DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsumura (JP 2009215855 A).
Regarding claim 1, Tsumura discloses a work machine control method of controlling a work machine(Tsumura, page 1 line 2, effectively control a drive means installed on a working machine while power is supplied to the working machine) including a battery that stores electric power(Tsumura, page 6 line 20, power is consumed and the remaining amount of power stored in the power storage device 34 decreases. Therefore, the battery must be charged before the amount of power stored becomes zero ), a connector to which a charging cable used to charge the battery is connected(Tsumura, page 2 line 48, a power cable drawn from a fixed or portable external power supply is connected to the connector of the power storage device), and an electric motor that is driven by electric power supplied from the battery(Tsumura, page 6 line 37, electric power can be supplied from the power storage device 34 to the inverters 30 to 33, and thus the motors 20R, 20L, 21 and 26 can be driven ), the method comprising:
detecting a connection state between the charging cable and the connector(Tsumura, page 8 line 5, when the starter key is turned on, it is always determined whether or not the plug 39 provided on the power cable 38 of the external power source 37 is connected to the connector 40 (step 1)); and
performing a suppression process of suppressing an action of the work machine, while permitting the action of the work machine, based on the connection state in a case where the electric motor is in a rotatable state(Tsumura discloses restricting operation of an excavator(work machine) while allowing the motors of the work machine to rotate(drive).Tsumura, page 6 line 37, while the charging operation is being performed, electric power can be supplied from the power storage device 34 to the inverters 30 to 33, and thus the motors 20R, 20L, 21 and 26 can be driven. Accordingly, although the excavator 1 can be driven, it is not preferable to perform the operation with the excavator 1 while the plug 39 of the power cable 38 is connected to the connector 40 of the rectifier 36 including during the charging operation. Therefore, the operation is restricted so that the work cannot be performed.).
Regarding claim 3, Tsumura discloses the work machine control method according to claim 1(Tsumura, page 1 line 2, effectively control a drive means installed on a working machine while power is supplied to the working machine), wherein the suppression process includes setting a rotational speed of the electric motor to a specific rotational speed(Tsumura, page 4 line 31, travel drive is not completely prohibited because it may interfere with the passage of other vehicles. Therefore, the traveling can be disabled, and more preferably, the traveling speed is limited to a low speed or a very low speed. Tsumura, page 4 line 34 , the restriction on the maximum speed traveling may be constant, but may be two to a plurality of stages or continuously variable).
Regarding claim 4, the work machine control method according to claim 3(Tsumura, page 1 line 2, effectively control a drive means installed on a working machine while power is supplied to the working machine), wherein:
the work machine includes an operation unit that is capable of setting the
rotational speed of the electric motor between a first rotational speed and a second rotational speed that is higher than the first rotational speed(Tsumura’s teaching of limiting the travelling speed to a low speed and a very low speed indicates a first and second rotational speed, where the low speed’s rotational speed is higher than the very low speed. Tsumura, page 4 line 31, travel drive is not completely prohibited because it may interfere with the passage of other vehicles. Therefore, the traveling can be disabled, and more preferably, the traveling speed is limited to a low speed or a very low speed),
and the specific rotational speed is lower than the first rotational speed(As discussed above, Tsumura’s teaching of limiting the travelling speed to a low speed and very low speed indicates setting a speed that is lower than an initial speed. Tsumura, page 4 line 31, travel drive is not completely prohibited because it may interfere with the passage of other vehicles. Therefore, the traveling can be disabled, and more preferably, the traveling speed is limited to a low speed or a very low speed).
Regarding claim 5, Tsumura discloses the work machine control method according to claim 1(Tsumura, page 1 line 2, effectively control a drive means installed on a working machine while power is supplied to the working machine), wherein;
the work machine includes:
a hydraulic pump that is driven by the electric motor(Tsumura, page 5 line 26, hydraulic
pump 25 is driven by an electric motor), and an actuator that is driven by hydraulic oil discharged from the hydraulic pump(Tsumura, page 5 line 25, the cylinders 22 to 24 as the driving means of the working means 8 are hydraulic cylinders, and a hydraulic pump 25 is provided to supply pressure oil to the cylinders 22 to 24…the motors 20R, 20L and 21 and the cylinders 22 to 24 are actuators of the hydraulic excavator 1. ), and
the suppression process includes an actuator suppression process of suppressing an action of the actuator(Tsumura discloses discontinuing power to the actuator when cable connection is detected, which corresponds to suppression of an actuator. Tsumura, page 7 line 12, while the control device 35receives a cable connection detection signal, even if the operating lever 27 for slewing is operated, power will not be supplied to the actuator motor 21, and therefore slewing will not occur.).
