Detailed Action
This action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 03/02/2026. Claims 1-2, 8, 9, 12 and 14-19 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Applicant is invited to contact examiner and discus claim amendments during an interview in order to place claims in condition for allowance and thereby expedite prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU (US 2024/0015659) in view of Tenny (US 2008/0318596) and further in view of 3GPP R2-2110262 (identified in the IDS submitted on 03/02/2026 as document D2. Hereinafter 3GPP).
Referring to claim 1, ZHOU discloses a first device (abstract, Par. 8, 58, 72, “electronic device”, “user equipment”, “relay UE”, “remote user equipment”, note that any of the user equipment and/or remote user equipment read on the first device), comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code (FIG. 4-9, 22-25 and Par. 226 and 246, “processor”, “memory”, note that smart phone and the remote user equipment depicted in the indicated figures perform complex electronic communications based on instructions and program applications, thus they include the memory and the processor to execute the instruction); wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the first device to:
receive, from a second device, first information indicating at least one wake-up interval (Par. 9, 78, “receive … a duration of a wakeup state”, “receive sleep parameters and a start time of a next wakeup state of the electronic equipment, where the sleep parameters include a duration of a sleep state and a duration of a wakeup state”, note that the remote user equipment receives next wakeup state from electronic equipment 500 via relay user equipment, as described in paragraph 78. Further note that “duration of a wakeup state” is equivalent to the wake-up interval)
which is determined based on location information of the first device and orbit information of at least one non-terrestrial network device (Par. 87, “the determination unit 530 may determine the start time of the next wakeup state of the relay user equipment and the sleep parameters of the relay user equipment according to ephemeris information of each satellite equipment”, “Specifically, the determination unit 530 may determine time instants when each satellite equipment is located above the relay user equipment according to the ephemeris information of each satellite equipment, so as to determine the start time of the next wakeup state of the relay user equipment and the sleep parameters of the relay user equipment, so that each time the relay user equipment is in the wakeup state, there exists satellite equipment above the relay user equipment and serving the relay user equipment”. Note that the ephemeris data includes orbit information, as its core function is to provide the position and velocity of an orbiting body (such as a satellite or a non-terrestrial device) at specific times. Further, note that the next wakeup state is determined based on time instants when each satellite equipment is located above the relay user equipment, thus, the wake-up interval is determined based on location information of the relay device relative to the satellite equipment. Further, note that the next wake-up state is determined such that during the time interval that the satellite is above the relay UE, the relay UE is awake, thus, the wake-up interval is determined based on location of the device relative to the satellite equipment and based on the orbital information of the satellite);
determine to attempt to detect the at least one non-terrestrial network device according to the at least one wake-up interval (ZHOU, FIG. 11 and Par. 92, 123, “determines whether there exists satellite equipment capable of serving the relay UE when the relay UE wakes up next”, “relay UE determines a start time of a next wakeup state and determines whether there exists satellite equipment capable of serving the relay UE when the relay UE wakes up next, so as to determine whether the sleep parameters need to be adjusted.” Note that satellite equipment is equivalent to the non-terrestrial network device. With regard to wake-up interval, note that the UE determines to find a satellite that can serve the UE during the time the UE is awake which reads on the wake-up interval).
ZHOU is silent on the specific claim language: “transmit the location information of the first device to the second device”.
In an analogous art, Tenny discloses a first device configured to transmit the location information of the first device to the second device (FIG. 2A-2B, Par. 34, 77, “UE 110 may send its position estimate directly to home base station 120 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 2A).” Note that the UE 110 is equivalent to the first device and base station is equivalent to the second device).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of ZHOU by incorporating the teachings of Tenny, for the purpose of enabling the network to manage load balancing and provide enhanced operational efficiency, improved network traffic management and location-based services. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
The above combination is not relied on for disclosing: determine location information comprising at least one: a set of current locations of the first device and a set of projected locations of the first device.
