UNITED STATES PATENT AND TRADEMAR
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE
UNITED STATES PATENT AND TRADEMARK OFFICE
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE
United States Patent and Trademark Office
Address: COMMISSIONER FOR PATENTS
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
www.uspto.gov
APPLICATION NO.
19/233,453
23373
7590
FILING DATE
06/10/2025
05/22/2026
SUGHRUE MION, PLLC
2000 PENNSYLVANIA AVENUE, N.W.
SUITE 9000
WASHINGTON, DC 20006
FIRST NAMED INVENTOR
ATTORNEY DOCKET NO.
Hyechan BAE
Q308229
ART UNIT
2623
CONFIRMATION NO.
EXAMINER
HERMANN, KIRK W
5515
PAPER NUMBER
NOTIFICATION DATE
DELIVERY MODE
05/22/2026
ELECTRONIC
Please find below and/or attached an Office communication concerning this application or proceeding.
The time period for reply, if any, is set in the attached communication.
Notice of the Office communication was sent electronically on above-indicated "Notification Date" to the
following e-mail address(es):
PPROCESSING@SUGHRUE.COM
sughrue@sughrue.com
uspto@sughrue.com
PTOL-90A (Rev. 04/07)
Office Action Summary
Application No.
Applicant(s)
19/233,453
BAE et al.
Examiner
KIRK W HERMANN
Art Unit
2623
AIA (First Inventor to
File) Status Yes
The MAILING DATE of this communication appears on the cover sheet with the correspondence address --
Period for Reply
A SHORTENED STATUTORY PERIOD FOR REPLY IS SET TO EXPIRE 3 MONTHS FROM THE MAILING
DATE OF THIS COMMUNICATION.
Extensions of time may be available under the provisions of 37 CFR 1.136(a). In no event, however, may a reply be timely filed after SIX (6) MONTHS from the mailing
date of this communication.
If NO period for reply is specified above, the maximum statutory period will apply and will expire SIX (6) MONTHS from the mailing date of this communication.
Failure to reply within the set or extended period for reply will, by statute, cause the application to become ABANDONED (35 U.S.C. § 133).
Any reply received by the Office later than three months after the mailing date of this communication, even if timely filed, may reduce any earned patent term
adjustment. See 37 CFR 1.704(b).
Status
1) Responsive to communication(s) filed on 27 March 2026.
2a)
A declaration(s)/affidavit(s) under 37 CFR 1.130(b) was/were filed on
This action is FINAL.
2b) This action is non-final.
3) An election was made by the applicant in response to a restriction requirement set forth during the interview
on; the restriction requirement and election have been incorporated into this action.
4) Since this application is in condition for allowance except for formal matters, prosecution as to the merits is
closed in accordance with the practice under Ex parte Quayle, 1935 C.D. 11, 453 O.G. 213.
Disposition of Claims*
5) Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending in the application.
5a) Of the above claim(s)
is/are withdrawn from consideration.
6) Claim(s) is/are allowed.
7) Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-20 is/are rejected.
8) Claim(s) 5 is/are objected to.
9) Claim(s) are subject to restriction and/or election requirement
* If any claims have been determined allowable, you may be eligible to benefit from the Patent Prosecution Highway program at a
participating intellectual property office for the corresponding application. For more information, please see
http://www.uspto.gov/patents/init_events/pph/index.jsp or send an inquiry to PPHfeedback@uspto.gov.
Application Papers
10) The specification is objected to by the Examiner.
11) The drawing(s) filed on 10 June 2025 is/are: a)☐ accepted or b) objected to by the Examiner.
Applicant may not request that any objection to the drawing(s) be held in abeyance. See 37 CFR 1.85(a).
Replacement drawing sheet(s) including the correction is required if the drawing(s) is objected to. See 37 CFR 1.121(d).
Priority under 35 U.S.C. § 119
12) Acknowledgment is made of a claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. § 119(a)-(d) or (f).
Certified copies:
a) All b) Some** c) None of the:
1. Certified copies of the priority documents have been received.
2. Certified copies of the priority documents have been received in Application No.
3. Copies of the certified copies of the priority documents have been received in this National Stage
application from the International Bureau (PCT Rule 17.2(a)).
** See the attached detailed Office action for a list of the certified copies not received.
Attachment(s)
1) Notice of References Cited (PTO-892)
2) Information Disclosure Statement(s) (PTO/SB/08a and/or PTO/SB/08b)
Paper No(s)/Mail Date
3) Interview Summary (PTO-413)
Paper No(s)/Mail Date
Other:
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
PTOL-326 (Rev. 11-13)
Office Action Summary
Part of Paper No./Mail Date 20260515
Continuation Sheet (PTOL-326)
Application No. 19/233,453
/KIRK W HERMANN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 2
DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA.
Foreign Priority
2. This application is a by-pass continuation application of International Application
No. PCT/KR2023/016635, filed on 10/25/2023, which is based on and claims priority to
Korean Patent Application No. 10-2022-0179867 filed on 12/20/2022, and Korean
Patent Application No. 10-2023-0017881 filed on 02/10/2023 in the Korean Intellectual
Property Office. On 07/02/2025 and 07/03/2025, the USPTO electronically retrieved
copies of these documents. Thus, on the office action summary sheet examiner has
checked off the box "all" certified copies have been received at this time.
