Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 6,081,205 (Williams).
Regarding Claim 1:
Williams teaches a combination parking meter and electric vehicle charging meter. Williams teaches: An unattended point of sale (POS) device for metering usage of an external device comprising: a display; ([Column 6, line 24] “display 118”).
a keypad; ([Column 6, line 24] “keypad 120”).
a payment device; ([Column 6, lines 14-15] “credit card receptor slot 126” and “money receptor slot 124”).
an external interface connected to the external device; ([Column 6, lines 15-20] “The central unit 102 is interconnected to each of a plurality of meters 130, 132 and 134 which have displays 136, 138 and 140 and connectors 142, 144 and 146 respectively. The plurality of meters are mounted on a parking or recharge island 150 and are electrically interconnected to the central unit 102”).
a power component for powering the P0S device; ([Column 3, lines 40-45] “The central unit 102 is interconnected to each of a plurality of meters 130, 132 and 134 which have displays 136, 138 and 140 and connectors 142, 144 and 146 respectively. The plurality of meters are mounted on a parking or recharge island 150 and are electrically interconnected to the central unit 102”).
at least one processor and memory providing control functionality for controlling the POS device and metering devices, ([Column 3, line 63-65] “processor 32… memory”).
the control functionality comprising: displaying on the display purchase options for using the external device; ([Column 4, lines 51-53] “display 18 instructing the user to select a particular voltage (or frequency or current) level using the keypad 20”).
receiving from the keypad an indication of the desire to use the external device; ([Column 4, lines 53-54] “the voltage select information from the keypad 20 was received by the processor 32”).
receiving payment information from the payment device; ([Column 6, lines 48-50] “The processor 146 receives data as to payment for parking time or electricity from either the receptor 124 or the mag strip reader 126”).
transmitting enabling information over the external interface to enable usage of the external device; ([Column 7, lines 3-7] “the processor 148 may be programmed to close the switch 152 and thereby connect the power source 150 to one or more of the connectors 142, 144 and 146 in response to payment for power and parking time via the magnetic strip reader 126 or the coin/bill receptor 124”).
updating the display to display purchased usage information; ([Column 8, lines 50-56] “The user will then make the appropriate selection and insert payment into the receptor 120 or the reader 126 at which point the display on the particular meter selected will indicate that it is in use or will optionally indicate the amount of time remaining or the amount of recharge time remaining in block 222. Either the same or separate display provided by the processor 148 may also indicate when the recharge has been completed (block 224)”).
determining if the purchased usage of the external device has expired; and when the purchased usage of the external device has expired, transmitting disabling information over the external interface to disable usage of the external device; ([Column 4, lines 62-66] “The power meter 60 is interconnected to the processor 32 to provide power usage information to the processor 32 which can be programmed to deactivate switch 52 or to provide information to the display 58 when the power consumption has reached a particular quantity”).
and an external housing securable at a location in proximity to the external device to protect the unattended P0S device from environmental conditions and vandal attacks. ([Column 4, lines 19-23] “The power meter 60 is interconnected to the processor 32 to provide power usage information to the processor 32 which can be programmed to deactivate switch 52 or to provide information to the display 58 when the power consumption has reached a particular quantity”).
Regarding Claim 2:
Williams teaches all of the elements of Claim 1. Williams also teaches: The P0S device of claim 1, wherein the payment device comprises one or more of: a card reader; a coin discriminator; an NFC reader; and functionality for determining payment from a received code. ([Column 6, lines 48-50] “The processor 146 receives data as to payment for parking time or electricity from either the receptor 124 or the mag strip reader 126”).
Regarding Claim 3:
Williams teaches all of the elements of Claim 1. Williams also teaches: The POS device of claim 1, wherein the external interface comprises a physical connector for establishing a wired connection to the external device. ([Column 6, lines 61-64] “a power source 150 is interconnected to each of the connectors 142, 144 and 146 of each of the remote parking meters 130, 132, and 134 through a switch 152, a transformer 154, a power select switch 158, a plurality of power meters 160, 162 and 164, one for each parking meter 146, 144 and 142, and a plurality of recharge regulators, 172, 174 and 176, one for each parking meter 146, 144, and 142”).
Regarding Claim 4:
Williams teaches all of the elements of Claim 1. Williams also teaches: The POS device of claim 3, wherein the physical connector provides a data channel. ([Column 6, line 64-Column 7, line 2] “The processor 148 provides commands to switches 152 and 158 to respectively turn on or turn off the power and to select the required voltage (current or frequency) from the transformer 154 for a selected meter to which that power is to be supplied”).
Regarding Claims 5 and 6:
Williams teaches all of the elements of Claim 1. Williams also teaches: The POS device of claim 3, wherein the physical connector provides a power connection. The POS device of claim 5, wherein the power component receives power from the external device over the power connection of the physical connector ([Column 2, lines 5-10] “A power controller is interconnected between the power source and the connector and is coupled to be controlled in response to signals from the processor. The POS device of claim 5, wherein the power component receives power from the external device over the power connection of the physical connector”).
