DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed to claim 1 and the addition of new claims 2-17 in the preliminary amendment filed 7/7/25 are acknowledged.
Claims 1-17 are now pending in the application and are examined below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, 8, 10, 11, and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“the first set of at least three actuation points” in claim 1, line 15 should be amended to recite --the at least the first set of three actuation points--
“at least three actuation points” in claims 6, 8, 10, 11, and 12, line 2 should be amended to recite --three actuation points--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “displacement element” in claims 11 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites the limitation “the functional element” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As “functional” does not give any insight into what this element was intended to be, the functional element is interpreted to be any element with any function (in this case, pin F taught by De Camp) for purposes of compact prosecution and examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taylor US 4,130,115.
Regarding claim 1, Taylor discloses an orthosis joint 20 (figs. 2 and 10-13 and col. 3, lines 12-16, hinge 20 for use in a knee brace), comprising:
a first joint arm 24a (fig. 10 and col. 3, lines 19-22, housing 24a being interpreted as the first joint arm, since it is an elongated arm connected to one side of fingers 26a/b, which form the bending/hinging mechanism);
a second joint arm 24b, wherein the first joint arm 24a and the second joint arm 24b are pivotable relative to one another to deflect from a basic position (fig. 10 and col. 3, lines 19-22, housing 24b being interpreted as the second joint arm opposite the first joint arm 24a; as can be seen in figs. 10 and 11, the first and second arms 24a/b pivot relative to each other in both directions from a basic, straight position shown in fig. 13);
at least one leaf spring 26a/b which is configured to generate (i) a first restoring force in a first direction to restore one or more of the first joint arm 24a and the second joint arm 24b to the basic position from a first deflected position, and ii) a second restoring force in a second direction to restore one or more of the first joint arm 24a and the second joint arm 24b to the basic position from a second deflected position, wherein the second direction is opposite the first direction (fig. 10 shows the first deflected position and fig. 11 shows the second deflected position, which are opposite from each other, and these deflected positions can be returned to the basic/unflexed position shown in fig. 13; col. 3, line 66-col. 4, line 60 describes how the ribs 26a/b slide within their respective housings and flex to form the hinge; further col. 4, lines 45-60 describe how the force required to flex the ribs 26a/b in the hinge 20 can be adjusted by modifying the distance between the first and second arms 24a/b by sliding the ribs 26a/b in the arms 24a/b; this, in combination with the ribs 26a/b being described as flexible in col. 4, lines 34-36 indicate that they function as leaf springs, despite not being explicitly referred to as such; they are flexible yet provide an innate restoring force to the basic/straight position, requiring a force to flex outwards); and
at least a first set of three actuation points triangularly arranged along the at least one rib 26a/b, wherein at least one actuation point of the first set of at least three actuation points is adjustably arranged on one of the first joint arm 24a and the second joint arm 24b for changing the first or second returning force (annotated fig. A, where the three actuation points (locations of force that causes the ribs 26a/b to flex) form a triangle; col. 4, lines 49-60, the amount of force required to flex the ribs 26a/b may be modified by adjusting the distance between arms 24a/b via sliding the ribs 26a/b (see fig. 9), which would change the locations of the first and third actuation points, as these outer actuation points are formed at the interface between the housings 24a/b and the ribs 26a/b).
Regarding claim 2, Taylor discloses the at least one leaf spring 26a/b comprises a plurality of leaf springs (fig. 10, plurality of ribs 26a/b functioning as leaf springs).
Regarding claim 3, Taylor discloses the plurality of leaf springs 26a/b being parallel to one another in a stacking arrangement (fig. 10).
Regarding claim 4, Taylor discloses wherein one or more of the first joint arm 24a and the second joint arm 24b being decouplable for a free wheel (col. 4, lines 44-49, the ribs 26a/b can slide within the housings 24a/b and are thus unfixed; therefore, they would be capable of removal from the housings 24a/b to allow the joint to move freely).
