DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In lines 1-2 of claim 1: “… a vehicle, the method comprising a control circuitry coupled to the head-up display: …” should be changed to --… a vehicle, wherein a control circuitry is coupled to the head-up display, the method comprising: …--;
In line 3 of claim 1: “… the vehicle, …” should be changed to --… the vehicle; …--;
In line 7 of claim 1: “… wherein information …” should be changed to --… and wherein information …--;
In line 8 of claim 1: “… the normal mode, and …” should be changed to --… the normal mode; and …--;
In line 1 of claim 7: “… claim 1 further …” should be changed to --… claim 1, further …--;
In line 1 of claim 13: “… A control circuitry …” should be changed to --… The control circuitry …--;
In lines 6-7 of claim 14: “… the received data, …” should be changed to --… the received data; …--;
In line 11 of claim 14: “… wherein information …” should be changed to --… and wherein information …--;
In line 12 of claim 14: “… the normal mode, and …” should be changed to --… the normal mode; and …--;
In line 1 of claim 15: “… A vehicle …” should be changed to --… The vehicle …--;
In line 5 of claim 15: “… a direction of gaze …” should be changed to --… the direction of gaze …--;
In line 3 of claim 16: “… the vehicle, …” should be changed to --… the vehicle; …--;
In line 6-7 of claim 16: “… an second mode, wherein information …” should be changed to --… a second mode, and wherein information …--; and
In line 8 of claim 16: “… the first mode, and …” should be changed to --… the first mode; and …--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Madau (U.S. Pub. No. US 2013/0097557 A1).
As to claim 1, Madau (Figs. 1-23) teaches a method of displaying information (information displayed by each of the menus 28a, 28b, and 28c; [0043], lines 7-8; Figs. 1-2) on a head-up display (a display component 15 which is a heads-up display (HUD); [0043], lines 1-2; Figs. 1-2) of a vehicle (a vehicle 11), the method comprising a control circuitry (a processor 14 which is complex set of electronic, logic circuitry) coupled to the head-up display (a display component 15 which is a heads-up display (HUD)) (Fig. 2):
determining a direction of gaze (determining a gaze vector) of a driver (a user) of the vehicle (the vehicle 11) (Fig. 1 and 204 of Fig. 8),
selecting a display mode (a minimized position (28a or 28b), a maximized position 28c; Fig. 10) from a group of display modes (positions 28a, 28b, and 28c; Figs. 9-10) based on the direction of gaze (the gaze vector) (Fig. 1 and 208 of Fig. 8), each display mode of the group of display modes (the positions 28a, 28b, and 28c) defining information ((fuel gauge graphic information, Range), (NW, MPH, and RPM), ((turn left, turn direction, est. arrival) and road graphic information)) to be displayed on the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)) (Fig. 10), wherein the group of display modes (the menus 28a, 28b, and 28c) comprises at least a normal mode (a minimized position 28a or 28b) and an extended mode (a maximized position 28c) (Fig. 10), wherein information ((turn left, turn direction, est. arrival) and graphic information) displayed in the extended mode (the maximized position 28c) differs from information ((fuel gauge graphic information, Range), (NW, MPH, and RPM)) displayed in the normal mode (the minimized position 28a or 28b as shown in step 214 in Fig.8 and also see Fig.10), and
displaying the information (((fuel gauge graphic information, Range), (NW, MPH, and RPM)), ((turn left, turn direction, est. arrival) and graphic information)) on the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)) according to the selected display mode ((the minimized position 28a or 28b), (the maximized position 28c)) (Fig. 10).
As to claim 2, Madau teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein an amount of information ((turn left, turn direction, est. arrival) and graphic information)) displayed in the extended mode (the maximized position 28c) is greater (due to graphic information) than an amount of information ((fuel gauge graphic information, Range), (NW, MPH, and RPM)) displayed in the normal mode (the minimized position 28a or 28b) (Fig. 10).
As to claim 3, Madau teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein a display area (a menu system 26) used by the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)) on a front windshield (a front windshield) of the vehicle (the vehicle 12) is the same for all display modes of the group of display modes (the positions 28a, 28b, and 28c) (Figs. 9-10).
As to claim 4, Madau teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein at least one piece of information, which is to be displayed in the normal mode (the minimized 28a or 28b) and in the extended mode (the maximized position 28c), is displayed as a graphical representation (a fuel gauge information) in the normal mode (the minimized position 28a or 28b) and as a textual representation ((turn left, est. arrival)) in the extended mode (the maximized position 28c) (Fig. 10).
As to claim 5, Madau teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the extended mode (the maximized position 28c) is selected when the direction of gaze (the gaze vector; the field of focus) falls on a display area (menus 28a, 28b and 28c) used by the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)) on a front windshield (a front windshield) of the vehicle (the vehicle 12) (when the user is gazing toward the third menu 28c of the menu system 26 of the display component 16, the third menu 28c is expanded from the minimized position to the maximized position; [0061], lines 1-9) (Fig. 10).
