DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “outer peripheral end” of the cutting edge and the “center of a circumcircle…an outer peripheral end of the cutting edge is aligned with a rotational axis of the body in a front view” as in claim 7, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites in line 7 the term “rearward”. However, the metes and bounds of where exactly “rearward” is, have not been set forth. In relation to what is this positional term “rearward”, considered as being “rearward”. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 1 recites in line 8 that at least one abutment surface is provided on “each of a front side and a rear side with respect to the fastening part”. However, it is unclear where exactly these positional terms are being considered as “front side” and “rear side”. Front side and rear side of what? Further clarification is needed.
Claim 4 recites in lines 2-3 “a distance therebetween increases from one side toward the other side in the bottom view”. However, it is unclear what these “one side” and “the other side” are. It is also unclear where these “one” and “the other” sides are located at. One side of what? The other side of what? Further clarification is needed.
Claim 7 recites in line 3 “an outer peripheral end of the cutting edge”. However, it is unclear in relation to what is this end, considered as “outer peripheral end”. As best understood, when viewing Applicant’s Figure 16 and paragraph [0028], there is no “outer peripheral end” of the cutting edge 53. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 7 recites in lines 2-4 “a center of a circumcircle that circumscribes the guide parts and an outer peripheral end of the cutting edge is aligned with a rotational axis of the body in a front view”. However, it is unclear in what sense are each of the circumcircle’s center, outer peripheral end of the cutting edge and rotational axis are being “aligned”. Is it that they are coaxial? As best understood, when viewing Applicant’s Figure 16 and paragraph [0028], there is no alignment between circumcircle’s center, outer peripheral end of the cutting edge and rotational axis. Further clarification is needed
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hecht US 2021/0331256.
In regards to claim 1, Hecht discloses a cutting insert (20) mounted to a body (66) when hole machining is performed on a workpiece, the cutting insert (20) comprising: a cutting edge (46/48) that cuts the workpiece; at least two guide parts (42, 56) that are in sliding contact with an inner surface of a machined hole of the workpiece that has been formed by hole machining (see Figures 2 and 10); and a fastening part (84) for fixing the cutting insert to the body (see Figure 7), wherein at least one abutment surface (24) that faces rearward (e.g. machining end) is provided on each of a front side and a rear side with respect to the fastening part (see Figures 3 and 4).
In regards to claim 2, Hecht discloses the cutting insert according to claim 1, Hecht also discloses that the cutting insert (20) is formed in a substantially semicircular shape in a front view (see Figure 2).
In regards to claim 3, Hecht discloses the cutting insert according to claim 1, Hecht also discloses that the abutment surface on the front side (24) and the abutment surface on the rear side (the other one of 24) are non-parallel to each other in a bottom view (see Figure 4).
In regards to claim 4, Hecht discloses the cutting insert according to claim 3, Hecht also discloses that the abutment surface on the front side (24) and the abutment surface on the rear side (the other one of 24) are arranged such that a distance therebetween increases from one side toward the other side in the bottom view (see Figure 4, and note that due to the tapering shape, a distance therebetween increases from one side toward the other side).
In regards to claim 5, Hecht discloses the cutting insert according to claim 1, Hecht also discloses that the abutment surface on the rear side is constituted by at least two abutment surface divisions (see Figure 4, and note that since the abutment surface on the rear side, has an apex which divides the abutment surface into at least two abutment surface division).
In regards to claim 6, Hecht discloses the cutting insert according to claim 1, Hecht also discloses a cutting tool (64), comprising: the cutting insert (50) and a body (66) to which the cutting insert is mounted (see Figures 7 and 8).
In regards to claim 7, Hecht discloses the cutting insert according to claim 6, Hecht also discloses that the cutting insert (50) is mounted to the body (66) in a state in which a center of a circumcircle (C1) that circumscribes the guide parts and an outer peripheral end (in the same way as presented by Applicant) of the cutting edge (46) is aligned with a rotational axis of the body in a front view (see Figure 2).
Conclusion
/NICOLE N RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722