DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 18, “the joining member being the to-be- held object held by the attachment;” should be “the joining member being [[the]] a to-be- held object held by the attachment;”
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“attachment” configured to hold an object in claims 1, 3-6, 8-10, 12-13, and 18-19
“setter” to set a position in claims 1-4, 6, and 9
“holder” to hold an object in claims 4-6 and 10
“joining functional unit” to control approaching/joining of one object to another in claim 4
“horizontal rotation mechanism” to horizontally rotate an attachment in claim 5
“working device” to perform movement of attachment and re-holding of object in claims 6, 9, 12-13, and 18-19
“notifier” to notify in claim 11
“approach-target-position setter” to set approach target position in claims 12-16
“position acquirer” to acquire a position in claims 16-17 and 20
“imager” to capture images in claim 17
“target-position setter” to set target position in claims 18-20
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification reveals the following:
“attachment” : a tool (See at least paragraph [0106])
“setter” : the CPU (processor) provided in the controller 51, electronic/electrical circuits, and programs (See at least paragraph [0183])
“holder” : claws (See at least paragraphs [0196]-[0197])
“joining functional unit” : disclosed as a piece of physical hardware in paragraph [0106] and Fig. 3C
“horizontal rotation mechanism” : disclosed as hardware in at least Fig. 3C
“working device” : disclosed as an arm in at least Fig. 1A and paragraph [0118]
“notifier” a sound emitter (e.g., a speaker or a buzzer) or a light in paragraph [0161]
“approach-target-position setter” : implemented by a controller executed programmed instructions (See at least paragraph [0296])
“position acquirer” : a LiDAR system, a TOF camera, a camera (CCD camera), or the like (See at least paragraph [0174])
“imager” : a LiDAR system, a TOF camera, a camera (CCD camera), or the like (See at least paragraph [0174])
“target-position setter” : implemented by a controller executed programmed instructions (See at least paragraph [0021])
Since the above citations constitute adequate structure to perform the claimed functions, no 112 rejections are given and no further action is required by applicant with respect to the above 112(f) interpretations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 12-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller et al. (US 20180334865 A1), hereinafter referred to as Miller.
Regarding claim 1, Miller discloses A working machine (See at least Fig. 4 in Miller: Miller discloses The rig-floor pipe lifting machine 10 [See at least Miller, 0042]) comprising:
a machine body (See at least Fig. 4 in Miller: Miller discloses the frame 12 [See at least Miller, 0042]);
a working device provided on the machine body (See at least Fig. 4 in Miller: Miller discloses a tailing arm 50 [See at least Miller, 0042]);
an attachment provided on the working device to hold an elongated to-be-held object (See at least Fig. 4 in Miller: Miller discloses that The second pipe holding means 54 may include a claw, a magnet, or other device known in the art [See at least Miller, 0042]);
a first sensor to recognize a position of one end portion of the to-be-held object (See at least Fig. 8 in Miller: Miller discloses that the controller may cause the tailing arm 50 to tilt forward and to connect the second holding means 54 to the pipe [See at least Miller, 0056]. It will therefore be appreciated that the controller recognizes and directs this arm to a position of the pipe, which may broadly be regarded as “a position of one end portion” of the pipe);
a setter to set a holding position based on a recognition result from the first sensor, the holding position being a position at which the to-be-held object is to be held by the attachment (See at least Fig. 8 in Miller: Miller discloses that the controller may cause the tailing arm 50 to tilt forward and to connect the second holding means 54 to the pipe [See at least Miller, 0056]. It will therefore be appreciated that the controller recognizes and directs this arm to a position of the pipe, which may broadly be regarded as “a position of one end portion” of the pipe); and
a controller configured or programmed to control the working device (See at least Fig. 8 in Miller: Miller discloses that the controller may cause the tailing arm 50 to tilt forward and to connect the second holding means 54 to the pipe [See at least Miller, 0056]);
wherein the controller is configured or programmed to control the working device to allow the attachment to hold the to-be-held object at the holding position set by the setter (See at least Fig. 8 in Miller: Miller discloses that the controller may cause the tailing arm 50 to tilt forward and to connect the second holding means 54 to the pipe [See at least Miller, 0056]).
