DETAILED ACTION
Prior art of Record
The prior art made of record in this office action shall be referred to as follows;
U.S. 2023/0242277 Bernadet et al. (‘Bernadet hereafter),
U.S. 2017/0355440 Benjamin Bishop (‘Bishop hereafter),
U.S. 11,840,347 Colmagro et al. (‘Colmagro hereafter),
U.S. 2013/0302083 Matignon et al. (‘Matignon hereafter),
U.S. 2016/0368144 Stone et al. (‘Stone hereafter),
U.S. 5,604,974 Roberts et al. (‘Roberts hereafter),
The above references will be referred to hereafter by the names or numbers indicated above.
Claim status:
Claims 1 - 20 are currently being examined.
No Claims have been canceled.
Claims 18 – 20 are allowed and Claims 10, 11, 18 – 20 are objected to for allowable subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 5, 9 and 12 - 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. 2023/0242277 Bernadet et al. (‘Bernadet hereafter).
Regarding Claim[s] 1, ‘Bernadet discloses all the claim limitations including: A method, comprising:
securing an angularly adjustable support tool index (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #38.1 (angular positioning adjustment system/ angularly adjustable support tool)) to at least one part (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #72 (bearing part/ part)) of an assembly structure (‘Bernadet, Para 0031 “FIG. 5 is a schematic section through an assembly and a mounting tool illustrating one embodiment of the invention.”), wherein the angularly adjustable support tool index (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #38.1 (angular positioning adjustment system/ angularly adjustable support tool)) comprises: an index component (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #58 (first pivoting ring) and #68 (second pivoting ring))/ indexing component) comprising an indexing face (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #14.2 (second surface/ indexing face)) positioned against the at least one part (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #72 (bearing part/ part)); a trapped ball and socket joint (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #18 (socket/ first ring/socket) #20 (second ring/ ball)) configured to allow pivotal adjustment of the index component with respect to a support fixture (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #40 (first portion), and #44 (second portion)), wherein the support fixture (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #40, #44) is configured to adjust the index component (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #58 and #68) to align with and support the at least one part (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #72 (bearing part)); a bushing (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #52 (flange/ bushing)) coupling the index component (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #58 and #68) to the trapped ball and socket joint (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #18 & #20); and a retaining lock (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #74 (screw), #76 (tapped hole), #48 (centering system)/ retaining lock) configured to secure the bushing (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #52 (flange/ bushing)) in place with respect to the support fixture (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #40, #44), wherein the retaining lock is configured to lock the trapped ball and socket joint from movement and maintain a set position of the index component when the retaining lock is engaged with a shoulder of the bushing (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, shoulder faces towards #46), and wherein the retaining lock (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #74 (screw), #76 (tapped hole), #48 (centering system)/ retaining lock) is configured to be selectively translated away from the shoulder of the bushing to allow adjustment of the index component with respect to the support fixture (‘Bernadet, Fig 5); and moving the retaining lock (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #74 (screw), #76 (tapped hole), #48 (centering system)/ retaining lock) away from the shoulder of the bushing (28) (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, Arrow shows the retaining lock and the shoulder of the bushing have an increase of distance between them), thereby allowing the trapped ball and socket joint to pivot with respect to the support fixture supporting the at least one part of the assembly structure (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #40, #44, the increase of distance allows an increased freedom of movement of the ball and socket joint).
Regarding Claim[s] 2, ‘Bernadet discloses all the claim limitations including: further comprising moving the retaining lock (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #74 (screw), #76 (tapped hole), #48 (centering system)/ retaining lock) towards the shoulder of the bushing (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, the face near #46 faces away from #58 & #68) until the retaining lock (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #74 (screw), #76 (tapped hole), #48 (centering system)/ retaining lock) contacts the shoulder and locks a current position of the indexing face (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #14.2 (second surface/ indexing face)) of the angularly adjustable support tool index (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #38.1 (angular positioning adjustment system/ angularly adjustable support tool)) relative to the support fixture (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #40, #44).