Regarding Claims 7, 8 and 9:
Williams teaches all of the elements of Claim 1. Williams also teaches: The POS device of claim 5, wherein the external device receives power from the POS device over the power connection of the physical connector. The POS device of claim 7, wherein the power component comprises a battery housed within external housing. The POS device of claim 8, further comprising a solar panel for recharging the battery. ([Column 3, lines 40-46] “the parking meter 10 may also include a solar cell panel 30 which may be interconnected to power the electronics in the parking meter including the display 18, if the display is electronic, the keypad 20, if interconnected as part of an electronic circuit, or any other electronics which may be a part of the parking meter operation and [Column 4, lines 29-33] “Power to recharge the vehicle 48 is provided through a power source 50 which may be connected to power lines, power storage device such as a battery, or other power source such as solar cells, wind generators or any other suitable power-generating apparatus”).
Regarding Claim 10:
Williams teaches all of the elements of Claim 1. Williams also teaches: The POS device of claim 1, wherein the control functionality allows the POS device to control a plurality of external devices. ([Column 6, lines 15-20] “The central unit 102 is interconnected to each of a plurality of meters 130, 132 and 134 which have displays 136, 138 and 140 and connectors 142, 144 and 146 respectively. The plurality of meters are mounted on a parking or recharge island 150 and are electrically interconnected to the central unit 102”).
Regarding Claims 11-12:
Williams teaches all of the elements of Claim 1. Williams also teaches: The POS device of claim 10, wherein the plurality of external devices are arranged for use by different users simultaneously. The POS device of claim 10, wherein the plurality of external devices are arranged for use by a single user. ([Column 6, lines 25-28] “Referring to FIG. 4, a block diagram of the parking meter system 100 includes the central unit 102 interconnected to the individual parking meters 130, 132 and 134, although any number of parking meters may be utilized”).
Regarding Claim 13:
Williams teaches all of the elements of Claim 1. Williams also teaches: The POS device of claim 1, wherein the external device comprises one or more of: an air pressure device ;a vacuum device; a charging device; a car wash device; an electric vehicle charging device or supply equipment; a potable water dispenser device; a windshield washer fluid dispenser device; a newspaper dispenser device; a lighting control device; and a sports facilities control device. ([Column 3, line 23] “the electrical power to be used to recharge an electric car”).
Regarding Claim 14:
Williams teaches all of the elements of Claim 1. Williams also teaches: The POS device of claim 1, wherein the keypad comprises one or more of: an alpha-numeric keypad; a six button keypad; and a four button keypad. ([Column 6, line 14] “keypad 120” and see Figs 3 and 5). Examiner notes that a specific configuration of a keypad in the context of Claim 14 is merely a design choice because there is no function claimed that requires a specific number of keys or letters.
Regarding Claims 17 and 18:
Williams teaches all of the elements of Claim 1. Williams also teaches: The POS device of claim 2, wherein the external interface comprises a physical connector for establishing a wired connection to the external device. ([Column 4, lines 29-41] “Power to recharge the vehicle 48 is provided through a power source 50 which may be connected to power lines, power storage device such as a battery, or other power source such as solar cells, wind generators or any other suitable power-generating apparatus. The power from power source 50 may be interconnected to a transformer 54 which transforms the power from the power source 50 into power at a desired voltage, frequency or current to match the requirements of the electric vehicle 48 as may be defined by the user through keypad 20. The power from power source 50 is coupled to the transformer 54 through a switch 52 which is actuated in response to a signal from the processor 32”).
Regarding Claim 19 and 20:
Williams teaches all of the elements of Claim 1. Williams also teaches: The POS device of claim 2, wherein the control functionality allows the POS device to control a plurality of external devices. ([Column 6, line 12-16] “a multiple meter recharge system 100 is illustrated including a central unit 102 which includes a display 118, a keypad 120, a credit card receptor slot 126 and a money receptor slot 124. The central unit 102 is interconnected to each of a plurality of meters 130, 132 and 134”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 6,081,205 (Williams) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0183167 (Oliver).
Regarding Claims 15 and 16:
Williams teaches all of the elements of Claim 1. While Williams teaches a keypad (see at least [Column 6, line 14] “keypad 120” and teaches an LCD display (see at least [Column 4, line 25]), Williams does not specifically teach: The POS device of claim 1, wherein the display comprises a touch screen display and The POS device of claim 15, wherein the keypad comprises a keypad screen displayed on the touch screen display. Oliver, in the same field of art, teaches this: ([0048] “capacitive touch user interface 7, which includes a keypad 18, such as an alpha numeric or numeric keypad and a display 19”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to display a keypad, as taught by Oliver, on the LCD display screen taught by Williams due to the predictable space savings and efficiency in avoiding a separate keypad.
Conclusion
/KIMBERLY S. BURSUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 3627