DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Amendment filed on 2/24/2026.
Claims 1-4, 6-12, 14-20 are pending. Claims 1, 9, 17 have been amended. Claims 5, 13 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al. (US 20230412891 A1, hereinafter Du), in view of Yu et al. (US 20230109852 A1, hereinafter Yu), and further in view of Cedar et al. (US 6,256,650 B1, hereinafter Cedar).
Regarding Claim 9, Du teaches an electronic device, comprising: a processor, and a memory communicatively connected to the processor (Du, Fig. 10; Paragraph [0161], "the electronic device includes one or more processors and a storage apparatus configured to store one or more programs"; Paragraph [0160], "processing based on a program stored in a read-only memory (ROM) 1002 or a program loaded from a storage apparatus 1008 to a random-access memory (RAM) 1003"; "the processing apparatus 1001, the ROM 1002 and the RAM 1003 are connected to each other through a bus 1004"); the memory storing computer-executable instructions; and the processor executing the computer-executable instructions stored in the memory to implement acts comprising (Du, Paragraph [0016], "the embodiments of the present disclosure further provide a storage medium including computer-executable instructions which, when executed by a computer processor, configured to implement any of the video processing methods"; Paragraph [0161], "the one or more programs when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement any of the video processing methods"): displaying a text editing page comprising a text input area (Du, Paragraph [0186], "In response to detecting triggering a text editing control, a to-be-edited text box is displayed for editing a to-be-played text content in the to-be-edited text box"; Paragraph [0113], "the user may set a transparency parameter of a text box based on a transparency parameter setting page corresponding to the text box"); in response to a first input instruction for the text editing page, displaying a target text in the text input area (Du, Paragraph [0078], "The to-be-played text content may be text information input by the user"), wherein the target text has a first font state in the text input area, the first font state characterizes at least one of a font size or a row spacing of the target text (Du, Paragraph [0091], "The translated text is presented in the target region in the to-be-processed video frame according to the font size corresponding to the to-be-converted text or a default font size <read on the first font state characterizing a font size>"), [[and the first font state is dynamically determined according to a predetermined nonlinear mapping relationship between the first font state and a length of the target text;]] generating, based on the target text, a rendered image comprising the target text having the first font state (Du, Paragraph [0091], "The translated text is presented in the target region in the to-be-processed video frame according to the font size corresponding to the to-be-converted text or a default font size"; Paragraph [0097], "It is to be understood that the length of the translated text corresponding to different target language types is different. If the region area occupied by the obtained translated text is greater than the area of the target region, the translated text cannot be fully displayed in the target region, and therefore the target region and/or the translated text need to be processed so that the translated text can match the target region"); [[determining a video duration according to the length of the target text, the length of the target text being indicated by a number of characters in the target text; and]] generating a target video according to the video duration and the rendered image, wherein the target video indicates a reproduction of the target text in its visual appearance in the text input area, to reproduce the first font state of the target text (Du, Paragraph [0081], "the target video may be understood as a video content obtained after the text box set by the user and the to-be-processed video are fused, and the obtained target video is published" <read on target video reproducing the target text in its visual appearance in the text input area, since the same text box edited by the user — carrying the same font state — is fused into and rendered as part of the target video, thereby reproducing the first font state of the target text in the resulting video content>).
But Du does not explicitly disclose determining a video duration according to the length of the target text, the length of the target text being indicated by a number of characters in the target text.
However, Yu teaches determining a video duration according to the length of the target text (Yu, Paragraph [0050], "Statistical information 20h of the script content input by user A may further be displayed in the text input region. The statistical information 20h may include a word count of the input script content (i.e., a prompting word count, for example, the word count of the script content is 134) and an estimated video length (such as 35 seconds) corresponding to the input script content"; Paragraph [0064], "the user terminal 30a may statistically obtain a prompting word count of the prompting text data input to the text input region 30i in real time … the prompting word count and an estimated finished video length <read on video duration> (i.e., estimated video length) corresponding to the input prompting text data may be displayed in a region 30m of the text input region 30i"), the length of the target text being indicated by a number of characters in the target text (Yu, Paragraph [0064], "the prompting word count statistically obtained by the user terminal 30a is 32, the estimated finished product length is 15 seconds, namely 'current word count 32, estimated finished video length 15 seconds' is displayed in the region 30m" <read on the length being indicated by a number of characters in the target text, since the prompting word count is a count of the textual characters/words making up the prompting text data>).
