DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “A splicing display module, comprising”, which should have been “A splicing display module, comprising: ” instead.
Claim 18 recites “wherein the splicing display module comprises a first display module and a second display module spliced to each other, the second display module is partially disposed on the second substrate”, which should have been “wherein the splicing display module comprises the first display module and the second display module spliced to each other, the second display module is partially disposed on the second substrate” instead.
Claim 19 recites “wherein the first display module comprises a first substrate and a second substrate disposed opposite to each other, the first substrate comprises a main body and an extension portion, the main body and the second substrate are disposed opposite to each other, the extension portion is disposed to extend beyond the edge of the second substrate, a driving trace is disposed on the extension portion; the second display module is at least disposed on the extension portion and is connected with the driving trace”, which should have been “wherein the first display module comprises the first substrate and the second substrate disposed opposite to each other, the first substrate comprises the main body and the extension portion, the main body and the second substrate are disposed opposite to each other, the extension portion is disposed to extend beyond the edge of the second substrate, the driving trace is disposed on the extension portion; the second display module is at least disposed on the extension portion and is connected with the driving trace” instead
Claim 20 recites “wherein the first display module comprises a first substrate and a second substrate disposed opposite to each other, the first substrate comprises a main body and an extension portion, the main body and the second substrate are disposed opposite to each other, the extension portion is disposed to extend beyond the edge of the second substrate, a driving trace is disposed on the extension portion”, which should have been “wherein the first display module comprises the first substrate and the second substrate disposed opposite to each other, the first substrate comprises the main body and the extension portion, the main body and the second substrate are disposed opposite to each other, the extension portion is disposed to extend beyond the edge of the second substrate, the driving trace is disposed on the extension portion” instead
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Fig. 1 is inconsistent with Fig. 5. Fig. 1 shows a first sub-portion 211 is on the right and has thicker portion while a second sub-portion 212 is on the left with thinner portion, but Fig. 5 shows the opposite. Also, 212 in Fig. 1 appear to point to right end of upper polarizer 13. Based on claim 3, it appears Fig. 5 should be the correct drawing.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
“a plurality of first transistors are disposed in the main body, a plurality of second transistors are disposed in the extension portion, the first transistor is disposed on the same layer with the second transistor” in claim 8,
“a first end of the first substrate is spaced apart from a second end of the first substrate adjacent thereto, and wherein the first end is close to the second end” in claim 15,
“a plurality of first transistors are disposed in the main body, a plurality of second transistors are disposed in the extension portion, the first transistor is disposed on the same layer with the second transistor” in claim 19
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites “wherein a first end of the first substrate is spaced apart from a second end of the first substrate adjacent thereto, and wherein the first end is close to the second end”. It’s unclear what this limitation is claiming. Also, Fig. 1 shows first substrate 12 has a left end and a right end, and the two ends are neither adjacent nor close to each other. Thus, claim 15 can’t be examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2018/0173036; hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Hu (CN 114822286).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a splicing display module (Figs. 1-14), comprising:
a first display module (such as left 110 in Fig. 11) and a second display module (such as 200b in Fig. 11) spliced to each other, wherein the first display module comprises a first substrate (111 and/or 115, Fig. 11) and a second substrate (117 and/or 113, Fig. 11) disposed opposite to each other,
the first substrate comprises a main body (main body under AA in Fig. 11) and an extension portion (extension portion under IA not overlapping 117 and 113 in Fig. 11), the main body and the second substrate are disposed opposite to each other (as shown in Fig. 11), the extension portion is disposed to extend beyond the edge of the second substrate (as shown in Fig. 11), a driving trace (not explicit, but must have driving trace in extension portion to connect to PP; can refer PP in Fig. 1; [0077]: “… driving circuit 300 may be connected to the pad part PP…”) is disposed on the extension portion;
the second display module is at least disposed on the extension portion (200b on IA as shown in Fig. 11).
Kim does not teach the second display module is connected with the driving trace. However, Hu teaches a splicing display module (Figs. 1-12), comprising: a second display module (20, Figs. 6, 8 and 10-11) is at least disposed on an extension portion (extension of 103, Fig. 8; can refer to Fig. 11) and is connected with a driving trace (same as trace in 201 of 20, can refer to Fig. 6 or Fig. 10) on the extension portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second display module is connected with the driving trace in Kim, as taught by Hu, in order to provide better display by reducing gap and improving seam continuity.
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Hu teaches the splicing display module according to claim 1, and Kim further teaches wherein the second display module (200b) is partially disposed on the second substrate (200b on 117 and/or 113 as shown in Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Hu teaches the splicing display module according to claim 1, and Kim further teaches wherein a plurality of first transistors are disposed in the main body, a plurality of second transistors are disposed in the extension portion, the first transistor is disposed on the same layer with the second transistor (inside 111; see [0045-0047]: “…a thin film transistor (TFT)…”).