3GPP discloses determine location information comprising at least one : a set of current locations of the first device and a set of projected locations of the first device (Secion 2.2, “Based on the satellite assistance information, UE location and its movement, the UE can predict when and where it will be out of coverage”, note that the UE predicts where it will be based on its current location, thus, the UE determined its current location. With regard to set of locations, note that a set can include only one item, thus, determining the current location reads on the claim language).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination by incorporating the teachings of 3GPP, for the purpose of enabling the network and the device predict location and to prepare what coverage is available in that predicted location. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 14, the combination of ZHOU/Tenny/3GPP discloses the first device of claim 1, wherein the first device comprises a terminal device and the second device comprises a network device (Tenny, FIG. 2A-2B, Par. 34, 77, “UE 110 may send its position estimate directly to home base station 120 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 2A).” Here note that the UE 110 is the terminal device and base station 120 is the network device).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of ZHOU by incorporating the teachings of Tenny, for the purpose of enabling the network to communicate with wireless device and enable the network to provide enhanced operational efficiency and location-based services. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU (US 2024/0015659) in view of Tenny (US 2008/0318596) further in view of 3GPP R2-2110262 (identified in the IDS submitted on 03/02/2026 as D2), and further in view of Liin (US 2017/0006424).
Referring to claim 2, the combination of ZHOU/Tenny/3GPP discloses the first device of claim 1.
The above combination is silent with claim language: wherein the location information further indicates at least one of: a traffic type of the first device, an application type of the first device, a battery status of the first device, or a silent period of the first device where the monitoring is not performed.
In analogous art, Liin discloses location information further indicates at least one of: a traffic type of the first device, an application type of the first device, a battery status of the first device, or a silent period of the first device where the monitoring is not performed (claim 4, “the location information signal includes status information, wherein the status information is one or more of a battery level”, note that based on the alternative claim language it is sufficient for prior art to show only one of the alternative, in this case, the battery status which is equivalent battery level).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination by incorporating the teachings of Liin, for the purpose of enabling the network to manage streaming and select communication protocols that use power efficiently. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU (US 2024/0015659) in view of Tenny (US 2008/0318596), in view of 3GPP R2-2110262 (identified in the IDS submitted on 03/02/2026 as D2), and further in view of HONG (US 2024/0163754).
Referring to claim 8, the combination of ZHOU/Tenny/3GPP discloses the first device of claim 1.
The above combination is silent on claim language: wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: receive from the second device third information: a type of the at least one non-terrestrial network device, an initial arrival direction of the at least one non-terrestrial network device, or an ephemeris of the at least one non-terrestrial network device.
In an analogous art, HONG discloses a first device to: receive from the second device third information: a type of the at least one non-terrestrial network device, an initial arrival direction of the at least one non-terrestrial network device, or an ephemeris of the at least one non-terrestrial network device (Par. 94, “the terminal may receive the ephemeris information sent by the base station in real time. Here, the ephemeris information may be information associated with the satellite's position and/or motion state”, note that because of the alternative claim language (e.g., or) is sufficient for prior art to disclose only one the alternative, in this case the alternative limitation an ephemeris of the at least one non-terrestrial network device is discloses. Further note that Hong’s disclosure of receiving by terminal ephemeris information associated with the satellite’s position is equivalent to an ephemeris of the at least one non-terrestrial network device).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination by incorporating the teachings of HONG, for the purpose of enabling the first device of ZHOU and Tenny to accurately determine the position and velocity of satellites and its own position based on the current satellite information. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU (US 2024/0015659) in view of Tenny (US 2008/0318596), in view of 3GPP R2-2110262 (identified in the IDS submitted on 03/02/2026 as D2), and further in view of Wu (US 2022/0369222).
Referring to claim 9, the combination of ZHOU/Tenny/3GPP discloses the first device of claim 1.
The above combination is silent on wherein the at least one memory and the computer 2program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: perform a measurement during the at least one wake-up interval; and select a cell based on the measurement.