Regarding claim 2, Miller discloses The working machine according to claim 1, wherein the setter is configured or programmed to set the holding position to a position at a predetermined distance from the one end portion of the to-be-held object recognized by the first sensor (See at least Fig. 8 in Miller: Miller discloses that the controller may cause the tailing arm 50 to tilt forward and to connect the second holding means 54 to the pipe [See at least Miller, 0056]. It will therefore be appreciated that the controller recognizes and directs this arm to a position of the pipe, which may broadly be regarded as “a position of one end portion” of the pipe).
Regarding claim 3, Miller discloses The working machine according to claim 1, wherein the setter is configured or programmed to set the holding position such that the one end portion of the to-be-held object is recognizable by the first sensor when the to-be-held object is held by the attachment (See at least Fig. 8 in Miller: Miller discloses that the controller may cause the tailing arm 50 to tilt forward and to connect the second holding means 54 to the pipe [See at least Miller, 0056]. It will therefore be appreciated that the controller recognizes and directs this arm to a position of the pipe, which may broadly be regarded as “a position of one end portion” of the pipe).
Regarding claim 4, Miller discloses The working machine according to claim 1, wherein
the attachment includes a holder to hold the to-be-held object (See at least Fig. 8 in Miller: Miller discloses that the controller may cause the tailing arm 50 to tilt forward and to connect the second holding means 54 to the pipe [See at least Miller, 0056]) and a joining functional unit positioned on an extension line extending in a longitudinal direction of the to-be-held object from the one end portion of the to-be-held object held by the holder (See at least Fig. 9 in Miller: Miller discloses that because the gripper arm 56 is attached to the drillstring 108, which is in turn attached to the well center 106 with slips, the gripper arm 56 may be used to prevent the rig-floor pipe lifting machine 10 from toppling over under the forces applied by the pipe to the tailing arm 50 [See at least Miller, 0057]. Miller further discloses that the controller may cause the first holding means 60 to connect to the drillstring 108 [See at least Miller, 0056]. It will be appreciated that, in Fig. 9, the first holding means 60 is aligned with the longitudinal axis of the to-be-held object (the pipe) 100), the joining functional unit being configured to approach or contact a to-be-joined member when the one end portion of the to-be-held object is joined to the to-be-joined member, the to-be-joined member being a member to which the one end portion of the to-be-held object is to be joined (See at least Fig. 9 in Miller: Miller discloses that The tailing arm 50 is used to control the position of the lower part of the pipe as the top drive elevator moves the upper part of the pipe over the drillstring 108 for connection thereto [See at least Miller, 0058]. It will be appreciated that, as this connection is made, the holding means 60 does end up closer to the end of the pipe, i.e., they “approach” each other); and
the setter is configured or programmed to set the holding position to a position at which a distance between the one end portion of the to-be-held object and the joining functional unit is a predetermined separation distance when the to-be-held object is held by the holder (See at least Fig. 9 in Miller: Miller discloses that The tailing arm 50 is used to control the position of the lower part of the pipe as the top drive elevator moves the upper part of the pipe over the drillstring 108 for connection thereto [See at least Miller, 0058]).