Regarding Claim[s] 3, ‘Bernadet discloses all the claim limitations including: wherein the moving the retaining lock (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #74 (screw), #76 (tapped hole), #48 (centering system)/ retaining lock) away from the shoulder of the bushing (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, the face near #46 faces away from #58 & #68) comprises translating the retaining lock (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #74 (screw), #76 (tapped hole), #48 (centering system)/ retaining lock) away from the shoulder until the retaining lock is spaced apart from the shoulder enough to allow pivoting of the trapped ball and socket joint and the bushing attached thereto (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, shows adjustability by unscrewing).
Regarding Claim[s] 4, ‘Bernadet discloses all the claim limitations including: wherein the moving the retaining lock (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #74 (screw), #76 (tapped hole), #48 (centering system)/ retaining lock) away from the shoulder of the bushing (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, shoulder faces towards #46) comprises rotating the retaining lock with respect to the support fixturea via a threaded engagement between the retaining lock and the support fixture (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #74 (screw) is a thread screw).
Regarding Claim[s] 5, ‘Bernadet discloses all the claim limitations including: further comprising removing a completed assembly structure from the support fixture once the assembly structure is complete (‘Bernadet, Para 0036, “FIG. 10 is a perspective view of the assembly that can be seen in FIG. 9 after the mounting tool has been removed.”).
Regarding Claim[s] 9, ‘Bernadet discloses all the claim limitations including: wherein the angularly adjustable support tool index (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #38.1 (angular positioning adjustment system/ angularly adjustable support tool)) is configured for aligning (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #58, #68, #40, #44) the tool relative to a hole (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, hole through #72) of the at least one part (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #72 (bearing part/ part)), the method further comprising: inserting an installation pin (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #48 (centering system/ installation pin)) through a through-hole extending through the index component (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #14.2 (second surface/ indexing face)), the trapped ball and socket joint (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #18 (socket/ first ring/socket) #20 (second ring/ ball)), and the bushing (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #52 (flange/ bushing)), such that the installation pin extends through the hole in the at least one part to secure the part against the indexing face (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #14.2 (second surface/ indexing face)); and securing an end of the installation pin (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #48 (centering system/ installation pin)) with a retainer (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #74 (screw/ retainer)).
Regarding Claim[s] 13, ‘Bernadet discloses all the claim limitations including: a
further comprising pivoting the trapped ball and socket joint (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #18 (socket/ first ring/socket) #20 (second ring/ ball)) with respect to the support fixture (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #40 (first portion), and #44 (second portion)) until the indexing face (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #14.2 (second surface/ indexing face)) of the index component (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #58 (first pivoting ring) and #68 (second pivoting ring))/ indexing component) is parallel to a surface of the part (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #72 (bearing part/ part)) to which the angularly adjustable support tool index (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #38.1 (angular positioning adjustment system/ angularly adjustable support tool)) is secured (‘Bernadet, Fig 5).
Regarding Claim[s] 14, ‘Bernadet discloses all the claim limitations including: A method, comprising: securing an angularly adjustable support tool index (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #38.1 (angular positioning adjustment system/ angularly adjustable support tool)) to at least one part (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #72 (bearing part/ part)) of an assembly structure (‘Bernadet, Para 0031 “FIG. 5 is a schematic section through an assembly and a mounting tool illustrating one embodiment of the invention.”); and moving a retaining lock (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #74 (screw), #76 (tapped hole), #48 (centering system)/ retaining lock, Fig 5, Arrow shows movement) between them) of the angularly adjustable support tool index away from a shoulder of a bushing (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, shoulder faces towards #46) of the angularly adjustable support tool index, thereby allowing a trapped ball and socket joint of the angularly adjustable support tool index (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #38.1 (angular positioning adjustment system/ angularly adjustable support tool)) to pivot with respect to a support fixture supporting the at least one part of the assembly structure a(‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #40, #44, the increase of distance allows an increased freedom of movement of the ball and socket joint).
