The annotated version of Figure 1 of this application is shown below for item-to-item matching for claimed languages:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The annotated version of Figure 1 of CN 108667337 is shown below for item-to-item matching for the prior art, pairing exact claimed language to particular language used in the prior art, and/or clearly explaining examiner’s interpretation:
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN108667337.
Regarding claims 1 and 15, CN108667337 discloses in FIG 1-2 a power supply (FIG 1) and a method comprising:
- an input voltage terminal for receiving input voltage (see the indicated arrow),
- a direct voltage terminal for supplying direct current to a load of the power supply (see the indicated arrow),
- an input voltage converter between the input voltage terminal and the direct voltage terminal, and configured to convert the input voltage to direct voltage of the direct voltage terminal(see the indicated arrow), and
- a first capacitor (C) connected between positive (upper) and negative (lower) poles of the direct voltage terminal (see the indicated arrow), the first capacitor comprising at least one of: an electrolytic capacitor and a foil capacitor (“energy storage capacitor C” ¶[0032] implies an electrolytic capacitor or a foil capacitor because they are examples of well-known energy storage capacitors, further electrolytic capacitors are high capacitance values for power smoothing for a power supply),
wherein the power supply comprises a second capacitor (see the indicated arrow) being a super-capacitor (Abstract, ¶[0027]), and a direct voltage converter (see the indicated arrow) between the second capacitor and the direct voltage terminal and configured to carry out voltage conversion between direct voltage of the second capacitor and the direct voltage of the direct voltage terminal.
Although CN108667337 does not explicitly disclose “the first capacitor comprising at least one of: an electrolytic capacitor and a foil capacitor”, the first capacitor corresponds to “energy storage capacitor C” disclosed in ¶[0032] and therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such capacitors because these capacitors are examples of “energy storage capacitor C” of CN108667337 and further, electrolytic capacitors are high capacitance values for power smoothing for a power supply.
Regarding claims 2|1 and 16|15, CN108667337 discloses a power supply wherein the power supply comprises a controller (FIG 2b) except the limitation settings : “configured to control the direct voltage converter to charge the second capacitor in response to a situation in which the direct current is below a first predetermined current limit and the direct voltage of the second capacitor is below a predetermined upper limit, and to discharge the second capacitor in response to a situation in which the direct current is above a second predetermined current limit and the direct voltage of the second capacitor is above a predetermined lower limit” (Abstract, ¶[0028]-[0031]). Such limitation settings are not explicitly disclosed but are well-known techniques for bi-directional buck/boost converters as shown in FIG 2(a) and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art use such techniques for obtaining predictable results.
Regarding claims 3|1 and 17|15, CN108667337 discloses a power supply wherein the second capacitor comprises one or more carbon capacitor cells (carbon capacitor cells, commonly known as supercapacitors or ultracapacitors, specifically electric double-layer capacitors or EDLCs, store electrical energy electrostatically)(Abstract, ¶[0005]).
Regarding claim 4|2|1, CN108667337 discloses a power supply wherein the second capacitor comprises one or more carbon capacitor cells (carbon capacitor cells, commonly known as supercapacitors or ultracapacitors, specifically electric double-layer capacitors or EDLCs, store electrical energy electrostatically)(Abstract, ¶[0005]).
Regarding claims 5|1 and 18|15, CN108667337 discloses a power supply wherein the second capacitor comprises one or more electric double layer capacitor cells (carbon capacitor cells, commonly known as supercapacitors or ultracapacitors, specifically electric double-layer capacitors or EDLCs, store electrical energy electrostatically)(Abstract, ¶[0005]).
Regarding claim 6|2|1, CN108667337 discloses a power supply wherein the second capacitor comprises one or more electric double layer capacitor cells (carbon capacitor cells, commonly known as supercapacitors or ultracapacitors, specifically electric double-layer capacitors or EDLCs, store electrical energy electrostatically)(Abstract, ¶[0005]).
Regarding claims 7|1 and 19|15, CN108667337 discloses a power supply wherein the direct voltage converter is a bi-directional buck-boost converter (Abstract, ¶[0005]).
Regarding claims 8|1 and 20|15, CN108667337 discloses a power supply except wherein the first capacitor comprises a parallel connection of the electrolytic capacitor and the foil capacitor. As known in the art, these parallel capacitors are used for storing energy and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such configuration because such a configuration provides bulk energy storage or low-frequency filtering, while the foil capacitor filters high-frequency noise.
Regarding claim 9|2|1, CN108667337 discloses a power supply wherein the first capacitor comprises a parallel connection of the electrolytic capacitor and the foil capacitor. As known in the art, these parallel capacitors are used for storing energy and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such configuration because such a configuration provides bulk energy storage or low-frequency filtering, while the foil capacitor filters high-frequency noise.
Regarding claim 10|3|1, CN108667337 discloses a power supply wherein the first capacitor comprises a parallel connection of the electrolytic capacitor and the foil capacitor. As known in the art, these parallel capacitors are used for storing energy and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such configuration because such a configuration provides bulk energy storage or low-frequency filtering, while the foil capacitor filters high-frequency noise.
Regarding claim 11|4|2|1, CN108667337 discloses a power supply wherein the first capacitor comprises a parallel connection of the electrolytic capacitor and the foil capacitor. As known in the art, these parallel capacitors are used for storing energy and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such configuration because such a configuration provides bulk energy storage or low-frequency filtering, while the foil capacitor filters high-frequency noise.
Regarding claim 12|5|1, CN108667337 discloses a power supply wherein the first capacitor comprises a parallel connection of the electrolytic capacitor and the foil capacitor. As known in the art, these parallel capacitors are used for storing energy and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such configuration because such a configuration provides bulk energy storage or low-frequency filtering, while the foil capacitor filters high-frequency noise.
Regarding claim 13|1, CN108667337 discloses a power supply wherein the input voltage converter is an alternating voltage - direct voltage converter (FIG 1).
Regarding claim 14|1, CN108667337 discloses a power supply wherein the input voltage converter is a direct voltage converter (FIG 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
EP2914866A1 discloses a power supply in FIG 1
- an input voltage terminal (input of 115) for receiving input voltage (110),
- a direct voltage terminal (107, 108) for supplying direct current to a load (102, 111, 112) of the power supply,
- an input voltage converter (115) between the input voltage terminal and the direct voltage terminal, and configured to convert the input voltage to direct voltage of the direct voltage terminal, and
- a first capacitor (101) connected between positive (+) and negative (-) poles of the direct voltage terminal, the first capacitor comprising at least one of: an electrolytic capacitor (103) and a foil capacitor,
wherein the power supply comprises a second capacitor (116 “battery” can be replaced with a super capacitor as known in the art) being a super-capacitor, and a direct voltage converter (117) between the second capacitor and the direct voltage terminal and configured to carry out voltage conversion between direct voltage of the second capacitor and the direct voltage of the direct voltage terminal.
It is noted that the claimed language “a second capacitor being a super-capacitor” is not disclosed in EP 2924866A1 instead Figure 1 of EP 2924866A1 shows Battery 116.
/JOSEPH CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836