DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a Non-Final Office Action rejection on the merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been addressed below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on 06/10/2025 comply with the provisions 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98, and MPEP 609 and is considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without reciting significantly more.
Independent Claim 1
Step One - First, pursuant to step 1 in the January 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (“2019 PEG”) on 84 Fed. Reg. 53, the claim 1 is directed to an apparatus which is a statutory category.
Step 2A, Prong One - Claim 1 recites: A surveillance apparatus, configured to: identify whether customers are waiting in any of a plurality of different lines established in the checkout waiting area for different settlement types based on an image of the checkout waiting area; identify whether any of a plurality of checkout terminals in a checkout area are available based on status notifications received for the plurality of checkout terminals and images received associated with each of the plurality of checkout terminals; when a checkout terminal is identified as available, select a line of the plurality of different lines when preset information indicates a settlement type available at the identified checkout terminal corresponds to the settlement type for which the line is established; and output guidance information to indicate a customer in the selected line should proceed to the checkout terminal identified as available. These claim elements are considered to be abstract ideas because they are directed to “certain methods of organizing human activity” which include “managing personal behavior.” In this case, guiding a customer to a checkout that is available is merely following rules or instructions (MPEP 2106.04(a)). If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 - The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 1 includes additional elements: a communication interface; a storage unit; an output interface connectable to an output unit in a checkout waiting area; a first camera interface connectable to a first camera; a second camera interface connectable to a second camera; and a processor.
The communication interface is merely used to receive status notifications for the plurality of checkout terminals (Paragraph 0031). The storage unit is merely used to store preset information that indicates a settlement type available at the identified checkout terminal corresponds to the settlement type for which the line is established (Paragraph 0031). The output interface connectable to an output unit in a checkout waiting area is merely used to output guidance information to indicate a customer in the selected line should proceed to the checkout terminal identified as available (Paragraph 0031). The first camera interface connectable to a first camera is merely used to capture an image of a settlement maker who is operating the self-service POS terminal corresponding to the first camera (Paragraph 0039). The second camera interface connectable to a second camera is merely used to monitor a waiting area Q, where customers wait to enter the payment area P for settlement. The second camera captures images of the customers waiting in the waiting area Q (Paragraph 0040). The processor is merely used to realizes various functions of the surveillance apparatus in accordance with an operating system and/or an application program (Paragraph 0060). Merely stating that the step is performed by a computer component results in “apply it” on a computer (MPEP 2106.05f). These elements of “communication interface,” “storage unit,” “output interface connectable to an output unit checkout waiting area,” “first camera interface connectable to a first camera,” “second camera interface connectable to a second camera,” and “processor” are recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer element. The cameras are considered “field of use” since they are just used to receive status information of the POS terminals based on images, but the technology is not improved (MPEP 2106.05h). Accordingly, alone and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B - The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the claims describe how to generally “apply” the concept of managing a line based on status information of the POS terminals. The specification shows that the communication interface is merely used to receive status notifications for the plurality of checkout terminals (Paragraph 0031). The storage unit is merely used to store preset information that indicates a settlement type available at the identified checkout terminal corresponds to the settlement type for which the line is established (Paragraph 0031). The output interface connectable to an output unit in a checkout waiting area is merely used to output guidance information to indicate a customer in the selected line should proceed to the checkout terminal identified as available (Paragraph 0031). The first camera interface connectable to a first camera is merely used to capture an image of a settlement maker who is operating the self-service POS terminal corresponding to the first camera (Paragraph 0039). The second camera interface connectable to a second camera is merely used to monitor a waiting area Q, where customers wait to enter the payment area P for settlement. The second camera captures images of the customers waiting in the waiting area Q (Paragraph 0040). The processor is merely used to realizes various functions of the surveillance apparatus in accordance with an operating system and/or an application program (Paragraph 0060). In this case, the claim and specification fail to provide details of how the images are analyzed (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Further, the step of “communicating status notifications” is considered a well-understood, routine, and conventional function since it's just “receiving or transmitting data over a network” and “performing repetitive calculations” (MPEP 2106.05(d)). Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Independent claim 11 is directed to a system at step 1, which is a statutory category. Claim 11 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons at step 2a, prong one; step 2a, prong 2; and step 2b. Claim 11 further recites: a store settlement system – which is treated as just an explicit “processor/computer” for executing the operations and is treated under MPEP 2106.05f in the same manner as claim 1. Accordingly, these limitations are viewed as “apply it on a computer” at step 2a, prong 2 and step 2b. Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Independent claim 18 is directed to an article of manufacture at step 1, which is a statutory category. Claim 18 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons at step 2a, prong one; step 2a, prong 2; and step 2b. Claim 18 further recites: a store settlement system; and a non-transitory, computer-readable medium – which are treated as just an explicit “processor/computer” for storing and executing the operations and are treated under MPEP 2106.05f in the same manner as claim 1. Accordingly, these limitations are viewed as “apply it on a computer” at step 2a, prong 2 and step 2b. Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Dependent claims 2-4, 6, 10, 12-15, 17, and 19-20 are not directed to any additional claim elements. Rather, these claims offer further descriptive limitations of elements found in the independent claims and addressed above - such as wherein the surveillance apparatus is used to: store priority ranks for the plurality of checkout terminals within each settlement type corresponding to the plurality of different lines; identify which customer in the plurality of different lines has been waiting the longest among all customers in the checkout waiting area, and the line is selected based additionally on customer waiting time; identify which customer in the plurality of different lines has been waiting the longest based on images; identify a correspondence between the different settlement types and the plurality of different lines established in the checkout waiting area based on predetermined correspondence information; and wherein the different settlement types include registration followed by cash settlement, registration followed by cashless settlement, and settlement of already registered items. At Step 2A, Prong 2 - this is still considered “field of use” since it’s just used to receive status information of the POS terminals based on images, but the technology is not improved (MPEP 2106.05h). (MPEP 2106.05h). At Step 2B – this is considered a conventional computer function of “receiving and transmitting over a network” and “performing repetitive calculations” (MPEP 2106.05d). Also, the claim and specification fail to provide details of how the images are analyzed (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Dependent claim 5 is not directed to any additional claim elements. Rather, these claims offer further descriptive limitations of elements found in the independent claims and addressed above - such as: wherein the output interface is a monitor interface connected to a plurality of monitors in the checkout waiting area. Merely stating that the step is performed by a computer component results in “apply it” on a computer (MPEP 2106.05f) being applicable at both Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Further, instructions to display and/or arrange information in a graphical user interface may not be sufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality (MPEP 2106.05a). Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Dependent claims 7-9 and 16 are not directed to any additional claim elements. Rather, these claims offer further descriptive limitations of elements found in the independent claims and addressed above - such as: wherein the first camera interface is connected to a plurality of first cameras in a checkout area, each first camera being positioned to respectively image operations at one the plurality of checkout terminals in the checkout area; wherein the second camera interface is connected to the second camera; and wherein the communication interface is connected to a display control apparatus which is connected to the plurality of checkout terminals, and the display control apparatus provides the status notifications from the plurality of checkout terminals. At Step 2A, Prong 2 - this is still considered “field of use” since it’s just used to receive status information from a plurality of cameras and terminals, but the technology is not improved (MPEP 2106.05h). At Step 2B – this is considered a conventional computer function of “receiving and transmitting over a network” and “performing repetitive calculations” (MPEP 2106.05d). Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hogg et al. (US 2015/0127401 A1), in view of Huang et al. (US 2025/0324164 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hogg et al. discloses a surveillance apparatus, comprising: a communication interface; a storage unit; an output interface connectable to an output unit in a checkout waiting area (Paragraph 0039, FIG. 2 depicts an exemplary embodiment of a retail sales system 200 in a store 202 utilizing an embodiment of the environment 100. As shown in FIG. 2, the system 200 can include a computing device 204 (e.g., a server) executing an embodiment of the environment 100, POS terminals 206 distributed throughout the store 202, sensors 208 disposed proximate to the POS terminals 206, sensors 209 disposed proximate to entrances 211, video cameras 210 distributed throughout the store 202, and indicator devices 212 (including light sources 214, display devices 216, audio devices 218, portable electronic devices 220). The computing device 204 can be in (wired and/or wireless communication with the POS terminals 206, sensor 208, video cameras 210, and indicator devices 212 to receive and/or output information/data to the POS terminals 206, sensor 208, video cameras 210, and indicator device 212. In some embodiments, the computing device 204 may be located locally in or near the store or may be located remotely, for example, in another town, state, or country);
…; a second camera interface connectable to a second camera; and a processor configured to: identify whether customers are waiting in any of a plurality of different lines established in the checkout waiting area for different settlement types based on an image of the checkout waiting area received via the second interface from the second camera (Paragraph 0022, The contemporaneous queue-related information can include contemporaneous (e.g. "real-time") information about the POS terminals and/or the employees operating the POS terminals. Contemporaneous POS terminal information can include, for example, identities of active POS terminals, a location of the active POS terminals in the store (e.g., a Garden department, TLE department, Electronics department, Pharmacy department, Front end, etc.), a type of POS terminal (e.g., terminals configured to weigh items, terminals configured to scan price look-up codes (PLUs), terminals configured for regular item scanning, terminals configured for self-checkout, etc.), peripheral POS terminal equipment at the active POS terminals (e.g., scales, credit/debit card readers, near field communication (NFC) readers, etc.), identities of cashiers currently operating the POS terminals, a current queue depth for the active POS terminals, a current queue density for the active POS terminals (e.g., average quantity of items per customer in the queue), and the like; Paragraph 0043, Video cameras 210 can capture video of areas including the POS terminals 206. The video analytics can be used to determine a queue length/depth for the queues. For example, in exemplary embodiments, the environment 100 can use video analytics to recognize a quantity of customers waiting in the queues for the POS terminals 206, which can be used by the environment 100 to estimate queue waiting times for the POS terminals 206);
identify whether any of a plurality of checkout terminals in a checkout area are available based on status notifications received via the communication interface for the plurality of checkout terminals … (Paragraph 0022, The contemporaneous queue-related information can include contemporaneous (e.g. "real-time") information about the POS terminals and/or the employees operating the POS terminals. Contemporaneous POS terminal information can include, for example, identities of active POS terminals, a location of the active POS terminals in the store (e.g., a Garden department, TLE department, Electronics department, Pharmacy department, Front end, etc.), a type of POS terminal (e.g., terminals configured to weigh items, terminals configured to scan price look-up codes (PLUs), terminals configured for regular item scanning, terminals configured for self-checkout, etc.), peripheral POS terminal equipment at the active POS terminals (e.g., scales, credit/debit card readers, near field communication (NFC) readers, etc.), identities of cashiers currently operating the POS terminals, a current queue depth for the active POS terminals, a current queue density for the active POS terminals (e.g., average quantity of items per customer in the queue), and the like; Examiner interprets “active POS terminals” as “checkout terminals available”);
