Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 49, 50, 60, 71, and 72 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 49, 60, 71, and 72 is/are rejected rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2023/0189243) in view of Chai (US 2024/0129785).
For claims 49, 60, 71, and 72; Li discloses: receiving one or more configuration parameters of semi-persistent scheduling (SPS), the one or more configuration parameters of the SPS being associated with one or more multicast broadcast services and being configured per bandwidth part (BWP) by Radio Resource Control (RRC) (paragraph 3, 118: For transmission of a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), some parameters of downlink (DL) SPS are configured by a higher layer…the determining the type of the SPS PDSCH according to configuration signaling of the SPS PDSCH includes: if the configuration signaling of the SPS PDSCH is used to configure the SPS PDSCH on a first target resource, determining that the SPS PDSCH is a multicast SPS PDSCH, where the first target resource is a resource corresponding to multicast downlink transmission, for example, a BWP corresponding to the multicast downlink transmission); receiving downlink control information that indicates activation for an assignment based on the SPS (paragraph 3, 15, 75, 97, 99: transmission is activated by using downlink control information (DCI). After downlink SPS transmission is activated, PDSCH transmission is periodically initiated, and these PDSCH transmissions have no corresponding DCI indication…the indication module indicates the type of the SPS PDSCH to the terminal includes: activating the SPS PDSCH by using target DCI, and indicating, by using the target DCI, the type configured for the activated SPS PDSCH); and receiving, based on the assignment activated by the downlink control information, data associated with the one or more multicast broadcast services (paragraph 3, 99, 100: the target DCI is multicast DCI, and indicates that the activated SPS PDSCH is a multicast SPS PDSCH, where the multicast DCI is scrambled by using a specific RNTI…the determining the type of the SPS PDSCH according to configuration signaling of the SPS PDSCH includes: if the configuration signaling of the SPS PDSCH is used to configure the SPS PDSCH on a first target resource, determining that the SPS PDSCH is a multicast SPS PDSCH, where the first target resource is a resource corresponding to multicast downlink transmission, for example, a BWP corresponding to the multicast downlink transmission), wherein multiple assignments can be active simultaneously (paragraph 4: terminal may configure one or more DL SPSs on one or more serving cells…A plurality of simultaneously activated DL SPS configurations help reduce a latency and provide a possibility for support of a plurality of different service types by UE).
Li expressly discloses “wherein multiple assignments can be active simultaneously” (paragraph 4), but Li does not expressly disclose, but Chai from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein multiple assignments can be active simultaneously in the BWP (paragraph 1215: there may be one or more broadcast or multicast services. The second BWP may be one BWP associated with all broadcast or multicast services, or may include multiple BWPs associated with multiple broadcast or multicast services. That is, an associated BWP may be configured for one or more broadcast/multicast services, or all broadcast/multicast services may be configured in one associated BWP). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the multicast BWP as described by Chai in the MBS scheduling as described by Li. The motivation is to improve resource usage in a BWP.
Claim(s) 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Chai as applied to claim 49 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2021/0282114) (“Liu”).
For claim 50; Li discloses the subject matter in claim 49 as described above in the office action.
Li does not expressly disclose, but Liu from similar fields of endeavor teaches: receiving a downlink control signal that indicates deactivation of the assignment based on the SPS; and stopping reception of the data associated with the one or more multicast broadcast services based on the downlink control signal that indicates the deactivation of the assignment (paragraph 163: The base station 602 may indicate activation (or “triggering”) of SPS signaling transmission over a set of SPS occasions using DCI on a downlink control channel (e.g., PDCCH). Similarly, the base station 602 may release (or deactivate) the SPS signaling transmission using DCI on the downlink control channel (e.g., PDCCH). Accordingly, SPS signaling is dependent upon DCI on the downlink control channel for activation and release). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Liu in the MBS as described by Li. The motivation is to improve configuration of multiple services.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park et al. (US 2022/0322169); Park discloses the MBS interest service list comprises at least one of: an MBS frequency; an MBS session identifier; a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) of an MBS service or a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) service; a destination layer-2 identifier for the MBS service or the V2X service; an MBS service priority; or a V2X service priority.
/JOHN D BLANTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466