DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
In response to communications filed on 22 July 2026, claims 1-12 are presently pending in the application, of which, claims 1, 5 and 9 are presented in independent form. The Examiner acknowledges that no claims were amended, cancelled, or newly.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
All objections and/or rejections issued in the previous Office Action, mailed 22 April 2026, have been withdrawn, unless otherwise noted in this Office Action. That is, arguments and/or amendments presented by the Applicant were deemed persuasive and therefore have been withdrawn.
The Examiner acknowledges the non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection will be held in abeyance, until allowable subject matter has been identified. For the purposes of prosecution, the Examiner will maintain a copy of the double patenting rejection in subsequent correspondences.
Applicants’ arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 1-12 under 35 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) have been considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues:
Dageville does not teach or suggest the feature of ‘process by a version reclaim-leader, a release event from a sequence of release events, each release event comprising information about a database node and a version released by the database node,’ as recited in independent claim 1, and similarly in corresponding independent claims 5 and 9.
The Examiner disagrees. Dageville discloses process, by a version reclaim-leader, a release event from a sequence of release events (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0074-0077], which discloses a resource manager that manages data replication requests, database failover, and database fail back, where the manager may manage, where when, see paragraphs [0088-0094], the manager includes determine the snapshot and version of the particular data. Additionally, see paragraph [0046], which discloses a new version of the tables is generated after each transaction is executed, where each version of the table may include metadata indicating what transaction generated the table, when the transaction was ordered, when the transaction was fully executed, and how the transaction altered one or more rows in the table. The Examiner notes that such versions includes node and transaction identifiers and where the Examiner equates this as characteristics of a release event, where the release event, see Applicant’s disclosure Figure 7, where the release event includes a transaction ID and node ID.), each release event comprising information about a database node and a version released by the database node (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0046-0049], which discloses a database table that may store data in a plurality of micro-partitions, where after a transaction is fully executed, any original micro-partitions that were recreated may then be removed from the database. The table may undergo many versions over a period of time if the data in the table undergoes many changes. Additionally, see paragraph [0046], which discloses a new version of the tables is generated after each transaction is executed, where each version of the table may include metadata indicating what transaction generated the table, when the transaction was ordered, when the transaction was fully executed, and how the transaction altered one or more rows in the table, are instances of the release event information.).
Dageville does not teach or suggest the feature of ‘continuously update, by the version reclaim-leader, a list of database nodes that have released the version until the version has been released by each of the database nodes in the database cluster, providing the version is recognized by the version reclaim leader and provided the version is not reclaimed,’ as recited in independent claim 1, and similarly in corresponding independent claims 5 and 9.
The Examiner disagrees. Dageville discloses continuously update (e.g. Dageville, see paragraph [0046], which discloses the table may under many versions over a time period if the data in the table undergoes many changes, such as inserts, deletes, and/or merges.), by the version reclaim-leader, a list of database nodes that have released the version until the version has been released by each of the database nodes in the database cluster (e.g. Dageville, see paragraph [0049], which discloses table versions data set includes a mapping of table versions to lists of added micro-partitions and removed micro-partitions. See further paragraph [0107-0108], which discloses tracking the new version of table T, which includes a list of nodes, in which they are executed on, as further illustrated in paragraph [0083].), provided the version is recognized by the version reclaim leader and provided the version is not reclaimed (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0074-0077], which discloses a resource manager that manages data replication requests, database failover, and database fail back, where the manager may manage, where when, see paragraphs [0088-0094], the manager includes determine the snapshot and version of the particular data.).
Dageville does not teach or suggest the feature of ‘generate, by the version reclaim-leader, one or more cleanup transactions for the version,’ as recited in independent claim 1, and similarly in corresponding independent claims 5 and 9.
The Examiner disagrees. Dageville discloses generate, by the version reclaim-leader, one or more cleanup transactions for the version (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0101-0105], which discloses a snapshot that is associated to a transaction log that logs the multiple times transactions were processed, including a rollback flag indicating the latest version of the data. See further paragraphs [0110-0111], which discloses the transaction writes the transaction log record to the database which can be considered a hard point of no return, the committing state is entered and a new version becomes readable.).
No other argument was presented by the Applicant and therefore the Examiner maintains the rejection below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,360,971 (known hereinafter as ‘971). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the claims in ‘971 recites the limitations that anticipate all of the limitations of the instant claims.
