DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that the independent claims define an apparatus and make significant use of “wherein” clauses. Apparatus claims "[C]over what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114.
However, where the claim as a whole is directed to conveying a message or meaning to a human reader independent of the intended computer system, and/or the computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. For example, a claim to a memory stick containing tables of batting averages, or tracks of recorded music, utilizes the intended computer system merely as a support for the information. Such claims are directed toward conveying meaning to the human reader rather than towards establishing a functional relationship between recorded data and the computer. See MPEP 2111.05.
Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. The use of “wherein” clauses raises this issue. See MPEP 2103, 2111.04.
The independent apparatus claims at issue recite language/elements that does not give meaning and purpose to the manipulative steps. Additionally, no functional relationship exists between the function and structure. The computer-based elements merely serve as a support for information or data; the claimed WSU, CRM and COU merely provide or manage data.
The use of “wherein” clauses are determined to be claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. These limitations are not given significant patentable weight.
To expedite prosecution, Examiner is applying prior art to all limitations. However, the application of prior art to those limitations without significant patentable weight is not a reason to ignore this interpretation. While prior art is being applied to all limitations, the true interpretation creates an additional rejection that must be addressed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as based on a disclosure which is not enabling. The disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without undue experimentation on the necessary structure to manage and calculate new and necessary data, which is/are critical or essential to the practice of the invention but not included in the claim(s). See In re Mayhew, 527 F.2d 1229, 188 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1976). The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims fail to provide exact terms and structure to make and use the invention. The use of “wherein” clauses define significant portions of the independent claims as optional and does not set forth the best mode contemplated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song, et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0165954) in view of Ran, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,692,365) and in view of Janovec, et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0372607).
For claim 7, Song teaches a communication-based connected reference marker system (C-CRM System) comprising: a network of Connected Reference Markers (CRM) installed along a roadway (see paras. 0018, 0033); a Central Operations Unit (COU) (see para. 0033); and a roadside communication system (see paras. 0034, 0021). Song does not explicitly disclose the next limitation.
A teaching from Ran discloses identifying the locations and positions of objects on the roadway and in the driving environment for the vehicle (see col. 3:4 to col. 4: 31, object is detected, a location is implicit); and detects and identifies objects on the roadway and in the driving environment for the vehicle (see col. 3:4 to col. 4: 31, object is detected). A teaching from Janovec discloses wherein a CRM of the network of CRMs provides a local location reference and/or an object reference to support (see pars. 0082, 0085) the locations of Ran.
It would have been obvious to modify Song at the effective date of filing to include the teaching of Ran based on a reasonable expectation of success and the motivation to improve a system providing full vehicle operations and control for connected and automated vehicle and highway systems by sending individual vehicles with detailed and time-sensitive control instructions. It is suitable for a portion of lanes, or all lanes of the highway (see col. 1:30-39).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of filing to modify Song with the teaching of Janovec such that the data would have specific identifiers associated with the type of data based on the motivation to improve an identification system for use with a vehicle that comprises a marker that can assist in sign detection or sign recognition or both (see para. 0001).
For the next limitation, Song further discloses wherein the COU manages and operates local location relationship tables for the network of CRMs, virtual roadway configuration information for the roadway, or local location relationship tables for key points of a central line of a driving lane (see paras. 0018, 0038-0040); and transmits the local location relationship tables, the virtual roadway configuration information, or the local location relationship tables for key points of a central line of a driving lane to CRMs and to the vehicle (see paras. 0038-0040) and wherein the C-CRM System comprises a computer and/or data storage provided by cloud computing provided by a virtual computer system over a network (see paras. 0021, 0033).
With reference to claim 8, Song further discloses a location relationship identification module to develop a set of local location for CRM (see paras. 0038-0039). Song does not explicitly disclose the map as “HD free”. The resolution of which data is displayable is a change that can be made that is well within the ordinary skill in the art. Additionally, relationship tables are well known within the data storage art as data matrix storage methods. Both of these claimed elements are obvious modifications to one of ordinary skill in the art based on the motivation to improve an apparatus having a plurality of markers embedded on a road, the plurality of markers arranged in a line and configured to define a border of at least one lane in a plurality of lanes on the road, and the plurality of markers are further configured to dynamically assign a driving designation to the at least one lane on the road (see para. 0003).
Continuing with the claim, Song further discloses a VRCM to provide virtual roadway configuration information comprising virtual driving cells, virtual driving lanes, virtual driving lane groups, and a virtual driving grid (see para. 0035). A teaching from Ran discloses a communication module for transmitting said local location relationship tables and said virtual roadway configuration information to CRMs and to the vehicle (see col. 8:22-32).
Regarding claim 9, it is rejected based on the citations and reasoning outlined above for claim 8. Additionally, a “high definition map” is not disclosed by Song. The resolution of which data is displayable is a change that can be made that is well within the ordinary skill in the art. The “definition” of the map is an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art based on the motivation to improve an apparatus having a plurality of markers embedded on a road, the plurality of markers arranged in a line and configured to define a border of at least one lane in a plurality of lanes on the road, and the plurality of markers are further configured to dynamically assign a driving designation to the at least one lane on the road (see para. 0003).
Pertaining to claim 10, Ran further discloses wherein a CRM stores said local location relationship tables and said virtual roadway configuration information (see col. 8:32-40, col. 2:60-3:3). Song teaches transmits said local location relationship tables and said virtual roadway configuration information to the vehicle driving by said CRM (see paras. 0035, 0038-0039).
Referring to claim 11, Song further teaches wherein said COU transmits said local location relationship tables and said virtual roadway configuration information to CRM (see paras. 0018, 0038-0039).
With regards to claim 12, Song further teaches wherein the roadside communication system is configured to provide communication and information sharing among CRMs, COU, and the vehicle (see para. 0034).
For claim 13, Song further discloses wherein the network comprises the internet, a connected automated vehicle highway (CAVH), an intelligent road infrastructure system (IRIS), and/or a cellular network (see para. 0031).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6 and 14-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art does not contain a teaching for which a reasonable combination could be made to teach the limitation “wherein the C-CRM system uses a triangular position identification method that is a two-dimensional method for a level grade road or that is a three-dimensional method for a road comprising an upgrade or a down grade.”
Conclusion
Examiner would like to point out that any reference/citation to specific figures, columns and lines should not be considered limiting in any way. The entire cited reference, as well as any secondary teaching reference(s), are to be included in considerations of relevant disclosure relating to the claimed invention. Applicant is herein considered to have implicit knowledge of all cited teachings of the prior art of record.
/ADAM D TISSOT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663