Regarding Claim[s] 15, ‘Bernadet discloses all the claim limitations including: wherein the moving the retaining lock (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #74 (screw), #76 (tapped hole), #48 (centering system)/ retaining lock) away from the shoulder of the bushing (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, shoulder faces towards #46) comprises translating the retaining lock (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #74 (screw), #76 (tapped hole), #48 (centering system)/ retaining lock) away from the shoulder until the retaining lock is spaced apart from the shoulder enough to allow pivoting of the trapped ball and socket joint and a bushing attached thereto (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, shows adjustability by unscrewing).
Regarding Claim[s] 16, ‘Bernadet discloses all the claim limitations including: wherein the moving the retaining lock (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #74 (screw), #76 (tapped hole), #48 (centering system)/ retaining lock) away from the shoulder of the bushing (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, Arrow shows the retaining lock and the shoulder of the bushing have an increase of distance between them) comprises rotating the retaining lock with respect to the support fixture via a threaded engagement between the retaining lock and the support fixture (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #74 (screw) is a thread screw).
Regarding Claim[s] 17, ‘Bernadet discloses all the claim limitations including: pivoting the ball and socket joint (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #18 (socket/ first ring/socket) #20 (second ring/ ball)) with respect to the support fixture (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #40 (first portion), and #44 (second portion)) until an indexing face (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #14.2 (second surface/ indexing face)) of an index component (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #58 (first pivoting ring) and #68 (second pivoting ring))/ indexing component) of the angularly adjustable support tool index (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #38.1 (angular positioning adjustment system/ angularly adjustable support tool)) is in a pivoted orientation in which the indexing face (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #14.2 (second surface/ indexing face)) is parallel to a surface of the at least one part (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #72 (bearing part/ part)) to which the angularly adjustable support tool index is secured (‘Bernadet, Fig 5); and moving the retaining lock (30) towards the shoulder of the bushing until the retaining lock (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, system of #74 (screw), #76 (tapped hole), #48 (centering system)/ retaining lock) contacts the shoulder (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, the face near #46 faces away from #58 & #68), thereby locking the angularly adjustable support tool index (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #38.1) in the pivoted orientation (‘Bernadet, Fig 5, #74 (screw) is a thread screw).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim[s] 18 is/are allowed. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not anticipate nor render obvious the combination set forth in the independent or dependent claims, specifically does not show: “inserting part of a displacement indicator through a first hole in a datum flange of a support fixture supporting a part clamped to an indexing face of an angularly adjustable support tool index, such that the displacement indicator contacts the part, wherein the angularly adjustable support tool index comprises:
an index component comprising an indexing face positioned against the part.”
The closest prior art is as cited were ‘Bernadet, ‘Bishop, ‘Colmagro, ‘Matignon, ‘Stone and ‘Roberts. ‘Bernadet, ‘Bishop, ‘Colmagro, ‘Matignon, ‘Stone and ‘Roberts do not teach inserting part of a displacement indicator through a first hole in a datum flange of a support fixture supporting a part clamped to an indexing face of an angularly adjustable support tool index, such that the displacement indicator contacts the part, wherein the angularly adjustable support tool index comprises, an index component comprising an indexing face positioned against the part. Neither of these references provides the limitations above. Also, neither of these references anticipates nor renders obvious the combinations of limitations mentioned above. To modify the prior art would require improper hindsight and furthermore would destroy the workability of the references cited. Claims 19 & 20, are also allowed because they are dependent on claim 18.
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art neither anticipates nor renders obvious the combination of limitations found in claim 6 with the limitations of claim 1. Specifically, the prior art does not teach the combination of limitations wherein "removing an additional bushing from between the retaining lock and a retainer for an installation pin; and pivoting the indexing face of the angularly adjustable support tool index to a pivoted orientation, wherein the removing the additional bushing is performed before the pivoting the indexing face.”