Regarding claim 12, Miller discloses The working machine according to claim 1, wherein
the first sensor is configured to recognize a position of a joining portion of a joining member that is to be joined to a to-be-joined member, the joining member being the to-be-held object held by the attachment (See at least Fig. 9 in Miller: Miller discloses that The tailing arm 50 is used to control the position of the lower part of the pipe as the top drive elevator moves the upper part of the pipe over the drillstring 108 for connection thereto [See at least Miller, 0058]. It will therefore be appreciated that the controller knows the position of the lower part of the pipe); and
the working machine comprises:
an approach-target-position setter to set, based on a recognition result from the first sensor (See at least Fig. 8 in Miller: Miller discloses that the controller may cause the tailing arm 50 to tilt forward and to connect the second holding means 54 to the pipe [See at least Miller, 0056]. It will therefore be appreciated that the controller recognizes and directs this arm to a position of the pipe), an approach target position to which the attachment is to be moved such that the joining member is moved to bring the joining portion to an operation start position in the vicinity of the to-be-joined member (See at least Fig. 8 in Miller: Miller discloses that the controller may cause the tailing arm 50 to tilt forward and to connect the second holding means 54 to the pipe [See at least Miller, 0056]. This position where the pipe is first gripped may be regarded as applicant’s “approach target position”); and
the controller configured or programmed to control the working device such that the attachment moves to the approach target position set by the approach-target-position setter (See at least Fig. 8 in Miller: Miller discloses that the controller may cause the tailing arm 50 to tilt forward and to connect the second holding means 54 to the pipe [See at least Miller, 0056]. This position where the pipe is first gripped may be regarded as applicant’s “approach target position”).
Regarding claim 13, Miller discloses A working machine (See at least Fig. 4 in Miller: Miller discloses The rig-floor pipe lifting machine 10 [See at least Miller, 0042]) comprising:
a machine body (See at least Fig. 4 in Miller: Miller discloses the frame 12 [See at least Miller, 0042]);
a working device provided on the machine body (See at least Fig. 4 in Miller: Miller discloses a tailing arm 50 [See at least Miller, 0042]);
an attachment provided on the working device to hold a joining member (See at least Fig. 9 in Miller: Miller discloses that The tailing arm 50 is used to control the position of the lower part of the pipe as the top drive elevator moves the upper part of the pipe over the drillstring 108 for connection thereto [See at least Miller, 0058]. The pipe may be regarded as applicant’s “joining member”);
a first sensor to recognize a position of a joining portion of the joining member held by the attachment, the joining portion being a portion to be joined to a to-be-joined member (See at least Fig. 9 in Miller: Miller discloses that The tailing arm 50 is used to control the position of the lower part of the pipe as the top drive elevator moves the upper part of the pipe over the drillstring 108 for connection thereto [See at least Miller, 0058]. The pipe may be regarded as applicant’s “joining member” and the drillstring may be regarded as applicant’s “to-be-joined member”);
an approach-target-position setter to set, based on a recognition result from the first sensor, an approach target position to which the attachment is to be moved such that the joining member is moved to bring the joining portion to an operation start position in the vicinity of the to-be-joined member (See at least Fig. 9 in Miller: Miller discloses that The tailing arm 50 is used to control the position of the lower part of the pipe as the top drive elevator moves the upper part of the pipe over the drillstring 108 for connection thereto [See at least Miller, 0058]. The pipe may be regarded as applicant’s “joining member”, the drillstring may be regarded as applicant’s “to-be-joined member”, the position of the pipe shown in Fig. 9 may be regarded as applicant’s “operation start position”, and the position of the holding means may be regarded as applicant’s “approach target position”); and
a controller configured or programmed to control the working device (See at least Fig. 8 in Miller: Miller discloses that the controller controls the tailing arm 50 [See at least Miller, 0056]) such that the attachment moves to the approach target position set by the approach-target-position setter (See at least Fig. 9 in Miller: Miller discloses that The tailing arm 50 is used to control the position of the lower part of the pipe as the top drive elevator moves the upper part of the pipe over the drillstring 108 for connection thereto [See at least Miller, 0058]. The position of the pipe shown in Fig. 9 may be regarded as applicant’s “operation start position”, and the position of the holding means shown may be regarded as applicant’s “approach target position”).
