaches the method of claim 1, but Haight further teaches wherein the management server comprises a configuration management service, the method further comprising: providing, by the configuration management service to the administrator device (i.e. administrator for POS interface server), a graphical user interface that is configured to receive the configuration instruction (Paragraph 38-39)
With respect to claim 6, Haight and Yu teaches the method of claim 1, but Haight further teaches wherein the management server comprises a configuration management service, the method further comprising: providing, by the configuration management service to the administrator device, an application programming interface that is configured to enable remote configuration of the plurality of heterogeneous client devices (Paragraph 38-40, 59)
With respect to claim 7, Haight and Yu teaches the method of claim 1, but Haight further teaches wherein a first client device of the plurality of heterogeneous client devices includes a first set of device components (i.e. bar code readers, document scanners, card reader or numeric keypad) and a second client device of the plurality of heterogeneous client devices includes a second set of device components (i.e. bar code readers, document scanners, card reader or numeric keypad) (Paragraph 31, 59)
With respect to claims 8-10, 12-14 respectively, they recite similar limitations as claims 1-3, 5-7 respectively, therefore rejected under same basis.
With respect to claims 15-17, 18-20 respectively, they recite similar limitations as claims 1-3, 5-7 respectively, therefore rejected under same basis.
Claim(s) 4, 11, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haight et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2015/0074765 (hereinafter Haight) in view of Yu et al. U.S. Patent # 9,928,697 (hereinafter Yu) further in view of Cai et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2016/0063367 (hereinafter Cai)
With respect to claim 4, Haight and Yu teaches the method of claim 1, but Haight further teaches wherein the configuration instruction is received as an encoded readable identifier.
Cai teaches wherein the configuration instruction is received as an encoded readable identifier (Paragraph 19). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Cai’s teaching in Haight and Yu’s teaching to come up with receiving configuration instruction as encoded readable identifier. The motivation for doing so would be so the technician can easily communicate configuration of the node for configuration settings thereby saving time.
With respect to claims 11, 16, they recite similar limitations as claim 4, therefore rejected under same basis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A). Wagreich et al. U.S. Patent # 10,630,572.
B). Truong et. U.S. Patent Publication # 2017/0178099.
C). Alvarez et. U.S. Patent Publication # 2017/0091850.
D). Appadurai et. U.S. Patent Publication # 2015/0033216.
DHAIRYA A. PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2453
/DHAIRYA A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453