Drawings Objection
3. The drawings are objected to because FIG. 9B at S960 and S980 includes
“GRATER”. This objection may be overcome, for example, by changing "GRATER” to
“GREATER”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are
required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any
amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the
immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The
figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as "amended." If
a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the
replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered
and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 3
drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the
renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date
of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either "Replacement Sheet" or
"New Sheet" pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the
examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in
the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 5-6, 14 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 at line 2 includes extra spaces between words. This objection may be
overcome, for example, by left justifying the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
This objection applies to claim 6 that depends upon claim 5.
Claim 14 at line 1 includes extra spaces between words. This objection may be
overcome, for example, by left justifying the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 at line 1 includes extra spaces between words. This objection may be
overcome, for example, by left justifying the claims.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC §112
pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor
regards as the invention.
claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
6. Claims 6 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-
AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 4
distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for
applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 at line 1 includes "the first value" that lacks antecedent basis. This
ground of rejection may be overcome, for example, by amending claim 1 at line 1 to "a
first value". This would provide proper antecedent basis for "the first value” in claim 6 at
line 4. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 at line 1 includes "a first preset value”, however it is unclear whether
applicant is referring to "a first preset value” previously declared in claim 5 at line 8 or to
another preset value. This ground of rejection may be overcome, for example, by
amending claim 1 at line 1 to "the first preset value". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 at line 10 includes "the input motion” that lacks antecedent basis. This
ground of rejection may be overcome, for example, by amending claim 11 at line 10 to
"input motion”. This would provide proper antecedent basis for "the input motion” in
claim 11 at line 15; in claim 12 at lines 2-3; in claim 15 at lines 6 and 9; and in claim 17
at line 4. Appropriate correction is required. This grounds of rejection applies to claims
12-19 that depend upon claim 11.
Claim 16 at line 1 includes "the first value" that lacks antecedent basis. This
ground of rejection may be overcome, for example, by amending claim 16 at line 1 to "a
first value". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 at lines 1-2 includes "a first preset value”, however it is unclear
whether applicant is referring to "a first preset value" previously declared in claim 15 at
line 8 or to another preset value. This ground of rejection may be overcome, for
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 5
example, by amending claim 16 at lines 1-2 to "the first preset value”. Appropriate
correction is required.
7. Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
8. Claims 1-2 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being
anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0188938 A1 to Deselaers et al. ("Deselaers").
100
102
130
112- User Computing Device
Processoris)
Machine Leaming Computing
System
132
114
Processer(s)
116
Memory
134
Data
Memory
136
118
Instructions
138
Instructions
120
Machine-Leamed Touch
Interpretation Prediction
140
Model(s)
122
Touch Sensor
Machine-Learned Touch
Interpretation Prediction
180
Model(s)
142
Training Data
150
User Input Component
124
Training Computing System
152
Processor(s)
126
User Output Component
154
Mamory
156
Data
158
Instructions
160
Model Trainer
162
Training Data
Figure 1
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 6
224
226
228
Touch Sensor
Data Sampled
at Time t
Touch Sensor
Data Sampled
at Time to
Touch Sensor
Data Sampled
at Time tr
220
222
Touch Interpretation Prediction Model
224
Set of Touch Points
Neural Network
(or other machine-
learned model)
226
Gesture
Interpretation
228
Touch Prediction
Vector
230
At least one future time trop
Figure 5
250
254
290
270
272
376
Figure 6
Figure 7
As to claim 1, Deselaers discloses a method of identifying an input motion by
an electronic device(250)(Figs. 1, 6-7; 0023-0025, 0058, 0097-0099), the method
(0097-0099) comprising:
identifying, based on touch data of a touch display (Figs. 6-7; 0023-0025)
and a first algorithm (||0029-0030), whether a first touch input to the touch
display corresponds to a valid input (Figs. 5-7: 224; 0023-0025, 0029-0030, 0038,
0091 an application layer determines if each touch input is intended or unintended);
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 7
obtaining, based on the first touch input indicating the valid input (Figs. 6-7;
0023-0025, 0029-0030 - predicted touch interpretation determines if each touch input
is intended or unintended), first inference result information related to the input
motion for the first touch input based on the touch data and a second algorithm
(Fig. 5: 225; 0023-0025, 0027, 0029-0035, 0038, 006, 0079-0081, 0086 a motion
gesture, such as a scroll gesture, swipe gesture or pinch to zoom gesture, is predicted
by a second application layer {FIG. 5: 222} based on intended touch inputs including the
first touch input); and
identifying, based on the first inference result information and second
inference result information related to the input motion for at least one second
touch input, whether the first touch input and the at least one second touch input
correspond to the input motion (Fig. 5: 22, touch sensor data 224 & 226, gesture
interpretation 226;0087-0089, 0092 - a motion gesture, such as a scroll gesture,
swipe gesture or pinch to zoom gesture, is predicted by a second application layer {FIG.
5: 222} based on intended touch inputs including the first touch input and a second
touch input).
As to claim 2, Deselaers discloses the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Deselaers further discloses wherein the first inference result information
indicates a probability that the first touch input corresponds to the input motion,
or whether the first touch input corresponds to the input motion (Fig. 5: 225;
0023-0025, 0027, 0029-0035, 0038, 006, 0079-0081, 0086 - a motion gesture, such
as a scroll gesture, swipe gesture or pinch to zoom gesture, is predicted by a second
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 8
application layer {FIG. 5: 222} based on intended touch inputs including the first touch
input).