Regarding claim 14, Miller discloses The working machine according to claim 13, wherein
the to-be-joined member is in a groove located lower than a ground surface or on a base including at least a portion located higher than the ground surface (See at least Fig. 9 in Miller: Miller discloses drillstring 108 sticking up from the well center 106 [See at least Miller, 0054]. Well center 106 may be regarded as applicant’s “base”); and
the approach-target-position setter is configured or programmed to set the approach target position on or above the ground surface in the vicinity of the to-be-joined member (See at least Fig. 9 in Miller: Miller discloses that The tailing arm 50 is used to control the position of the lower part of the pipe as the top drive elevator moves the upper part of the pipe over the drillstring 108 for connection thereto [See at least Miller, 0058]. The position of the pipe shown in Fig. 9 may be regarded as applicant’s “operation start position”, and the position of the holding means shown may be regarded as applicant’s “approach target position”. It is above the ground surface in the vicinity of the to-be-joined member, drillstring 108) or on a platform provided on the ground surface in the vicinity of the to-be-joined member.
Regarding claim 16, Miller discloses The working machine according to claim 13, further comprising a position acquirer to acquire a position of a to-be-joined portion of the to-be-joined member, the to-be- joined portion being a portion to which the joining portion is to be joined (See at least Fig. 9 in Miller: Miller discloses that The tailing arm 50 is used to control the position of the lower part of the pipe as the top drive elevator moves the upper part of the pipe over the drillstring 108 for connection thereto [See at least Miller, 0058]), and
the approach-target-position setter is configured or programmed to set the operation start position based on the recognition result from the first sensor and based on the position of the to-be-joined portion acquired by the position acquirer, the operation start position being set to a position at which the joining portion is in the vicinity of the to-be-joined portion (See at least Fig. 9 in Miller: Miller discloses that The tailing arm 50 is used to control the position of the lower part of the pipe as the top drive elevator moves the upper part of the pipe over the drillstring 108 for connection thereto [See at least Miller, 0058]. The position of the pipe shown in Fig. 9 may be regarded as applicant’s “operation start position”).
Regarding claim 17, Miller discloses The working machine according to claim 16, wherein the position acquirer is configured or programmed to acquire the position of the to-be-joined portion based on an image of the to-be-joined portion captured by an imager or a ranging result from a ranging sensor (See at least Fig. 12 in Miller: Miller discloses that a navigation system for the rig-floor pipe lifting machine 10 includes a plurality of fixed markers 144 mounted on the rig-floor 104, for example on posts 116, and a position sensor 132 mounted to the rig-floor pipe lifting machine 10 [See at least Miller, 0065]. Miller further discloses that The position sensor 132 generates signals indicative of a distance between the position sensor 132 and each of the plurality of fixed markers 144, and signal indicative of a direction between the orientation of the fork 14 and at least one of the plurality of fixed markers 144 [See at least Miller, 0065]. Miller further discloses that For example, the position sensor 132 may include a lidar [See at least Miller, 0065]. Since the positions are determined relative to these markers, it will be appreciated that all positions, including that of the drillstring, are obtained this way. Miller further discloses that The distance and direction signals may be processed to determine the position of the rig-floor pipe lifting machine 10 on the rig-floor 104, as well as the orientation of the fork 14 [See at least Miller, 0066]. Miller further discloses that The navigation system may include a controller that is programmed to drive at least one of the plurality of wheels 18 based on the determined positions and orientation, and the instruction of a path or destination selected by a user [See at least Miller, 0066]).