when a checkout terminal is identified as available, select a line of the plurality of different lines when preset information stored in the storage unit indicates a settlement type available at the identified checkout terminal corresponds to the settlement type for which the line is established (Paragraph 0046, The display devices 216 can be disposed throughout the store 202 and can render an image to provide an indication of queue waiting times for the POS terminals 206. As an example, in some embodiments, the display devices 216 can render graphics/icons, numeric values of the estimated queue times, and/or any other indicators that can provide an indication of the estimated queue times of the POS terminals 206. The display device 216 can render the image(s) in response to output(s) from the environment 100 received by the display devices 216. In some embodiments, the display device can include audio device (e.g., audio devices 218) and can be configured to output audio to provide an indication of the estimated queue waiting times as described in more detail below; Paragraph 0049, The GUIs can display the indicators to the customer. In some embodiments, the GUIs can allow the customer to specify one or more customer specific parameters that can be used by the environment 100 to recommend one or more POS terminals to the customer. As one example, the GUIs can allow the customer to specify preferred POS terminal types (e.g., a lane preference types), such as self-checkout terminals, terminals that do not permit credit card transactions, terminals that only permit credit card only transaction, terminals at which tobacco products are available, terminals having a limit on the quantity of items customers can purchase at the terminal per transaction, and/or any other suitable POS terminal types; Paragraph 0053, If updated information is available, the environment 100 can process the updated information at step 416 and the process can repeat from step 406. Otherwise, the environment 100 can periodically check for updated information or wait for new information to be provided. When the customer preference/criteria has been satisfied, the management engine 120 can transmit an alert to an electronic device operated by the customer at step 418 to indicate that one or more of the POS terminals have queue characteristics that satisfies the customer preference/criteria. For example, the alert can provide instructions to the electronic device operated by the customer to display one or more indicators associated with the queue characteristics to the customers. For example, no wait at self-checkout, no wait at register five, new register opened; Examiner interprets “no wait” as the indication that the terminal is available);
and output guidance information via the output interface to indicate a customer in the selected line should proceed to the checkout terminal identified as available (Paragraph 0053, If updated information is available, the environment 100 can process the updated information at step 416 and the process can repeat from step 406. Otherwise, the environment 100 can periodically check for updated information or wait for new information to be provided. When the customer preference/criteria has been satisfied, the management engine 120 can transmit an alert to an electronic device operated by the customer at step 418 to indicate that one or more of the POS terminals have queue characteristics that satisfies the customer preference/criteria. For example, the alert can provide instructions to the electronic device operated by the customer to display one or more indicators associated with the queue characteristics to the customers. For example, no wait at self-checkout, no wait at register five, new register opened; Examiner interprets the “alert” as the “guidance information”).
Although Hogg et al. discloses to identify whether any of a plurality of checkout terminals in a checkout area are available based on status notifications received via the communication interface for the plurality of checkout terminals (Paragraph 0022, real-time information about the terminal such as identities of active terminals), Hogg et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the status notification further includes images received via the first interface from a first camera associated with each of the plurality of checkout terminals.
However, Huang et al. discloses a first camera interface connectable to a first camera; …; identify whether any of a plurality of checkout terminals in a checkout area are available based on status notifications received via … images received via the first interface from a first camera associated with each of the plurality of checkout terminals (Paragraph 0017, In the illustrated example environment 100, camera 120 is installed near the self-checkout station 105 to capture the customer 115's interaction with the station 105. In some embodiments, the camera 120 may be either wall-mounted or ceiling mounted. In some embodiments, the camera 120 may be strategically positioned towards the station 105's direction, which enables the camera 120 to capture the customer's actions and/or the content displayed on the station's screen 110; Paragraph 0019, In some embodiments, camera 120 may detect the customer's 115 approach to the self-checkout station 105 using motion detection techniques. Upon detection, the camera 120 may send a signal to the central server, indicating the start of a customer interaction. The server, upon receiving the start signal, may instruct the self-checkout station 105 (which is being captured by the reporting camera 120) to start recording a series of images displayed on its screen 110 during the interaction. The image recording may conclude upon receipt of an end signal from the camera 120, indicating the customer has completed their interaction and departed. Following the conclusion, the server may receive the video recording from camera 12, along with the series of images from self-checkout station 105, and store the received data in a database for further analysis).