Regarding claim 5, Taylor discloses at least one of the three actuation points being eccentrically positionable relative to the at least one leaf spring 26a/b to permit decoupling (since the ribs 26a/b are capable of sliding relative to the housings 24a/b as previously discussed, one end (for example, the end near the 1st actuation point) would be capable of being slid further out of its housing 24a more than the other end, such that the 1st actuation point is more eccentrically positioned and offset than the 3rd actuation point).
Regarding claim 6, Taylor discloses at least one actuation point of the at least three actuation points being movable (col. 4, lines 44-49, the ribs 26a/b can slide within the housings 24a/b and are thus unfixed; therefore, the 1st and 3rd actuation points are movable relative to the ribs 26a/b).
Regarding claim 7, Taylor discloses the first joint arm 24a and the second joint arm 24b being in frictional connection with each other (as the intervening ribs 26a/b slide relative to their housings 24a/b, there must be at least some kind of contact/friction between the ribs 26a/b and their housings 24a/b).
Regarding claim 8, Taylor discloses the at least one leaf spring 26a/b, and the at least three actuation points being positioned along a longitudinal axis of the first joint arm 24a or the second joint arm 24b (annotated fig. A, the ribs 26a/b and the actuation points being formed between the housings 24a/b, which form a longitudinal length and axis as shown in fig. 9 when straight).
Regarding claim 9, Taylor discloses at least a second set of three actuation points triangularly arranged along the at least one leaf spring 26a/b, wherein the first set of three actuation points and second set of three actuation points oppose one another (annotated fig. A, the second set of actuation points being formed upon the hinge 20 flexing in the opposite direction to the first direction in the 1st set; the actuation points in the 2nd set have all the qualities of the 1st set as discussed above, except in the opposing direction).
Regarding claim 10, Taylor discloses at least one actuation point of the second set of at least three actuation points being adjustably arranged on one of the first joint arm 24a and the second joint arm 24b for changing the first or second restoring force (col. 4, lines 49-60, the amount of force required to flex the ribs 26a/b may be modified by adjusting the distance between arms 24a/b via sliding the ribs 26a/b (see fig. 9), which would change the locations of the first and third actuation points, as these outer actuation points are formed at the interface between the housings 24a/b and the ribs 26a/b).
Regarding claim 11, Taylor discloses the at least one actuation point of the second set of at least three actuation points being moveable along a displacement element arranged along a longitudinal axis of the first joint arm 24a or the second joint arm 24b (annotated fig. A, the 1st and 3rd actuation points being moveable along the hollow (the displacement element) of each arm 24a/b, where the hollow extends along the longitudinal length of each arm 24a/b).
Regarding claim 12, Taylor discloses the at least one actuation point of the first set of at least three actuation points being moveable along a displacement element arranged along a longitudinal axis of the first joint arm 24a or the second joint arm 24b (annotated fig. A, the 1st and 3rd actuation points being moveable along the hollow (the displacement element) of each arm 24a/b, where the hollow extends along the longitudinal length of each arm 24a/b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor US 4,130,115 in view of De Camp US 401,933.
Regarding claim 13, Taylor discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Taylor is silent on an articulated arm connected to the second joint arm in an adjustable and lockable manner for setting a functional angle between the first joint arm and the second joint arm.
However, De Camp teaches an analogous joint with a first joint arm A and a second joint arm A’ (fig. 1 and p. 1, lines 12-16 and 37-38) comprising an articulated arm D’ connected to the second joint arm A’ in an adjustable and lockable manner for setting a functional angle between the first joint arm A and the second joint arm A’ (fig. 1 and p. 1, lines 71-79, pin F can extend through strips D’ and A’ as well as disk C to lock the arm A’ in place; upper strips D and A can be locked likewise to set a desired functional angle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the orthosis joint of Taylor with an articulated arm connected to the second joint arm in an adjustable and lockable manner for setting a functional angle between the first joint arm and the second joint arm, as taught by De Camp, to allow locking of the hinge at a desired angle for therapeutic purposes.
