DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
2. The amendment filed on 03/27/2026 has been entered and considered by examiner.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 2 of claim 15: “… of claim 14, …” should be changed into --… of claim 14; …--; and
In line 3 of claim 15: “… the head-up display, and …” should be changed into --… the head-up display; and …--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
5. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 11-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Madau (U.S. Pub. No. US 2013/0097557 A1).
As to claim 1, Madau (Figs. 1-23) teaches a method of displaying information (information displayed by each of the menus 28a, 28b, and 28c; [0043], lines 7-8; Figs. 1-2) on a head-up display (a display component 15 which is a heads-up display (HUD); [0043], lines 1-2; Figs. 1-2) of a vehicle (a vehicle 11), wherein a control circuitry (a processor 14 which is complex set of electronic, logic circuitry) is coupled to the head-up display (a display component 15 which is a heads-up display (HUD)), (Fig. 2), the method comprising:
determining a direction of gaze (determining a gaze vector) of a driver (a user) of the vehicle (the vehicle 11) (Fig. 1 and 204 of Fig. 8);
selecting a display mode (a mode in Fig. 6 or an alternate mode in Fig. 7) from a group of display modes (the mode in Fig. 6 and the alternate mode in Fig. 7) based on the direction of gaze (the gaze vector) (Fig. 1 and 208 of Fig. 8), each display mode of the group of display modes (the mode in Fig. 6 and the alternate mode in Fig. 7) defining information ((fuel gauge graphic information, Range), ((turn left, turn direction, est. arrival) and road graphic information), (NW, MPH, and RPM)) to be displayed on the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)), wherein the group of display modes the mode in Fig. 6 and the alternate mode in Fig. 7) comprises at least a normal mode (a mode in Fig. 6) and an extended mode (an alternate mode in Fig. 7), wherein information ((turn left, turn direction, est. arrival), graphic information, trip time, and a circle gauge in 28b) displayed in the extended mode the alternate mode in Fig. 7) differs from information ((turn left, turn direction, est. arrival), and graphic information) displayed in the normal mode (the mode in Fig. 6), and wherein a display area (a menu system 26) used by the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)) on a front windshield (a front windshield) of the vehicle (the vehicle 12) is the same (28a, 28b, and 28c in Figs. 6 and 7) for all display modes of the group of display modes (the mode in Fig. 6 and the alternate mode in Fig. 7); and
displaying the information (28a, 28b, and 28c) on the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)) according to the selected display mode (the mode in Fig. 6 or the alternate mode in Fig. 7) (Figs. 6-7).
As to claim 2, Madau teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein an amount of information (information in 28b, e.g., trip time and a circle gauge) displayed in the extended mode (the alternate mode in Fig. 7) is greater than an amount of information (information in 28b) displayed in the normal mode (the mode in Fig. 6) (Figs. 6-7).
As to claim 4, Madau teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein at least one piece of information (28b), which is to be displayed in the normal mode (the mode in Fig. 6) and in the extended mode (the alternate mode in Fig. 7), is displayed as a graphical representation (a fuel gauge) in the normal mode (the mode in Fig. 6) and as a textual representation (Range 100mi) in the extended mode (the alternate mode in Fig. 7) (Figs. 6-7).
As to claim 5, Madau teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the extended mode (the alternate mode in Fig. 7) is selected when the direction of gaze (the gaze vector; the field of focus) falls on a display area (a menu system 26) used by the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)) on the front windshield (a front windshield) of the vehicle (the vehicle 12) (Fig. 7).
As to claim 7, Madau teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising:
determining a focal plane (a field of focus) of a driver's gaze (a user’s gaze) (204 and 206 of Fig. 8); and
selecting the display mode (the mode in Fig. 6 or the alternate mode in Fig. 7) from the group of display modes (the mode in Fig. 6 and the alternate mode in Fig. 7) additionally based on the focal plane (the field of focus) (Figs. 6-8).
As to claim 8, Madau teaches the method of claim 7,
wherein the extended mode (the alternate mode in Fig. 7) is selected when the focal plane (the field of focus) of the gaze of the driver (the user’s gaze) coincides with a plane of a display area (a menu system 26) used by the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)) on the front windshield (a front windshield) of the vehicle (the vehicle 12) (Fig. 7).