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify surveillance apparatus used to identify status associated with the checkout terminals (e.g., status of the line/queue such as no wait at self-checkout) of the invention of Hogg et al. to further incorporate additional cameras being positioned at one the plurality of checkout terminals in the checkout area of the invention of Huang et al. because doing so would allow the surveillance apparatus to detect whether the customer has completed their interaction and departed (see Huang et al., Paragraph 0019). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 11, Hogg et al. discloses a store settlement system, comprising: a checkout waiting area with a plurality of different line regions for different settlement types (Paragraph 0022, The contemporaneous queue-related information can include contemporaneous (e.g. "real-time") information about the POS terminals and/or the employees operating the POS terminals. Contemporaneous POS terminal information can include, for example, identities of active POS terminals, a location of the active POS terminals in the store (e.g., a Garden department, TLE department, Electronics department, Pharmacy department, Front end, etc.), a type of POS terminal (e.g., terminals configured to weigh items, terminals configured to scan price look-up codes (PLUs), terminals configured for regular item scanning, terminals configured for self-checkout, etc.), peripheral POS terminal equipment at the active POS terminals (e.g., scales, credit/debit card readers, near field communication (NFC) readers, etc.), identities of cashiers currently operating the POS terminals, a current queue depth for the active POS terminals, a current queue density for the active POS terminals (e.g., average quantity of items per customer in the queue), and the like);
a plurality of monitors in the checkout waiting area, one monitor in the plurality of monitors for each of the plurality of different line regions (Paragraph 0043, Video cameras 210 can capture video of areas including the POS terminals 206. The video analytics can be used to determine a queue length/depth for the queues. For example, in exemplary embodiments, the environment 100 can use video analytics to recognize a quantity of customers waiting in the queues for the POS terminals 206, which can be used by the environment 100 to estimate queue waiting times for the POS terminals 206);
a checkout area with a plurality of checkout terminals (Paragraph 0022, The contemporaneous queue-related information can include contemporaneous (e.g. "real-time") information about the POS terminals and/or the employees operating the POS terminals. Contemporaneous POS terminal information can include, for example, identities of active POS terminals, a location of the active POS terminals in the store (e.g., a Garden department, TLE department, Electronics department, Pharmacy department, Front end, etc.), a type of POS terminal (e.g., terminals configured to weigh items, terminals configured to scan price look-up codes (PLUs), terminals configured for regular item scanning, terminals configured for self-checkout, etc.), peripheral POS terminal equipment at the active POS terminals (e.g., scales, credit/debit card readers, near field communication (NFC) readers, etc.), identities of cashiers currently operating the POS terminals, a current queue depth for the active POS terminals, a current queue density for the active POS terminals (e.g., average quantity of items per customer in the queue), and the like), the plurality of checkout terminals being set for a mix of different settlement types (Paragraph 0049, As one example, the GUIs can allow the customer to specify preferred POS terminal types (e.g., a lane preference types), such as self-checkout terminals, terminals that do not permit credit card transactions, terminals that only permit credit card only transaction, terminals at which tobacco products are available, terminals having a limit on the quantity of items customers can purchase at the terminal per transaction, and/or any other suitable POS terminal types); …;
a second camera positioned to image the checkout waiting area (Paragraph 0022, The contemporaneous queue-related information can include contemporaneous (e.g. "real-time") information about the POS terminals and/or the employees operating the POS terminals. Contemporaneous POS terminal information can include, for example, identities of active POS terminals, a location of the active POS terminals in the store (e.g., a Garden department, TLE department, Electronics department, Pharmacy department, Front end, etc.), a type of POS terminal (e.g., terminals configured to weigh items, terminals configured to scan price look-up codes (PLUs), terminals configured for regular item scanning, terminals configured for self-checkout, etc.), peripheral POS terminal equipment at the active POS terminals (e.g., scales, credit/debit card readers, near field communication (NFC) readers, etc.), identities of cashiers currently operating the POS terminals, a current queue depth for the active POS terminals, a current queue density for the active POS terminals (e.g., average quantity of items per customer in the queue), and the like; Paragraph 0043, Video cameras 210 can capture video of areas including the POS terminals 206. The video analytics can be used to determine a queue length/depth for the queues. For example, in exemplary embodiments, the environment 100 can use video analytics to recognize a quantity of customers waiting in the queues for the POS terminals 206, which can be used by the environment 100 to estimate queue waiting times for the POS terminals 206);
