DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Amendment filed on 2/24/2026.
Claims 1-4, 6-12, 14-20 are pending. Claims 1, 9, 17 have been amended. Claims 5, 13 are cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al. (US 20230412891 A1, hereinafter Du), in view of Yu et al. (US 20230109852 A1, hereinafter Yu).
Regarding Claim 9, Du teaches an electronic device, comprising (Du, Fig. 10, Element 1000, Electronic device): a processor, and a memory communicatively connected to the processor (Du, Fig. 10, Element 1001 Processing apparatus, Element 1002/1003 ROM/RAM is communicatively connected to Processing apparatus); the memory storing computer-executable instructions; and the processor executing the computer-executable instructions stored in the memory to implement acts comprising (Du, Paragraph [0016], “disclosure further provide a storage medium including computer-executable instructions which, when executed by a computer processor, configured to implement any of the video processing methods”): displaying a text editing page comprising a text input area (Du, Paragraph [0186], “In response to detecting triggering a text editing control, a to-be-edited text box is displayed for editing a to-be-played text content in the to-be-edited text box” [0113], “the user may set a transparency parameter of a text box based on a transparency parameter setting page corresponding to the text box”); in response to a first input instruction for the text editing page, displaying a target text in the text input area (Du, Paragraph [0078], “The to-be-played text content may be text information input by the user”), wherein the target text has a first font state in the text input area, the first font state characterizes at least one of a font size or a row spacing of the target text, and the first font state is determined by a length of the target text (Du, Paragraph [0097], “It is to be understood that the length of the translated text corresponding to different target language types is different. If the region area occupied by the obtained translated text is greater than the area of the target region, the translated text cannot be fully displayed in the target region, and therefore the target region and/or the translated text need to be processed so that the translated text can match the target region”; [0091], “The translated text is presented in the target region in the to-be-processed video frame according to the font size corresponding to the to-be-converted text or a default font size <read on first font size>”; it is noted putting different font characteristic into consideration when dealing with input text editing in order to provide more flexibility of the editing system will create different state font); generating, based on the target text, a [[ rendered ]] image comprising the target text having the first font state (Du, Paragraph [0097], “It is to be understood that the length of the translated text corresponding to different target language types is different. If the region area occupied by the obtained translated text is greater than the area of the target region, the translated text cannot be fully displayed in the target region, and therefore the target region and/or the translated text need to be processed so that the translated text can match the target region”; [0091], “The translated text is presented in the target region in the to-be-processed video frame according to the font size corresponding to the to-be-converted text or a default font size <read on first font size>”); [[ determining a video duration according to a length of the target text, the length of the target text being indicated by a number of characters in the target text; and generating a target video according to the video duration and the rendered image, wherein the target video indicates a restored display of the target text in the text input area, to restore the first font state of the target text ]].
Du does not explicitly disclose but Yu teaches determining a video duration according to a length of the target text (Yu, Paragraph [0050], " Statistical information 20h of the script content input by user A may further be displayed in the text input region. The statistical information 20h may include a word count of the input script content (i.e., a prompting word count, for example, the word count of the script content is 134) and an estimated video length (such as 35 seconds) corresponding to the input script content"; [0064], " the user terminal 30a may statistically obtain a prompting word count of the prompting text data input to the text input region 30i in real time.... the prompting word count and an estimated finished video length <read on video duration> (i.e., estimated video length) corresponding to the input prompting text data may be displayed in a region 30m of the text input region 30i"; (0061],"The estimated video length may be used as length reference information of a finished product subsequently recorded in the video recording service"), the length of the target text being indicated by a number of characters in the target text (Yu, Paragraph [0064], " the prompting word count statistically obtained by the user terminal 30a is 32, and the estimated finished product length is 15 seconds, namely "current word count 32, estimated finished video length 15 seconds” <read on number of characters in the target text; it is noted that in the text processing, a "prompting word count" directly refers to a count of individual text characters, and thus the prompting word count computed by Yu is, in substance, a count of the number of characters in the prompting text data, directly corresponding to the claimed "number of characters in the target text">; [0050], "User A may supplement or prune the script content according to the estimated video length"); and generating a target video ccording to the video duration and the rendered image, wherein the target video indicates a restored display of the target text in the text input area, to restore the first font state of the target text (Yu, Paragraph (0082], "the user terminal 70a may exit the video recording service, return to the text input region from the recording page 70b, and display the prompting text data in the text input region <read on to restore the first font state of the target text>"; [0080], "the computer device may switch the target text displayed on the recording page to the prompting text data for displaying in response to the triggering operation for the re-recording control. That is, the prompting text data is displayed in the text input region of the recording page <read on to restore the first font state of the target text>; it is noted that during the video recording service, Yu teaches identifying the target text by "increasing a display size of the target text, switching a display color of the target text, or boxing the target text with a circle or a rectangular box," thereby temporarily altering the target text from its original un-identified first font state into a highlighted/identified state; upon generating the target video and completing or cancelling the video recording service, returning and displaying the prompting text data back in the text input region in its original un-identified display state inherently restores the first font state of the target text in the text input area).
