This action is in response to the documents received June 9, 2025 and the preliminary amendment received on August 21, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the sensor" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-19, 21-23 and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BOUDREAUX et al. (US 2021/0186498).
Diagram I
In reference to claim 16, figure 87 of BOUDREAUX et al. discloses a surgical stapling assembly 37200 including a first jaw 36220 and a second jaw 36230, a staple cartridge 37400 having a cartridge body 37420 supported within the first jaw 36220, the cartridge body 37420 comprising: a longitudinal slot extending through a deck surface of the cartridge body 37420, the longitudinal slot configured to receive at least a portion of a knife 37450 therethrough during a fire stroke; a plurality of staple cavities (see Diagram I above) defined in the deck surface, a plurality of staples 37410 removable stored therein; a sled 37730 movable longitudinally through the cartridge body 37420 to eject the plurality of staples 37410 from the staple cavities; and a longitudinally translatable support 37720 positioned within the longitudinal slot and configured to transfer clamping pressure (paragraph [0614]) via top cam 37729 from second jaw 36230 to the first jaw 36220.
Regarding claim 17, paragraph [0617] of BOURDREAUX et al. discloses the top cam 37729 of the longitudinal translatable support 37720 pre-positioned within a high-load zone of the firing stroke prior to the firing stroke.
With respect to claim 18, BOURDREAUX et al. further discloses the longitudinal translatable support 37720 pushed distally by the sled 37740.
Diagram II
In reference to claim 19, figure 8 and paragraph [0605] of BOURDREAUX et al discloses an embodiment of a surgical stapling assembly comprising a sled 1730 movable longitudinally through a longitudinal slot of a cartridge body to eject staples therefrom; and a longitudinally translatable support (see Diagram II above) having a sensor (e.g. RFID tag).
Regarding claims 21 and 23, figure 87 of BOUDREAUX et al. discloses a surgical stapling assembly 37200 having a cartridge body 37420 comprising: a longitudinal slot extending through a deck surface of the cartridge body 37420, the longitudinal slot configured to receive at least a portion of a knife 37450 therethrough during a fire stroke; a plurality of staple cavities (see Diagram I above) defined in the deck surface, a plurality of staples 37410 removable stored therein; a sled 37730 movable longitudinally through the cartridge body 37420 to eject the plurality of staples 37410 from the staple cavities; and a cartridge support column 37720 positioned within the longitudinal slot and configured to transfer a clamping load (paragraph [0614]) via top cam 37729 through the cartridge body 37420 as the sled 37730 pushes the cartridge support column 37720 through the longitudinal slot.
With respect to claim 22, figure 87 of BOUDREAUX et al. discloses a surgical stapling assembly 37200 having a cartridge body 37420 comprising: a longitudinal slot extending through a deck surface of the cartridge body 37420, the longitudinal slot configured to receive at least a portion of a knife 37450 therethrough during a fire stroke; a plurality of staple cavities (see Diagram I above) defined in the deck surface, a plurality of staples 37410 removable stored therein; a sled 37440 movable longitudinally through the cartridge body 37420 to eject the plurality of staples 37410 from the staple cavities; and a cartridge support column 37720 positioned in a spaced pre-position from the sled 37440 within the longitudinal slot and configured to transfer a clamping load (paragraph [0614]) via top cam 37729 through the cartridge body 37420 as the cartridge support column 37720 moves through the longitudinal slot.
In reference to claims 25-28, BOURDREAUX et al. further discloses the sled (I; see Diagram III below) having a shoulder that supports a proximally extending protrusion of the support column such that the shoulder is nestably interlocked with the protrusion during a portion of the firing stroke; and the sled further having a wedge with a distal end, the support column positioned proximal to the distal end.
Diagram III
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over BOUDREAUX et al. (US 2021/0186498) in view of ESCHBACH (US 2021/0212681).
In reference to claim 20, figure 8 and paragraph [0605] of BOURDREAUX et al discloses an embodiment of a surgical stapling assembly comprising a sled 1730 movable longitudinally through a longitudinal slot of a cartridge body to eject staples therefrom; and a longitudinally translatable support (see Diagram II above) having a sensor (e.g. RFID tag). BOURDREAUX et al. does not disclose the sensor having a closed circuit as claimed.
ESCHBACH teaches a surgical stapling assembly comprising a sled movable longitudinally through a longitudinal slot of a cartridge body to eject staples therefrom; and a longitudinally translatable support 317 configured to exert a load on an anvil during a clamped position, wherein a sensor can be positioned on a surface 318 of the support (figure 4B; paragraph [0064]) that contacts tissue in the clamped position (paragraphs [0051-0052]) such that a closed circuit is established to detect a clamp load. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have modified the sensor of BOURDREAUX et al. to complete/close a circuit upon clamping of the surgical stapling assembly since paragraph [0007] of ESCHBACH suggests that such a modification allows effective control of the surgical stapling assembly for the purpose of preventing damage to both the assembly and tissue clamped therebetween.
Regarding claim 24, figure 8 and paragraph [0605] of BOURDREAUX et al discloses an embodiment of a surgical stapling assembly comprising a sled 1730 movable longitudinally through a longitudinal slot of a cartridge body to eject staples therefrom; and a cartridge support column (see Diagram II above) having a sensor (e.g. RFID tag) that monitors the position of the support column. BOURDREAUX et al. does not disclose the sensor configured to measure a clamping force.
ESCHBACH teaches a surgical stapling assembly comprising a sled movable longitudinally through a longitudinal slot of a cartridge body to eject staples therefrom; and a longitudinally translatable support 317 configured to exert a load on an anvil during a clamped position, wherein a force sensor can be positioned on a surface 318 of the support (figure 4B; paragraph [0064]) that contacts tissue in the clamped position (paragraphs [0051-0052]) such that a closed circuit is established to detect a clamp load. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have modified the sensor of BOURDREAUX et al. to detect a force/load upon clamping of the surgical stapling assembly since paragraph [0007] of ESCHBACH suggests that such a modification allows effective control of the surgical stapling assembly for the purpose of preventing damage to both the assembly and tissue clamped therebetween.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to the attached PTO-892 for a notice of references cited and recommended for consideration based on their disclosure of limitations related to the claimed invention.
Other helpful telephone numbers are listed for applicant's benefit:
Allowed Files & Publication (888) 786-0101
Assignment Branch (800) 972-6382
Certificates of Correction (703) 305-8309
Fee Questions (571) 272-6400
Inventor Assistance Center (800) PTO-9199
Petitions/special Programs (571) 272-3282
Information Help line 1-800-786-9199
/GLORIA R WEEKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
March 23, 2026