As to claim 9, Madau teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the extended mode (the alternate mode in Fig. 7) is selected when the direction of gaze (the gaze vector; the field of focus) falls on a specific area (a menu system 26) on the front windshield (a front windshield) of the vehicle (the vehicle 12), at least one of a size and position (the third position) of the specific area (the menu system 26) being configurable by the driver (the user) (Fig. 7).
As to claim 11, Madau teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein at least one piece of information (turn left), which is to be displayed in the normal mode (the mode in Fig. 6) and in the extended mode (the alternate mode in Fig. 7), is displayed in the normal mode (the mode in Fig. 6) at a lower position in the vertical direction of the vehicle (the vehicle 12) than in the extended mode (the alternate mode in Fig. 7) (Figs. 6-7).
As to claim 12, Madau teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the direction of gaze of the driver comprises:
capturing at least one image of a driver's face with a camera of the vehicle (the at least one sensor 12 is a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) camera for capturing an image of at least a portion of a head (e.g. face or eyes) of the user; [0035], lines 4-8); and
determining the direction of gaze of the driver based on processing the at least one image (the at least one sensor 12 is a user tracking device capable of detecting a vision characteristic of a face or head of a user (e.g. a head pose, a gaze vector or direction, a facial feature, and the like; generating a sensor signal representing the image; [0035], lines 1-4 and 8).
As to claim 13, Madau teaches
the control circuity (a processor 14 which is complex set of electronic, logic circuitry) for executing the method of claim 1 (Fig. 2).
As to claim 14, Madau (Figs. 1-23) teaches an apparatus (an adaptive display system 10; Figs. 1-2) including control circuitry (a processor 14 which is complex set of electronic, logic circuitry and display components 16, 16’, 16”) for a head-up display (a display component 15 which is a heads-up display (HUD)) of a vehicle (a vehicle 11) (Figs. 1-2), the control circuitry (the processor 14 and the display components 16, 16’, 16”) comprising:
at least one interface (display components 16, 16’, 16”) for controlling the head-up display (the display component 15 which is the heads-up display (HUD)) and receiving data (a sensor signal) from which a direction of gaze (a gaze vector) of a driver (a user) of the vehicle (the vehicle 11) can be determined (Fig. 1-2 and 204 of Fig. 8), wherein the control circuitry (the processor 14 and the display components 16, 16’, 16”) is configured to:
determine the direction of gaze of the driver of the vehicle based on the received data (the at least one sensor 12 is a user tracking device capable of detecting a vision characteristic of a face or head of a user (e.g. a head pose, a gaze vector or direction, a facial feature, and the like; generating a sensor signal representing the image; [0035], lines 1-4 and 8);
select a display mode (a mode in Fig. 6 or an alternate mode in Fig. 7) from a group of display modes (the mode in Fig. 6 and the alternate mode in Fig. 7) based on the direction of gaze (the gaze vector) (Fig. 1 and 208 of Fig. 8), each display mode of the group of display modes (the mode in Fig. 6 and the alternate mode in Fig. 7) defining information ((fuel gauge graphic information, Range), ((turn left, turn direction, est. arrival) and road graphic information), (NW, MPH, and RPM)) to be displayed on the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)), wherein the group of display modes (the mode in Fig. 6 and the alternate mode in Fig. 7) comprises at least a normal mode (the mode in Fig. 6) and an extended mode (the alternate mode in Fig. 7), wherein information ((turn left, turn direction, est. arrival), graphic information, trip time, and a circle gauge in 28b) displayed in the extended mode (the alternate mode in Fig. 7) differs from information ((turn left, turn direction, est. arrival), and graphic information) displayed in the normal mode (the mode in Fig. 6) (Figs. 6-7), and wherein a display area (a menu system 26) used by the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)) on a front windshield (a front windshield) of the vehicle (the vehicle 12) is the same (28a, 28b, and 28c in Figs. 6 and 7) for all display modes of the group of display modes (the mode in Fig. 6 and the alternate mode in Fig. 7) (Figs. 6-7); and
control the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)) to display the information ((fuel gauge graphic information, Range), (NW, MPH, and RPM), ((turn left, turn direction, est. arrival) and road graphic information)) on the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)) according to the selected display mode (the mode in Fig. 6 or the alternate mode in Fig. 7) (Figs. 6-7).