Yu and Du are analogous since both relate to video recording and video generation interfaces that incorporate user-entered text displayed in a text input area as part of a video-generating workflow. Du provides a system for rendering target text into a video frame according to font size parameters and generating a target video in which the target text is presented as part of the video content. Yu provides a teleprompter based video recording interface that computes an estimated video length based on the prompting word count and restores the prompting text data in the text input area in its original font state upon completing the recording service. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the character-count-based video duration estimation mechanism taught by Yu into the text-to-video generation system of Du such that the system determines the video duration for the target video according to the number of characters of the target text entered in the text input area, generates the target video according to the determined video duration and the rendered image, and upon generating the target video, restores the display of the target text in the text input area to its original first font state. The motivation is to enable users to accurately predict and control the length of the generated text video based on the character count of the entered text, and to provide a seamless and intuitive user experience by restoring the text input area to its original, editable state after video generation so that the user may conveniently review, modify, and regenerate the target video as needed.
Regarding Claim 1, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 9 but as a method and the combination of Du and Yu teaches all the limitations as of Claim 9. Therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 17, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of claim 9 and the combination of Du and Yu teaches all the limitations as of Claim 9. And Du discloses these features can be implemented on a computer readable storage medium (Du, Paragraph [0016], [0161], The computer program product includes a computer program carried in a non-transitory computer-readable medium… the embodiments of the present disclosure further provide a storage medium including computer-executable instructions which, when executed by a computer processor, configured to implement any of the video processing methods.).
Claim(s) 2, 10, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al. (US 20230412891 A1, hereinafter Du), in view of Yu et al. (US 20230109852 A1, hereinafter Yu) as applied to Claim 1, 9, 17 above respectively and in view of Gowen et al. (US 20140096041 A1, hereinafter Gowen).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Du and Yu teaches the invention in Claim 9.
The combination further teaches wherein in response to a first input instruction for the text editing page, displaying a target text in the text input area comprises (Du, Paragraph [0078], “The to-be-played text content may be text information input by the user”):
The combination does not explicitly disclose but Gowen teaches in response to the first input instruction, generating the target text and obtaining a total number of characters of the target text (Gowen, Paragraph [0168],“a lightweight editor, it is desired that the user may easily change font sizes with a live preview so that they may add more characters to a text box that is limited in capacity (number of characters) at a default or previously ordered font size”);
determining the first font state according to the total number of characters and an area size of the text input area (Gowen, Paragraph [0168], “if a textbox was designed to fit 4 letters into it at a certain font size and then a user wants to add 7 letters into the same box, they can utilize a simple popup with a horizontal slider to adjust the font size of the text and receive a live preview of the text as it is shrinking in font size so that they can easily choose the exact size for the text to fit the text box”); displaying the target text in the text input area based on the first font state (Gowen, Paragraph [0161], “The user may type over or type a font within the font window of menu 1004 and see the font change within text window 1001 once the system recognizes the font selection”).
Gowen and Du are analogous since both of them are dealing with media editing. Du provided a way of text editing page with adjustable font size based on the region of the input including generated video. Gowen provided a way of media editing by providing adjustable font size based on the number of characters by shrinking or expanding the font size to accommodate the size of the input area. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate font size change based on the number of characters taught by Gowen into modified invention off Du such that during the media editing, system will be able to dynamically adjust the font size based on the number of characters in order to fit whole input string into the restricted input region which provide more flexible media editing system.
