DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10 June 2025 and 12 February 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: “the exposure time” in lines 6 and 9 respectively should be “the predetermined exposure time”; “the number of pulses” in line 7 should be “a time within the predetermined exposure time” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Claim 3: “the exposure time” in line 2 should be “the predetermined exposure time” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Claim 4: “the exposure time” in lines 2-3 should be “the predetermined exposure time” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Claim 5: “log” in line 2 should be “a log function” and “the exposure time” in lines 2-3 should be “the predetermined exposure time” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Claim 6: “the exposure time” in line 2 should be “the predetermined exposure time” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Claim 7: “the number” in lines 2-3 should be “a predetermined exposure time” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Claim 8: “the portion of the exposure time” in line 9 should be “the portion of the time within the predetermined exposure time” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Claim 9: “the exposure time” in lines 5-6 and 9 respectively should be “the predetermined exposure time” and “the number of pulses” in line 7 should be “a .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, “the number of bits” in line 2 lacks proper antecedent basis and is therefore unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (USPGPub 20220155153 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu teaches a single-photon avalanche diode-based image sensor (¶114, In the present disclosure, a single photon avalanche diode is used as the photoelectric conversion element included in the pixel 10) comprising: a single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD) (10) configured to generate a plurality of pulses corresponding to each of a plurality of photons received during a predetermined exposure time (see figure 1, pixel 10 (i.e. SPAD); ¶114, the pixel 10 converts a photon incident to the photoelectric conversion element into an electric signal and outputs a pulse Vpls in accordance with the incidence of the photon. In the present disclosure, a single photon avalanche diode is used as the photoelectric conversion element included in the pixel 10; and abstract, the number of times incidence of a photon to a light-receiving element has been detected within an exposure period); a front-end circuit (1a) configured to receive a set of pulses, which are received during a portion of time within the exposure time among the plurality of pulses (see figure 1, light receiving apparatus 1a (i.e. front-end circuitry); and ¶113, The light-receiving apparatus 1a counts the number of photons that are incident to the pixel 10 within a designated exposure period Tsh); a counter (11) configured to count the number of pulses in the set of pulses (see figure 1, counting unit 11 (i.e. counter); and ¶116, The counting unit 11 counts the pulse Vpls output from the pixel 10 within a designated exposure period Tsh); and a global clock (12) configured to provide a plurality of clock pulses to the front-end circuit (1a) after the portion of the exposure time (see figure 1, time code generating unit 12 (i.e. global clock); ¶7, a counting unit configured to measure a detection number of times that represents the number of times incidence of a photon to a light-receiving element has been detected within an exposure period and to output a counted value; a setting unit configured to set a cycle of updating time information in accordance with an elapsed time during the exposure period; and an acquiring unit configured to acquire the time information indicating a time at which the counted value reaches a threshold before the exposure period elapses; and see ¶¶116-122 for details), wherein a quality of an image acquired by using the single-photon avalanche diode (10) is determined based on timing of the global clock (12) (¶472, The division method of the exposure period Tsh… is one method of realizing a high dynamic range (HDR) function that enables clear images to be obtained in an environment with significant differences in illuminance).
Regarding claim 2, Zhu teaches the image sensor of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the timing of the global clock (12) is determined based on the number of bits of the counter (11) (¶135, In this case, for the sake of description, it is assumed that the counter included in the counting unit 11 is a 3-bit counter and that the threshold Nth is 8. In other words, when the photon number detected in the pixel 10 reaches 8, the counter of the counting unit 11 overflows; and ¶7, a counting unit configured to measure a detection number of times that represents the number of times incidence of a photon to a light-receiving element has been detected within an exposure period and to output a counted value; a setting unit configured to set a cycle of updating time information in accordance with an elapsed time during the exposure period; and an acquiring unit configured to acquire the time information indicating a time at which the counted value reaches a threshold before the exposure period elapses).
Regarding claim 3, Zhu teaches the image sensor of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the timing of the global clock (12) has a positive linear relationship with respect to timing of the exposure time (see figure 2A; ¶122, When illuminance is constant within the exposure period Tsh, the count value varies in a relationship of a linear function with respect to time; and NOTE: timing of the clock is directly proportional to the counts).
Regarding claim 7, Zhu teaches the image sensor of claim 1, further comprising: a processor (2014) configured to determine the timing of the global clock (12) based on the number of the plurality of photons received during the exposure time (¶164, The logic circuit 2014 includes the counting unit 11 and the acquiring unit 13 described using FIG. 1 and is capable of outputting the time code Tc stored in the memory of the acquiring unit 13).