Regarding claim 11, Tsumura discloses a work machine control system that controls a work machine(Tsumura, page 1 line 2, effectively control a drive means installed on a working machine while power is supplied to the working machine) including a battery that stores electric power( Tsumura, page 6 line 20, power is consumed and the remaining amount of power stored in the power storage device 34 decreases. Therefore, the battery must be charged before the amount of power stored becomes zero), a connector to which a charging cable used to charge the battery is connected( Tsumura, page 2 line 48, a power cable drawn from a fixed or portable external power supply is connected to the connector of the power storage device), and an electric motor that is driven by electric power supplied from the battery( Tsumura, page 6 line 37, electric power can be supplied from the power storage device 34 to the inverters 30 to 33, and thus the motors 20R, 20L, 21 and 26 can be driven), the control system comprising:
a detection unit that detects a connection state between the charging cable and the connector( Tsumura, page 8 line 5, when the starter key is turned on, it is always determined whether or not the plug 39 provided on the power cable 38 of the external power source 37 is connected to the connector 40 (step 1)); and
a suppression control unit that suppresses an action of the work machine while permitting the action of the work machine based on the connection state in a case where the electric motor is in a rotatable state(Tsumura discloses restricting operation of an excavator(work machine) while allowing the motors of the work machine to rotate(drive).Tsumura, page 6 line 37, while the charging operation is being performed, electric power can be supplied from the power storage device 34 to the inverters 30 to 33, and thus the motors 20R, 20L, 21 and 26 can be driven. Accordingly, although the excavator 1 can be driven, it is not preferable to perform the operation with the excavator 1 while the plug 39 of the power cable 38 is connected to the connector 40 of the rectifier 36 including during the charging operation. Therefore, the operation is restricted so that the work cannot be performed.).
Regarding claim 12, Tsumura discloses a work machine including the control system according to claim 11(Tsumura, page 1 line 2, effectively control a drive means installed on a working machine while power is supplied to the working machine ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsumura (JP 2009215855 A) in view of Takeo (US 20240150999 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Tsumura discloses the work machine control method according to claim 1(Tsumura, page 1 line 2, effectively control a drive means installed on a working machine while power is supplied to the working machine),
While Tsumura teaches restricting work machine when charging cable is connected, it fail to disclose a work machine system wherein the work machine includes a notification device that provides notification, the method comprising:
causing the notification device to provide a notification based on the connection state in a case where the electric motor is in the rotatable state.
However, Takeo, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a work machine with a shovel disclose a work machine system wherein the work machine includes a notification device that provides notification(Takeo, paragraph 130, the output device 50 (an example of a notification device) outputs various types of information to a user under the control of the control device 30 ), the method comprising:
causing the notification device to provide a notification based on the connection state in a case where the electric motor is in the rotatable state(Takeo teaches shifting hydraulic actuators of a work machine to an inoperable state when a charging cable is connected to a charging port during operation of a shovel. Takeo further discloses notifying the user why the actuators are shifted to an inoperable state. This indicates a notification output to the user when charging cable is connected during operation of a work machine where different motors are in rotatable state. Takeo, paragraph 397, when the charging cable is connected to the charging port 72 during operation of the shovel 100, the controller 30A causes the hydraulic actuators to transition to the inoperable state. Takeo, paragraph 403 The output device 50 may notify the user of the reason why the hydraulic actuators are shifted to the inoperable state under the control of the controller. Takeo, paragraph 419, the controller 30A may notify a user that charging is started through the output device 50.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Tsumura with Takeo to notify a user about the connection of a charging cable to a work machine while the work machine is in operation. By notifying the connection of the charging cable, is it possible to safely operate the work machine by alerting the user to avoid connection of the work machine with a broken or malfunctioning charging cable. (Takeo, paragraph 398, in a case where a third party connects a charging cable to the charging port 72 during operation of the shovel 100 and a user (operator) of the cabin 10 is not aware, a situation in which the shovel 100 continues the work can be avoided. Therefore, for example, a situation in which the shovel 100 continues the work and the charging cable is broken or the charging cable is dragged to affect the surrounding of the shovel 100 can be avoided and the safety of the electric shovel 100 can be improved).
