DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been considered for examination.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/332,927, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The provisional application 63/332,927 does not provide drawing Figures 11-16 or the associated description. Accordingly, Claims 1-20 shall not gain the benefit of the filing date of the provisional application 63/332,927.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “figured to select” needs revision. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “configured capture” should likely be “configured to capture”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the device” lacks proper antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: “comprise indicate” needs revision. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a user computing device” and “a smartphone device” alternate and create confusion. Please choose one or the other and stay consistent. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the short-range wireless signal” lacks proper antecedent basis since “a short-range wireless connection” was recited in Claim 17 of which Claim 20 depends. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,360,570 (570 Patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The 570 claims recite the same controller grip combination and dependent limitations, but additionally require a controller comprising a nonvolatile memory and processor. The present claims omit that requirement and encompass the subject matter of the 570 claims. The narrower 570 claims therefore anticipate the broader claims in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-8, 16-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Benvenuti (US Publication 2018/0017848).
In re Claim 1, Benvenuti discloses an underwater controller grip, comprising: a controller U comprising a radio module (paragraph 0047; Figure 6) configured to provide a short-range wireless connection (paragraphs 0042-0047, 0057) between the controller U and a user computing device (paragraph 0030 “mobile telephones, smartphones and tablets”); a mounting tray 7 to contain the radio module (paragraphs 0042-0047), the mounting tray configured to maintain the short-range wireless connection while underwater (paragraph 0057); and one or more input components 5 configured to receive one or more inputs, the controller U configured to transmit at least one instruction to the user computing device based on the one or more inputs (paragraphs 0035, 0053-0055; Figure 7).
In re Claim 2, Benvenuti discloses wherein at least one of the one or more input components 5 comprise a joystick. Benvenuti, Figures 1 and 2.
In re Claims 5 and 19, Benvenuti discloses wherein at least one of the one or more input components 5 comprise a shutter button configured capture a photo or video using a native camera application of the user computing device. Benvenuti, paragraphs 0002, 0004, 0010-0011, 0031.
In re Claims 7 and 13, Benvenuti discloses a mount 1c configured to receive a lighting device. Benvenuti, paragraph 0038.
In re Claim 8, Benvenuti discloses wherein the user computing device is at least one of a camera, a mobile device, a smartphone device, and a tablet. Benvenuti, paragraph 0030.
In re Claim 16, Benvenuti discloses wherein the controller grip is waterproof up to a depth of 200 feet underwater. Benvenuti, paragraph 0057 (150m encompasses 200 ft).
In re Claim 17, Benvenuti discloses a method for using a user computing device (paragraph 0030 “mobile telephones, smartphones and tablets”) in an underwater environment, the method comprising: placing a smartphone device in a case 1 having at least one waterproof seal 42, the case further comprising a controller U and one or more input components 5 connected to the controller, the controller comprising a radio module configured to provide a short- range wireless connection between the controller and the user computing device (paragraphs 0042-0047, 0057); pairing the smartphone device with the controller (paragraph 0054; Claim 13); receiving one or more inputs from a user through the one or more input components 5; and transmitting an instruction to the smartphone device based on the one or more inputs (paragraphs 0035, 0053-0055; Figure 7).
In re Claim 20, Benvenuti discloses wherein the short range wireless connection comprises a Bluetooth standard. Benvenuti, paragraph 0047.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benvenuti (US Publication 2018/0017848) in view of Ambinder et al. (US Publication 2011/0105231).
In re Claims 3 and 6, Benvenuti discloses the limitations of Claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein at least one of the one or more input components 5 comprise a joystick (Benvenuti, Figures 1 and 2) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the joystick is removable. However, Ambinder discloses wherein a joystick 101, 102, 103, 104 may be removable. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of electronics at a time before applicant’s effective filing date to have provided a removable joystick, as disclosed in Ambinder, with the apparatus as otherwise disclosed in Benvenuti. Providing the ability to swap and/or remove input devices increases the flexibility of design of the apparatus to fit the need of the user. Ambinder, paragraph 0026.
Claim(s) 4 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benvenuti (US Publication 2018/0017848) in view of Simon (US Publication 2007/0139373).
