Information Disclosure Statement
A correction was made to NPL #6 on the IDS filed 6/10/25 as the Bross NPL should be L1001-v7, not L1011-v7 as listed based on the 227 page NPL filed 1/28/22 in the parent application (no. 17/352,127).
Claim Interpretation
The Examiner would like to note that the method steps of claims 12-19 do not have to be given weight because there is no functional relationship between the medium and the computer (see MPEP 2111.05(III) titled MACHINE-READABLE MEDIA). The non-transitory computer readable storage medium serves as a support for the data (i.e. the bitstream) which is not used by the computer for any other purpose. The non-transitory computer readable storage medium is merely serving as support for data. However, in the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner has included citations below.
The Examiner recommends adding instructions stored on the non-transitory computer-readable medium which cause a processor to execute the method steps listed in the claim to generate a bitstream.
Regarding claim 11, the Examiner notes that half of claim 11 is not required as a result of the “or” in the middle.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,363,338 in view of Xu et al. (U.S. 2020/0120353), hereinafter Xu and Bross, Benjamin, et al. ("Versatile Video Coding (Draft 3)", Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) of ITU-T SG 16 WP 3 and ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 11, Document Jvet-L1001-v7, 12th Meeting: Macao, CN, Oct. 3-12, 2018), hereinafter Bross. An NPL copy of Bross has been attached.
The instant application’s additional limitations have been mapped with motivation below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the U.S. Patent’s method with the missing limitations as taught by Xu to reduce redundancy in the input video signal through video compression (Xu [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the U.S. Patent’s method with the missing limitations as taught by Joshi to store data for use later in the coding process in a computer system (Joshi [0148]).
As shown above, all of the limitations are known, they can be applied to a known device such as a processor to yield a predictable result of creating more accurate luma and chroma motion vectors or arrays.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Joshi et al. (U.S. 2016/0182913), hereinafter Joshi.
Regarding claim 12, Joshi discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a bitstream (Joshi [0148]) to be decoded by the method for video decoding according to claim 1 executed by a processor (see Claim Interpretation section above).
Regarding claim 13, Joshi discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 12, wherein determining the color sampling format of the video data comprises:
determining the color sampling format of the video data according to identification information corresponding to the color sampling format of the video data in a bitstream (see Claim Interpretation section above).
Regarding claim 14, Joshi discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 12, wherein the method for video decoding further comprises:
invoking a rounding process with the motion vectors of the corresponding luma subblocks as an input, wherein the average luma motion vector is derived using the rounded motion vectors (see Claim Interpretation section above).
Regarding claim 15, Joshi discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 12, wherein the method for video decoding further comprises:
left shifting the motion vectors of control points of the corresponding luma subblocks to obtain left shifted luma motion vectors, wherein the motion vectors of the corresponding luma subblocks are derived using the left shifted luma motion vectors (see Claim Interpretation section above).
Regarding claim 16, Joshi discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 12, wherein the method for video decoding further comprises:
deriving an affine motion vector for a luma subblock out of the plurality of luma subblocks using a control point based affine motion model (see Claim Interpretation section above).
Regarding claim 17, Joshi discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a bitstream (Joshi [0148]) generated by the method for video encoding according to claim 6 executed by a processor (see Claim Interpretation section above).
Regarding claim 18, Joshi discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the method for video decoding further comprises:
invoking a rounding process with the motion vectors of the corresponding luma subblocks as an input, wherein the average luma motion vector is derived using the rounded motion vectors (see Claim Interpretation section above).
Regarding claim 19, Joshi discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the method for video decoding further comprises:
left shifting the motion vectors of control points of the corresponding luma subblocks to obtain left shifted luma motion vectors;
wherein the motion vectors of the corresponding luma subblocks are derived using the left shifted luma motion vectors (see Claim Interpretation section above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (U.S. 2020/0120353), hereinafter Xu in view of Chen et al. (U.S. 2020/0260108), hereinafter Chen and Bross, Benjamin, et al. ("Versatile Video Coding (Draft 3)", Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) of ITU-T SG 16 WP 3 and ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 11, Document Jvet-L1001-v7, 12th Meeting: Macao, CN, Oct. 3-12, 2018), hereinafter Bross. An NPL copy of Bross has been attached.
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses a method for video decoding, comprising:
receiving video data that is arranged in a plurality of luma subblocks and a plurality of chroma subblocks, wherein each chroma subblock corresponds to one or more luma subblocks (Xu [0026] and fig. 8), wherein the video data has a color sampling format (Xu [0067] and [0113]), and the corresponding luma subblocks are derived according to the color sampling format (Xu [0113], [0117] and fig. 10);
determining the color sampling format of the video data (Xu [0067]); and
deriving an affine motion vector for a chroma subblock out of the plurality of chroma subblocks using an average luma motion vector obtained by averaging motion vectors of the corresponding luma subblocks (Xu [0113]);
wherein the averaging the motion vectors of the corresponding luma subblocks uses motion vectors from different luma subblocks under different color sampling formats (Xu [0113] and [0067]), and
wherein
in the case that the color sampling format is 4:2:0, the average luma motion vector is derived by taking an average of motion vectors of four corresponding luma subblocks (Xu [0113]).