Yu and Du are analogous since both relate to interfaces that take user-entered text in a text input area and generate video content therefrom. Du provides a system that renders user-edited target text into a video frame at a determined font size and generates the target video by fusing the text box into the video. Yu provides a text input interface that statistically counts the input text (prompting word count) and computes a corresponding estimated finished video length from that count. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the character-count-based video duration determination taught by Yu into the text-to-video generation system of Du such that the duration of the target video generated by Du is set according to the number of characters of the target text entered in the text input area. The motivation is to allow users to accurately predict and control the length of the generated text video based on the character count of the input, as expressly discussed by Yu at Paragraph [0050], "User A may supplement or prune the script content according to the estimated video length."
The combination of Du, Yu and Cedar does not explicitly disclose the first font state is dynamically determined according to a predetermined nonlinear mapping relationship between the first font state and a length of the target text.
However, Cedar teaches the first font state is dynamically determined according to a predetermined nonlinear mapping relationship between the first font state and a length of the target text (Cedar, Column 13, Lines 3-20, "This quadratic font size is based on the fact that the surface area of a character of editable text can be thought of as a rectangle. When the font size of the character is enlarged, both the height and width vary linearly with the font size <read on first font state>. Thus, the surface area of a character varies quadratically with the size of the font. The width of the editable text is bounded by the width of the text frame. When the number of characters <read on a length of the target text > per line is large, it may be assumed that the percentage of each line that is filled with editable text remains constant or decreases as the font size is increased. Such an assumption is reasonable since larger fonts may result in more wasted space per line, i.e. the empty space between characters may be scaled proportionately. So, in a situation where the number of characters per line is large, changes in the surface area of the editable text may only be reflected by changes in height. Thus, for a large number of characters per line, the height of the editable text varies as the square of the font size"; Column 19, Line 39-56, "In an attempt to determine a theoretical font size that closely approximates the ideal font size, a linear font size is first calculated using a linear equation … Thus, a quadratic font size is calculated using a quadratic equation" and "If there are more than thirty characters on any line of all lines of the editable text, the theoretical font size is set equal to the quadratic font size. If there are fewer than thirty characters on each of all of the lines of text, the theoretical font size is calculated by interpolating between the linear font size and the quadratic font size").
Cedar and Du are analogous since both deal with rendering user-entered text into a bounded display region and both address the problem of selecting an appropriate font size so that the text fits and is legibly displayed. Du establishes a target region into which text is rendered at a font size and provides a mechanism for adjusting that font size when the text does not fit. Cedar teaches that the font size for editable text can be determined by a predetermined quadratic (nonlinear) equation that mathematically relates the font size to the number of characters and the space the text occupies, and further teaches selecting the font size based on that predetermined nonlinear relationship according to the number of characters per line. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Cedar's predetermined nonlinear (quadratic) font-sizing relationship into modified invention of Du such that the first font state applied to the target text in the text input area is dynamically determined by directly applying the predetermined nonlinear mapping between font size and text length, rather than only through incremental stepwise reduction. The motivation is to obtain the appropriate font size in a computationally efficient manner without requiring exhaustive stepwise trial-and-error, as expressly discussed by Cedar at Column 13, Lines 43-52.
Regarding Claim 1, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 9 but as a method and the combination of Du, Yu and Cedar teaches all the limitations as of Claim 9. Therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 17, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of claim 9 and the combination of Du, Yu and Cedar teaches all the limitations as of Claim 9. And Du discloses these features can be implemented on a computer readable storage medium (Du, Paragraph [0016], [0161], The computer program product includes a computer program carried in a non-transitory computer-readable medium… the embodiments of the present disclosure further provide a storage medium including computer-executable instructions which, when executed by a computer processor, configured to implement any of the video processing methods.).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 4, 10, 11, 12, 18, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al. (US 20230412891 A1, hereinafter Du), in view of Yu et al. (US 20230109852 A1, hereinafter Yu), and further in view of Cedar et al. (US 6,256,650 B1, hereinafter Cedar) as applied to Claim 1, 9, 17 above respectively and in view of Gowen et al. (US 20140096041 A1, hereinafter Gowen).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Du, Yu and Cedar teaches the invention in Claim 9.