Regarding Claim 2, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 10 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 18, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 10 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 11, 12, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al. (US 20230412891 A1, hereinafter Du), in view of Yu et al. (US 20230109852 A1, hereinafter Yu), further in view of Gowen et al. (US 20140096041 A1, hereinafter Gowen) as applied to Claim 2, 10, 18 above respectively and further in view of Cedar et al. (US 6256650 B1, hereinafter Cedar).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of prior arts Du, Yu and Gowen teaches the invention in claim 10.
The combination further teaches wherein the area size comprises a lateral size of area and a longitudinal size of area (Du, Paragraph [0103], “dynamically enlarging the horizontal size <read on lateral size > of the text box and/or the longitudinal size of the text box based on the non-salient region in the to-be-processed video frame”);
Du does not explicitly disclose but Gowen teaches and determining the first font state according to the total number of characters and an area size of the text input area comprises (Gowen, Paragraph [0168],“a lightweight editor, it is desired that the user may easily change font sizes with a live preview so that they may add more characters to a text box that is limited in capacity (number of characters) at a default or previously ordered font size”):
As explained in rejection of claim 10, the obviousness for combining of number of character of Gowen into Du is provided above.
The combination does not explicitly disclose but Cedar teaches determining a number of characters in a single row according to a font width corresponding to a reference font size and the lateral size of area, the number of characters in a single row characterizing a number of characters that can be displayed in one row of the text input area; determining a first longitudinal size according to the number of characters in a single row and the total number of characters; determining the first font state according to the first longitudinal size and the longitudinal size of area (Cedar, Column 13, Line 3-20, This quadratic font size is based on the fact that the surface area of a character of editable text can be thought of as a rectangle. When the font size of the character is enlarged, both the height and width vary linearly with the font size. Thus, the surface area of a character varies quadratically with the size of the font. The width of the editable text is bounded by the width of the text frame. When the number of characters per line is large, it may be assumed that the percentage of each line that is filled with editable text remains constant or decreases as the font size is increased. Such an assumption is reasonable since larger fonts may result in more wasted space per line, i.e. the empty space between characters may be scaled proportionately. So, in a situation where the number of characters per line is large, changes in the surface area of the editable text may only be reflected by changes in height. Thus, for a large number of characters per line, the height of the editable text varies as the square of the font size).
Cedar and Du are analogous since both of them are dealing with media editing. Du provided a way of text editing page with adjustable font size based on the region of the input including generated video. Cedar provided a way of media editing by providing adjustable font size based on font size and the horizontal space and vertical space of the text input frame. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate font size change method taught by Cedar into modified invention off Du such that during the media editing, system will be able to dynamically adjust the font size based on the horizontal/lateral space and vertical/longitudinal space which increase the flexibility of the media editing system.
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of prior arts Du, Yu, Gowen and Cedar teaches the invention in claim 10.
The combination further teaches wherein determining the first font state according to the first longitudinal size and the longitudinal size of area comprises: obtaining a ratio value of the first longitudinal size to the longitudinal size of area (Du, Paragraph [0103], “The preset adjustment rule includes horizontally enlarging the text box by a first preset size and, in response to the enlarged text box not matching the target region”) in accordance with a determination that the ratio value is less than a first ratio threshold, determining the first font state based on the reference font size and/or a reference row spacing (Du, Paragraph [0100], [0126], interpolation processing is performed on pixel attributes of to-be-processed pixel points located in the same row or the same column to determine a to-be-displayed pixel attribute of at least one to-be-displayed pixel point in the target region… if the font size of the translated text corresponds to the initial font size of the to-be-converted text, for example, if the font size of the translated text and the font size of the to-be-converted text are both size four, and the current region area occupied by the translated text is greater than the region area of the target region, the font size of the translated text needs to be reduced sequentially based on size four; it is noted by comparing the size of the font and row size, the ratio can be determined); in accordance with a determination that the ratio value is greater than the first ratio threshold, reducing the reference font size and/or reducing the reference row spacing based on the ratio value to derive the first font state (Du, Paragraph [0103], “dynamically enlarging the horizontal size of the text box and/or the longitudinal size of the text box based on the non-salient region in the to-be-processed video frame” [0163], “clicking on the up arrow may increase font size by allowed increments while clicking on the down arrow may reduce the font size by allowable increment.” );
Regarding Claim 3, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 11 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 4, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 12 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 19, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 11 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 20, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 12 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 6, 8, 14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al. (US 20230412891 A1, hereinafter Du), in view of Yu et al. (US 20230109852 A1, hereinafter Yu) as applied to Claim 1, 9 above respectively and in view of Zhao et al. (US 20210035609 A1, hereinafter Zhao)
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Du and Yu teaches the invention in Claim 9.