Instant Application 19/233,024
12,360,971
Claim 9:
A computer-implemented method for distributed version reclaim in a database cluster comprising a plurality of database nodes, the method comprising:
Claim 1:
A computer-implemented method for distributed version reclaim in a database cluster comprising a plurality of database nodes, the method comprising:
process, by a version reclaim-leader, a release event from a sequence of release events, each release event comprising information about a database node and a version released by the database node;
sending, by each database node that no longer needs a respective version, a release event to an event log, thereby producing a plurality of release events in the event log, the release event comprising a version number of the respective version, a database node identifier of the respective database node, and a transaction ID;
continuously update, by the version reclaim-leader, a list of database nodes that have released the version until the version has been released by each of the database nodes in the database cluster,
continuously consuming, by a version reclaim-leader, the plurality of release events from the event log including, obtaining, by the version reclaim-leader, an unprocessed event from the event log;
obtaining, by the version reclaim-leader, the respective version from a payload of the unprocessed event;
provided the respective version is other than recognized by the version-reclaim leader,
obtaining, by the version reclaim-leader, a respective transaction ID from the payload of the unprocessed event;
replicating a state of the database node, by the version reclaim-leader, based on sequentially applying all transactions preceding the respective transaction ID for recognizing the respective version;
where the respective version remains other than recognized by the version-reclaim leader, obtain a next unprocessed event;
provided the version is recognized by the version reclaim leader and provided the version is not reclaimed;
provided the respective version is recognized by the version-reclaim leader and other than reclaimed,
obtaining, by the version reclaim-leader, the respective database node from the payload of the unprocessed event;
adding, by the version-reclaim leader, to a received events map, the respective database node, provided the respective database node is not present in the received events map;
determining, by the version reclaim-leader, whether a version has been released by each database node of the plurality of database nodes;
generate, by the version reclaim-leader, one or more cleanup transactions for the version;
generating, by the version reclaim-leader, one or more cleanup transactions for the version when the version reclaim-leader determines that the version has been released by each database node;
commit, by the version reclaim-leader, the one or more cleanup transactions to a transaction log;
committing, by the version reclaim-leader, the one or more cleanup transactions to a transaction log;
continuously replicate, by each database node, the one or more cleanup transactions from the transaction log; and
continuously replicating, by each database node, the one or more cleanup transactions from the transaction log; and
apply, by each database node, the one or more cleanup transactions for the version.
applying, by each database node, the one or more cleanup transactions for the version.
Claims 1-12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,068,810 (known hereinafter as ‘810). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the claims in ‘810 recites the limitations that anticipate all of the limitations of the instant claims.
Instant Application 19/233,024
12,306,810
Claim 9:
A computer-implemented method for distributed version reclaim in a database cluster comprising a plurality of database nodes, the method comprising:
Claim 1:
A computer-implemented method for distributed version reclaim in a database cluster comprising a plurality of database nodes, the method comprising:
process, by a version reclaim-leader, a release event from a sequence of release events, each release event comprising information about a database node and a version released by the database node;
sending, by each database node in response to each of said database node having decreased a respective reference count associated with that no longer needs a respective version to a minimum threshold, a release event to an event log,
continuously update, by the version reclaim-leader, a list of database nodes that have released the version until the version has been released by each of the database nodes in the database cluster,
continuously consuming, by a version reclaim-leader, the plurality of release events from the event log including, obtaining, by the version reclaim-leader, an unprocessed event from the event log;
provided the version is recognized by the version reclaim leader and provided the version is not reclaimed;
thereby producing a plurality of release events in the event log, the release event comprising a version number of the respective version and a database node identifier of the respective database node, wherein each of the respective reference count of each of the respective database node is private to the respective database node
determining, by the version reclaim-leader, whether a version has been released by each database node of the plurality of database nodes;
generate, by the version reclaim-leader, one or more cleanup transactions for the version;
generating, by the version reclaim-leader, one or more cleanup transactions for the version when the version reclaim-leader determines that the version has been released by each database node;
commit, by the version reclaim-leader, the one or more cleanup transactions to a transaction log;
committing, by the version reclaim-leader, the one or more cleanup transactions to a transaction log;
continuously replicate, by each database node, the one or more cleanup transactions from the transaction log; and
continuously replicating, by each database node, the one or more cleanup transactions from the transaction log; and
apply, by each database node, the one or more cleanup transactions for the version.
applying, by each database node, the one or more cleanup transactions for the version.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Dageville, Beniot, et al (U.S. 2020/0012659 and known hereinafter as Dageville).