As to claim 11, Deselaers discloses an electronic device(102, 250)(Figs. 1, 6-7;
0023, 0056, 0097) comprising:
a touch display(122)(FIG. 1; 0058);
memory storing (114)(FIG. 1; 0057) one or more instructions(118)(FIG. 1;
0057); and
at least one processor(112)(FIG. 1; 0057) configured to execute the one or
more instructions (118)(FIG. 1; 0057),
wherein the one or more instructions(118)(FIG. 1; 0057), when executed by
the at least one processor(112)(FIG. 1; [0057) individually or collectively, cause
the electronic device(102, 250) (Figs. 1, 6-7; 0023, 0058, 0097) to:
identify, based on touch data of the touch display (Figs. 6-7; 0023-0025)
and a first algorithm (||0029-0030, 0091), whether a first touch input to the touch
display corresponds to a valid input (Figs. 5-7: 224;
0023-0025, 0029-0030, 0038,
0091 an application layer/first algorithm determines if each touch input is intended or
unintended);
obtaining, based on the first touch input indicating the valid input (Figs. 5-7:
224; 0023-0025, 0029-0030, 0038, 0091 an application layer/first algorithm
determines if each touch input is intended or unintended), first inference result
information related to the input motion for the first touch input based on the
touch data and a second algorithm (Fig. 5: 225; 0023-0025, 0027, 0029-0035,
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 9
0038, 006, 0079-0081, 0086 a motion gesture, such as a scroll gesture, swipe gesture
or pinch to zoom gesture, is predicted by a second application layer/second algorithm
{FIG. 5: 222} based on intended touch inputs including the first touch input); and
identify, based on the first inference result information and second
inference result information related to the input motion for at least one second
touch input, identify whether the first touch input and the at least one second
touch input correspond to the input motion (Fig. 5: 22, touch sensor data 224 & 226,
gesture interpretation 226; 0087-0089, 0092 a motion gesture, such as a scroll
gesture, swipe gesture or pinch to zoom gesture, is predicted by a second application
layer {FIG. 5: 222} based on intended touch inputs including the first touch input and a
second touch input).
As to claim 12, Deselaers discloses the electronic device of claim 11, as
applied above.
Deselaers further discloses wherein the first inference result information
indicates a probability that the first touch input corresponds to the input motion,
or whether the first touch input corresponds to the input motion (Fig. 5: 225;
0023-0025, 0027, 0029-0035, 0038, 006, 0079-0081, 0086 a motion gesture, such
as a scroll gesture, swipe gesture or pinch to zoom gesture, is predicted by a second
application layer {FIG. 5: 222} based on intended touch inputs including the first touch
input).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 10
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior
art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was
made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall
not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
10. Claims 1, 4, 7-9, 11, 14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2013/0106776 A1 to Park et al. (“Park”) in view
of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0206380 A1 to Zhao et al. (“Zhao”).
140
CURPMUNICATION UNIT
0
FIG. 1
FIG. 2
MEMORY
210
270
230
249
100
138
TOUCH PANEL
SIZE SENSING UNI
TOUCH INTERACTION
IDENTIFYRRI NO
IDENTIFYERG UNIT
TOUCH SCREEN
FIG. 3A
210
FIG. 38
FIG. 30
210
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 11
FIG. 8
515
515
Non-Touch
Threshold
Man-Touch
Touch
& Active
517
Noise
Touch
Not Active
FIG. 9
STAHT
NO
TOUCH SENSEOP
YES
SENSE TOUCH AREA SIZE
-913
240
INPUT IDENTIFYING UNIT
IDENTIFY FOUCHE IN TERACTION
-912
IDENTIFY INPUT ACCORDING TO THE TOUCH
AREA SLE AND THE CUS INTERACTION
917
EXECUTE A FUNCTION CORRESPONDING
810
TO THE IDENHED INPLIT
END
TIS]
As to claim 1, Park discloses a method of identifying an input motion by an
electronic device (FIGs. 1, 3A-3C, 9; 0039, 0048-0053, 0070, 0072-0075), the
method comprising:
identifying, based on touch data of a touch display(130, 210)(FIGs. 1-2;
0042, 0047, 0070, 0073) and a first algorithm ([[0036, especially - "The first touch
threshold refers to a reference value to determine whether the touch panel is touched",
0041, especially - " a touch threshold to determine whether a touch is made or has
occurred on the touch panel”, 0062, 0070, 0073), whether a first touch input to the
touch display(130, 210)(FIGs. 1-2; 0042, 0047, 0070) corresponds to a valid input
(0036, 0041, 0062, 0070, 0073);
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 12
obtaining, based on the first touch input indicating the valid input (0036,
0041-0042, 0062, 0070, 0073), first inference result information related to the input
motion for the first touch input based on the touch data and a second algorithm
(FIGs. 3A-3C; 190036, especially - "The second touch threshold refers to a reference
value to identify a touch area size", 0041-0042, 0046-0051, 0063, 0070 - the identity of
a touch object is inferred based on an identified size of a valid touch. As shown in
Table 1, the identity of the touch object along with the identity of the input motion of a
second touch input (e.g., twist, sweep and stop) is used to determine the function to be
carried out for the currently executed application); and
identifying, based on the first inference result information and second
inference result information related to the input motion for at least one second
touch input a function to execute (FIGs. 3A-3C; 0036, especially - "The second
touch threshold refers to a reference value to identify a touch area size", 0041-0042,
0046-0053, 0070, 0073 - a touch input is determined based on: (i) inferring the identity
of a touch object based on an identified size of a valid touch; (ii) identifying a touch
interaction such as a twist, sweep, a stop, etc. by detecting an altered location of a
preset point of the valid touch caused by a second touch input. Based on the touch
motion and a currently executed application, an inferred touch interaction/gesture is
determined that is used to carry out a corresponding function/command related to a
currently executed application.).