Regarding claim 8, Zhu teaches the image sensor of claim 1, wherein an endpoint of the portion of the exposure time is based on an overflow time point of the counter (11) counting the number of pulses in the set of pulses (¶7, a counting unit configured to measure a detection number of times that represents the number of times incidence of a photon to a light-receiving element has been detected within an exposure period and to output a counted value; a setting unit configured to set a cycle of updating time information in accordance with an elapsed time during the exposure period; and an acquiring unit configured to acquire the time information indicating a time at which the counted value reaches a threshold before the exposure period elapses; and see ¶¶116-122 for further details).
Regarding claim 9, Zhu teaches a method for driving a single-photon avalanche diode-based image sensor (¶114, In the present disclosure, a single photon avalanche diode is used as the photoelectric conversion element included in the pixel 10; and ¶560, Apparatuses for photographing images to be used for applications for appreciation such as a digital camera and a mobile device with a camera function), the method comprising: generating, by a single-photon avalanche diode (10), a plurality of pulses corresponding to a plurality of photons, received during a predetermined exposure time, respectively (see figure 1, pixel 10 (i.e. SPAD); ¶114, the pixel 10 converts a photon incident to the photoelectric conversion element into an electric signal and outputs a pulse Vpls in accordance with the incidence of the photon. In the present disclosure, a single photon avalanche diode is used as the photoelectric conversion element included in the pixel 10; and abstract, the number of times incidence of a photon to a light-receiving element has been detected within an exposure period); receiving, by a front-end circuit (1a), a set of pulses received during a portion of the exposure time among the plurality of pulses (see figure 1, light receiving apparatus 1a (i.e. front-end circuitry); and ¶113, The light-receiving apparatus 1a counts the number of photons that are incident to the pixel 10 within a designated exposure period Tsh); counting, by a counter (11), the number of pulses in the set of pulses (see figure 1, counting unit 11 (i.e. counter); and ¶116, The counting unit 11 counts the pulse Vpls output from the pixel 10 within a designated exposure period Tsh); and providing, by a global clock (12), a plurality of clock pulses to the front-end circuit (1a) starting after the portion of the exposure time (see figure 1, time code generating unit 12 (i.e. global clock); ¶7, a counting unit configured to measure a detection number of times that represents the number of times incidence of a photon to a light-receiving element has been detected within an exposure period and to output a counted value; a setting unit configured to set a cycle of updating time information in accordance with an elapsed time during the exposure period; and an acquiring unit configured to acquire the time information indicating a time at which the counted value reaches a threshold before the exposure period elapses; and see ¶¶116-122 for details), wherein a quality of an image acquired by using the single-photon avalanche diode (10) is determined based on timing of the global clock (12) (¶472, The division method of the exposure period Tsh… is one method of realizing a high dynamic range (HDR) function that enables clear images to be obtained in an environment with significant differences in illuminance).
Claims 1-2 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Tochigi et al. (USPGPub 20210051279 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tochigi teaches a single-photon avalanche diode-based image sensor (¶2, a solid-state image sensor provided with a single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD)) comprising: a single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD) (222) configured to generate a plurality of pulses corresponding to each of a plurality of photons received during a predetermined exposure time (see figure 7, photodiode 222 (i.e. SPAD); and ¶85, The photon counter 273 counts the number of times the high-level pulse signal has been output within the exposure period. This count value indicates the number of times the potential (cathode potential or the like) of one end of a photodiode 222 has varied due to detection of the presence or absence of incidence of photons); a front-end circuit (220) configured to receive a set of pulses, which are received during a portion of time within the exposure time among the plurality of pulses (see figure 7, light receiving circuit 220 (i.e. front-end circuit); and ¶85, The photon counter 273 counts the number of times the high-level pulse signal has been output within the exposure period); a counter (273) configured to count the number of pulses in the set of pulses (see figure 7, photon counter 273; and ¶85, The photon counter 273 counts the number of times the high-level pulse signal has been output within the exposure period); and a global clock (290) configured to provide a plurality of clock pulses to the front-end circuit (220) after the portion of the exposure time (see figure 4, clock unit 290 (i.e. global clock); ¶89, The count control unit 274 determines whether or not the count value CNT has reached the upper limit value Lim within the exposure period, and outputs a determination result DEC to the photon counter 273, the switch 275, and the signal processing unit 250. Furthermore, the count control unit 274 generates the request Req and outputs the request Req to the time information storage unit 277 and the clock unit 290 in a case where the count value CNT has reached the upper limit value Lim within the exposure period; and ¶90, When the request Req is generated, the time information storage unit 277 fetches and stores the time information Tc generated by the clock unit 290 in response to the request), wherein a quality of an image acquired by using the single-photon avalanche diode (222) is determined based on timing of the global clock (290) (¶17, a clock unit configured to measure a time and output the time information in response to the request, an estimation unit configured to estimate a number of incident times of a photon within the predetermined exposure period on the basis of the output time information and output an estimation value, and a recording unit configured to record image data generated from the estimation value. This brings about an effect that the time information is output from the clock unit in response to the request and the estimation value is estimated from the time information).