As per claim 1, Dageville teaches a system for distributed version reclaim in a database cluster comprising a plurality of database nodes, the system comprising:
a processor; and
a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, configure the system to:
process, by a version reclaim-leader, a release event from a sequence of release events (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0074-0077], which discloses a resource manager that manages data replication requests, database failover, and database fail back, where the manager may manage, where when, see paragraphs [0088-0094], the manager includes determine the snapshot and version of the particular data.), each release event comprising information about a database node and a version released by the database node (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0046-0049], which discloses a database table that may store data in a plurality of micro-partitions, where after a transaction is fully executed, any original micro-partitions that were recreated may then be removed from the database. The table may undergo many versions over a period of time if the data in the table undergoes many changes.);
continuously update, by the version reclaim-leader, a list of database nodes that have released the version until the version has been released by each of the database nodes in the database cluster (e.g. Dageville, see paragraph [0049], which discloses table versions data set includes a mapping of table versions to lists of added micro-partitions and removed micro-partitions.), provided the version is recognized by the version reclaim leader and provided the version is not reclaimed (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0074-0077], which discloses a resource manager that manages data replication requests, database failover, and database fail back, where the manager may manage, where when, see paragraphs [0088-0094], the manager includes determine the snapshot and version of the particular data.);
generate, by the version reclaim-leader, one or more cleanup transactions for the version (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0101-0105], which discloses a snapshot that is associated to a transaction log that logs the multiple times transactions were processed, including a rollback flag indicating the latest version of the data.);
commit, by the version reclaim-leader, the one or more cleanup transactions to a transaction log (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0103-0107], which discloses a transaction log that is associated with database replication in which the transaction includes one or more commits or modifications indicating a cleanup transaction.);
continuously replicate, by each database node, the one or more cleanup transactions from the transaction log (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0105-0109], which discloses the transaction log may be stored on a primary and secondary storage, thereby indicating a replication, in which the transaction log contains one or more commits, where each commit may be a cleanup transaction.); and
apply, by each database node, the one or more cleanup transactions for the version (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0108-0111], which discloses successfully writing to the remote storage the transaction log indicating the appropriate table version after the write to remote storage has occurred.).
As per claim 5, Dageville teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for distributed version reclaim in a database cluster comprising a plurality of database nodes, the computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a computer, cause the computer to:
process, by a version reclaim-leader, a release event from a sequence of release events (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0074-0077], which discloses a resource manager that manages data replication requests, database failover, and database fail back, where the manager may manage, where when, see paragraphs [0088-0094], the manager includes determine the snapshot and version of the particular data.), each release event comprising information about a database node and a version released by the database node (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0046-0049], which discloses a database table that may store data in a plurality of micro-partitions, where after a transaction is fully executed, any original micro-partitions that were recreated may then be removed from the database. The table may undergo many versions over a period of time if the data in the table undergoes many changes.);
continuously update, by the version reclaim-leader, a list of database nodes that have released the version until the version has been released by each of the database nodes in the database cluster (e.g. Dageville, see paragraph [0049], which discloses table versions data set includes a mapping of table versions to lists of added micro-partitions and removed micro-partitions.), provided the version is recognized by the version reclaim leader and provided the version is not reclaimed (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0074-0077], which discloses a resource manager that manages data replication requests, database failover, and database fail back, where the manager may manage, where when, see paragraphs [0088-0094], the manager includes determine the snapshot and version of the particular data.);
generate, by the version reclaim-leader, one or more cleanup transactions for the version (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0101-0105], which discloses a snapshot that is associated to a transaction log that logs the multiple times transactions were processed, including a rollback flag indicating the latest version of the data.);
commit, by the version reclaim-leader, the one or more cleanup transactions to a transaction log (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0103-0107], which discloses a transaction log that is associated with database replication in which the transaction includes one or more commits or modifications indicating a cleanup transaction.);
continuously replicate, by each database node, the one or more cleanup transactions from the transaction log (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0105-0109], which discloses the transaction log may be stored on a primary and secondary storage, thereby indicating a replication, in which the transaction log contains one or more commits, where each commit may be a cleanup transaction.); and
apply, by each database node, the one or more cleanup transactions for the version (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0108-0111], which discloses successfully writing to the remote storage the transaction log indicating the appropriate table version after the write to remote storage has occurred.).
