DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the applicant’s filing on 06/10/2025.
Claim 1 is pending and examined below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/10/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,987,486. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the U.S. Patent discloses all the same limitations as claimed in the present claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 1 line 10, the phrase “an open exit port of tunnel” appears to be a typographical error and should be written as “an open exit port or tunnel”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by reference Berry (3,809,768).
Regarding claim 1, Berry discloses an apparatus (figure) for processing sealed plastic containers (R) having a first headspace, wherein the apparatus (figure) comprises:
an open entry port (8) or tunnel for continuously receiving containers (R);
a sanitizer (10) configured to sanitize outside surfaces of the received containers by sterilization or pasteurization;
a perforator (5) configured to perforate or open a cap or seal of the containers (R) within the apparatus (figure);
a sealer (7) configured to seal the perforation or opening formed in the cap or seal of the containers (R);
an open exit port (9) or tunnel for continuously exiting the processed containers (R); and
a conveyor system (col 2 ln 54) configured to transporting or convey the containers (R) from the open entry port or tunnel (8), through and within the apparatus (figure), to the open exit port or tunnel (9) and away from the sanitized environment of the apparatus (figure),
wherein the apparatus is configured to:
maintain a sanitized environment of the containers (R) within the apparatus (figure);
maintain a sanitized environment of the containers, caps or seals of the containers within the perforator; and
maintain a sanitized environment of the containers (R), caps or seals of the containers (R) within the sealer.
(Figure and Column 2 lines 42-44, 49-54, 64-70, Column 3 lines 1-8, 15-23)
In column 2 lines 49-51, Berry discloses a slight over-pressure is created within the containers. Therefore, Berry is interpreted to disclose the containers have a first headspace pressure.
In column 3 lines 1-8, Berry discloses the environment within the enclosure (4) is maintained as a sterilized environment. Therefore, Berry is interpreted to disclose the process of maintaining a sanitized environment of the containers and the caps or seals.
Conclusion
/PATRICK B FRY/Examiner, Art Unit 3731 March 5, 2026
/SHELLEY M SELF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3731