Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation " the threshold temperature heated by the water heater " in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not clear how the threshold can be heated by the water heater, as the threshold is a numerical construct for comparison to the sensed water temperature. Alternatively it cannot be determined if this limitation further defines the previously-introduced “threshold temperature” to a temperature which is reached by the previously-recited water heater (or, as in the case of prior art, if this threshold could be reached by an alternative apparatus).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and/or 102a2 as being anticipated by Lum (US 7,971,601), which discloses:
1. A water supply system for a recreational vehicle (intended use in preamble given limited patentable weight because not necessary to understand body of claim), the water supply system comprising:
a water tank (“city main” or “water well”);
a conduit (36, 38, 40, 42, and the flowpaths through the valves/components located along this conduit) configured to supply water from the water tank;
a water heater (22) configured to heat the water supplied along the conduit;
a return line (in phantom, FIG 1, from 32 to 22) extending from the conduit to the water tank;
a valve (32) for selectively recirculating the water from the conduit to the water tank along the return line; and
a temperature sensor provided on the return line and configured to measure a temperature of the water recirculating along the return line (the “third sensor”, see col. 5 lines 17-21).
2. The water supply system of claim 1, wherein the valve is provided on the return line (see FIG 1).
3. The water supply system of claim 1, further comprising a switch (26) operably coupled to the valve (col. 4 lines 53-60).
8. The water supply system of claim 1, further comprising a fixture configured to receive the supply of water from the water tank via the conduit (see the faucet at 12; FIG 1).
9. The water supply system of claim 8, further comprising a fixture line coupling the fixture to the conduit (see the line 40 coupling the faucet to the valve 14).
10. The water supply system of claim 9, further comprising a secondary valve for selectively coupling the fixture to the conduit (14 has first valve part 32 for controlling hot water flow, and second valve part 34 for controlling the flow of cold water).
Claim(s) 11-20 as understood is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and/or 102a2 as being anticipated by Girard (US 2019/0212033), which discloses:
11. A method of conserving water in a recreational vehicle, the method comprising:
heating a supply of water within a water supply system (100) with a water heater (250);
measuring a temperature of the supply of water to determine a water temperature or a change in temperature (at T2 362, alternatively at Tout 358);
comparing the water temperature or the change in temperature to a threshold temperature (the threshold of para. 0058; alternatively the maximum heater water temperature of para. 0239); and
recirculating the supply of water within the water supply system until the water temperature meets or exceeds the threshold temperature heated by the water heater (para. 0058).
12. The method of claim 11, further comprising requesting hot water from the water supply system (use of hot water implicitly requires a request, such as by using the thermostat of para. 0242).
13. The method of claim 12, wherein requesting hot water includes actuating a switch (thermostats include switches).
14. The method of claim 11, further comprising opening a valve in a water retention system to permit recirculating of the supply of water (para. 0247).
15. The method of claim 14, wherein the valve is positioned on a return line (132; para. 0247).
16. The method of claim 15, wherein recirculating further comprises providing the supply of water to a water tank (200) from the return line.
17. The method of claim 14, further comprising closing the valve after the water temperature meets or exceeds the threshold temperature (para. 0238-0242, 0247; 350 controls recirculation to 200 through one-way valve 190 and pump 170 is turned off when the temperature exceeds a max heated temperature, thus valve 190 is closed when there is no flow because the pump is turned off).
18. The method of claim 17, further comprising dispensing the water from a fixture (see para. 0215).
19. The method of claim 15, wherein a controller (350) coupled to a temperature sensor is configured to compare the water temperature to the threshold temperature (para. 0058, 0239).
20. The method of claim 11, further comprising ceasing heating of the supply of water after reaching a timeout value (see the end of para. 0224, where shutting off the pump a “short time” after switching off the burner would cease heating of the supply of water).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girard in view of Lum.
Regarding claim 1, Girard discloses a water supply system for a recreational vehicle (intended use in preamble given limited patentable weight because not necessary to understand body of claim), the water supply system comprising:
a water tank (200);
a conduit (136) configured to supply water from the water tank;
a water heater (250) configured to heat the water supplied along the conduit;
a return line (132) extending from the conduit to the water tank;
a valve (190) for selectively recirculating the water from the conduit to the water tank along the return line; and
Girard does not disclose a temperature sensor provided on the return line and configured to measure a temperature of the water recirculating along the return line. Lum teaches that it was known in the art before the effective filing date to use a temperature sensor provided on a similar return line and configured to measure a temperature of the water recirculating along the return line (the “third sensor”, see col. 5 lines 17-21). To account for recirculation water temperature in Girard’s system, it would have been obvious to use a temperature sensor provided on the return line as claimed by Applicant.
2. The water supply system of claim 1, wherein the valve is provided on the return line (see para. 0247).
3. The water supply system of claim 1, further comprising a switch (of the thermostat; para. 0242, 0247) operably coupled to the valve.
4. The water supply system of claim 3, further comprising a controller (350) operably coupling the valve to the switch (para. 0242).
5. The water supply system of claim 4, further comprising a pump (170) fluidly coupled to the conduit and configured to pump water from the water tank.
6. The water supply system of claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to operate the valve to cease recirculating water when the temperature sensor measures a temperature that reaches a temperature threshold (the controller indirectly operates the one-way valve when the pump is turned off in response to exceeding the temperature threshold; para. 0238-0242, 0247).
7. The water supply system of claim 6, wherein the switch is configured to open the valve until the temperature sensor measures the temperature that meets or exceeds the temperature threshold (when the pump is switched on, the valve must be open in order to allow flow before exceeding the temperature threshold).
8. The water supply system of claim 1, further comprising a fixture configured to receive the supply of water from the water tank via the conduit (the fixture is read as the inherent basin of the sink/bath/shower; para. 0215).
9. The water supply system of claim 8, further comprising a fixture line coupling the fixture to the conduit (from the valve of the sink/bath/shower to the basin thereof; para. 0215).
10. The water supply system of claim 9, further comprising a secondary valve for selectively coupling the fixture to the conduit (e.g., the valves of the sink/bath/shower connect to fixture line(s) thereof, as mapped in the analysis of claim 9 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 10,760,823 discloses a water heater recirculation arrangement where a temperature sensor in a storage tank is used to control a recirculation pump (FIG 2) that pumps recirculation water from the tank to a heater and back to the tank.
/WILLIAM M MCCALISTER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753
6/23/26