DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Ikemoto reference (US Patent Publication No. 2003/0159434) in view of the Osaki reference (US Patent No. 9,297,288).
4. Regarding claim 1, the Ikemoto reference discloses:
a control device (21) for a vehicle equipped with an internal combustion engine (1) including an upstream catalytic device (16) installed in an exhaust passage (14) and a downstream catalytic device (18) installed in the exhaust passage (14) at a position downstream (FIG. 1), the control device (21) comprising a processing circuit [Paragraph 0056], wherein the processing circuit [Paragraph 0056] is configured to perform a process of changing content of control on the vehicle so as to promote execution of a fuel cut of the internal combustion engine [Paragraph 0061—fuel injection stop means] when a condition for desorbing a gas accumulated on the upstream catalytic device (16) is satisfied [Paragraph 0076] and the downstream catalytic device is inactive [Paragraph 0082].
The Ikemoto reference discloses the invention as essentially claimed. However, the Ikemoto reference discloses burning off occluded oxygen and not sulfur.
The Osaki reference teaches it is conventional in the art of catalytic converters in (Column 1, lines 45-55) that the metal material in a catalytic material can include oxygen and sulfur and therefore burning off the occluded oxygen would burn off sulfur (Column 1, lines 45-55). Such configurations/structures would allow regeneration of the catalyst.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the device of the Ikemoto reference, such that the device further includes sulfur, as clearly suggested and taught by the Osaki reference, in order to allow regeneration of the catalyst.
5. Regarding claim 2, the Ikemoto reference further discloses:
wherein the process is a process of easing an execution condition for the fuel cut of the internal combustion engine [Paragraph 0061].
6. Regarding claim 3, the Ikemoto reference further discloses:
the internal combustion engine (1) is configured to execute the fuel cut on a condition that a coolant temperature of the internal combustion engine is equal to or higher than a predetermined temperature [Paragraph 0059]; and the processing circuit (21) is configured to change the predetermined temperature to a low temperature in the process of easing the execution condition (implicitly disclosed by explicit disclosure of fuel cut—this would stop the engine which would lower temperatures).
7. Regarding claim 4, the Ikemoto reference further discloses:
the internal combustion engine is configured to execute the fuel cut on a condition that an accelerator operation amount is equal to or less than a predetermined operation amount; and the processing circuit is configured to change the predetermined operation amount to a large value in the process of easing the execution condition [Paragraph 0093].
8. Regarding claim 5, the Ikemoto reference further discloses:
wherein the vehicle is configured such that the internal combustion engine (1) and an electric motor together generate a driving force for the vehicle, and the process is a process of changing an output distribution between the internal combustion engine and the electric motor such that the electric motor generates the driving force. The examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art of vehicles to use a combination of an electric motor and an internal combustion engine for propulsion and to sometimes have the hybrid vehicle run completely on electric while the internal combustion engine is disengaged for the purpose of at least fuel savings.
Conclusion
/CHARLES JOSEPH BRAUCH/
Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747