DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is responsive to the preliminary amendment filed June 10, 2025. As directed by the preliminary amendment: Claims 1-3 have been cancelled. Claims 4-12 are newly added and presently pending in this application.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: In ll. 2, the phrase “said faster assembly” should be re-written as -said fastener assembly--. Appropriate correction is required.
Examiner’s Note
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 4 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bailey et al. (US 5,462,551), herein referred to as Bailey.
Regarding claim 4, Bailey discloses a clamp (figures 1 and 3) for coupling a surgical retractor system (considered functional) to a track portion (25) of a base plate (10, 11, 12) for surgery, the clamp (figures 1 and 3) comprising a body (81), a mount portion (70, 71) disposed at an end of the body (81) (figure 3), the mount portion (70+71) adapted to (i.e. capable of) couple to the surgical retractor system (considered functional), a fastener assembly (88) disposed at another end of the body (81) (figures 1 and 3), a first track arm (84) coupled to the body (81) proximate, and further inward relative to, the fastener assembly (88) (figures 1 and 3), and a second track arm (85) coupled to the body (81) proximate, and further inward relative to, the mount portion (70+71) (figures 1 and 3), the first and second track arms (84, 85) configured to (i.e. capable of) couple to the track portion (25) of the base plate (10, 11, 12), the fastener assembly (88) adapted to (i.e. capable of) move the first track arm (84) from a first position (col. 3, ll. 35-47) to a second position (col. 3, ll. 35-47) along the body (81), the first position characterized by the clamp (figures 1 and 3) being removeable (i.e. capable of) from the track portion (25), the second position characterized by the clamp (figures 1 and 3) being fixedly coupled to the track portion (25) (figure 1), and an intermediate position (col. 3, ll. 35-47) characterized as being between the first position (col. 3, ll. 35-47) and the second position (col. 3, ll. 35-47) such that the clamp (figures 1 and 3) is adapted to (i.e. capable of) linearly translate along the track portion (25) of the base plate (figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Bailey discloses wherein the body (18) is formed of a generally longitudinal shape (figures 1 and 3), wherein the first track arm (84) can translate along the generally longitudinal shape (figure 3), but not rotate (col. 3, ll. 35-47).
Regarding claim 7, Bailey discloses wherein the track portion (25) comprises a width (figures 1 and 3), and when in an assembled configuration (figures 1 and 3), the generally longitudinal direction of the body (18) substantially aligns (angled ± 5 degrees) with the width (figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Bailey discloses wherein the mount portion (70,+71) is angled upwardly (col. 3, ll. 47-50 and figure 3) with respect to the generally longitudinal direction of the body (81) (figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bailey (US 5,462,551).
Regarding claims 9, 10, 11, 12, Bailey’s clamp discloses all the features/elements as claimed but lacks a detailed description on wherein the angle is about 45 degrees, wherein said angle is between about 30 degrees to about 60 degrees, wherein said angle is between about 15 degrees to about 75 degrees, wherein the mount portion is angled downwardly with respect to the generally longitudinal direction of the body is between about 30 degrees to about 60 degrees.
However, it is known that discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bailey’s clamp with wherein the angle is about 45 degrees, wherein said angle is between about 30 degrees to about 60 degrees, wherein said angle is between about 15 degrees to about 75 degrees, wherein the mount portion is angled downwardly with respect to the generally longitudinal direction of the body is between about 30 degrees to about 60 degrees, since it is known that discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Double Patenting
Claims 4-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,350,115. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that the patent claims include more elements and are thus much specific. Thus the invention of the patent claims are in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”.
Conclusion
/SI MING KU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775