Regarding claim 18, Miller discloses The working machine according to claim 1, wherein
the first sensor is configured to recognize a position of a joining portion of a joining member that is to be joined to a to-be-joined member, the joining member being the to-be- held object held by the attachment (See at least Fig. 9 in Miller: Miller discloses that The tailing arm 50 is used to control the position of the lower part of the pipe as the top drive elevator moves the upper part of the pipe over the drillstring 108 for connection thereto [See at least Miller, 0058]. The pipe is the “joining member” and the “to-be-held object”); and
the working machine comprises:
a target-position setter to set, based on a recognition result from the first sensor, a target position to which the attachment is to be moved such that the joining portion of the joining member is moved to a joining start position at which an operation of joining the joining portion to the to-be-joined member is to be started (See at least Fig. 9 in Miller: Miller discloses that The tailing arm 50 is used to control the position of the lower part of the pipe as the top drive elevator moves the upper part of the pipe over the drillstring 108 for connection thereto [See at least Miller, 0058]. The point of connection corresponds to the “target position” of the holding means and the “joining start position” of the pipe); and
the controller configured or programmed to control the working device such that the attachment moves to the target position set by the target-position setter (See at least Fig. 9 in Miller: Miller discloses that The tailing arm 50 is used to control the position of the lower part of the pipe as the top drive elevator moves the upper part of the pipe over the drillstring 108 for connection thereto [See at least Miller, 0058]. The point of connection corresponds to the “target position” of the holding means and the “joining start position” of the pipe).
Regarding claim 19, Miller discloses A working machine (See at least Fig. 4 in Miller: Miller discloses The rig-floor pipe lifting machine 10 [See at least Miller, 0042]) comprising:
a machine body (See at least Fig. 4 in Miller: Miller discloses the frame 12 [See at least Miller, 0042]);
a working device provided on the machine body (See at least Fig. 4 in Miller: Miller discloses a tailing arm 50 [See at least Miller, 0042]);
an attachment provided on the working device to hold a joining member (See at least Fig. 9 in Miller: Miller discloses that The tailing arm 50 is used to control the position of the lower part of the pipe as the top drive elevator moves the upper part of the pipe over the drillstring 108 for connection thereto [See at least Miller, 0058]. The pipe may be regarded as applicant’s “joining member”);
a first sensor to recognize a position of a joining portion of the joining member held by the attachment, the joining portion being a portion to be joined to a to-be-joined member (See at least Fig. 9 in Miller: Miller discloses that The tailing arm 50 is used to control the position of the lower part of the pipe as the top drive elevator moves the upper part of the pipe over the drillstring 108 for connection thereto [See at least Miller, 0058]. The pipe may be regarded as applicant’s “joining member” and the drillstring may be regarded as applicant’s “to-be-joined member”);
a target-position setter to set, based on a recognition result from the first sensor, a target position to which the attachment is to be moved such that the joining portion of the joining member is moved to a joining start position at which an operation of joining the joining portion to the to-be-joined member is to be started (See at least Fig. 9 in Miller: Miller discloses that The tailing arm 50 is used to control the position of the lower part of the pipe as the top drive elevator moves the upper part of the pipe over the drillstring 108 for connection thereto [See at least Miller, 0058]. The point of connection corresponds to the “target position” of the holding means and the “joining start position” of the pipe); and
a controller configured or programmed to control the working device such that the attachment moves to the target position set by the target-position setter (See at least Fig. 9 in Miller: Miller discloses that The tailing arm 50 is used to control the position of the lower part of the pipe as the top drive elevator moves the upper part of the pipe over the drillstring 108 for connection thereto [See at least Miller, 0058]. The point of connection corresponds to the “target position” of the holding means).
Regarding claim 20, Miller discloses The working machine according to claim 19, further comprising a position acquirer to acquire a position of a to-be-joined portion of the to-be-joined member, the to-be- joined portion being a portion to which the joining portion is to be joined (See at least Fig. 9 in Miller: Miller discloses that The tailing arm 50 is used to control the position of the lower part of the pipe as the top drive elevator moves the upper part of the pipe over the drillstring 108 for connection thereto [See at least Miller, 0058]); and
the target-position setter is configured or programmed to set the joining start position based on the position of the to-be-joined portion acquired by the position acquirer (See at least Fig. 9 in Miller: Miller discloses that The tailing arm 50 is used to control the position of the lower part of the pipe as the top drive elevator moves the upper part of the pipe over the drillstring 108 for connection thereto [See at least Miller, 0058]. The position of the pipe shown in Fig. 9 may be regarded as applicant’s “joining start position”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (US 20180334865 A1) in view of letsdig18 (“New Rotating Grapple For The Excavator”, https://youtu.be/vKLnKZGLHu8?si=mOCFEfdohVAJNTUi), hereinafter referred to as letsdig18.