The closest prior art is as cited were ‘Bernadet, ‘Bishop, ‘Colmagro, ‘Matignon, ‘Stone and ‘Roberts. ‘Bernadet, ‘Bishop, ‘Colmagro, ‘Matignon, ‘Stone and ‘Roberts do not teach removing an additional bushing from between the retaining lock and the retainer.
Neither of these references anticipates nor renders obvious the combinations of limitations mentioned above. Furthermore, Examiner finds no motivation found to modify the prior art to include the specific limitations of dependent claims 7 & 8. To modify the prior art would require improper hindsight and furthermore would destroy the workability of the references cited.
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art neither anticipates nor renders obvious the combination of limitations found in claim 10 with the limitations of claim 1. Specifically, the prior art does not teach the combination of limitations wherein "installing a threaded retainer on an end of the installation pin to lock the at least one part in place against the index component, such that the installation pin extends through the threaded retainer, wherein the threaded retainer engages the bushing opposite the index component, and wherein the threaded retainer engages threads on the end of the installation pin.”
The closest prior art is as cited were ‘Bernadet, ‘Bishop, ‘Colmagro, ‘Matignon, ‘Stone and ‘Roberts. ‘Bernadet, ‘Bishop, ‘Colmagro, ‘Matignon, ‘Stone and ‘Roberts do not teach: installing a threaded retainer on an end of the installation pin to lock the at least one part in place against the index component, such that the installation pin extends through the threaded retainer, wherein the threaded retainer engages the bushing opposite the index component, and wherein the threaded retainer engages threads on the end of the installation pin.
Neither of these references anticipates nor renders obvious the combinations of limitations mentioned above. Furthermore, Examiner finds no motivation found to modify the prior art to include the specific limitations of dependent claim 11. To modify the prior art would require improper hindsight and furthermore would destroy the workability of the references cited.
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art neither anticipates nor renders obvious the combination of limitations found in claim 12 with the limitations of claim 1. Specifically, the prior art does not teach the combination of limitations wherein "wherein the securing the angularly adjustable support tool index comprises securing a plurality of angularly adjustable support tool indexes to the at least one part, and wherein the method further comprises inserting a respective installation pin through a respective through-hole of each respective angularly adjustable support tool index of the plurality of angularly adjustable support tool indexes, wherein each respective through-hole extends through the index component, the trapped ball and socket joint, and the bushing of the respective angularly adjustable support tool index, such that each respective installation pin extends through a respective hole in the at least one part to secure the part against the indexing face of each respective angularly adjustable support tool index.”
The closest prior art is as cited were ‘Bernadet, ‘Bishop, ‘Colmagro, ‘Matignon, ‘Stone and ‘Roberts. ‘Bernadet, ‘Bishop, ‘Colmagro, ‘Matignon, ‘Stone and ‘Roberts do not teach: securing the angularly adjustable support tool index (10) comprises securing a plurality of angularly djustable support tool indexes to the at least one part, and wherein the method further comprises inserting a respective installation pin through a respective through-hole of each respective angularly adjustable support tool index (10) of the plurality of angularly adjustable support tool indexes, wherein each respective through-hole extends through the index component, the trapped ball and socket joint, and the bushing of the respective angularly adjustable support tool index, such that each respective installation pin extends through a respective hole in the at least one part to secure the part against the indexing face of each respective angularly adjustable support tool index.”
Neither of these references anticipates nor renders obvious the combinations of limitations mentioned above. To modify the prior art would require improper hindsight and furthermore would destroy the workability of the references cited.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
‘Bishop, ‘Colmagro, ‘Matignon, ‘Stone and ‘Roberts do not teach the limitations of the claims objected to or allowed.
Examiner encourages Applicant to fill out and submit form PTO-SB-439 to allow internet communications in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 (MPEP 02.03). Should the need arise to perfect applicant-proposed or examiner’s amendments, authorization for e-mail correspondence would have already been authorized and would save time.
/LAWRENCE AVERICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799
08/04/2026