Park does not expressly disclose identifying, based on the first inference
result information and second inference result information related to the input
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 13
motion for at least one second touch input, whether the first touch input and the
at least one second touch input correspond to the input motion.
Zhao discloses and identifying, based on the first result information and
second result information related to the input motion for at least one second
touch input, whether the first touch input and the at least one second touch input
correspond to the input motion (0026, especially - "the gesture input...may be a
single finger gesture input, or a multi-finger gesture input", 0027, 0029, 0031-0032,
0035, 0040, 0042, 0050-0051 - each of a series of contacts is correlated to be part of a
single touch gesture/motion by algorithms of prediction-based touch contact tracking,
which make determinations including: (i) a predicted next contact location; and (ii)
whether two touch contacts are nearest neighbors).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been
obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park with Zhao to provide a
method of identifying an input motion by an electronic device that allows a user to be
able to enter a long touch gesture on a small touch screen (190003, 0024).
Park and Zhao teach and identifying, based on the first inference result
information and second inference result information related to the input motion
for at least one second touch input, whether the first touch input and the at least
one second touch input correspond to the input motion (Park: FIGs. 3A-3C;
0036, especially - "The second touch threshold refers to a reference value to identify
a touch area size", 0041-0042, 0046-0053, 0070, 0073; Zhao: 0026-0027, 0029,
0031-0032, 0035, 0040, 0042, 0050-0051).
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 14
As to claim 4, Park and Zhao teach the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Park and Zhao further teach wherein the second algorithm comprises at least
one of a first layer related to feature extraction, a second layer related to a
temporal feature (Park: [0036, especially - "The second touch threshold refers to a
reference value to identify a touch area size"; Zhao: FIG. 1: 114, 120; 0027, especially
- "a touch input module 114 (e.g., a lower layer component) that is implemented to
recognize touch input sensor data 116... the touch sensor data from the touch input
module as HID reports... The HID reports include a time and position data"), or a third
layer related to feature classification.
The motivation to combine the additional teaching of Zhao is for the same
reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
As to claim 7, Park and Zhao teach the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Park and Zhao further teach further comprising, based on the first touch
input and the at least one second touch input corresponding to the input motion,
performing an event corresponding to the input motion (Park: FIGs. 3A, 3C; 0036,
0041-0042, 0046-0053; Zhao: 0026-0027, 0029, 0031-0032, 0035, 0040, 0042, 0050-
0051), wherein the event corresponds to a process that comprises obtaining an
image displayed on the touch display (Park: FIGs. 1-2, 3A, 3C: 130, 210; 0036,
0041-0042, 0046-0053, 0070, 0073).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Zhao is for the same
reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 15
As to claim 8, Park and Zhao teach the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Park further discloses further comprising obtaining the first touch input on
the touch display(130, 210)(FIGs. 1-2; 0042, 0047, 0070), wherein the touch data
corresponds to electrostatic capacitance data of the touch display(130, 210)(FIGs.
1-2; 0042, especially - "capacitive touch panel", 0047, 0070).
As to claim 9, Park and Zhao teach the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Park and Zhao further teach wherein the second inference result information
is identified based on other touch data for the touch display and the second
algorithm (Park: FIGs. 1-2, 3A-3C: 130, 210; 0036, especially - "The second touch
threshold refers to a reference value to identify a touch area size", 0041-0042, 0046-
0053, 0070, 0073 - for a second touch input part of a motion/gesture, a second
inference is made as to the identity of the touch object based on an identified size of a
valid touch, in which the detected second touch data is other touch data and the second
algorithm, i.e., 0036, especially - "The second touch threshold refers to a reference
value to identify a touch area size”), and wherein the at least one second touch input
corresponds to a valid input motion and is identified based on the first algorithm
and the other touch data (Park: FIGs. 1-2, 3A-3C: 130, 210; 0036, especially - "The
second touch threshold refers to a reference value to identify a touch area size", 0041-
0042, 0046-0053, 0070, 0073 - for a second touch input part of a motion/gesture, a
second inference is made as to the identity of the touch object based on an identified
size of a valid touch, in which the detected second touch data is other touch data and
the first algorithm, i.e., 0036, especially - "The first touch threshold refers to a
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 16
reference value to determine whether the touch panel is touched"; Zhao: 0026-0027,
0029, 0031-0032, 0035, 0040, 0042, 0050-0051).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Zhao is for the same
reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
As to claim 11, Park discloses an electronic device (FIGs. 1, 3A-3C; 0039,
0048) comprising:
a touch display(130, 210)(FIGs. 1-2; 0039, 0052);
memory(110)(FIG. 1; 0041) storing one or more instructions (FIG. 1: 110;
0040, 0041, 0046); and
at least one processor(100)(FIG. 1; 0040) configured to execute the one or
more instructions (FIG. 1: 100, 110; 0040, 0041,0046),
wherein the one or more instructions (FIG. 1: 110; 0040, 0041, 0046),
when executed by the at least one processor(100)(FIG. 1: 110; 0040, 0041, 0046)
individually or collectively, cause the electronic device (FIG. 1: 100, 110; 0039,
0040, especially - "The controller 100 controls the entire operation of the mobile device",
0041, 0046, 0048) to:
identify, based on touch data of the touch display(130, 210)(FIGs. 1-2;
0042, 0047, 0070, 0073) and a first algorithm (9|9|0036, especially - "The first touch
threshold refers to a reference value to determine whether the touch panel is touched",
0041, especially - " a touch threshold to determine whether a touch is made or has
occurred on the touch panel”, 0062, 0070, 0073), whether a first touch input to the
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 17
touch display(130, 210)(FIGs. 1-2; 0042, 0047, 0070) corresponds to a valid input
(130, 210)(FIGs. 1-2; 0042, 0047, 0070);
obtaining, based on the first touch input indicating the valid input (0036,
0041-0042, 0062, 0070, 0073), first inference result information related to the input
motion for the first touch input based on the touch data and a second algorithm
(FIGs. 3A-3C; 10036, especially - "The second touch threshold refers to a reference
value to identify a touch area size", 0041-0042, 0046-0051, 0063, 0070 - the identity of
a touch object is inferred based on an identified size of a valid touch. As shown in
Table 1, the identity of the touch object along with the identity of the input motion of a
second touch input (e.g., twist, sweep and stop) is used to determine the function to be
carried out for the currently executed application); and
identify, based on the first inference result information and second
inference result information related to the input motion for at least one second
touch input a function to execute (FIGs. 3A-3C; 0036, especially - "The second
touch threshold refers to a reference value to identify a touch area size", 0041-0042,
0046-0053, 0070, 0073 a touch input is determined based on: (i) inferring the identity
of a touch object based on an identified size of a valid touch; (ii) identifying a touch
interaction such as a twist, sweep, a stop, etc. by detecting an altered location of a
preset point of the valid touch caused by a second touch input. Based on the touch
motion and a currently executed application, an inferred touch interaction/gesture is
determined that is used to carry out a corresponding function/command related to a
currently executed application.).