Regarding claim 9, Tsumura discloses the work machine control method according to claim 1(Tsumura, page 1 line 2, effectively control a drive means installed on a working machine while power is supplied to the working machine), comprising causing the battery to be in a non-chargeable state while the suppression process is performed(Takeo teaches about prohibiting the charging of work machine while charging cable is connected to the charging port. Takeo, paragraph 388, when the charging cable is connected to the charging port 72B, in this step, the controller 30A may output a signal requesting prohibition (stop) of charging of the power storage device 19 to the external power supply (charging station) side).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Tsumura and Takeo teaches a non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing processor-executable code, which when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to perform the work machine control method according to claim 1(Takeo, paragraph 152, a memory device such as a random access memory (RAM), an auxiliary storage device such as a read only memory (ROM), an interface device with the outside, and the like. The controllers 30A to 30E implement various functions by, for example, loading programs installed in the auxiliary storage devices into the memory devices and executing the programs on the CPU ).
Regarding claim 13, Tsumura discloses a work machine control method of controlling a work machine (Tsumura, page 1 line 2, effectively control a drive means installed on a working machine while power is supplied to the working machine) including a battery that stores electric power(Tsumura, page 6 line 20, power is consumed and the remaining amount of power stored in the power storage device 34 decreases. Therefore, the battery must be charged before the amount of power stored becomes zero), a connector to which a charging cable used to charge the battery is connected(Tsumura, page 2 line 48, a power cable drawn from a fixed or portable external power supply is connected to the connector of the power storage device), an electric motor that is driven by electric power supplied from the battery, and (Tsumura, page 6 line 37, electric power can be supplied from the power storage device 34 to the inverters 30 to 33, and thus the motors 20R, 20L, 21 and 26 can be driven),the method comprising:
detecting a connection state between the charging cable and the connector(Tsumura, page 8 line 5, when the starter key is turned on, it is always determined whether or not the plug 39 provided on the power cable 38 of the external power source 37 is connected to the connector 40 (step 1)); and
While Tsumura teaches restricting work machine when charging cable is connected, it fail to disclose a notification device that provides a notification; causing the notification device to provide notification based on the connection state in a case where the electric motor is in the rotatable state.
However, Takeo, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a work machine with a shovel disclose a work machine system a notification device that provides a notification(Takeo, paragraph 130, the output device 50 (an example of a notification device) outputs various types of information to a user under the control of the control device 30); causing the notification device to provide notification based on the connection state in a case where the electric motor is in the rotatable state(Takeo teaches shifting hydraulic actuators of a work machine to an inoperable state when a charging cable is connected to a charging port during operation of a shovel. Takeo further discloses notifying the user why the actuators are shifted to an inoperable state. This indicates a notification output to the user when charging cable is connected during operation of a work machine where different motors are in rotatable state. Takeo, paragraph 397, when the charging cable is connected to the charging port 72 during operation of the shovel 100, the controller 30A causes the hydraulic actuators to transition to the inoperable state. Takeo, paragraph 403 The output device 50 may notify the user of the reason why the hydraulic actuators are shifted to the inoperable state under the control of the controller. Takeo, paragraph 419, the controller 30A may notify a user that charging is started through the output device 50.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Tsumura with Takeo to notify a user about the connection of a charging cable to a work machine while the work machine is in operation. By notifying the connection of the charging cable, is it possible to safely operate the work machine by alerting the user to avoid connection of the work machine with a broken or malfunctioning charging cable. (Takeo, paragraph 398, in a case where a third party connects a charging cable to the charging port 72 during operation of the shovel 100 and a user (operator) of the cabin 10 is not aware, a situation in which the shovel 100 continues the work can be avoided. Therefore, for example, a situation in which the shovel 100 continues the work and the charging cable is broken or the charging cable is dragged to affect the surrounding of the shovel 100 can be avoided and the safety of the electric shovel 100 can be improved).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsumura (JP 2009215855 A) in view of Hang (CN 218439973 U).
Regarding claim 6, Tsumura teaches the work machine control method according to claim 5(Tsumura, page 1 line 2, effectively control a drive means installed on a working machine while power is supplied to the working machine), wherein:
the actuator includes a traveling motor ( Tsumura, page 5 line 27, the motors 20R, 20L and 21 and the cylinders 22 to 24 are actuators of the hydraulic excavator)
the actuator suppression process includes switching the traveling motor to the low-speed state(Tsumura discloses limiting traveling speed of work machine to a low speed which corresponds to a motor traveling at low-speed state. Tsumura, page 4 line 31, travel drive is not completely prohibited because it may interfere with the passage of other vehicles. Therefore, the traveling can be disabled, and more preferably, the traveling speed is limited to a low speed or a very low speed).
While Tsumura teaches about limiting(suppressing) a motor’s travel speed to a low-speed state, it fails to disclose a traveling motor that is switchable between a high-speed state and a low-speed state.
