DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 15, 17-19 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Macieira, publication number: US 2019/0044726.
As per claim 1, Macieira teaches a system comprising:
a plurality of internet-of-things (IoT) sensors, wherein individual IoT sensors are configured to generate data provenance information which, at least, cryptographically identifies data as originating from the individual IoT sensors; and
one or more processors in communication with non-transitory computer storage media storing instructions that when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
determine a subset of the IoT sensors from which data is to be aggregated, the IoT sensors being responsive to one or more constraints (traffic control group and weather stations, [0027], sensors [0022]);
instruct the subset of the IoT sensors to generate data, wherein a first IoT sensor of the subset is instructed to execute a custom workload, and wherein the data provenance information generated via the first IoT sensor is to be cryptographically signed (requesting weather information from weather stations, [0027], verifying data provenance using a cryptographic hash, [0071]); and
aggregate output data associated with the subset of the IoT sensors, wherein data provenance information associated with the IoT sensors is validated to form a trusted network chain (aggregator node, [0070-0071] verifying network data, [0052]).
As per claims 2 and 14, Macieira teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause presentation of an interactive user interface via a user device, and wherein the interactive user interface:
presents graphical representations of a plurality of sensors which are responsive to the constraints, wherein the subset is selected based on the graphical representations,
identifies, for the first IoT sensor, expanded functionality capable of performance via the first IoT sensor, wherein the custom workload is configured to leverage the expanded functionality, and
triggers information to the subset reflecting their aggregation (display [0041], traffic control group and weather stations, [0027]).
As per claims 3 and 15, Macieira teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
access, for data obtained from an individual IoT sensor of the subset of IoT sensors, a public key associated with the IoT sensor; and
validate the data provenance information, wherein the individual IoT sensor is configured to generate the data provenance information based on a corresponding private key (authenticate data, [0058]).
As per claim 4, Macieira teaches wherein upon onboarding of the IoT sensor, the IoT sensor is configured to provide the public key to an endpoint accessible via the one or more processors (IoT device having a public key, [0058]).
As per claims 5 and 17, Macieira teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to validate data provenance information supplemented via individual nodes through which the data obtained from the individual IoT sensor traveled (aggregate node, [0057][0069][0071-0072]).
As per claims 6 and 18, Macieira teaches wherein a particular IoT sensor of the subset of sensors is a virtual sensor, wherein the virtual sensor reflects an abstraction associated with a particular set of physical IoT sensors, and wherein the virtual sensor performs local processing based on information obtained via the particular set of physical IoT sensors (aggregate node, [0057][0069][0071-0072]).
As per claims 7 and 19, Macieira teaches wherein the virtual sensor validates data provenance information included in the particular set of physical IoT sensors, wherein the virtual sensor supplements the data provenance information based on cryptographically identifies data from the virtual sensor as originating at the virtual sensor (traffic control group and weather station, [0027], cryptographic hash, [0071]).
As per claim 8, Macieira teaches wherein the data output via an individual IoT sensor includes one or more sensor measurements, metadata associated with the sensor measurements, and processing associated with a custom workload, and wherein the data is cryptographically signed via the individual IoT sensor such that the cryptographic signature persists with the data (weather station, [0025-0027]).
As per claim 9, Macieira teaches wherein an individual IoT sensor is formed from an original equipment manufacturer (OEM) sensor connected to a sensor edge element, and wherein the sensor edge element generates the data provenance information (sensor in emergency vehicle [0027]).
As per claim 10, Macieira teaches wherein the OEM sensor is connected to the sensor edge element via I2C (I2C, [0033]).
As per claim 11, Macieira teaches wherein the sensor edge element is configured to perform a custom workload via one or more microcontrollers, and wherein the sensor edge element is configured to interface with control registers of the OEM sensor (emergency vehicle requesting clearance, [0027]).
As per claims 12 and 23, Macieira teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine that data output via a particular IoT sensor is unable to be validated, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to discard the data (corrupt data, [0059]).
As per claims 13 and 24, Macieira teaches a method implemented by a system of one or more processors, the method comprising:
determining a subset of a plurality of IoT sensors from which data is to be aggregated, the subset of the plurality of IoT sensors being responsive to one or more constraints, wherein individual IoT sensors are configured to generate data provenance information which, at least, cryptographically identifies data as originating from the individual IoT sensors (traffic control group and weather stations, [0027], verifying data provenance using cryptographic hash, [0071]);
instructing the subset of the IoT sensors to generate data, wherein a first IoT sensor of the subset is instructed to execute a custom workload, and wherein the data provenance information generated via the first IoT sensor is to be cryptographically signed (requesting weather information, [0027], cryptographic hash, [0071]); and
aggregating output data associated with the subset of the IoT sensors, wherein data provenance information associated with the IoT sensors is validated to form a trusted network chain (aggregator node, [0070-0071] verifying network data, [0052]).
Conclusion
/OLUGBENGA O IDOWU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494