The combination further teaches wherein in response to a first input instruction for the text editing page, displaying a target text in the text input area comprises (Du, Paragraph [0078], “The to-be-played text content may be text information input by the user”):
The combination does not explicitly disclose but Gowen teaches in response to the first input instruction, generating the target text and obtaining a total number of characters of the target text (Gowen, Paragraph [0168],“a lightweight editor, it is desired that the user may easily change font sizes with a live preview so that they may add more characters to a text box that is limited in capacity (number of characters) at a default or previously ordered font size”);
determining the first font state according to the total number of characters and an area size of the text input area (Gowen, Paragraph [0168], “if a textbox was designed to fit 4 letters into it at a certain font size and then a user wants to add 7 letters into the same box, they can utilize a simple popup with a horizontal slider to adjust the font size of the text and receive a live preview of the text as it is shrinking in font size so that they can easily choose the exact size for the text to fit the text box”); displaying the target text in the text input area based on the first font state (Gowen, Paragraph [0161], “The user may type over or type a font within the font window of menu 1004 and see the font change within text window 1001 once the system recognizes the font selection”).
Gowen and Du are analogous since both of them are dealing with media editing. Du provided a way of text editing page with adjustable font size based on the region of the input including generated video. Gowen provided a way of media editing by providing adjustable font size based on the number of characters by shrinking or expanding the font size to accommodate the size of the input area. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate font size change based on the number of characters taught by Gowen into modified invention off Du such that during the media editing, system will be able to dynamically adjust the font size based on the number of characters in order to fit whole input string into the restricted input region which provide more flexible media editing system.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of prior arts Du, Yu, Cedar and Gowen teaches the invention in claim 10.
The combination further teaches wherein the area size comprises a lateral size of area and a longitudinal size of area (Du, Paragraph [0103], “dynamically enlarging the horizontal size <read on lateral size > of the text box and/or the longitudinal size of the text box based on the non-salient region in the to-be-processed video frame”);
Du does not explicitly disclose but Gowen teaches and determining the first font state according to the total number of characters and an area size of the text input area comprises (Gowen, Paragraph [0168],“a lightweight editor, it is desired that the user may easily change font sizes with a live preview so that they may add more characters to a text box that is limited in capacity (number of characters) at a default or previously ordered font size”):
As explained in rejection of claim 10, the obviousness for combining of number of character of Gowen into Du is provided above.
The combination does not explicitly disclose but Cedar teaches determining a number of characters in a single row according to a font width corresponding to a reference font size and the lateral size of area, the number of characters in a single row characterizing a number of characters that can be displayed in one row of the text input area; determining a first longitudinal size according to the number of characters in a single row and the total number of characters; determining the first font state according to the first longitudinal size and the longitudinal size of area (Cedar, Column 13, Line 3-20, This quadratic font size is based on the fact that the surface area of a character of editable text can be thought of as a rectangle. When the font size of the character is enlarged, both the height and width vary linearly with the font size. Thus, the surface area of a character varies quadratically with the size of the font. The width of the editable text is bounded by the width of the text frame. When the number of characters per line is large, it may be assumed that the percentage of each line that is filled with editable text remains constant or decreases as the font size is increased. Such an assumption is reasonable since larger fonts may result in more wasted space per line, i.e. the empty space between characters may be scaled proportionately. So, in a situation where the number of characters per line is large, changes in the surface area of the editable text may only be reflected by changes in height. Thus, for a large number of characters per line, the height of the editable text varies as the square of the font size).
Cedar and Du are analogous since both of them are dealing with media editing. Du provided a way of text editing page with adjustable font size based on the region of the input including generated video. Cedar provided a way of media editing by providing adjustable font size based on font size and the horizontal space and vertical space of the text input frame. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate font size change method taught by Cedar into modified invention off Du such that during the media editing, system will be able to dynamically adjust the font size based on the horizontal/lateral space and vertical/longitudinal space which increase the flexibility of the media editing system.
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of prior arts Du, Yu and Cedar and Gowen teaches the invention in claim 11.