Regarding claim 2, Tochigi teaches the image sensor of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the timing of the global clock (290) is determined based on the number of bits of the counter (273) (¶88, For example, in a case where an 8-bit counter is used as the photon counter 273, a value equal to or less than “255” (such as “254” or “255”) is set as the upper limit value Lim; and ¶89, The count control unit 274 determines whether or not the count value CNT has reached the upper limit value Lim within the exposure period, and outputs a determination result DEC to the photon counter 273, the switch 275, and the signal processing unit 250. Furthermore, the count control unit 274 generates the request Req and outputs the request Req to the time information storage unit 277 and the clock unit 290 in a case where the count value CNT has reached the upper limit value Lim within the exposure period).
Regarding claim 8, Tochigi teaches the image sensor of claim 1, wherein an endpoint of the portion of the exposure time is based on an overflow time point of the counter (273) counting the number of pulses in the set of pulses (¶89, The count control unit 274 determines whether or not the count value CNT has reached the upper limit value Lim within the exposure period, and outputs a determination result DEC to the photon counter 273, the switch 275, and the signal processing unit 250. Furthermore, the count control unit 274 generates the request Req and outputs the request Req to the time information storage unit 277 and the clock unit 290 in a case where the count value CNT has reached the upper limit value Lim within the exposure period).
Regarding claim 9, Tochigi teaches a method for driving a single-photon avalanche diode-based image sensor (¶2, a solid-state image sensor provided with a single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD)), the method comprising: generating, by a single-photon avalanche diode (222), a plurality of pulses corresponding to a plurality of photons, received during a predetermined exposure time, respectively (see figure 7, photodiode 222 (i.e. SPAD); and ¶85, The photon counter 273 counts the number of times the high-level pulse signal has been output within the exposure period. This count value indicates the number of times the potential (cathode potential or the like) of one end of a photodiode 222 has varied due to detection of the presence or absence of incidence of photons); receiving, by a front-end circuit (220), a set of pulses received during a portion of the exposure time among the plurality of pulses (see figure 7, light receiving circuit 220 (i.e. front-end circuit); and ¶85, The photon counter 273 counts the number of times the high-level pulse signal has been output within the exposure period); counting, by a counter (273), the number of pulses in the set of pulses (see figure 7, photon counter 273; and ¶85, The photon counter 273 counts the number of times the high-level pulse signal has been output within the exposure period); and providing, by a global clock (290), a plurality of clock pulses to the front-end circuit (220) starting after the portion of the exposure time (see figure 4, clock unit 290 (i.e. global clock); ¶89, The count control unit 274 determines whether or not the count value CNT has reached the upper limit value Lim within the exposure period, and outputs a determination result DEC to the photon counter 273, the switch 275, and the signal processing unit 250. Furthermore, the count control unit 274 generates the request Req and outputs the request Req to the time information storage unit 277 and the clock unit 290 in a case where the count value CNT has reached the upper limit value Lim within the exposure period; and ¶90, When the request Req is generated, the time information storage unit 277 fetches and stores the time information Tc generated by the clock unit 290 in response to the request), wherein a quality of an image acquired by using the single-photon avalanche diode (222) is determined based on timing of the global clock (290) (¶17, a clock unit configured to measure a time and output the time information in response to the request, an estimation unit configured to estimate a number of incident times of a photon within the predetermined exposure period on the basis of the output time information and output an estimation value, and a recording unit configured to record image data generated from the estimation value. This brings about an effect that the time information is output from the clock unit in response to the request and the estimation value is estimated from the time information).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (USPGPub 20220155153 A1) in view of Herbert (U.S. Patent No. 3566095 A).