In re Claims 4 and 18, Benvenuti discloses the limitations of Claim 1 above, and further discloses buttons 5 for controlling operations of the user computing device but does not explicitly disclose selecting objects. However, Simon discloses wherein a button 802/804 may be used to select an object on a display of a user computer device 102. Simon, paragraphs 0025, 0034, 0036; Figure 8). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of electronics at a time before applicant’s effective filing date to have provided a button that may be used to select an object on a display, as disclosed in Simon, with the apparatus as otherwise disclosed in Benvenuti. It is common in the art to provide user interfaces that allows for selection of visual displayed options on a computing device display screen. This improves the ease of use for the user.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benvenuti (US Publication 2018/0017848) in view of Goldstein (US Patent 9,172,781).
In re Claim 9, Benvenuti discloses the limitations of Claim 1 above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the user computing device is enclosed in a case. However, Goldstein discloses a user computing device (“smartphone” col. 3 ll. 23-26) enclosed in a case (col. 3 ll. 26-39) that is mounted on a mounting tray 102. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of electronics at a time before applicant’s effective filing date to have provided a mounting tray that is adapted to accept a user computing device that is encased, as disclosed in Goldstein, with the apparatus as otherwise disclosed in Benvenuti. Keeping the user computing device within its case would provide the additional structural benefits of the case while still allowing the user computing device to be placed in the apparatus. Goldstein, col. 3 ll. 23-55; col. 5 ll. 4-46.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benvenuti (US Publication 2018/0017848) in view of Weakly (US Publication 2012/0262618).
In re Claim 10, Benvenuti discloses the limitations of Claim 1 above but does not explicitly disclose a pressure sensor. However, Weakly discloses a pressure sensor 26 mounted to a circuit board 50 and sealed in a underwater housing 20, the sensor measures surrounding water pressure and communicates the measurements to a user computing device 40. Weakly, Figure 6; paragraph 0050. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of electronics at a time before applicant’s effective filing date to have provided a pressure sensor, as disclosed in Weakly, with the apparatus as otherwise disclosed in Benvenuti. The measurements provide continuous depth monitoring and real time depth information. Weakly, Figure 11; paragraphs 0069 and 0073. Weakly further discloses a wireless transmitter communicating from the circuit board to the user computing device 40. Weakly, paragraph 0048. As noted previously Benvenuti discloses a radio module for communication between the underwater controller grip and the user computing device. Providing diving depth monitoring would allow for diver data to be tracked in the user computing device.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benvenuti (US Publication 2018/0017848), Weakly (US Publication 2012/0262618) and further in view of Dakin (US Publication 2010/0064827).
In re Claims 11 and 12, Benvenuti as modified by Weakly discloses the limitations of Claims 1 and 10 above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is further configured to issue a signal based on the measured water depth and a time variable. However, Dakin discloses a controller 30, clock/timer 34 and memory 38, wherein an ascent rate from successive depth measurements and the elapsed time between measurements is calculated and a corresponding control signal/alert signal for a transducer 20 is produced. Dakin, Figure 2; paragraphs 0063-0064). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of electronics at a time before applicant’s effective filing date to have provided an alert signal, as disclosed in Dakin, with the apparatus as otherwise disclosed in Benvenuti as modified by Weakly. Dakin’s timing, ascent-rate calculation and alert signal may be incorporated into Benvenuti’s logic control unit, using the pressure measurements as provided by a pressure sensor like that disclosed in Weakly, and providing a corresponding alert output for a diver. This would notify a diver of an excessive ascent rate without requiring continuous visual monitoring of a user computing device or a dive watch which ensures a diver stays alert of their surroundings while ascending safely.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benvenuti (US Publication 2018/0017848) in view of Leung (US Publication 2014/0204229).
In re Claim 14, Benvenuti discloses the limitations of Claim 1 above but does not explicitly disclose one or more LED status indicator lights. However, Leung discloses one or more status indicator lights 306, 307. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of electronics at a time before applicant’s effective filing date to have provided an indicator light, as disclosed in Leung, with the apparatus as otherwise disclosed in Benvenuti. Indicator lights allow a user to obtain information about the status of the apparatus quickly without having to provide input. Leung, paragraph 0064-0065.
In re Claim 15, Leung further discloses wherein the indicator lights 306, 307 may indicate a connection status with a user computing device 305. Leung, paragraphs 0064-0065.
Conclusion
/ADRIAN S WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841