In an analogous art, Wu discloses a first device to: perform a measurement during the at least one wake-up interval; and select a cell based on the measurement (Par. 28, “UE may perform measurements using each receive beam and select a secondary cell based on performing the measurements”, note that UE is equivalent to the first device. Further note that the UE performs a measurement, thus, it must be awake or during a one wake-up interval).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination by incorporating the teachings of Wu, for the purpose of enabling the first device to maintain communication with the cell that has the best measurement results allowing efficient usage of communication resources and preventing signal deterioration. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU (US 2024/0015659) in view of Tenny (US 2008/0318596), in view of 3GPP R2-2110262 (identified in the IDS submitted on 03/02/2026 as D2), and further in view of Wu (US 2023/0121104, hereinafter Wu-2)
Referring to claim 12, the combination of ZHOU/Tenny3GPP discloses the first device of claim 1, but is silent on wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: receive the location information from the second device.
In an analogous art, Wu-2 discloses first device to: receive the location information from the second device (Par. 96, “the network (e.g., base station 205, a location management function (LMF), or the like) may determine the respective locations of UE 215-b, UE 215-c, or both, and base station 205 may transmit such locations to UE 215-b, UE 215-c, or both”, note base station 205 is equivalent to second device and UE 215-b is equivalent to the first device. Further, the base station sends location information of UE to the UE, thus, the UE receive the location information from the base station).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination by incorporating the teachings of Wu-2, for the purpose of enabling the first device to use the location information for location based services and further to determine other options of communication. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Claim(s) 15, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by ZHOU (US 2024/0015659) and further in view of 3GPP R2-2110262 (identified in the IDS submitted on 03/02/2026 as D2, hereinafter 3GPP).
Referring to claim 15, ZHOU discloses a second device (abstract, Par. 8, 58, 72, “electronic device”, “user equipment”, “relay UE”, note that the relay UE reads on the second device. Further, the electronic equipment in figure 5 can read on the second device), comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor (FIG. 4-9, 22-25 and Par. 226 and 246, “processor”, “memory”, note that smart phone and the electronic device depicted in the indicated figures perform complex electronic communications based on instructions and program applications, thus they include the memory and the processor to execute the instruction), cause the second device to:
determine, at the second device, at least one wake-up interval based on location information of a first device and orbit information of at least one non-terrestrial network device (ZHOU, Par. 87, “the determination unit 530 may determine the start time of the next wakeup state of the relay user equipment and the sleep parameters of the relay user equipment according to ephemeris information of each satellite equipment”, “Specifically, the determination unit 530 may determine time instants when each satellite equipment is located above the relay user equipment according to the ephemeris information of each satellite equipment, so as to determine the start time of the next wakeup state of the relay user equipment and the sleep parameters of the relay user equipment, so that each time the relay user equipment is in the wakeup state, there exists satellite equipment above the relay user equipment and serving the relay user equipment”. Note that the ephemeris data includes orbit information, as its core function is to provide the position and velocity of an orbiting body (such as a satellite or a non-terrestrial device) at specific times. Further, note that the next wakeup state is determined based on time instants when each satellite equipment is located above the relay user equipment, thus, the wake-up interval is determined based on location information of the relay device relative to the satellite equipment. Further, note that the next wake-up state is determined such that during the time interval that the satellite is above the relay UE, the relay UE is awake, thus, the wake-up interval is determined based on location of the device relative to the satellite equipment and based on the orbital information of the satellite); and
transmit, to the first device, first information indicating the at least one wake-up interval (Par. 9, 78, “receive … a duration of a wakeup state”, “receive sleep parameters and a start time of a next wakeup state of the electronic equipment, where the sleep parameters include a duration of a sleep state and a duration of a wakeup state”, note that the remote user equipment receives next wakeup state from electronic equipment 500 via relay user equipment, as described in paragraph 78. Further note that “duration of a wakeup state” is equivalent to the wake-up interval).
The above combination is not relied on for disclosing: the location information comprising at least one: a set of current locations of the first device and a set of projected locations of the first device.