As to claim 15, Madau teaches the vehicle comprising:
the control circuitry (the processor 14 and the display components 16, 16’, 16”) of claim 14,
the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)), and
a camera (a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) camera) configured to capture at least one image of the face of the driver of the vehicle as the data (capturing an image of at least a portion of a head (e.g. face or eyes) of the user) from which the direction of gaze (a gaze vector) of the driver (the user) of the vehicle (the vehicle 11) can be determined ([0035], lines 1-8).
As to claim 16, Madau (Figs. 1-23) teaches a method of displaying information (information displayed by each of the menus 28a, 28b, and 28c; [0043], lines 7-8; Figs. 1-2) on a head-up display (a display component 15 which is a heads-up display (HUD); [0043], lines 1-2; Figs. 1-2) of a vehicle (a vehicle 11), the method comprising:
determining a direction of gaze (determining a gaze vector) of a driver (a user) of the vehicle (the vehicle 11) (Fig. 1 and 204 of Fig. 8);
selecting a display mode (a mode in Fig. 6 or an alternate mode in Fig. 7) from a group of display modes (the mode in Fig. 6 and the alternate mode in Fig. 7) based on the direction of gaze (the gaze vector) (Fig. 1 and 208 of Fig. 8), each display mode of the group of display modes (the mode in Fig. 6 and the alternate mode in Fig. 7) defining information ((fuel gauge graphic information, Range), ((turn left, turn direction, est. arrival) and road graphic information), (NW, MPH, and RPM)) to be displayed on the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)), wherein the group of display modes (the mode in Fig. 6 and the alternate mode in Fig. 7) comprises at least a first mode (the mode in Fig. 6) and an second mode (the alternate mode in Fig. 7), wherein information ((turn left, turn direction, est. arrival), graphic information, trip time, and a circle gauge in 28b) displayed in the second mode (the alternate mode in Fig. 7) differs from information ((turn left, turn direction, est. arrival), and graphic information) displayed in the first mode (the mode in Fig. 6) (Figs. 6-7), and wherein a display area (a menu system 26) used by the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)) on a front windshield (a front windshield) of the vehicle (the vehicle 12) is the same (28a, 28b, and 28c in Figs. 6 and 7) for all display modes of the group of display modes (the mode in Fig. 6 and the alternate mode in Fig. 7) (Figs. 6-7); and
displaying the information (28a, 28b, and 28c) on the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)) according to the selected display mode (the mode in Fig. 6 or the alternate mode in Fig. 7) (Figs. 6-7).
As to claim 17, Madau teaches the method of claim 16,
wherein an amount of information (information in 28b, e.g., trip time and a circle gauge) displayed in the second mode (the alternate mode in Fig. 7) is greater than an amount of information (information in 28b) displayed in the first mode (the mode in Fig. 6) (Figs. 6-7).
As to claim 19, Madau teaches the method of claim 16,
wherein at least one piece of information (28b), which is to be displayed in the normal mode (the mode in Fig. 6) and in the second mode (the alternate mode in Fig. 7), is displayed as a graphical representation (a fuel gauge) in the first mode (the mode in Fig. 6) and as a textual representation (Range 100mi) in the second mode (the alternate mode in Fig. 7) (Figs. 6-7).
As to claim 20, Madau teaches the method of claim 16,
wherein the second mode (the alternate mode in Fig. 7) is selected when the direction of gaze (the gaze vector; the field of focus) falls on the display area (the menu system 26) used by the head-up display (the heads-up display (HUD)) on a front windshield (a front windshield) of the vehicle (the vehicle 12) (Fig. 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 6 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base
claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments filed on 03/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Madau does not disclose or suggest “wherein a display area used by the head-up display on a front windshield of the vehicle is the same for all display modes of the group of display modes.” However, the Office respectfully disagrees. Reconsidering the reference, Madau, Figs. 6-7 teaches the limitation as recited above by the Applicant. The reference Madau (Figs. 6-7) is used to reject the limitation.
Therefore, the Office maintains the rejections as recited above.
Conclusion
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/KWANG-SU YANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623