However, Hang, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about hydraulic control system of a working machine, discloses a traveling motor that is switchable between a high-speed state and a low-speed state, and(Hang, paragraph 48, the hydraulic control system can be switched between the high speed working mode and low speed working mode, so as to improve the working efficiency and walking safety. In the high speed working mode, the speed adjusting control assembly can adjust the displacement of the motor, so as to change the rotating speed of the motor ).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Tsumura with Hang to operate the motor of a work machine between a high- speed state and a low-speed state. By switching between high speed working mode and low speed working mode of motor, is it possible to improve the working efficiency and walking safety of a working machine.( Hang, paragraph 48, the hydraulic control system can be switched between the high speed working mode and low speed working mode, so as to improve the working efficiency and walking safety).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Tsumura and Hang teaches the work machine control method according to claim 6(Tsumura, page 1 line 2, effectively control a drive means installed on a working machine while power is supplied to the working machine; Hang, paragraph 48, the hydraulic control system can be switched between the high speed working mode and low speed working mode ),wherein a displacement of the traveling motor is larger in the low-speed state than in the high-speed state(Hang discloses setting a minimum rotational speed state while the displacement of the variable motor reaches the maximum value, and setting a maximum rotating speed state while displacement of the variable motor reaches the minimum value. This indicates a displacement of the traveling motor is larger in low-speed state than high-speed state. Hang, paragraph 60, the rod-free cavity of the swash plate angle adjusting cylinder 102 is in a high pressure state, the piston rod of the swash plate angle adjusting cylinder 102 extends out to drive the swash plate 101 to rotate to the minimum angle. At this time, the displacement of the variable motor 100 reaches the minimum value, the rotating speed is corresponding to the maximum value, namely, the variable motor 100 operates at the maximum rotating speed state. Hang, paragraph 59, the rod-free cavity of the swash plate angle adjusting cylinder 102 is in a low pressure state, the swash plate angle adjusting cylinder 102 of the piston rod shrinks to drive the swash plate 101 to rotate to the maximum angle. At this time, the displacement of the variable motor 100 reaches the maximum value, the rotating speed is corresponding to the minimum value. That is, the variable motor 100 operates at a minimum rotational speed state ).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsumura (JP 2009215855 A) in view of Ohira (JP 2021156067 A).
Regarding claim 8, Tsumura teaches the work machine control method according to claim 5(Tsumura, page 1 line 2, effectively control a drive means installed on a working machine while power is supplied to the working machine),
Tsumura specifically fails to disclose a method wherein; the work machine includes a control valve that controls a pressure and flow rate of the hydraulic oil supplied from the hydraulic pump to the actuator, and
the actuator suppression process includes restricting the pressure and flow rate of the hydraulic oil.
However, Ohira, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about work machine discloses a method wherein; the work machine includes a control valve that controls a pressure and flow rate of the hydraulic oil supplied from the hydraulic pump to the actuator(Ohira, paragraph 17, the working machine 5 further includes an engine 65, an operating pump 64 connected to the engine 65, and a control valve 63 connected to the operating pump 64. The working pump 64 is a device that is driven by the output of the engine 65 and boosts the pressure of the hydraulic oil supplied from the hydraulic oil tank. Ohira, paragraph 19, the control signal from the control device 7 to the engine 65 controls the start and stop of the drive of the engine 65 and the rotation speed of the engine 65. In this way, the supply direction of the hydraulic oil and the start of supply to the boom cylinder 53a, the arm cylinder 53b, the bucket cylinder 53c, the traveling hydraulic motor 61, and the turning hydraulic motor 62, which are the actuators of the work machine 5. And the supply stop and the supply flow rate of hydraulic oil are controlled ), and
the actuator suppression process includes restricting the pressure and flow rate of the hydraulic oil(Ohira, paragraph 32, limiting the oil pressure or the flow rate of the hydraulic actuator of the work machine 5, or limiting the flow rate).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Tsumura with Ohira to limit(restrict) the pressure and flow rate of the hydraulic actuator of a work machine. By limiting the pressure and flow rate of the hydraulic actuator, it is possible to reduce operating speed of the work machine during connection of charging cable. (Ohira, paragraph 32, a state in which vehicle body control such as control for limiting the flow rate is performed. As a result, the operation of the work machine 5 can be stopped or the operation speed of the work machine 5 can be reduced.).
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s
disclosure.
Watanabe (JP 2007288894 ) discloses prohibiting the driving of a drive unit when a work machine is in a locked state where a power cable is connected to the work machine.
Conclusion
/BESUFEKAD LEMMA TESSEMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/HUNTER B LONSBERRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665