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 18
Park does not expressly disclose identify whether the first touch input and
the at least one second touch input correspond to the input motion.
Zhao discloses identify whether the first touch input and the at least one
second touch input correspond to the input motion (190026, especially - "the
gesture input... may be a single finger gesture input, or a multi-finger gesture input”,
0027, 0029, 0031-0032, 0035, 0040, 0042, 0050-0051 - each of a series of contacts is
correlated to be part of a single touch gesture/motion by algorithms of prediction-based
touch contact tracking, which make determinations including: (i) a predicted next contact
location; and (ii) whether two touch contacts are nearest neighbors).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been
obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park with Zhao to provide an
electronic device that allows a user to be able to enter a long touch gesture on a small
touch screen (0003, 0024).
As to claim 14, Park and Zhao teach the electronic device of claim 11, as
applied above.
Park and Zhao further teach wherein the second algorithm comprises at least
one of a first layer related to feature extraction, a second layer related to a
temporal feature (Park: [0036, especially - "The second touch threshold refers to a
reference value to identify a touch area size"; Zhao: FIG. 1: 114, 120; 0027, especially
- "a touch input module 114 (e.g., a lower layer component) that is implemented to
recognize touch input sensor data 116... the touch sensor data from the touch input
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 19
module as HID reports... The HID reports include a time and position data"), or a third
layer related to feature classification.
The motivation to combine the additional teaching of Zhao is for the same
reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 20
As to claim 15, Park and Zhao teach the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Park and Zhao further teach wherein the second algorithm comprises at least
one of a first layer related to feature extraction, a second layer related to a
temporal feature (Park: 0036, especially - "The second touch threshold refers to a
reference value to identify a touch area size"; Zhao: FIG. 1: 114, 120; 0027, especially
- "a touch input module 114 (e.g., a lower layer component) that is implemented to
recognize touch input sensor data 116... the touch sensor data from the touch input
module as HID reports... The HID reports include a time and position data"), or a third
layer related to feature classification.
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Zhao is for the same
reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
As to claim 16, Park and Zhao teach the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Park and Zhao further teach wherein the second algorithm comprises at least
one of a first layer related to feature extraction, a second layer related to a
temporal feature (Park: 0036, especially - "The second touch threshold refers to a
reference value to identify a touch area size"; Zhao: FIG. 1: 114, 120; 0027, especially
- "a touch input module 114 (e.g., a lower layer component) that is implemented to
recognize touch input sensor data 116... the touch sensor data from the touch input
module as HID reports... The HID reports include a time and position data"), or a third
layer related to feature classification.
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Zhao is for the same
reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
As to claim 17, Park and Zhao teach the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Park and Zhao further teach wherein the second algorithm comprises at least
one of a first layer related to feature extraction, a second layer related to a
temporal feature (Park: 0036, especially - "The second touch threshold refers to a
reference value to identify a touch area size"; Zhao: FIG. 1: 114, 120; 0027, especially
- "a touch input module 114 (e.g., a lower layer component) that is implemented to
recognize touch input sensor data 116... the touch sensor data from the touch input
module as HID reports... The HID reports include a time and position data"), or a third
layer related to feature classification.
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Zhao is for the same
reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
As to claim 18, Park and Zhao teach the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Park and Zhao further teach wherein the second algorithm comprises at least
one of a first layer related to feature extraction, a second layer related to a
temporal feature (Park: 0036, especially - "The second touch threshold refers to a
reference value to identify a touch area size"; Zhao: FIG. 1: 114, 120; 0027, especially
- "a touch input module 114 (e.g., a lower layer component) that is implemented to
recognize touch input sensor data 116... the touch sensor data from the touch input
module as HID reports... The HID reports include a time and position data"), or a third
layer related to feature classification.
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Zhao is for the same
reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
As to claim 19, Park and Zhao teach the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Park and Zhao further teach wherein the second algorithm comprises at least
one of a first layer related to feature extraction, a second layer related to a
temporal feature (Park: 0036, especially - "The second touch threshold refers to a
reference value to identify a touch area size"; Zhao: FIG. 1: 114, 120; 0027, especially
- "a touch input module 114 (e.g., a lower layer component) that is implemented to
recognize touch input sensor data 116... the touch sensor data from the touch input
module as HID reports... The HID reports include a time and position data"), or a third
layer related to feature classification.