Regarding claim 4, Zhu teaches wherein at least a portion of the timing of the global clock (12) has a positive linear relationship with respect to timing of the exposure time (see figure 2A; ¶122, When illuminance is constant within the exposure period Tsh, the count value varies in a relationship of a linear function with respect to time; and NOTE: timing of the clock is directly proportional to the counts). However, Zhu fails to explicitly teach wherein the timing has a positive linear relationship with respect to a square root of timing of the exposure time.
However, Herbert teaches wherein the timing has a positive linear relationship with respect to a square root of timing of the exposure time (col. 1, lines 5-9, This invention relates to an electronic timing system. It relates more particularly to an electronic clock which generates output pulses at intervals proportional to the square root of the number of linear clock pulses that have elapsed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu to incorporate the teachings of Herbert to have the timing have a square root relationship with the exposure time in order to extend the dynamic range of the device without needing to increase storage/memory capacity (Herbert, see column 1 for details).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (USPGPub 20220155153 A1) in view of Heim et al. (USPGPub 20110007199 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Zhu teaches wherein at least a portion of the timing of the global clock (12) has a positive linear relationship with respect to timing of the exposure time (see figure 2A; ¶122, When illuminance is constant within the exposure period Tsh, the count value varies in a relationship of a linear function with respect to time; and NOTE: timing of the clock is directly proportional to the counts). However, Zhu fails to explicitly teach wherein the timing has a positive linear relationship with respect to log of timing of the exposure time.
However, Heim teaches wherein the timing has a positive linear relationship with respect to log of timing of the exposure time (¶13, a device for measuring the elapsed time from the beginning of each integration; and ¶14, means for quantifying the time measured by said time measurement device with a time interval between two successive time values which increases in proportion with the elapsed time from the beginning of the integration. The variation of said interval forming a logarithmic compression of the illumination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu to incorporate the teachings of Heim to have the timing have a logarithmic function relationship with the exposure time in order to increase the dynamic range of the device while using less bits (Heim, see ¶24 for details).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (USPGPub 20220155153 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Zhu teaches wherein at least a portion of the timing of the global clock (12) has a positive linear relationship with respect to timing of the exposure time (see figure 2A; ¶122, When illuminance is constant within the exposure period Tsh, the count value varies in a relationship of a linear function with respect to time; and NOTE: timing of the clock is directly proportional to the counts). However, Zhu fails to explicitly teach wherein the timing has a negative linear relationship with respect to timing of the exposure time.
However, without showing criticality of the relationship between the timing of the global clock and the exposure time, it would have been obvious, through routine experimentation, to provide a relationship function that could increase the dynamic range of the device and improve the function of the device without the need for increased storage capacity (MPEP 2144.05 II A).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (USPGPub 20220155153 A1) OR Tochigi et al. (USPGPub 20210051279 A1) in view of Igarashi (USPGPub 20230109506 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Zhu OR Tochigi teaches the method for driving a single-photon avalanche diode-based image sensor described in claim 9 (see above rejections). However, neither Zho nor Tochigi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having a program for executing the method.
However, Igarashi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having a program for executing the method (¶60, The image processing circuit 502 has a built-in CPU as a computer and functions as a control unit or circuit that controls operation of each unit of the overall image capturing device 500, based on a computer program stored in the memory as a storage medium; and see ¶64 for further details).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify either Zhu or Tochigi to incorporate the teachings of Igarashi to further include a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having a program for executing the method as it is required in order to communicate the information from the sensors to an electronic device, thereby making a usable and functioning device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tojima (USPGPub 20230156358 A1): Tojima teaches using different clock times depending on whether the detected illuminance is high or low.
Aoki (USPGPub 20230137640 A1): Aoki teaches an image sensor comprising a pulse counter 221 and a time counter 222, wherein the time counter outputs a time signal when the pulse counter 221 becomes saturated (¶43, The saturation determination unit 224 detects that the pixel counter 221 (W1, W2) for the W pixel having the highest sensitivity reaches a predetermined threshold, and notifies the time counter 222; and ¶44, The time counter 222 counts time clocks starting from the point of initiation of exposure for one frame, and stops counting in a case where the saturation determination unit 224 notifies that the pixel counter 221 (W1, W2) for the W pixel reaches the saturation value).
Ota et al. (USPGPub 20230071218 A1): Ota teaches a photoelectric conversion device wherein the value of the counter reaches a threshold within the exposure time and wherein a clock signal is input in the exposure time (see abstract).
/ERIN R GARBER/Examiner, Art Unit 2878