The combination further teaches wherein before generating a target video for presenting the target text in the text input area, the acts further comprises (Du, Paragraph [0081], “It is to be understood that the target video may be understood as a video content obtained after the text box set by the user and the to-be-processed video are fused, and the obtained target video is published”): [[ in response to a second input instruction for the text editing page, displaying a background picture in the text editing page; ]] generating a target video for presenting the target text in the text input area comprising: (Du, Paragraph [0081], “It is to be understood that the target video may be understood as a video content obtained after the text box set by the user and the to-be-processed video are fused, and the obtained target video is published.”) [[ generating the target video according to the target text in the text input area and the background picture.]]
Du does not explicitly disclose but Zhao teaches in response to a second input instruction for the text editing page, displaying a background picture in the text editing page (Zhao, Paragraph [0080], [0111], the video publisher on the interactive editing control, the video recording terminal may display a general text input box and respectively display one branch text input box on interactive graphics corresponding to the second video clips… The background picture of the interactive relationship establishment interface 43 is the last frame of image in the first video clip. An icon 44 (the strip pattern in the figure) of the first video clip and an interactive editing control), generating a target video for presenting the target text in the text input area comprises (Zhao, Paragraph [0106], [0111], “the video recording terminal displays an interactive graphic 62 of an interactive control point corresponding to a second video clip on an upper layer of a target video image” “the video recording terminal may display a general text input box and respectively display one branch text input box on interactive graphics corresponding to the second video clips”); and generating the target video according to the target text in the text input area and the background picture (Zhao, Paragraph [0076], “In an embodiment of this application, after finishing recording a video clip in the interactive video, the video recording terminal may display an interactive relationship establishment interface. The interactive relationship establishment interface includes one image (that is, a target video image) in the first video clip. For example, the background picture of the interactive relationship establishment interface may be the target video image above”).
Zhao and Du are analogous since both of them are dealing with media editing. Du provided a way of text editing page with adjustable font size based on the region of the input including generated video. Zhao provided a way of media editing by providing background picture consideration when composing the target video clip. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate media editing method taught by Zhao into modified invention off Du such that during the media editing, system will be able dynamically adjust the edited result by considering the background picture which can provide more user friendly edit process at the same time provide more smoothly interactive editing process.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of prior arts Du, Yu and Zhao teaches the invention in claim 14.
The combination further teaches obtaining a background music according to the background picture (Zhao, Paragraph [0048], “In an embodiment, such an application also provides a user with functions such as beautification, a variety of filters, and interesting templates (for example, text templates or music templates) for selection by the user)” obtaining a background music according to the background picture (Zhao, Paragraph [0076], “the background picture of the interactive relationship establishment interface may be the target video image above”; [0048], “such an application also provides a user with functions such as beautification, a variety of filters, and interesting templates (for example, text templates or music templates) for selection by the user”); generating a target video for presenting the target text in the text input area comprises (Zhao, Paragraph [0106], [0111], “the video recording terminal displays an interactive graphic 62 of an interactive control point corresponding to a second video clip on an upper layer of a target video image” “the video recording terminal may display a general text input box and respectively display one branch text input box on interactive graphics corresponding to the second video clips”): generating the target video according to the target text in the text input area and the background music (Zhao, Paragraph [0076], “In an embodiment of this application, after finishing recording a video clip in the interactive video, the video recording terminal may display an interactive relationship establishment interface. The interactive relationship establishment interface includes one image (that is, a target video image) in the first video clip. For example, the background picture of the interactive relationship establishment interface may be the target video image above”).