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Zhao is for the same
reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
As to claim 20, Park and Zhao teach the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Park and Zhao further teach wherein the second algorithm comprises at least
one of a first layer related to feature extraction, a second layer related to a
temporal feature (Park: 0036, especially - "The second touch threshold refers to a
reference value to identify a touch area size"; Zhao: FIG. 1: 114, 120; 0027, especially
- "a touch input module 114 (e.g., a lower layer component) that is implemented to
recognize touch input sensor data 116... the touch sensor data from the touch input
module as HID reports... The HID reports include a time and position data"), or a third
layer related to feature classification.
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Zhao is for the same
reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 19
module as HID reports... The HID reports include a time and position data"), or a third
layer related to feature classification.
The motivation to combine the additional teaching of Zhao is for the same
reasoning set forth above for claim 11.
As to claim 17, Park and Zhao teach the electronic device of claim 11, as
applied above.
Park and Zhao further teach wherein the one or more instructions (Park: FIG.
1: 110; 0040, 0041, 0046), when executed by the at least one processor
individually or collectively (Park: FIG. 1: 100, 110; 0040, 0041, 0046), cause the
electronic device to (FIG. 1: 100, 110; 0039, 0040, especially - "The controller 100
controls the entire operation of the mobile device", 0041, 0046, 0048), when the first
touch input and the at least one second touch input correspond to the input
motion, performing an event corresponding to the input motion (Park: FIGs. 3A,
3C; 0036, 0041-0042, 0046-0053; Zhao: 0026-0027, 0029, 0031-0032, 0035, 0040,
0042, 0050-0051), and wherein the event corresponds to a process that comprises
obtaining an image displayed on the touch display (Park: FIGs. 1-2, 3A, 3C: 130,
210; 0036, 0041-0042, 0046-0053, 0070, 0073).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Zhao is for the same
reasoning set forth above for claim 11.
As to claim 18, Park and Zhao teach the electronic device of claim 11, as
applied above.
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 20
Park further discloses wherein the one or more instructions (FIG. 1: 110;
0040, 0041, 0046), when executed by the at least one processor(100)(FIG. 1: 110;
0040, 0041, 0046) individually or collectively, cause the electronic device (FIG.
1: 100, 110; 0039, 0040, especially - "The controller 100 controls the entire operation
of the mobile device”, 0041, 0046, 0048) to obtain the first touch input on the touch
display(130, 210)(FIGs. 1-2; 0042, 0047, 0070), and wherein the touch data
corresponds to electrostatic capacitance data of the touch display(130, 210)(FIGs.
1-2; 0042, especially - "capacitive touch panel", 0047, 0070).
As to claim 19, Park and Zhao teach the electronic device of claim 11, as
applied above.
Park and Zhao further teach wherein the second inference result information
is identified based on other touch data for the touch display and the second
algorithm (Park: FIGs. 1-2, 3A-3C: 130, 210; 0036, especially - "The second touch
threshold refers to a reference value to identify a touch area size", 0041-0042, 0046-
0053, 0070, 0073 - for a second touch input part of a motion/gesture, a second
inference is made as to the identity of the touch object based on an identified size of a
valid touch, in which the detected second touch data is other touch data and the second
algorithm, i.e., 0036, especially - "The second touch threshold refers to a reference
value to identify a touch area size"), and wherein the at least one second touch input
corresponds to a valid input motion and is identified based on the first algorithm
and the other touch data(Park: FIGs. 1-2, 3A-3C: 130, 210; 0036, especially - “The
second touch threshold refers to a reference value to identify a touch area size", 0041-
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 21
0042, 0046-0053, 0070, 0073 - for a second touch input part of a motion/gesture, a
second inference is made as to the identity of the touch object based on an identified
size of a valid touch, in which the detected second touch data is other touch data and
the first algorithm, i.e., 0036, especially - "The first touch threshold refers to a
reference value to determine whether the touch panel is touched"; Zhao: 0026-0027,
0029, 0031-0032, 0035, 0040, 0042, 0050-0051).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Zhao is for the same
reasoning set forth above for claim 11.
As to claim 20, Park discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording
medium(110)(FIG. 1; 0041) having instructions recorded thereon (FIG. 1: 110;
0040, 0041, 0046), that, when executed by one or more processors(100)(FIG. 1:
110; 0040, 0041, 0046), cause the one or more processors(100)(FIG. 1: 110;
0040, 0041, 0046) to:
identify, based on touch data of a touch display (130, 210)(FIGs. 1-2;0042,
0047, 0070, 0073) and a first algorithm (0036, especially - "The first touch threshold
refers to a reference value to determine whether the touch panel is touched", 0041,
especially ." a touch threshold to determine whether a touch is made or has occurred
on the touch panel", 0062, 0070, 0073), whether a first touch input to the touch
display(130, 210)(FIGs. 1-2; 0042, 0047, 0070) corresponds to a valid input(130,
210)(FIGs. 1-2; 0042, 0047, 0070);
obtain, based on the first touch input indicating the valid input (0036,
0041-0042, 0062, 0070, 0073), first inference result information related to an input
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 22
motion for the first touch input based on the touch data and a second algorithm
(FIGs. 3A-3C; 0036, especially - "The second touch threshold refers to a reference
value to identify a touch area size", 0041-0042, 0046-0051, 0063, 0070 - a second
algorithm infers the identity of a touch object is based on an identified size of a valid
touch. As shown in Table 1, the identity of the touch object along with the identity of the
input motion of a second touch input (e.g., twist, sweep and stop) is used to determine
the function to be carried out for the currently executed application); and
identify, based on the first inference result information and second
inference result information related to the input motion for at least one second
touch input a function to execute (FIGs. 3A-3C; 0036, especially - "The second
touch threshold refers to a reference value to identify a touch area size", 0041-0042,
0046-0053, 0070, 0073 - a touch input is determined based on: (i) inferring the identity
of a touch object based on an identified size of a valid touch; (ii) identifying a touch
interaction such as a twist, sweep, a stop, etc. by detecting an altered location of a
preset point of the valid touch caused by a second touch input. Based on the touch
motion and a currently executed application, an inferred touch interaction/gesture is
determined that is used to carry out a corresponding function/command related to a
currently executed application.).