Xu discloses multiple color sampling formats ([0067]) and deriving an affine motion vectors for a chroma block using an average of corresponding luma blocks, which in the case of 4:2:0 is one chroma block is derived from four corresponding luma blocks ([0113]). Xu does not explicitly disclose the corresponding blocks for the 4:4:4 and 4:2:2 formats.
However, Bross teaches deriving an affine motion vector for a chroma subblock out of the plurality of chroma subblocks using an average luma motion vector obtained by averaging motion vectors of the corresponding luma subblocks (Bross p. 142, equation 8-639 and surrounding text);
wherein the averaging the motion vectors of the corresponding luma subblocks uses motion vectors from different luma subblocks under different color sampling formats (Bross p. 142, equation 8-639 and surrounding text, p. 14, Table 6-1 and text underneath and surrounding text and pgs. 15-16, figs. 6-1 to 6-3 and surrounding text), and
wherein
in the case that the color sampling format is 4:4:4, the average luma motion vector is a motion vector of one corresponding luma subblock (Bross p. 142, equation 8-639 and surrounding text, p. 14, Table 6-1 and text underneath and surrounding text and pgs. 15-16, figs. 6-1 to 6-3 and surrounding text), and
in the case that the color sampling format is 4:2:2, the average luma motion vector is derived by taking an average of motion vectors of two corresponding luma subblocks (Bross p. 142, equation 8-639 and surrounding text, p. 14, Table 6-1 and text underneath and surrounding text and pgs. 15-16, figs. 6-1 to 6-3 and surrounding text).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu’s method with the missing limitations as taught by Bross to create more accurate luma and chroma arrays based on the color sampling format (Bross p. 14, section 6.2).
As shown above, all of the limitations are known, they can be applied to a known device such as a processor to yield a predictable result of creating more accurate luma and chroma motion vectors or arrays.
Regarding claim 2, Xu in view of Bross teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the color sampling format of the video data comprises:
determining the color sampling format of the video data according to identification information corresponding to the color sampling format of the video data in a bitstream (Bross p. 14, section 6.2).
The same motivation for claim 1 applies to claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Xu in view of Bross teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
invoking a rounding process with the motion vectors of the corresponding luma subblocks as an input (Bross p. 111, section 8.3.2.14 and p. 142, top), wherein the average luma motion vector is derived using the rounded motion vectors (Bross p. 142, top).
The same motivation for claim 1 applies to claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Xu in view of Bross teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
left shifting the motion vectors of control points of the corresponding luma subblocks to obtain left shifted luma motion vectors (Bross p. 135 bottom to p. 136 top and p. 142, top),
wherein the motion vectors of the corresponding luma subblocks are derived using the left shifted luma motion vectors (Bross p. 142, top).
The same motivation for claim 1 applies to claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Xu in view of Bross teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
deriving an affine motion vector for a luma subblock out of the plurality of luma subblocks using a control point based affine motion model (Bross p. 136, section 8.3.4.7).
The same motivation for claim 1 applies to claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Xu discloses a method for video encoding, comprising:
arranging video data in a plurality of luma subblocks and a plurality of chroma subblocks, wherein each chroma subblock corresponds to one or more luma subblocks (Xu [0026] and fig. 7), wherein the video data has a color sampling format (Xu [0067] and [0113]), and the corresponding luma subblocks are derived according to the color sampling format (Xu [0113], [0117] and fig. 10);
determining the color sampling format of the video data (Xu [0067]); and
deriving an affine motion vector for a chroma subblock out of the plurality of chroma subblocks using an average luma motion vector obtained by averaging motion vectors of the corresponding luma subblocks (Xu [0113]);
wherein the averaging the motion vectors of the corresponding luma subblocks uses motion vectors from different luma subblocks under different color sampling formats (Xu [0113] and [0067]), and
wherein
in the case that the color sampling format is 4:2:0, the average luma motion vector is derived by taking an average of motion vectors of four corresponding luma subblocks (Xu [0113]).
Xu discloses multiple color sampling formats ([0067]) and deriving an affine motion vectors for a chroma block using an average of corresponding luma blocks, which in the case of 4:2:0 is one chroma block is derived from four corresponding luma blocks ([0113]). Xu does not explicitly disclose the corresponding blocks for the 4:4:4 and 4:2:2 formats.
