DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final First Office Action on the Merits in application 19/233,383, filed 6/10/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending and examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/28/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 32(see para. [00019]) and 80, 82 and 84(see para. [00028]). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 29(see Fig. para. [0019]). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “34” has been used to designate both prong and foot(see para. [0020]). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in paras. [0018] and [0019], “head portion” should be “mounting head”; and in paras. [0023] and [0024], “head portion” should be “mounting head”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 4, line 4, “bracing member” should be “a bracing member”; and in claim 15, lines 1-2, "A method for attaching a ceiling tile to a T-grid; providing a ceiling tile" should be "A method for attaching a ceiling tile to a T-grid, the method comprising: providing a ceiling tile.”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 2-14, line 1, “The T-grid clip” has no antecedent basis and should be changed to “The T-grid clip connector” to overcome the rejections.
In claims 5, 7, 17 and 18, line 1, “said head portion” has no antecedent basis and should be changed to “said mounting head”.
In claim 6, line 1, “said front edge” has no antecedent basis. By amending claim 6 to depend from claim 5 the rejection would be overcome.
In claim 10, line 1, “said edge” is not clear what edge is being referred to. By amending claim 10 to depend from claim 9 the rejection would be overcome.
In claim 20, 13 “at least one T-grip clip” is unclear how the connector and clip and tile interrelate rendering the metes and bounds of the claim unclear. By changing the phrase to “the clip connector” the rejection would be overcome.
In claims 16-20, line 1, “The T-grid clip” renders the metes and bounds unclear as to what is being defined as the claim to which claims 16-20 depends is a method claim rendering the metes and bounds of the claim unclear. By changing the phrase to “The method of claim 15” the rejections would be overcome.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-12 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wendt(U.S. Pat. Appl. Publ. 2006/0218871; cited on IDS filed 11/28/2025).
Wendt discloses a T-grid clip connector(17/21, see abstract, paras [0019] and [0020], and Figs. 1-2 and 11;) for attaching ceiling tiles(15, Figs. 1 and 11) to a T-grid (12, see para. [0018] and Figs. 1 and 11) comprising:
a body(26, see para [0020] and Fig. 8);
a mounting head(27, see para [0020] and Fig. 8) flexibly connected to said body(26, see para[0020] and Fig), said mounting head(27, Fig. 8) including a front portion(29, see Fig. 8 - the right portion of 27), a rear portion(31, see Fig. 8 - the left portion of 27), and an engagement portion(Fig. 8 - the bottom middle portion between surface 29 and recess 31), said rear portion(31, see Fig. 8 - the left portion of 27) being connected to said body (26, Fig. 8; Fig. 11 - the body of clip 17);
said mounting head(27, see Fig. 8) having a normal position(see Fig. 11 - the position of the mounting head) with respect to said body(26, Fig. 8) and a flexed position(see para. [0025] - rotation of the gripping elements 21) with respect to said body;
whereby said body(26, Fig. 8) is adapted to be mounted to a ceiling tile(15, see Figs. 1 and 11) and said mounting head(27, see Fig. 8) is adapted to engage a T-grid(12, Fig. 1, Fig. 11; para [0017]) when in said normal position(see Fig. 11 - the position of the mounting head), temporarily flex to said flexed position(see para. [0025] - rotation of the gripping elements 21) as said mounting head passes the T-grid, and return to said normal position and rest upon the T-grid after passing the T-grid to retain the ceiling tile(15, see Figs. 1 and 11) with respect to said T-grid(see para. [0025]).
Regarding claim 2, Wendt discloses the T-grid clip of claim 1, wherein said front portion(29, see Fig. 8 - the right portion of 27) is angled (29, see Fig. 8 - the angled portion 29).
Regarding claim 5, Wendt discloses the T-grid clip of claim 1, wherein said mounting head(27, see Fig. 8) includes a front edge(see Fig. 8 - the edge between the right portion of 27 and the bottom middle portion of 27) between said front portion(29, see Fig. 8 - the right portion of 27) and said engagement portion(see Fig. 8 - the bottom middle portion between surface 29 and recess 31).