Regarding claim 5, Miller discloses The working machine according to claim 4.
However, Miller does not explicitly disclose the machine wherein
the attachment includes a horizontal rotation mechanism to horizontally rotate the holder; and
the controller is configured or programmed to control an operation of the horizontal rotation mechanism such that a holding direction of the holder coincides with a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the to-be-held object.
However, letsdig18 does teach a machine wherein
the attachment includes a horizontal rotation mechanism to horizontally rotate the holder (letsdig18 teaches that a rotating grapple [See at least letsdig18, 0:08]. Letsdig18 further teaches that it can rotate and grab logs and spin logs around [See at least letsdig18, 0:28]); and
the controller is configured or programmed to control an operation of the horizontal rotation mechanism such that a holding direction of the holder coincides with a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the to-be-held object (letsdig18 teaches that the grapple picks up log axially aligned with it [See at least letsdig18, 2:55]). Both letsdig18 and Miller teach methods for picking up elongated objects using arms. However, only letsdig18 explicitly teaches where the grapple at the end of the arm used to hold the object may rotate horizontally to axially align with the longitudinal axis of the elongated object.
It would have been obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the grapple at the end of the arm of Miller to also be able to rotate horizontally to axially align with the longitudinal axis of the elongated object, as in Miller. Doing so allows the grapple to pick up objects even that are lying down, not just object that are standing straight up, which increases the number of situations in which the machine can be used.
Regarding claim 6, Miller in view of letsdig18 teaches The working machine according to claim 5, wherein
the setter is configured or programmed to set a pre-holding position to a position facing the holding position (See at least Fig. 8 in Miller: Miller discloses that the controller may cause the tailing arm 50 to tilt forward and to connect the second holding means 54 to the pipe [See at least Miller, 0056]. The position before the connection point may be regarded as a “pre-holding position”); and
the controller is configured or programmed to control the attachment and the working device to move the attachment to the pre-holding position (See at least Fig. 8 in Miller: Miller discloses that the controller may cause the tailing arm 50 to tilt forward and to connect the second holding means 54 to the pipe [See at least Miller, 0056]. The position before the connection point may be regarded as a “pre-holding position”), move the attachment from the pre- holding position to the holding position (See at least Fig. 8 in Miller: Miller discloses that the controller may cause the tailing arm 50 to tilt forward and to connect the second holding means 54 to the pipe [See at least Miller, 0056]) with the holder in an open state (letsdig18 teaches that the claws may be in an open state [See at least letsdig18, 0:08]), and bring the holder into a closed state to hold the to-be-held object when the attachment is moved to the holding position (letsdig18 teaches that the claws may be in an closed state when they are closed around the elongated object [See at least letsdig18, 2:55]).
Regarding claim 7, Miller in view of letsdig18 teaches The working machine according to claim 6, wherein
the holder includes a pair of holding claws (letsdig18 teaches that a pair of holding claws [See at least letsdig18, 0:08]); and
the closed state of the holder is a state in which an interval between the pair of holding claws is less than when the holder is in the open state such that the to-be-held object is held between the pair of holding claws (letsdig18 teaches that the claws may be in an closed state when they are closed around the elongated object [See at least letsdig18, 2:55]).
Regarding claim 8, Miller discloses The working machine according to claim 1.
However, Miller does not explicitly teach the machine wherein the working device includes a boom including a proximal end portion supported by the machine body such that the boom is rotatable, an arm supported by a distal end portion of the boom such that the arm is rotatable, and the attachment provided at a distal end portion of the arm.