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Hu teaches the splicing display module according to claim 1, and Kim further teaches wherein the second display module is disposed to extend beyond the edge of the extension portion (as shown in Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of Hu teaches the splicing display module according to claim 1, and Kim further teaches wherein the second substrate (117 and/or 113) comprises a display area (AA, Figs. 10-12B) and a non-display area (IA, Figs. 10-12B), the non-display area is disposed to surround the display area (surround AA, can refer to Figs. 10-12B), the second display module covers the non-display area of one side of the second substrate close to the extension portion (see BA cover IA in Fig. 11), and the second display module partially covers the display area of one side of the second substrate close to the extension portion (as shown in Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Hu teaches the splicing display module according to claim 10, and Kim further teaches wherein the first display module further comprises an upper polarizer (117, Fig. 11), the upper polarizer is disposed on the surface of the second substrate away from the first substrate (as shown in Fig. 11), the second display module covers an end of the upper polarizer close to the extension portion ( as shown in Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Hu teaches the splicing display module according to claim 10, and Kim further teaches wherein an end of the upper polarizer close to the extension portion is disposed between the second substrate and the second display module (117 between 113 and 200b as shown in Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of Hu teaches the splicing display module according to claim 1, and the modified Kim further teaches wherein the splicing display module further comprises: a first driving circuit board (300, Fig. 11 of Kim), electrically connected with the main body, the first driving circuit board is configured to drive the main body ([0077]); and a second driving circuit board (250, Fig. 4 of Kim), electrically connected with the extension portion (as modified in above Hu in claim 1 with the driving trace), the second driving circuit board is configured to drive the second display module.
Regarding claim 14, Kim in view of Hu teaches the splicing display module according to claim 1, and Kim further teaches wherein in the thickness direction of the first display module, the main body overlaps with the second substrate (AA overlap 117 and/or 113), and the extension portion does not overlap with the second substrate (extension of 111 and/or 115 have extension portion not overlapping with 117 and/or 113 in Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 16, Kim in view of Hu teaches the splicing display module according to claim 1, and Kim further teaches wherein the first display module further comprises a lower polarizer (115, Fig. 11), the lower polarizer is disposed on the surface of the first substrate away from the second substrate (as shown in Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 17, Kim in view of Hu teaches the splicing display module according to claim 1, and Kim further teaches a display device (display device shown in Figs. 10, 12A and 12B), wherein the display device comprises the splicing display module according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, Kim in view of Hu teaches the display device according claim 17, and Kim further teaches wherein the splicing display module comprises the first display module (left 110 in Fig. 11) and the second display module (200b) spliced to each other, the second display module is partially disposed on the second substrate (200b on 117 and/or 113 as shown in Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 19, Kim in view of Hu teaches the display device according to claim 18, and Kim further teaches wherein the first display module comprises the first substrate (111 and/or 115, Fig. 11) and the second substrate (117 and/or 113, Fig. 11) disposed opposite to each other, the first substrate comprises the main body (main body under AA in Fig. 11) and the extension portion (extension portion under IA not overlapping 117 and 113 in Fig. 11), the main body and the second substrate are disposed opposite to each other, the extension portion is disposed to extend beyond the edge of the second substrate (as shown in Fig. 11), the driving trace (not explicit, but must have driving trace in extension portion to connect to PP; can refer PP in Fig. 1; [0077]: “… driving circuit 300 may be connected to the pad part PP…”) is disposed on the extension portion; the second display module is at least disposed on the extension portion (200b on IA as shown in Fig. 11) and is connected with the driving trace (as established in above claim 1 by Hu); a plurality of first transistors are disposed in the main body, a plurality of second transistors are disposed in the extension portion, the first transistor is disposed on the same layer with the second transistor (inside 111; see [0045-0047]: “…a thin film transistor (TFT)…”).
Regarding claim 20, Kim in view of Hu teaches the display device according to claim 18, and Kim further teaches wherein the first display module comprises the first substrate (111 and/or 115, Fig. 11) and the second substrate (117 and/or 113, Fig. 11) disposed opposite to each other, the first substrate comprises the main body (main body under AA in Fig. 11) and the extension portion (extension portion under IA not overlapping 117 and 113 in Fig. 11), the main body and the second substrate are disposed opposite to each other (as shown in Fig. 11), the extension portion is disposed to extend beyond the edge of the second substrate (as shown in Fig. 11), the driving trace (not explicit, but must have driving trace in extension portion to connect to PP; can refer PP in Fig. 1; [0077]: “… driving circuit 300 may be connected to the pad part PP…”) is disposed on the extension portion; the second display module is at least disposed on the extension portion (200b on IA as shown in Fig. 11) and is connected with the driving trace (as established in claim 1 by Hu); the second display module is disposed to extend beyond the edge of the extension portion (as shown in Fig. 11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Re claims 3-7, prior arts do not teach or suggest the combination of the splicing display module according to claim 3, in particular, wherein the second display module comprises a conductive substrate and a plurality of light-emitting components, the light- emitting component is disposed on the surface of the conductive substrate away from the first substrate, the conductive substrate comprises: a first sub-portion, disposed on the second substrate; a second sub-portion, disposed the extension portion; wherein, the surface of the first sub-portion away from the first substrate is flush with the surface of the second sub-portion away from the first substrate, the surface of the second sub- portion close to the first substrate protrudes from the surface of the first sub-portion close to the first substrate.
Conclusion
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841