Park does not expressly disclose identify whether the first touch input and
the at least one second touch input correspond to the input motion.
Zhao discloses identify whether the first touch input and the at least one
second touch input correspond to the input motion (0026, especially - "the
gesture input... may be a single finger gesture input, or a multi-finger gesture input",
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 23
0027, 0029, 0031-0032, 0035, 0040, 0042, 0050-0051 - each of a series of contacts is
correlated to be part of a single touch gesture/motion by algorithms of prediction-based
touch contact tracking, which make determinations including: (i) a predicted next contact
location; and (ii) whether two touch contacts are nearest neighbors).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been
obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park with Zhao to provide a non-
transitory computer-readable recording medium having instructions recorded thereon,
that, when executed by one or more processors cause the one or more processors to
allow a user of an electronic device to enter a long touch gesture on a small touch
screen (0003, 0024).
11. Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2013/0106776 A1 to Park et al. ("Park”) in view of U.S. Patent
Pub. No. 2012/0206380 A1 to Zhao et al. ("Zhao") as applied to claim 1, in view of
Japan Patent Pub. No. 2017215842 A to Ichikawa et al. ("Ichikawa”).
As to claim 3, Park and Zhao teach the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Park further discloses wherein the identifying whether the first touch input
(FIGs. 1-2: 130, 210; 0042, 0047, 0070) corresponds to the valid input (0036,
especially - "The touch threshold value refers to a reference value to determine whether
nodes are touched", 0041, especially - "a first touch threshold for identifying a touch
interaction", 0062, 0068, especially - "the presence of a touch on a touch panel 210 is
detected using a first touch threshold TH1", 0070, especially - "if a touch interaction is
detected in one or more nodes greater than the first touch threshold Th1, the touch
identifying unit 810 identifies the presence of a touch", 0073).
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 24
Park and Zhao do not expressly disclose wherein the identifying whether the
first touch input corresponds to the valid input comprises: identifying a touch
area corresponding to the first touch input based on the touch data; and
identifying, based on a length of the touch area being greater than a length
threshold, that the first touch input corresponds to the valid input.
Ichikawa discloses wherein the identifying whether the first touch input
corresponds to the valid input comprises: identifying a touch area corresponding
to the first touch input based on the touch data (p 12, 3-5); and identifying,
based on a length of the touch area being greater than a length threshold, that the
first touch input corresponds to the valid input (p 12, 3-5).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been
obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park and Zhao with Ichikawa to
provide a method of identifying an input motion by an electronic device that prevents
unintentional inputs (p 8, 92-3; p 12, 4).
As to claim 13, Park and Zhao teach the electronic device of claim 11, as
applied above.
Park further discloses wherein the one or more instructions (FIG. 1: 110;
0040, 0041, 0046), when executed by the at least one processor(100)(FIG. 1: 110;
0040, 0041, 0046) individually or collectively, cause the electronic device (FIG.
1: 100, 110; 0039, 0040, especially - "The controller 100 controls the entire operation
of the mobile device", 0041, 0046, 0048) to:
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 25
identify the first touch input based on the touch data (FIGs. 1-2: 130, 210;
0042, 0047, 0070).
Park does not expressly disclose identify a touch area corresponding to the
first touch input based on the touch data; and
based on a length of the touch area being greater than a length threshold,
identify that the first touch input corresponds to the valid input.
Ichikawa discloses identify a touch area corresponding to the first touch input
based on the touch data (p 12, 3-5); based on a length of the touch area being
greater than a length threshold, identify that the first touch input corresponds to
the valid input (p 12, 3-5).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been
obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park and Zhao with Ichikawa to
provide an electronic device that prevents unintentional inputs (p 8, 92-3; p 12, 4).
12. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S.
Patent Pub. No. 2013/0106776 A1 to Park et al. ("Park”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No.
2012/0206380 A1 to Zhao et al. ("Zhao") as applied to claim 1, in view of China Patent
Pub. No. 104035714 A to Zhu et al. (“Zhu”).
As to claim 10, Park and Zhao teach the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Park further discloses the first inference result information and the second
inference result information (FIGs. 3A-3C; 0036, especially - "The second touch
threshold refers to a reference value to identify a touch area size", 0041-0042, 0046-
0053, 0070, 0073 - a touch input is determined based on: (i) inferring the identity of a
touch object based on an identified size of a valid touch; (ii) identifying a touch
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 26
interaction such as a twist, sweep, a stop, etc. by detecting an altered location of a
preset point of the valid touch caused by a second touch input. Based on the touch
motion and a currently executed application, an inferred touch interaction/gesture is
determined that is used to carry out a corresponding function/command related to a
currently executed application.).
Park and Zhao do not expressly disclose further comprising storing, in order
of touch inputs, the first inference result information in a queue in which the
second inference result information is stored.