3GPP discloses the location information comprising at least one : a set of current locations of the first device and a set of projected locations of the first device (Secion 2.2, “Based on the satellite assistance information, UE location and its movement, the UE can predict when and where it will be out of coverage”, note that the UE predicts where it will be based on its current location, thus, the UE determined its current location. With regard to set of locations, note that a set can include only one item, thus, determining the current location reads on the claim language).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination by incorporating the teachings of 3GPP, for the purpose of enabling the network and the device predict location and to prepare what coverage is available in that predicted location. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 18, ZHOU discloses a method (abstract, Par. 8-11, 58, 72, remote user equipment, note that figures 8-11 depict the method of communication performed by a first device e.g., remote user equipment), comprising:
receiving, at a first device and from a second device, first information indicating at least one wake-up interval (Par. 9, 78, “receive … a duration of a wakeup state”, “receive sleep parameters and a start time of a next wakeup state of the electronic equipment, where the sleep parameters include a duration of a sleep state and a duration of a wakeup state”, note that remote user equipment is equivalent to the first device and receives next wakeup state from electronic equipment 500 which is equivalent to a second device. Further note that the remote user equipment receives next wakeup state from electronic equipment 500 via relay user equipment, as described in paragraph 78. Further note that “duration of a wakeup state” is equivalent to the wake-up interval. The remote user equipment is the first device and electronic equipment 500 is the second device) which is determined based on location information of the first device and orbit information of at least one non-terrestrial network device (Par. 87, “the determination unit 530 may determine the start time of the next wakeup state of the relay user equipment and the sleep parameters of the relay user equipment according to ephemeris information of each satellite equipment”, “Specifically, the determination unit 530 may determine time instants when each satellite equipment is located above the relay user equipment according to the ephemeris information of each satellite equipment, so as to determine the start time of the next wakeup state of the relay user equipment and the sleep parameters of the relay user equipment, so that each time the relay user equipment is in the wakeup state, there exists satellite equipment above the relay user equipment and serving the relay user equipment”. Note that the ephemeris data includes orbit information, as its core function is to provide the position and velocity of an orbiting body (such as a satellite or a non-terrestrial device) at specific times. Further, note that the next wakeup state is determined based on time instants when each satellite equipment is located above the relay user equipment, thus, the wake-up interval is determined based on location information of the relay device relative to the satellite equipment. Further, note that the next wake-up state is determined such that during the time interval that the satellite is above the relay UE, the relay UE is awake, thus, the wake-up interval is determined based on location of the device relative to the satellite equipment and based on the orbital information of the satellite); and
determining to attempt to detect the at least one non-terrestrial network device according to the at least one wake-up interval (FIG. 11 and Par. 92, 123, “determines whether there exists satellite equipment capable of serving the relay UE when the relay UE wakes up next”, “relay UE determines a start time of a next wakeup state and determines whether there exists satellite equipment capable of serving the relay UE when the relay UE wakes up next, so as to determine whether the sleep parameters need to be adjusted.” Note that satellite equipment is equivalent to the non-terrestrial network device. With regard to wake-up interval, note that the UE determines to find a satellite that can serve the UE during the time the UE is awake which reads on the wake-up interval).
The above combination is not relied on for disclosing: determining location information comprising at least one : a set of current locations of the first device and a set of projected locations of the first device.