As per claim 9, Dageville teaches a computer-implemented method for distributed version reclaim in a database cluster comprising a plurality of database nodes, the method comprising:
process, by a version reclaim-leader, a release event from a sequence of release events (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0074-0077], which discloses a resource manager that manages data replication requests, database failover, and database fail back, where the manager may manage, where when, see paragraphs [0088-0094], the manager includes determine the snapshot and version of the particular data.), each release event comprising information about a database node and a version released by the database node (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0046-0049], which discloses a database table that may store data in a plurality of micro-partitions, where after a transaction is fully executed, any original micro-partitions that were recreated may then be removed from the database. The table may undergo many versions over a period of time if the data in the table undergoes many changes.);
continuously update, by the version reclaim-leader, a list of database nodes that have released the version until the version has been released by each of the database nodes in the database cluster (e.g. Dageville, see paragraph [0049], which discloses table versions data set includes a mapping of table versions to lists of added micro-partitions and removed micro-partitions.), provided the version is recognized by the version reclaim leader and provided the version is not reclaimed (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0074-0077], which discloses a resource manager that manages data replication requests, database failover, and database fail back, where the manager may manage, where when, see paragraphs [0088-0094], the manager includes determine the snapshot and version of the particular data.);
generate, by the version reclaim-leader, one or more cleanup transactions for the version (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0101-0105], which discloses a snapshot that is associated to a transaction log that logs the multiple times transactions were processed, including a rollback flag indicating the latest version of the data.);
commit, by the version reclaim-leader, the one or more cleanup transactions to a transaction log (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0103-0107], which discloses a transaction log that is associated with database replication in which the transaction includes one or more commits or modifications indicating a cleanup transaction.);
continuously replicate, by each database node, the one or more cleanup transactions from the transaction log (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0105-0109], which discloses the transaction log may be stored on a primary and secondary storage, thereby indicating a replication, in which the transaction log contains one or more commits, where each commit may be a cleanup transaction.); and
apply, by each database node, the one or more cleanup transactions for the version (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0108-0111], which discloses successfully writing to the remote storage the transaction log indicating the appropriate table version after the write to remote storage has occurred.).
As per claims 2, 6, and 10, Dageville teaches the system of claim 1, the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 5, and the method of claim 9, respectively, wherein when the version is not initially recognized by the version reclaim-leader during processing of the release event, the system is further configured to:
obtain, by the version reclaim-leader from the release event, a transaction ID associated with the release event (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0046-0049], which discloses a database table that may store data in a plurality of micro-partitions, where after a transaction is fully executed, any original micro-partitions that were recreated may then be removed from the database. The table may undergo many versions over a period of time if the data in the table undergoes many changes.); and
replicate, by the version reclaim-leader, a state of the database node based on sequentially applying all transactions preceding the transaction ID, thereby enabling recognition of the version by the version reclaim-leader (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0074-0077], which discloses a resource manager that manages data replication requests, database failover, and database fail back, where the manager may manage, where when, see paragraphs [0088-0094], the manager includes determine the snapshot and version of the particular data.).
As per claims 3, 7, and 11, Dageville teaches the system of claim 1, the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 5, and the method of claim 9, respectively, wherein when releasing the version by the database node, the system is further configured to:
decrease, by the database node, a reference count for the version until the reference count reaches a minimum threshold (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0074-0077], which discloses a resource manager that manages data replication requests, database failover, and database fail back, where the manager may manage, where when, see paragraphs [0088-0094], the manager includes determine the snapshot and version of the particular data.).
As per claims 4, 8, and 12, Dageville teaches the system of claim 1, the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 5, and the method of claim 9, respectively, wherein the release event comprises a version number of the version, and a database node identifier of the database node (e.g. Dageville, see paragraphs [0074-0077], which discloses a resource manager that manages data replication requests, database failover, and database fail back, where the manager may manage, where when, see paragraphs [0088-0094], the manager includes determine the snapshot and version of the particular data.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See attached PTO-892 that includes additional prior art of record describing the general state of the art in which the invention is directed to.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/FARHAN M SYED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2161 September 17, 2026