Regarding claim 6, Wendt discloses the T-grid clip of claim 3/5, wherein said front edge(see Fig. 8 - the edge between the right portion of 27 and the bottom middle portion of 27) is curved.
Regarding claim 7, Wendt discloses the T-grid clip of claim 1, wherein said mounting head(27, see Fig. 8) includes a rear edge(see Fig. 8 - the edge between the left portion of 27 and the bottom middle portion of 27) between said rear portion(31, see Fig. 8 - the left portion of 27) and said engagement portion(see Fig. 8 - the bottom middle portion between surface 29 and recess 31).
Regarding claim 8, Wendt discloses the T-grid clip of claim 6, wherein said rear edge (Fig. 8 - the edge between the left portion of 27 and the bottom middle portion of 27) is curved (every point of inflection has a curvature, however small).
Regarding Claim 9, Wendt discloses the T-grid of claim 1, wherein said front portion(29, see Fig. 8 - the right portion of 27) and said rear portion(31, see Fig. 8 - the left portion of 27) are joined by an edge(Fig. 8 - the top edge between the left portion of 27 and the right portion of 27).
Regarding claim 10, Wendt discloses the T-grid of claim 8/9, wherein said edge(see Fig. 8 - the top edge between the left portion of 27 and the right portion of 27) is curved.
Regarding claim 11, Wendt discloses the T-grid of claim 1, wherein said engagement portion(see Fig. 8 - the bottom middle portion between surface 29 and recess 31) has a front edge (see Fig. 8 - the edge between the right portion of 27 and the bottom middle portion of 27) that is curved.
Regarding claim 12, Wendt discloses the T-grid of claim 1, wherein said engagement portion (see Fig. 8 - the bottom middle portion between surface 29 and recess 31) has a rear edge(see Fig. 8 - the edge between the left portion of 27 and the bottom middle portion of 27) that is curved.
Regarding claim 15, Wendt discloses, as best understood, a method(see abstract and Figs. 8 and 11) for attaching a ceiling tile(15, see Figs. 1 and 11) to a T-grid(12, see para. [0017] and Figs. 1 and 11), the method comprising:
providing a ceiling tile(15, see Figs. 1 and 11);
providing a T-grid (12, see para. [0017] and Figs. 1 and 11);
providing a clip connector(17/21, see para. [0020], abstract and Figs. 8 and 11) for attaching said ceiling tile(15, see Figs. 1 and 11) to said T-grid(12, see para. [0017] and Figs. 1 and 11), said clip connector of claim 1,
mounting said clip connector(see para. [0020], abstract and Figs. 8 and 11]) to said ceiling tile(15, see Figs. 1 and 11) by mounting said body(26, see Fig. 8; see Fig. 11 - the body of clip 17) to said ceiling tile;
engaging said mounting head(27, see Fig. 8) against said T-grid(12, see Figs. 1 and 11) when said mounting head(27, see Fig. 8) is in said normal position(see Fig. 11 - the position of the mounting head; see para [0025]);
pressing said mounting head(27, see Fig. 8) against said T-gri (12, see Figs. 1 and 11) and flexing said mounting head to said flexed position(see para [0025] - rotation of the gripping elements 21) as said mounting head passes the T-grid(12, see para. [0025] and Figs. 1 and 11);
said mounting head(27, see Fig. 8) snapping back to said normal position(see Fig. 11 - the position of the mounting head; see para [0025]) after passing the T-grid with said engagement portion(see Fig. 8 - the bottom middle portion between surface 29 and recess 31) resting on said T-grid to retain the ceiling tile(15, see Figs. 1 and 11) upon said T-grid (12, see Figs. 1 and 11).
Regarding claim 16, Wendt discloses the method of claim 15, wherein said front portion(29, see Fig. 8 - the right portion of 27) is angled(29, Fig. 8 - the angled portion 29), camming said angled portion against said T-grid(12, see Figs. 1 and 11).