3GPP discloses determining location information comprising at least one : a set of current locations of the first device and a set of projected locations of the first device (Secion 2.2, “Based on the satellite assistance information, UE location and its movement, the UE can predict when and where it will be out of coverage”, note that the UE predicts where it will be based on its current location, thus, the UE determined its current location. With regard to set of locations, note that a set can include only one item, thus, determining the current location reads on the claim language).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination by incorporating the teachings of 3GPP, for the purpose of enabling the network and the device predict location and to prepare what coverage is available in that predicted location. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 19, ZHOU discloses a method (abstract, Par. 8-11, 58, 72, electronic equipment 500, note that figures 5, 8-11 depict the method of communication performed by an electronic equipment shown in figure 5), comprising:
determining, at a second device, at least one wake-up interval based on location information of a first device and orbit information of at least one non-terrestrial network device (Par. 87, “the determination unit 530 may determine the start time of the next wakeup state of the relay user equipment and the sleep parameters of the relay user equipment according to ephemeris information of each satellite equipment”, “Specifically, the determination unit 530 may determine time instants when each satellite equipment is located above the relay user equipment according to the ephemeris information of each satellite equipment, so as to determine the start time of the next wakeup state of the relay user equipment and the sleep parameters of the relay user equipment, so that each time the relay user equipment is in the wakeup state, there exists satellite equipment above the relay user equipment and serving the relay user equipment”. Note that the ephemeris data includes orbit information, as its core function is to provide the position and velocity of an orbiting body (such as a satellite or a non-terrestrial device) at specific times. Further, note that the next wakeup state is determined based on time instants when each satellite equipment is located above the relay user equipment, thus, the wake-up interval is determined based on location information of the relay device relative to the satellite equipment. Further, note that the next wake-up state is determined such that during the time interval that the satellite is above the relay UE, the relay UE is awake, thus, the wake-up interval is determined based on location of the device relative to the satellite equipment and based on the orbital information of the satellite); and transmitting, to the first device, first information indicating the at least one wake-up interval (Par. 9, 78, “receive … a duration of a wakeup state”, “receive sleep parameters and a start time of a next wakeup state of the electronic equipment, where the sleep parameters include a duration of a sleep state and a duration of a wakeup state”, note that the remote user equipment receives next wakeup state from electronic equipment 500 via relay user equipment, as described in paragraph 78. Further note that “duration of a wakeup state” is equivalent to the wake-up interval).
The above combination is not relied on for disclosing: the location information comprising at least one : a set of current locations of the first device and a set of projected locations of the first device.
3GPP discloses the location information comprising at least one: a set of current locations of the first device and a set of projected locations of the first device (Secion 2.2, “Based on the satellite assistance information, UE location and its movement, the UE can predict when and where it will be out of coverage”, note that the UE predicts where it will be based on its current location, thus, the UE determined its current location. With regard to set of locations, note that a set can include only one item, thus, determining the current location reads on the claim language).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination by incorporating the teachings of 3GPP, for the purpose of enabling the network and the device predict location and to prepare what coverage is available in that predicted location. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU (US 2024/0015659) in view of Tenny (US 2008/0318596) and further in view of 3GPP R2-2110262 (identified in the IDS submitted on 03/02/2026 as D2).
Referring to claim 16, the combo of ZHOU/3GPP discloses the second device of claim 15.
ZHOU is silent on claim language: wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the second device to: receive the location information of the first device from the first device.
In an analogous art, Tenny discloses the second device to: receive the location information of the first device from the first device (FIG. 2A-2B, Par. 34, 77, “UE 110 may send its position estimate directly to home base station 120 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 2A).” Note that the UE 110 is equivalent to the first device and base station is equivalent to the second device).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of ZHOU by incorporating the teachings of Tenny, for the purpose of enabling the network to manage load balancing and provide enhanced operational efficiency, improved network traffic management and location-based services. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 17, the combo of ZHOU/3GPP discloses the second device of claim 15.
Zhou is silent on limitation: wherein the first device comprises a terminal device and the second device comprises a network device.
In an analogous art, Tenny discloses the first device comprises a terminal device and the second device comprises a network device (FIG. 2A-2B, Par. 34, 77, “UE 110 may send its position estimate directly to home base station 120 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 2A).” Here note that the UE 110 is the terminal device and base station 120 is the network device).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of ZHOU by incorporating the teachings of Tenny, for the purpose of enabling the network to communicate with wireless device and enable the network to provide enhanced operational efficiency and location-based services. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted 03/02/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on June 25, 2015 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FRED A CASCA whose telephone number is (571)272-7918. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 9 to 5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/FRED A CASCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644