However, letsdig18 does teach a machine wherein the working device includes a boom including a proximal end portion supported by the machine body (letsdig18 teaches that the arm comprises a boom connected to the vehicle body [See at least letsdig18, 0:08]) such that the boom is rotatable (letsdig18 teaches that the entire vehicle body is rotatable, so the boom and arm rotate with the rest of the vehicle body [See at least letsdig18, 2:55]), an arm supported by a distal end portion of the boom such that the arm is rotatable (letsdig18 teaches that the boom is connected to an arm at its other end [See at least letsdig18, 0:08]), and the attachment provided at a distal end portion of the arm (letsdig18 teaches that the claws are connected to the other end of the arm [See at least letsdig18, 0:08]). Both letsdig18 and Miller teach machines which use arms to pick up elongated objects. However, only letdig18 explicitly teaches where the arm may comprise a boom connected to the vehicle body, an arm connected to the boom, and claws connected to the arm in that order.
It would have been obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pipe-gripping arm of Miller to also comprise a boom connected to the vehicle body, an arm connected to the boom, and claws connected to the arm in that order, as in letsdig18. Anyone of ordinary skill in the art will appreciate that this arm design is an obvious substitution to pick up elongated objects such as pipes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art of record is Miller et al. (US 20180334865 A1) in view of letsdig18 (“New Rotating Grapple For The Excavator”, https://youtu.be/vKLnKZGLHu8?si=mOCFEfdohVAJNTUi), hereinafter referred to as Miller and letsdig18, respectively. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 9, Miller discloses The working machine according to claim 6.
However, none of the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, teaches or suggests the machine wherein the controller is configured or programmed to, when the amount of displacement of (i) a position of the one end portion of the to-be-held object recognized by the first sensor while the working device and the attachment are controlled based on the holding position set by the setter to hold the to-be-held object from (ii) an expected position of the one end portion of the to-be-held object corresponding to the holding position set by the setter is greater than or equal to a predetermined value, control the working device to perform re-holding of the to-be-held object such that the amount of displacement is less than the predetermined value.
In order for a reference to read on the above limitations, the reference would have to teach where a work tool automatically readjusts its hold on an elongated object if the current location at which it is holding the elongated object fails to meet certain parameters. However, this is not taught or suggested by any of the prior art of record. The closest that any reference comes is Miller, since Miller teaches where the implement moves to a particular position to pick up a pipe (See at least [Miller, 0056]). But there is no consideration of whether the location at which the pipe is gripped is the wrong location, and whether any sort of readjustment should occur. So Miller does not read on the above missing claim limitations.
For at least the above stated reasons, claim 9 contains allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 10, this claim also contains allowable subject matter at least by virtue of its dependence from claim 9.
Regarding claim 11, Miller discloses The working machine according to claim 1.
However, none of the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, teaches or suggests the machine further comprising a notifier to provide a notification using sound, light or a display when the first sensor fails to recognize the position of the one end portion of the to-be-held object.
The closest to any consideration of the end of an elongated object that any reference comes is Miller, since Miller teaches that the controller may monitor the location of the end of the held pipe to make sure that it is properly joined with the drillstring while the pipe is moving and gripped by the arm (See at least [Miller, 0058]). But this is not the same as failing to identify the end of the pipe at all and outputting a notification when such a failure occurs. None of the other prior art of record remedies this deficiency in Miller.
For at least the above stated reasons, claim 11 contains allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 15, Miller discloses The working machine according to claim 14.
However, none of the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, teaches or suggests the machine wherein
the to-be-joined member is in the groove located lower than the ground surface; and
the approach-target-position setter is configured or programmed to set the approach target position on or above the ground surface in the vicinity of the groove.
The closest that any reference comes is Miller, since it teaches insertion of one pipe into another pipe by a machine when both pipes are above ground level (See at least [Miller, 0058]). However, Miller is silent as to the possibility of a target location of the held pipe being in a groove located lower than the ground surface, and therefore it is not clear that Miller has the appropriate programming, etc. to be able to realize connection of a held pipe to a connection point located in a groove below ground level. None of the other prior art of record remedies this deficiency of Miller.
For at least the above stated reasons, claim 15 contains allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/NAEEM TASLIM ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668