The combination further teaches wherein determining the first font state according to the first longitudinal size and the longitudinal size of area comprises: obtaining a ratio value of the first longitudinal size to the longitudinal size of area (Du, Paragraph [0103], “The preset adjustment rule includes horizontally enlarging the text box by a first preset size and, in response to the enlarged text box not matching the target region”) in accordance with a determination that the ratio value is less than a first ratio threshold, determining the first font state based on the reference font size and/or a reference row spacing (Du, Paragraph [0100], [0126], interpolation processing is performed on pixel attributes of to-be-processed pixel points located in the same row or the same column to determine a to-be-displayed pixel attribute of at least one to-be-displayed pixel point in the target region… if the font size of the translated text corresponds to the initial font size of the to-be-converted text, for example, if the font size of the translated text and the font size of the to-be-converted text are both size four, and the current region area occupied by the translated text is greater than the region area of the target region, the font size of the translated text needs to be reduced sequentially based on size four; it is noted by comparing the size of the font and row size, the ratio can be determined); in accordance with a determination that the ratio value is greater than the first ratio threshold, reducing the reference font size and/or reducing the reference row spacing based on the ratio value to derive the first font state (Du, Paragraph [0103], “dynamically enlarging the horizontal size of the text box and/or the longitudinal size of the text box based on the non-salient region in the to-be-processed video frame” [0163], “clicking on the up arrow may increase font size by allowed increments while clicking on the down arrow may reduce the font size by allowable increment.” );
Regarding Claim 2, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 10 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 3, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 11 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 4, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 12 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 18, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 10 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 19, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 11 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 20, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 12 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 6, 8, 14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al. (US 20230412891 A1, hereinafter Du), in view of Yu et al. (US 20230109852 A1, hereinafter Yu), and further in view of Cedar et al. (US 6,256,650 B1, hereinafter Cedar) as applied to Claim 1, 9 above respectively and in view of Zhao et al. (US 20210035609 A1, hereinafter Zhao)
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Du, Yu and Cedar teaches the invention in Claim 9.
The combination further teaches wherein before generating a target video for presenting the target text in the text input area, the acts further comprises (Du, Paragraph [0081], “It is to be understood that the target video may be understood as a video content obtained after the text box set by the user and the to-be-processed video are fused, and the obtained target video is published”): [[ in response to a second input instruction for the text editing page, displaying a background picture in the text editing page; ]] generating a target video for presenting the target text in the text input area comprising: (Du, Paragraph [0081], “It is to be understood that the target video may be understood as a video content obtained after the text box set by the user and the to-be-processed video are fused, and the obtained target video is published.”) [[ generating the target video according to the target text in the text input area and the background picture.]]
Du does not explicitly disclose but Zhao teaches in response to a second input instruction for the text editing page, displaying a background picture in the text editing page (Zhao, Paragraph [0080], [0111], the video publisher on the interactive editing control, the video recording terminal may display a general text input box and respectively display one branch text input box on interactive graphics corresponding to the second video clips… The background picture of the interactive relationship establishment interface 43 is the last frame of image in the first video clip. An icon 44 (the strip pattern in the figure) of the first video clip and an interactive editing control), generating a target video for presenting the target text in the text input area comprises (Zhao, Paragraph [0106], [0111], “the video recording terminal displays an interactive graphic 62 of an interactive control point corresponding to a second video clip on an upper layer of a target video image” “the video recording terminal may display a general text input box and respectively display one branch text input box on interactive graphics corresponding to the second video clips”); and generating the target video according to the target text in the text input area and the background picture (Zhao, Paragraph [0076], “In an embodiment of this application, after finishing recording a video clip in the interactive video, the video recording terminal may display an interactive relationship establishment interface. The interactive relationship establishment interface includes one image (that is, a target video image) in the first video clip. For example, the background picture of the interactive relationship establishment interface may be the target video image above”).
Zhao and Du are analogous since both of them are dealing with media editing. Du provided a way of text editing page with adjustable font size based on the region of the input including generated video. Zhao provided a way of media editing by providing background picture consideration when composing the target video clip. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate media editing method taught by Zhao into modified invention off Du such that during the media editing, system will be able dynamically adjust the edited result by considering the background picture which can provide more user friendly edit process at the same time provide more smoothly interactive editing process.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of prior arts Du, Yu, Cedar and Zhao teaches the invention in claim 14.
The combination further teaches obtaining a background music according to the background picture (Zhao, Paragraph [0048], “In an embodiment, such an application also provides a user with functions such as beautification, a variety of filters, and interesting templates (for example, text templates or music templates) for selection by the user)” obtaining a background music according to the background picture (Zhao, Paragraph [0076], “the background picture of the interactive relationship establishment interface may be the target video image above”; [0048], “such an application also provides a user with functions such as beautification, a variety of filters, and interesting templates (for example, text templates or music templates) for selection by the user”); generating a target video for presenting the target text in the text input area comprises (Zhao, Paragraph [0106], [0111], “the video recording terminal displays an interactive graphic 62 of an interactive control point corresponding to a second video clip on an upper layer of a target video image” “the video recording terminal may display a general text input box and respectively display one branch text input box on interactive graphics corresponding to the second video clips”): generating the target video according to the target text in the text input area and the background music (Zhao, Paragraph [0076], “In an embodiment of this application, after finishing recording a video clip in the interactive video, the video recording terminal may display an interactive relationship establishment interface. The interactive relationship establishment interface includes one image (that is, a target video image) in the first video clip. For example, the background picture of the interactive relationship establishment interface may be the target video image above”).