Zhao and Du are analogous since both of them are dealing with media editing. Du provided a way of text editing page with adjustable font size based on the region of the input including generated video. Zhao provided a way of media editing by providing background picture and background music consideration when composing the target video clip. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate media editing method taught by Zhao into modified invention off Du such that during the media editing, system will be able dynamically adjust the edited result by considering the background picture and background music which can provide more user friendly edit process at the same time provide more smoothly interactive editing process.
Regarding Claim 6, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 14 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 8, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 16 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 7, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al. (US 20230412891 A1, hereinafter Du), in view of Yu et al. (US 20230109852 A1, hereinafter Yu), further in view of Zhao et al. (US 20210035609 A1, hereinafter Zhao) as applied to Claim 6, 14 above respectively and further in view of Grosz et al. (US 20140193047 A1, hereinafter Grosz).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of prior arts Du, Yu and Zhao teaches the invention in claim 14.
The combination further teaches characterized in that the target text further has a second font state characterizing a font color of the target text (Zhao, Paragraph [0098], “the video publisher may alternatively adjust the display parameter of the interactive control point corresponding to the second video clip. For example, adjustment of the position, size, shape, color, and transparency of the interactive control point may be made”);
Zhao and Du are analogous since both of them are dealing with media editing. Du provided a way of text editing page with adjustable font size based on the region of the input including generated video. Zhao provided a way of media editing by providing adjustable font based on the different font characteristic like font color. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate font change method taught by Zhao into modified invention off Du such that during the media editing, system will be able to dynamically adjust the font in the edit area based on the different font state like font color, font shape, font size and transparency which provide more flexibility and more user friendly editing system.
The combination does not explicitly disclose but Grosz teaches in response to a second input instruction for a text editing page, displaying a background picture in the text editing page comprising (Grosz, Paragraph [0111], “The editing dialog allows the user to select a text container 412 and edit the text contained in the text container 412, add text (button Add Text 401), add image(s) (using button Add Image 402), and add or change the background image”): in response to the second input instruction, matching a target color based on the second font state, a color difference between the target color and the font color being greater than a color difference threshold (Grosz, Paragraph [0642], “includes components for enhancing color options for both the system and user, including provision of search functionality for matching colors and contributing new colors to a project asset”); obtaining a background picture with a main tone of the target color based on a predetermined picture library (Grosz, Paragraph [0357], “all background images are stored as “mirrored images” (original and flipped version). In this way when a user selects a particular background image for two adjacent pages, the flipped image is used as the second background image and may be auto-inserted onto the page”), and displaying the background picture in the text editing page (Grosz, Paragraph [0357], “In this way when a user selects a particular background image for two adjacent pages, the flipped image is used as the second background image and may be auto-inserted onto the page” ).
Grosz and Du are analogous since both of them are dealing with media editing. Du provided a way of text editing page with adjustable font size based on the region of the input including generated video. Grosz provided a way of media editing by providing adjustable font based on the font color differences. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate font change method taught by Grosz into modified invention off Du such that during the media editing, system will be able to use font color differences to easily identify the differences in order to promptly and accurately provide the editing which increase the efficiency of the editing system.
Regarding Claim 7, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 15 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1, 9, 17, filed on 2/3/2026, with respect to rejection under 35 USC § 103 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. It is now been taught by the combination of Du and Yu.
In regard to Claims 2-4, 6-8, 10-12, 14-16, 18-20, they directly/indirectly depends on independent Claim 1, 9, 17 respectively. Applicant does not argue anything other than the independent claim 1, 9, 17. The limitations in those claims in conjunction with combination previously established as explained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20160103806 A1 HIERARCHICAL MODELING FOR NETWORK SITES
US 20190096041 A1 METHODS AND SYSTEM FOR EFFICIENT PROCESSING OF GENERIC GEOMETRIC CORRECTION ENGINE
US 20190348037 A1 Intelligent Software Agent
US 10878247 B2 Method and apparatus for generating information
/YuJang Tswei/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614