Regarding claim 14, Taylor in view of De Camp discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
De Camp further teaches the second joint arm A’ being continuously lockable with the articulated arm D’ via common clamping surfaces (fig. 2 shows strips D’ and A’ interfacing to form a common surface when pin F locks them together), to allow locking of the hinge at a desired angle for therapeutic purposes.
Regarding claim 15, Taylor in view of De Camp discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
De Camp further teaches the articulation arm D’ comprising at least one groove for locking at the functional angle relative to the second joint arm A’ (figs. 1 and 2 show pin F extending through strips A’ and D’, such that there must be a groove/opening), to allow locking of the hinge at a desired angle for therapeutic purposes.
Regarding claim 16, Taylor in view of De Camp discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
De Camp further teaches force transmission from the functional element to the second joint arm A’ taking place only via the articulated arm D’ (as discussed above in 112(b) rejections, the functional element is interpreted to be pin F; D’ intervenes between the head of pin F and the strip A’, thus being the only manner of force transmission between the two), to distribute force imparted onto the lower half of the hinge mechanism.
Regarding claim 17, Taylor in view of De Camp discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
De Camp further teaches the articulated arm D’ having a common pivot point B with the first joint arm A and the second joint arm A’ (fig. 1 and p. 1, lines 72-73, all parts rotate about rivet B), to allow locking of the hinge at a common angle for therapeutic purposes.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,336,925 B2 in view of Taylor US 4,130,115.
Regarding claim 1, the patent claims an orthosis joint, comprising: a first joint arm; a second joint arm, wherein the first joint arm and the second joint arm are pivotable relative to one another to deflect from a basic position; at least one leaf spring which is configured to generate (i) a first restoring force in a first direction to restore one or more of the first joint arm and the second joint arm to the basic position from a first deflected position, and (ii) a second restoring force in a second direction to restore one or more of the first joint arm and the second joint arm to the basic position from a second deflected position, wherein the second direction is opposite the first direction (claim 1).
The patent is silent on at least a first set of three actuation points triangularly arranged along the at least one leaf spring, wherein at least one actuation point of the first set of at least three actuation points is adjustably arranged on one of the first joint arm and the second joint arm for changing the first or second restoring force.
However, Taylor teaches an orthosis joint 20 (figs. 2 and 10-13 and col. 3, lines 12-16, hinge 20 for use in a knee brace), comprising: at least a first set of three actuation points triangularly arranged along the at least one rib 26a/b, wherein at least one actuation point of the first set of at least three actuation points is adjustably arranged on one of the first joint arm 24a and the second joint arm 24b for changing the first or second returning force (annotated fig. A, where the three actuation points (locations of force that causes the ribs 26a/b to flex) form a triangle; col. 4, lines 49-60, the amount of force required to flex the ribs 26a/b may be modified by adjusting the distance between arms 24a/b via sliding the ribs 26a/b (see fig. 9), which would change the locations of the first and third actuation points, as these outer actuation points are formed at the interface between the housings 24a/b and the ribs 26a/b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the orthosis joint of the patent with at least a first set of three actuation points triangularly arranged along the at least one leaf spring, wherein at least one actuation point of the first set of at least three actuation points is adjustably arranged on one of the first joint arm and the second joint arm for changing the first or second restoring force, as taught by Taylor, to customize the device to each wearer’s ability and strength.
Regarding claim 2, the patent in view of Taylor discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Taylor further teaches the at least one leaf spring 26a/b comprises a plurality of leaf springs (fig. 10, plurality of ribs 26a/b functioning as leaf springs), to increase the strength of the leaf spring assembly.
Regarding claim 3, the patent in view of Taylor discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Taylor further teaches the plurality of leaf springs 26a/b being parallel to one another in a stacking arrangement (fig. 10), to allow smooth sliding relative to one another during flexion.
Regarding claim 4, the patent in view of Taylor discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
The patent further claims the entirety of the claim (claim 5).