As to claim 6, Madau teaches the method of claim 5,
wherein the normal mode (the minimized position 28a or 28b) is selected when the direction of gaze falls (the gaze vector; the field of focus) outside the display area (the menus 28a, 28b, and 28c) (when the user is gazing away from the menus 28a, 28b, 28c of the menu system 26 of the display component 16, each of the menus 28a, 28b, 28c of the menu system 26 of the display component 16 is in the minimized position; [0060], lines 1-9) (Fig. 9).
As to claim 7, Madau teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising:
determining a focal plane (a field of focus) of a driver's gaze (a user’s gaze) (204 and 206 of Fig. 8), and
selecting the display mode (the minimized position (28a or 28b), the maximized position 28c) from the group of display modes (the menus 28a, 28b and 28c) additionally based on the focal plane (the field of focus) ([0060], lines 1-9; [0061], lines 1-9) (Figs. 9-10).
As to claim 8, Madau teaches the method of claim 7,
wherein the extended mode (the maximized position 28c) is selected when the focal plane (the field of focus) of the driver's gaze (the user’s gaze) coincides with a plane of a display area (a third menu 28c) used by the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)) on a front windshield (a front windshield) of the vehicle (the vehicle 12) ([0061], lines 1-9) (Fig. 10).
As to claim 9, Madau teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the extended mode (the maximized position 28c) is selected when the direction of gaze (the gaze vector) falls on a specific area (menus 28a, 28b, 28c, e.g., a third menu 28c) on a front windshield (a front windshield) of the vehicle (the vehicle 12), at least one of a size and position (the third position) of the specific area (the third menu 28c) being configurable by the driver (the user) ([0061], lines 1-9) (Fig. 8 and 10).
As to claim 10, Madau teaches the method of claim 9,
wherein the normal mode (the minimized position 28a or 28b) is selected when the direction of gaze (the gaze vector) falls outside the specific area (the menus 28a, 28b, 28c) ([0060], lines 1-9) (Figs. 8-9).
As to claim 11, Madau teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein at least one piece of information ((turn left, turn direction, est. arrival)), which is to be displayed in the normal mode (the minimized position 28c; Fig. 9) and in the extended mode (the maximized position 28c; Fig. 10), is displayed in the normal mode (the minimized position 28c; Fig. 9) at a lower position in the vertical direction of the vehicle (the vehicle 12) than in the extended mode (the maximized position 28c; Fig. 10) (Figs. 9-10).
As to claim 12, Madau teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the direction of gaze of the driver comprises:
capturing at least one image of a driver's face with a camera of the vehicle (the at least one sensor 12 is a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) camera for capturing an image of at least a portion of a head (e.g. face or eyes) of the user; [0035], lines 4-8), and
determining the direction of gaze of the driver based on processing the at least one image (the at least one sensor 12 is a user tracking device capable of detecting a vision characteristic of a face or head of a user (e.g. a head pose, a gaze vector or direction, a facial feature, and the like; generating a sensor signal representing the image; [0035], lines 1-4 and 8).
As to claim 13, Madau teaches
a control circuity (a processor 14 which is complex set of electronic, logic circuitry) for executing the method of claim 1 (Fig. 2).
As to claim 14, Madau (Figs. 1-23) teaches an apparatus (an adaptive display system 10; Figs. 1-2) including control circuitry (a processor 14 which is complex set of electronic, logic circuitry and display components 16, 16’, 16”) for a head-up display (a display component 15 which is a heads-up display (HUD)) of a vehicle (a vehicle 11) (Figs. 1-2), the control circuitry (the processor 14 and the display components 16, 16’, 16”) comprising:
at least one interface (display components 16, 16’, 16”) for controlling the head-up display (the display component 15 which is the heads-up display (HUD)) and receiving data (a sensor signal) from which a direction of gaze (a gaze vector) of a driver (a user) of the vehicle (the vehicle 11) can be determined (Fig. 1-2 and 204 of Fig. 8),
wherein the control circuitry (the processor 14 and the display components 16, 16’, 16”) is configured to:
determine the direction of gaze of the driver of the vehicle based on the received data (the at least one sensor 12 is a user tracking device capable of detecting a vision characteristic of a face or head of a user (e.g. a head pose, a gaze vector or direction, a facial feature, and the like; generating a sensor signal representing the image; [0035], lines 1-4 and 8),
select a display mode (a minimized position (28a or 28b), a maximized position 28c; Fig. 10) from a group of display modes (positions 28a, 28b, and 28c; Figs. 9-10) based on the direction of gaze (the gaze vector) (Fig. 1 and 208 of Fig. 8), each display mode of the group of display modes (the positions 28a, 28b, and 28c) defining information ((fuel gauge graphic information, Range), (NW, MPH, and RPM), ((turn left, turn direction, est. arrival) and road graphic information)) to be displayed on the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)) (Fig. 10), wherein the group of display modes (the menus 28a, 28b, and 28c) comprises at least a normal mode (a minimized position 28a or 28b) and an extended mode (a maximized position 28c) (Fig. 10), wherein information ((turn left, turn direction, est. arrival) and graphic information) displayed in the extended mode (the maximized position 28c) differs from information ((fuel gauge graphic information, Range), (NW, MPH, and RPM)) displayed in the normal mode (the minimized position 28a or 28b) (Fig. 10), and
control the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)) to display the information ((fuel gauge graphic information, Range), (NW, MPH, and RPM), ((turn left, turn direction, est. arrival) and road graphic information)) on the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)) according to the selected display mode (the minimized position or the maximized position) (Figs. 1-2 and 9-10).