However, Bross teaches deriving an affine motion vector for a chroma subblock out of the plurality of chroma subblocks using an average luma motion vector obtained by averaging motion vectors of the corresponding luma subblocks (Bross p. 142, equation 8-639 and surrounding text);
wherein the averaging the motion vectors of the corresponding luma subblocks uses motion vectors from different luma subblocks under different color sampling formats (Bross p. 142, equation 8-639 and surrounding text, p. 14, Table 6-1 and text underneath and surrounding text and pgs. 15-16, figs. 6-1 to 6-3 and surrounding text), and
wherein
in the case that the color sampling format is 4:4:4, the average luma motion vector is a motion vector of one corresponding luma subblock (Bross p. 142, equation 8-639 and surrounding text, p. 14, Table 6-1 and text underneath and surrounding text and pgs. 15-16, figs. 6-1 to 6-3 and surrounding text), and
in the case that the color sampling format is 4:2:2, the average luma motion vector is derived by taking an average of motion vectors of two corresponding luma subblocks (Bross p. 142, equation 8-639 and surrounding text, p. 14, Table 6-1 and text underneath and surrounding text and pgs. 15-16, figs. 6-1 to 6-3 and surrounding text).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu’s apparatus with the missing limitations as taught by Bross to create more accurate luma and chroma arrays based on the color sampling format (Bross p. 14, section 6.2).
As shown above, all of the limitations are known, they can be applied to a known device such as a processor to yield a predictable result of creating more accurate luma and chroma motion vectors or arrays.
Regarding claim 7, Xu in view of Bross teaches the method of claim 6, further comprising:
transmitting identification information corresponding to the color sampling format of the video data in a bitstream (claim 7 recites analogous limitations to claim 2 above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise. Furthermore, claim 7 discloses an inverse of decoding and Xu discloses both encoding and decoding methods (Xu figs. 7-8).
The same motivation for claim 6 applies to claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Xu in view of Bross teaches the method of claim 6, further comprising:
invoking a rounding process with the motion vectors of the corresponding luma subblocks as an input, wherein the average luma motion vector is derived using the rounded motion vectors (see claim 3).
The same motivation for claim 6 applies to claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Xu in view of Bross teaches the method of claim 6, further comprising:
left shifting the motion vectors of control points of the corresponding luma subblocks to obtain left shifted luma motion vectors,
wherein the motion vectors of the corresponding luma subblocks are derived using the left shifted luma motion vectors (see claim 4).
The same motivation for claim 6 applies to claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Xu in view of Bross teaches the method of claim 6, further comprising:
deriving an affine motion vector for a luma subblock out of the plurality of luma subblocks using a control point based affine motion model (see claim 5).
The same motivation for claim 6 applies to claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, Xu in view of Bross teaches an apparatus for video coding, comprising:
a processor (Xu [0162]); and
a memory configured to store instructions executable by the processor (Xu [0162]),
wherein the processor, upon execution of the instructions (Xu [0162]), is configured to perform a method for video decoding (Xu fig. 8) comprising:
receiving video data that is arranged in a plurality of luma subblocks and a plurality of chroma subblocks, wherein each chroma subblock corresponds to one or more luma subblocks (Xu [0026] and fig. 8), wherein the video data has a color sampling format (Xu [0067] and [0113]), and the corresponding luma subblocks are derived according to the color sampling format (Xu [0113], [0117] and fig. 10);
determining the color sampling format of the video data (Xu [0067]); and
deriving an affine motion vector for a chroma subblock out of the plurality of chroma subblocks using an average luma motion vector obtained by averaging motion vectors of the corresponding luma subblocks (Xu [0113]);
or
the processor, upon execution of the instructions, is configured to perform a method for video encoding comprising:
arranging video data in a plurality of luma subblocks and a plurality of chroma subblocks, wherein each chroma subblock corresponds to one or more luma subblocks, wherein the video data has a color sampling format, and the corresponding luma subblocks are derived according to the color sampling format;
determining the color sampling format of the video data; and
deriving an affine motion vector for a chroma subblock out of the plurality of chroma subblocks using an average luma motion vector obtained by averaging motion vectors of the corresponding luma subblocks,
wherein the averaging the motion vectors of the corresponding luma subblocks uses motion vectors from different luma subblocks different color sampling formats, and
wherein
in the case that the color sampling format is 4:4:4, the average luma motion vector is a motion vector of one corresponding luma subblock, and
in the case that the color sampling format is 4:2:2, the average luma motion vector is derived by taking an average of motion vectors of two corresponding luma subblocks (see claims 6, 1 and Claim Interpretation section above).
The same motivation for claims 1 or 6 applies to claim 11.
Regarding claim 20, Xu in view of Bross teaches a method for storing a bitstream, comprising:
generating a bitstream by performing the method for video encoding according to claim 6 (see claim 6); and
storing the bitstream on a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (Xu [0048]-[0049], [0160] and [0162]).
The same motivation for claim 6 applies to claim 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Liu et al. (U.S. 2016/0227245) teaches vector averaging for 4:2:2 and 4:2:0 formats ([0023]).
/MATTHEW K KWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482