Regarding claim 5, the patent in view of Taylor discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Taylor further teaches at least one of the three actuation points being eccentrically positionable relative to the at least one leaf spring 26a/b to permit decoupling (since the ribs 26a/b are capable of sliding relative to the housings 24a/b as previously discussed, one end (for example, the end near the 1st actuation point) would be capable of being slid further out of its housing 24a more than the other end, such that the 1st actuation point is more eccentrically positioned and offset than the 3rd actuation point), to allow the orthosis to be used without resistance when desired.
Regarding claim 6, the patent in view of Taylor discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Taylor further teaches at least one actuation point of the at least three actuation points being movable (col. 4, lines 44-49, the ribs 26a/b can slide within the housings 24a/b and are thus unfixed; therefore, the 1st and 3rd actuation points are movable relative to the ribs 26a/b), to adjust the force required to flex the orthosis.
Regarding claim 7, the patent in view of Taylor discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Taylor further teaches the first joint arm 24a and the second joint arm 24b being in frictional connection with each other (as the intervening ribs 26a/b slide relative to their housings 24a/b, there must be at least some kind of contact/friction between the ribs 26a/b and their housings 24a/b), to provide controlled sliding and adjustment.
Regarding claim 8, the patent in view of Taylor discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Taylor further teaches the at least one leaf spring 26a/b, and the at least three actuation points being positioned along a longitudinal axis of the first joint arm 24a or the second joint arm 24b (annotated fig. A, the ribs 26a/b and the actuation points being formed between the housings 24a/b, which form a longitudinal length and axis as shown in fig. 9 when straight), to allow smooth sliding when flexing.
Regarding claim 9, the patent in view of Taylor discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Taylor further teaches at least a second set of three actuation points triangularly arranged along the at least one leaf spring 26a/b, wherein the first set of three actuation points and second set of three actuation points oppose one another (annotated fig. A, the second set of actuation points being formed upon the hinge 20 flexing in the opposite direction to the first direction in the 1st set; the actuation points in the 2nd set have all the qualities of the 1st set as discussed above, except in the opposing direction), to provide additional flexing directions.
Regarding claim 10, the patent in view of Taylor discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Taylor further teaches at least one actuation point of the second set of at least three actuation points being adjustably arranged on one of the first joint arm 24a and the second joint arm 24b for changing the first or second restoring force (col. 4, lines 49-60, the amount of force required to flex the ribs 26a/b may be modified by adjusting the distance between arms 24a/b via sliding the ribs 26a/b (see fig. 9), which would change the locations of the first and third actuation points, as these outer actuation points are formed at the interface between the housings 24a/b and the ribs 26a/b), to allow adjustment of the force needed to flex the joint.
Regarding claim 11, the patent in view of Taylor discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Taylor further teaches the at least one actuation point of the second set of at least three actuation points being moveable along a displacement element arranged along a longitudinal axis of the first joint arm 24a or the second joint arm 24b (annotated fig. A, the 1st and 3rd actuation points being moveable along the hollow (the displacement element) of each arm 24a/b, where the hollow extends along the longitudinal length of each arm 24a/b), to allow adjustment of the force needed to flex the joint.
Regarding claim 12, the patent in view of Taylor discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Taylor further teaches the at least one actuation point of the first set of at least three actuation points being moveable along a displacement element arranged along a longitudinal axis of the first joint arm 24a or the second joint arm 24b (annotated fig. A, the 1st and 3rd actuation points being moveable along the hollow (the displacement element) of each arm 24a/b, where the hollow extends along the longitudinal length of each arm 24a/b), to allow adjustment of the force needed to flex the joint.
Regarding claim 13, the patent in view of Taylor discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
The patent further claims the entirety of the claim (claim 1).
Regarding claim 14, the patent in view of Taylor discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
The patent further claims the entirety of the claim (claim 6).
Regarding claim 15, the patent in view of Taylor discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
The patent further claims the entirety of the claim (claim 7).
Regarding claim 16, the patent in view of Taylor discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
The patent further claims the entirety of the claim (claim 1).
Regarding claim 17, the patent in view of Taylor discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
The patent further claims the entirety of the claim (claim 8).
Conclusion
/MICHELLE J LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786