Regarding claim 17, Wendt discloses the method of claim 15, wherein said mounting head(27, see Fig. 8) includes a curved front edge(see Fig. 8 - the edge between the right portion of 27 and the bottom middle portion of 27) between said front portion(29, see Fig. 8 - the right portion of 27) and said engagement portion(see Fig. 8 - the bottom middle portion between surface 29 and recess 31), said front edge camming against said T-grid when pressed against said T-grid(12, see Figs. 1 and 11).
Regarding Claim 18, Wendt discloses the method of claim 15, wherein said mounting head includes a curved rear edge(see Fig. 8 - the edge between the left portion of 27 and the bottom middle portion of 27) on said engagement portion(see Fig. 8 - the bottom middle portion between surface 29 and recess 31), said curved rear edge camming against said T-grid(12, see Figs. 1 and 11) when said ceiling tile(15, see Figs. 1 and 11) is removed.
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moeller(3,875,717; cited on IDS filed 11/28/2025).
Moeller discloses a T-grid clip connector (see abstract and Figs. 1-3) for attaching ceiling tiles(8, 20, see Fig. 1) to a T-grid(2, see col 3, In 18-32 and Fig. 1) comprising:
a body(collectively 36, 38, 40, 42, 44, see Fig. 3);
a mounting head(collectively 32, 34, see Fig. 3) flexibly connected to said body(see Fig. 3), said mounting head including a front portion(32, see Figs. 2-3), a rear portion(34, see Figs. 2-3), and an engagement portion(see Figs. 2-3 - the portion between 32 and 34), said rear portion being connected to said body(see Fig. 3);
said mounting head(see Fig. 3) having a normal position(see Fig. 1 - the position of the mounting head) with respect to said body(see Fig. 3) and a flexed position(see col. 4, lines 6-19 - the resilient clip deforms into position) with respect to said body;
whereby said body(Fig. 3) is adapted to be mounted to a ceiling tile(8, 20, see Fig. 1) and said mounting head(Fig. 3) is adapted to engage a T-grid(2, see Fig. 1; see col. 3, Iines 18-32) when in said normal position(see Fig. 1 - the position of the mounting head), temporarily flex to said flexed position(see col. 4, Iines 6-19 - the resilient clip deforms into position) as said mounting head passes the T-grid, and return to said normal position and rest upon the T-grid after passing the T-grid to retain the ceiling tile with respect to said T-grid(see col. 4, Iines 6-19).
Regarding claim 3, Moeller discloses the T-grid clip connector of claim 1, further including at least one mounting hole(see Figs. 2-3 - the hole formed by 38, 40, and 42) in said body(see Fig. 3) to mount the T-grid connector(see Figs. 1-3) to a ceiling tile(8, 20, see Fig. 1).
Claims 1, 13-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schuplin(4,027,454; cited on IDS filed 11/28/2025).
Schuplin discloses a T-grid clip connector(see abstract and Figs. 1-5) for attaching ceiling tiles(T, see Fig. 1) to a T-grid(10, see col. 2, Iines 48-65 and Fig. 1;) comprising:
a body(left 20, see Figs. 1 and 5);
a mounting head(collectively right 20, 22, and 24, see Figs. 1 and 5) flexibly connected to said body(see col. 3, Iines 1-16 - resilient), said mounting head including a front portion(see Figs. 1-2 - the bottom portion of right 20), a rear portion(22, see Fig. 1-2), and an engagement portion(right 24, see Figs. 1-2), said rear portion being connected to said body(see Figs. 1 and 5);
said mounting head(see Figs. 1 and 5) having a normal position(see Fig. 1 - the position of the clip) with respect to said body(see Figs. 1 and 5) and a flexed position(col. 3, Iines 1-16 - resilient clasping position) with respect to said body;
whereby said body(see Figs. 1 and 5) is adapted to be mounted to a ceiling tile(T, see Fig. 1) and said mounting head is adapted to engage a T-grid(10, see col. 2, Iines 48-65 and Fig. 1;) when in said normal position(see Fig. 1 - the position of the clip), temporarily flex to said flexed position(see col. 3, Iines 1-16 - resilient clasping position) as said mounting head passes the T-grid, and return to said normal position and rest upon the T- grid after passing the T-grid to retain the ceiling tile with respect to said T-grid(see col. 3, Iines 1-16).