As to claim 15, Madau teaches a vehicle comprising:
the control circuitry (the processor 14 and the display components 16, 16’, 16”) of claim 14,
the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)), and
a camera (a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) camera) configured to capture at least one image of the face of the driver of the vehicle as the data (capturing an image of at least a portion of a head (e.g. face or eyes) of the user) from which a direction of gaze (a gaze vector) of the driver (the user) of the vehicle (the vehicle 11) can be determined ([0035], lines 1-8).
As to claim 16, Madau (Figs. 1-23) teaches a method of displaying information (information displayed by each of the menus 28a, 28b, and 28c; [0043], lines 7-8; Figs. 1-2) on a head-up display (a display component 15 which is a heads-up display (HUD); [0043], lines 1-2; Figs. 1-2) of a vehicle (a vehicle 11), the method comprising:
determining a direction of gaze (determining a gaze vector) of a driver (a user) of the vehicle (the vehicle 11) (Fig. 1 and 204 of Fig. 8),
selecting a display mode (a minimized position (28a or 28b), a maximized position 28c; Fig. 10) from a group of display modes (positions 28a, 28b, and 28c; Figs. 9-10) based on the direction of gaze (the gaze vector) (Fig. 1 and 208 of Fig. 8), each display mode of the group of display modes (the positions 28a, 28b, and 28c) defining information ((fuel gauge graphic information, Range), (NW, MPH, and RPM), ((turn left, turn direction, est. arrival) and road graphic information)) to be displayed on the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)) (Fig. 10), wherein the group of display modes (the menus 28a, 28b, and 28c) comprises at least a first mode (a minimized position 28a or 28b) and an second mode (a maximized position 28c) (Fig. 10), wherein information ((turn left, turn direction, est. arrival) and graphic information) displayed in the second mode (the maximized position 28c) differs from information ((fuel gauge graphic information, Range), (NW, MPH, and RPM)) displayed in the first mode (the minimized position 28a or 28b) (Fig. 10), and
displaying the information (((fuel gauge graphic information, Range), (NW, MPH, and RPM)), ((turn left, turn direction, est. arrival) and graphic information)) on the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)) according to the selected display mode ((the minimized position 28a or 28b), (the maximized position 28c)) (Fig. 10).
As to claim 17, Madau teaches the method of claim 16,
wherein an amount of information ((turn left, turn direction, est. arrival) and graphic information)) displayed in the second mode (the maximized position 28c) is greater (due to graphic information) than an amount of information ((fuel gauge graphic information, Range), (NW, MPH, and RPM)) displayed in the first mode (the minimized position 28a or 28b) (Fig. 10).
As to claim 18, Madau teaches the method of claim 16,
wherein a display area (a menu system 26) used by the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)) on a front windshield (a front windshield) of the vehicle (the vehicle 12) is the same for all display modes of the group of display modes (the positions 28a, 28b, and 28c) (Figs. 9-10).
As to claim 19, Madau teaches the method of claim 16,
wherein at least one piece of information, which is to be displayed in the first mode (the minimized 28a or 28b) and in the second mode (the maximized position 28c), is displayed as a graphical representation (a fuel gauge information) in the first mode (the minimized position 28a or 28b) and as a textual representation ((turn left, est. arrival)) in the second mode (the maximized position 28c) (Fig. 10).
As to claim 20, Madau teaches the method of claim 16,
wherein the second mode (the maximized position 28c) is selected when the direction of gaze (the gaze vector; the field of focus) falls on a display area (menus 28a, 28b and 28c) used by the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)) on a front windshield (a front windshield) of the vehicle (the vehicle 12) (when the user is gazing toward the third menu 28c of the menu system 26 of the display component 16, the third menu 28c is expanded from the minimized position to the maximized position; [0061], lines 1-9) (Fig. 10).
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gall (U.S. Pub. No. US 2015/0049015 A1) is cited to teach a display device, in particular for motor vehicle, including a projection module and an optical path in which the optical path has at least one reflection element designed to reflect at least partially an image originating from the projection module in a normal direction of gaze of a user of the display device.
Bar-Zeev (U.S. Pub. No. US 2020/0225747 A1) is cited to teach techniques for interacting with an electronic device using an eye gaze and for providing a more natural and efficient interface by allowing a user to operate the device using primarily eye gazes and eye gestures (e.g., eye movement, blinks, and stares).
Inquiry
/KWANG-SU YANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623