Zhu discloses further comprising storing, in order of touch inputs, the first
touch information in a queue in which the second touch information is stored (p 6,
13, 5, especially - "event queue of a first in first-put, and touch event is saved in this
event queue successively").
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been
obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park and Zhao with Zhu to
provide a method of identifying an input motion by an electronic device that guarantees
that the correct touch motion/gesture is identified.
Park, Zhao and Zhu teach further comprising storing, in order of touch
inputs, the first inference result information in a queue in which the second
inference result information is stored (Park: FIGs. 3A-3C; 0036, especially - “The
second touch threshold refers to a reference value to identify a touch area size", 0041-
0042, 0046-0053, 0070, 0073; Zhu: p 6, 13, 5).
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 27
13. As to claims 5, if the above-stated objection to this claims is overcome, then it
would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the
base claim and any intervening claims. As to claim 6, if the above-stated claim
objection and grounds of rejection based on 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are overcome, then it too
would be allowable if rewritten in independent form. As to claims 15-16, if the above-
stated claim grounds of rejection based on 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is overcome, then they too
would be allowable if rewritten in independent form.
14. Reasons for Allowance
The following is examiner's statement of reasons for allowance: the claimed
invention is directed to:
FIG. 2
START
BASED ON TOUCH DATA RELATED TO TOUCH
DISPLAY AND FIRST ALGORITHM, IDENTIFY
WHETHER FIRST TOUCH INPUT TO TOUCH
DISPLAY CORRESPONDS TO VALID INPUT
S210
OF INPUT MOTION
WHEN FIRST TOUCH INPUT CORRESPONDS TO
VALID INPUT, OBTAIN INFERENCE RESULT
INFORMATION RELATED TO INPUT MOTION FOR
FIRST TOUCH INPUT BASED ON TOUCH DATA
AND SECOND ALGORITHM
S220
BASED ON INFERENCE RESULT INFORMATION
RELATED TO INPUT MOTION FOR FIRST TOUCH
INPUT AND INFERENCE RESULT INFORMATION
RELATED TO INPUT MOTION FOR AT LEAST ONE
SECOND TOUCH INPUT, IDENTIFY WHETHER FIRST
TOUCH INPUT AND AT LEAST ONE SECOND TOUCH
INPUT CORRESPOND TO INPUT MOTION
END
S230
FIG. 6
-610
-620
-630
640
-650
FIG. 7
612
622
632
612
652
모모모모
614
624
634
654
616
-626
696
646
656
720
730
740
X
Dependent claim 5 identifies the distinct features: "wherein the identifying
whether the first touch input(FIG. 6: 610) and the at least one second touch
input(FIG. 6: 620) correspond to the input motion (FIG. 2: S230) comprises:
identifying, from among the first inference result information(FIG. 7: 710) and the
second inference result information(FIG. 7: 720), third inference result
information(FIG. 7: 730) indicating that a third touch input(FIG. 6: 630)
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 28
corresponds to the input motion(FIG. 2: S230); and based on a first number of
consecutive instances of the third inference result information(FIG. 7: 730) being
greater than a first preset value, identifying that the first touch input(FIG. 6: 610)
and the at least one second touch input(FIG. 6: 620) correspond to the input
motion(FIG. 2: S230)", with all other limitations as claimed.
As to claim 5, Park and Zhao teach the method of claim 1, as applied above
but does not teach the above additional claim limitations.
FIG. 10
10
1010
1030
PROCESSOR
TOUCH
DISPLAY
1020
MEMORY
Dependent claim 15 identifies the distinct features: wherein the one or more
instructions (FIG. 10: 1020), when executed by the at least one processor (FIG. 10:
1010) individually or collectively, cause the electronic device(FIG. 10: 10) to:
identify, from among the first inference result information(FIG. 7: 710) and the
second inference result information(FIG. 7: 720), third inference result
information(FIG. 7: 730) indicating that a third touch input (FIG. 6: 630)
corresponds to the input motion(FIG. 2: S230), and based on a first number of
consecutive instances of the third inference result information(FIG. 7: 730) being
greater than a first preset value, identify that the first touch input(FIG. 6: 610) and
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 29
the at least one second touch input(FIG. 6: 620) correspond to the input
motion(FIG. 2: S230)", with all other limitations as claimed.
As to claim 15, Park and Zhao teach electronic device of claim 11, as applied
above but does not teach the above additional claim limitations.
Other Relevant Prior Art
15. Other relevant prior art includes:
FIG. 11
01
1110
11508
11708
TOUCH DATA
M
Long Touch
FIRST
OPERATION
N
19
0
100
200
300
400
TIME (ms)
1120
AIR PRESSURE DATA
1008.6 1008.8.
1011.2
11700
Force Touch
SECOND
OPERATION
11500
1:700
Force Touch
-and-Drag
THIRD
OPERATION
U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0359348 A1 to Hwang et al. discloses determining a type of
user input(1170a-1170c)(FIG. 11; 0188) by processing touch data(1110)(FIG. 11;
0188) with air pressure data(1120)(FIG. 11; 0188) caused by touch inputs (FIG. 11:
1110; 0187-0188) using an artificial intelligence model(10)(FIG. 11; 0188).
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to KIRK W HERMANN whose telephone number is (571)
270-3891. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, 10am-7pm, EST.
Application/Control Number: 19/233,453
Art Unit: 2623
Page 30
supervisor, Chanh Nguyen can be reached on (571) 272-7772. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for
published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should
you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a
USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information
system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KIRK W HERMANN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623