DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 4 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 11, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,346,600. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent require all the limitations of the claims of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0379922 (hereinafter Kumar) in view of US Patent No. 11,513,723 (hereinafter Muthiah), and further in view of US Patent No. 10,896,136 (hereinafter Bae).
As per claim 1, Kumar teaches a first memory module (Kumar; Figure 2 Item 250-0 “Memory”) communicating with a host (Kumar; Figure 2 Items 250-0 “CPUs”) through a first interface (Kumar; Paragraph [0030]); and a second memory module (Kumar; Figure 2 Item 260) communicating with the host through a second interface (Kumar; Paragraph [0016]), wherein the first memory module comprises: a memory device (Kumar; Figure 2 Item 250-0 “Memory”); and a memory controller (Kumar; Figure 2 Item 200) configured to prefetch data stored in the second memory module into the memory device based on access pattern information of the host for the memory device (Kumar; Paragraph [0030]).
Kumar does not explicitly teach the memory device including a plurality of zones allocated by the host and the first memory module comprises the memory controller.
However, Muthiah teaches a memory system in which a memory device includes a plurality of zones allocated by a host (Muthiah; Col 3 Lines 46 – 58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kumar to include the memory zones because doing so allows for avoiding memory conflicts.
Kumar in combination with Muthiah does not explicitly teach that the memory module comprises the memory controller.
However, Bae teaches a memory prefetching system in which the memory module (Bae; Figure 3 Item 200) includes the memory controller (Bar; Figure 3 Item 215).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kumar in combination with Muthiah to include the memory controller within the memory device because doing so would be an ordinary design and system layout choice one would encounter when implementing such a system.
As per claim 3, Kumar teaches a first memory module (Kumar; Figure 2 Item 250-0 “Memory”) communicating with a host (Kumar; Figure 2 Items 250-0 “CPUs”) through a first interface (Kumar; Paragraph [0030]); and a second memory module (Kumar; Figure 2 Item 260) communicating with the host through a second interface (Kumar; Paragraph [0016]), wherein the second memory module comprises: a memory device (Kumar; Figure 2 Item 250-0 “Memory”); and a memory controller (Kumar; Figure 2 Item 200) configured to provide the first memory module with data stored in the plurality of zones based on access pattern information of the host for the memory device (Kumar; Paragraph [0030]).
Kumar does not explicitly teach the memory device including a plurality of zones allocated by the host and the second memory module comprises the memory controller.
However, Muthiah teaches a memory system in which a memory device includes a plurality of zones allocated by a host (Muthiah; Col 3 Lines 46 – 58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kumar to include the memory zones because doing so allows for avoiding memory conflicts.
Kumar in combination with Muthiah does not explicitly teach that the second memory module comprises the memory controller.
However, Bae teaches a memory prefetching system in which the memory module (Bae; Figure 3 Item 200) includes the memory controller (Bar; Figure 3 Item 215).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kumar in combination with Muthiah to include the memory controller within the memory device because doing so would be an ordinary design and system layout choice one would encounter when implementing such a system.
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0379922 (hereinafter Kumar) in view of US Patent No. 11,513,723 (hereinafter Muthiah).
As per claim 2, Kumar teaches a first memory module (Kumar; Figure 2 Item 250-0 “Memory”), which communicates with a host (Kumar; Figure 2 Items 250-0 “CPUs”) through a first interface (Kumar; Paragraph [0030]), and prefetching data stored in a second memory module (Kumar; Figure 2 Item 260), which communicates with the host through a second interface (Kumar; Paragraph [0016]), into each of the plurality of zones based on access pattern information of the host for each of the plurality of zones.
Kumar does not explicitly teach the allocating a storage area of a first memory module into a plurality of zones according to a core, a thread, or an application of the host.
However, Muthiah teaches a memory system in which a storage area of a first memory module into a plurality of zones according to a core, a thread, or an application of the host (Muthiah; Col 1 Lines 39 – 49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kumar to include the memory zones because doing so allows for avoiding memory conflicts.
As per claim 4, Kumar teaches a second memory module (Kumar; Figure 2 Item 260), which communicates with a host through a second interface (Kumar; Paragraph [0016]); and prefetching data (Kumar; Paragraph [0030]) stored in the second memory into a first memory module (Kumar; Figure 2 Item 250-0 “Memory”), which communicates with the host (Kumar; Figure 2 Items 250-0 “CPUs”) through a first interface (Kumar; Paragraph [0030]), based on access pattern information of the host for each of the plurality of zones.
Kumar does not explicitly teach the allocating a storage area of a second memory module into a plurality of zones according to a core, a thread, or an application of the host.
However, Muthiah teaches a memory system in which a storage area of a first memory module into a plurality of zones according to a core, a thread, or an application of the host (Muthiah; Col 1 Lines 39 – 49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kumar to include the memory zones because doing so allows for avoiding memory conflicts.
Conclusion
/RICHARD B FRANKLIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2181