Zhao and Du are analogous since both of them are dealing with media editing. Du provided a way of text editing page with adjustable font size based on the region of the input including generated video. Zhao provided a way of media editing by providing background picture and background music consideration when composing the target video clip. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate media editing method taught by Zhao into modified invention off Du such that during the media editing, system will be able dynamically adjust the edited result by considering the background picture and background music which can provide more user friendly edit process at the same time provide more smoothly interactive editing process.
Regarding Claim 6, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 14 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 8, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 16 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 7, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al. (US 20230412891 A1, hereinafter Du), in view of Yu et al. (US 20230109852 A1, hereinafter Yu), and further in view of Cedar et al. (US 6,256,650 B1, hereinafter Cedar), further in view of Zhao et al. (US 20210035609 A1, hereinafter Zhao) as applied to Claim 6, 14 above respectively and further in view of Grosz et al. (US 20140193047 A1, hereinafter Grosz).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of prior arts Du, Yu, Cedar and Zhao teaches the invention in claim 14.
The combination further teaches characterized in that the target text further has a second font state characterizing a font color of the target text (Zhao, Paragraph [0098], “the video publisher may alternatively adjust the display parameter of the interactive control point corresponding to the second video clip. For example, adjustment of the position, size, shape, color, and transparency of the interactive control point may be made”);
Zhao and Du are analogous since both of them are dealing with media editing. Du provided a way of text editing page with adjustable font size based on the region of the input including generated video. Zhao provided a way of media editing by providing adjustable font based on the different font characteristic like font color. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate font change method taught by Zhao into modified invention off Du such that during the media editing, system will be able to dynamically adjust the font in the edit area based on the different font state like font color, font shape, font size and transparency which provide more flexibility and more user friendly editing system.
The combination does not explicitly disclose but Grosz teaches in response to a second input instruction for a text editing page, displaying a background picture in the text editing page comprising (Grosz, Paragraph [0111], “The editing dialog allows the user to select a text container 412 and edit the text contained in the text container 412, add text (button Add Text 401), add image(s) (using button Add Image 402), and add or change the background image”): in response to the second input instruction, matching a target color based on the second font state, a color difference between the target color and the font color being greater than a color difference threshold (Grosz, Paragraph [0642], “includes components for enhancing color options for both the system and user, including provision of search functionality for matching colors and contributing new colors to a project asset”); obtaining a background picture with a main tone of the target color based on a predetermined picture library (Grosz, Paragraph [0357], “all background images are stored as “mirrored images” (original and flipped version). In this way when a user selects a particular background image for two adjacent pages, the flipped image is used as the second background image and may be auto-inserted onto the page”), and displaying the background picture in the text editing page (Grosz, Paragraph [0357], “In this way when a user selects a particular background image for two adjacent pages, the flipped image is used as the second background image and may be auto-inserted onto the page” ).
Grosz and Du are analogous since both of them are dealing with media editing. Du provided a way of text editing page with adjustable font size based on the region of the input including generated video. Grosz provided a way of media editing by providing adjustable font based on the font color differences. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate font change method taught by Grosz into modified invention off Du such that during the media editing, system will be able to use font color differences to easily identify the differences in order to promptly and accurately provide the editing which increase the efficiency of the editing system.
Regarding Claim 7, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 15 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1, 9, 17, filed on 2/3/2026, with respect to rejection under 35 USC § 103 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. It has now been taught by the combination of Du, Yu and Cedar.
In regard to Claims 2-4, 6-8, 10-12, 14-16, 18-20, they directly/indirectly depends on independent Claim 1, 9, 17 respectively. Applicant does not argue anything other than the independent claim 1, 9, 17. The limitations in those claims in conjunction with combination previously established as explained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20240135973 A1 VIDEO SEGMENT SELECTION AND EDITING USING TRANSCRIPT INTERACTIONS
US 11350026 B1 User interfaces for altering visual media
US 20210158586 A1 DYNAMIC SUBTITLE ENHANCEMENT
US 20210127022 A1 INFORMATION PROCESSING APPARATUS, INFORMATION PROCESSING METHOD, AND INFORMATION PROCESSING SYSTEM
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YuJang Tswei/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614