Regarding claim 13, Schuplin discloses the T-grid clip connector of claim 1, further including a locating prong(26, 28, see Fig. 1-2) having a leg(26, see Fig. 1-2) extending from said body(left 20, see Figs. 1 and 5) and a foot(28, see Fig. 1-2) extending from said leg, said foot being adapted to engage the edge of a tile(T, see Fig. 1) to locate said T-grid clip(see Fig. 1) on said tile.
Regarding claim 14, Schuplin discloses the T-grid clip connector of claim 1, further including a locking finger(26, 28, see Figs. 1-2) having an arm(26, see Figs. 1-2) extending from said body and a finger(28, see Figs. 1-2) extending from said arm, said finger being adapted to engage the T-grid(10, see col. 2, Iines 48-65 and Fig. 1;).
Regarding Claim 15, Schuplin discloses a method(see abstract and Figs. 1-5) for attaching a ceiling tile(T, see Fig. 1) to a T-grid(10, see col. 2, Iines 48-65 Fig. 1;), the method comprising:
providing a ceiling tile(T, see Fig. 1);
providing a T-grid(10, see col. 2, Iines 48-65 and Fig. 1);
providing a clip connector(see Fig. 1) for attaching said ceiling tile(T, see Fig. 1) to said T-grid(10, see Fig. 1), said clip connector of claim 1;
mounting said clip connector(see Fig. 1) to said ceiling tile by mounting said body(left 20, Figs. 1 and 5) to said ceiling tile(T, see Fig. 1);
engaging said mounting head(see Figs. 1 and 5) against said T-grid(10, see Fig. 1) when said mounting head is in said normal position(see Fig. 1 - the position of the clip);
pressing said mounting head(see Figs. 1 and 5) against said T-grid(10, see Fig. 1) and flexing said mounting head to said flexed position(see col. 3, Iines 1-16 - resilient clasping position) as said mounting head passes the T-grid(see col. 3, Iines 1-16);
said mounting head(see Figs. 1 and Fig. 5) snapping back to said normal position(see Fig. 1 - the position of the clip) after passing the T-grid(10, see Fig. 1) with said engagement portion(right 24, see Figs. 1-2) resting on said T-grid to retain the ceiling tile upon said T-grid(see col. 3, Iines 1-16).
Regarding claim 19, Schuplin discloses the method of claim 15, further including a locating prong(26, 28, see Fig. 1-2) having a leg(26, see Fig. 1-2) extending from said body(see Figs. 1 and 5) and a foot(28, see Figs. 1-2) extending from said leg, engaging said foot against the edge of said tile to locate said T-grid clip(see Figs. 1 and 5) on said tile(T, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Schuplin discloses the method of claim 15, further including a locking finger(26, 28, see Figs. 1-2) having an arm(26, see Figs. 1-2) extending from said body and a finger(28, see Figs. 1-2) extending from said arm, engaging said finger with said T-grid to lock said T-grid clip to said T-grid(10, see col. 2, Iines 48-65 and Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wendt in view of Neubeker(U.S. Pat. Appl. Publ. 2019/0203467; cited on IDS filed 11/28/2025).
Wendt discloses the T-grid clip of claim 1, but lacks the T-grid clip further including a bracing member on said body.
Neubeker discloses a T-grid clip(100, see Figs. 1 and 3A), wherein the T-grid clip further includes a body(11, see para. [0048]) and a bracing member on the body(see Fig. 1 - the L-shaped embossed bracing members extending between 128 and 120 or between 124 and 130 are considered to provide bracing) on a body (132, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the connector body of Wendt with bracing members, such as disclosed by Neubeker, with a reasonable degree of success, to further strengthen the T-grid clip.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
BETH A. AUBREY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3633
/Beth A Aubrey/