a surveillance apparatus including: a communication interface; a storage unit; an output interface connected to the plurality of monitors (Paragraph 0039, FIG. 2 depicts an exemplary embodiment of a retail sales system 200 in a store 202 utilizing an embodiment of the environment 100. As shown in FIG. 2, the system 200 can include a computing device 204 (e.g., a server) executing an embodiment of the environment 100, POS terminals 206 distributed throughout the store 202, sensors 208 disposed proximate to the POS terminals 206, sensors 209 disposed proximate to entrances 211, video cameras 210 distributed throughout the store 202, and indicator devices 212 (including light sources 214, display devices 216, audio devices 218, portable electronic devices 220). The computing device 204 can be in (wired and/or wireless communication with the POS terminals 206, sensor 208, video cameras 210, and indicator devices 212 to receive and/or output information/data to the POS terminals 206, sensor 208, video cameras 210, and indicator device 212. In some embodiments, the computing device 204 may be located locally in or near the store or may be located remotely, for example, in another town, state, or country);
…; a second camera interface connected to the second camera; and a processor configured to: identify whether customers are waiting in any of a plurality of different line regions in the checkout waiting area based on an image of the checkout waiting area received via the second interface from the second camera (Paragraph 0022, The contemporaneous queue-related information can include contemporaneous (e.g. "real-time") information about the POS terminals and/or the employees operating the POS terminals. Contemporaneous POS terminal information can include, for example, identities of active POS terminals, a location of the active POS terminals in the store (e.g., a Garden department, TLE department, Electronics department, Pharmacy department, Front end, etc.), a type of POS terminal (e.g., terminals configured to weigh items, terminals configured to scan price look-up codes (PLUs), terminals configured for regular item scanning, terminals configured for self-checkout, etc.), peripheral POS terminal equipment at the active POS terminals (e.g., scales, credit/debit card readers, near field communication (NFC) readers, etc.), identities of cashiers currently operating the POS terminals, a current queue depth for the active POS terminals, a current queue density for the active POS terminals (e.g., average quantity of items per customer in the queue), and the like; Paragraph 0043, Video cameras 210 can capture video of areas including the POS terminals 206. The video analytics can be used to determine a queue length/depth for the queues. For example, in exemplary embodiments, the environment 100 can use video analytics to recognize a quantity of customers waiting in the queues for the POS terminals 206, which can be used by the environment 100 to estimate queue waiting times for the POS terminals 206);
identify whether any of the plurality of checkout terminals are available based on status notifications received via the communication interface for the plurality of checkout terminals … (Paragraph 0022, The contemporaneous queue-related information can include contemporaneous (e.g. "real-time") information about the POS terminals and/or the employees operating the POS terminals. Contemporaneous POS terminal information can include, for example, identities of active POS terminals, a location of the active POS terminals in the store (e.g., a Garden department, TLE department, Electronics department, Pharmacy department, Front end, etc.), a type of POS terminal (e.g., terminals configured to weigh items, terminals configured to scan price look-up codes (PLUs), terminals configured for regular item scanning, terminals configured for self-checkout, etc.), peripheral POS terminal equipment at the active POS terminals (e.g., scales, credit/debit card readers, near field communication (NFC) readers, etc.), identities of cashiers currently operating the POS terminals, a current queue depth for the active POS terminals, a current queue density for the active POS terminals (e.g., average quantity of items per customer in the queue), and the like; Examiner interprets “active POS terminals” as “checkout terminals available”);
when a checkout terminal is identified as available, select a line region of the plurality of different line regions when preset information stored in the storage unit indicates a settlement type available at the identified checkout terminal corresponds to the settlement type of the line region (Paragraph 0046, The display devices 216 can be disposed throughout the store 202 and can render an image to provide an indication of queue waiting times for the POS terminals 206. As an example, in some embodiments, the display devices 216 can render graphics/icons, numeric values of the estimated queue times, and/or any other indicators that can provide an indication of the estimated queue times of the POS terminals 206. The display device 216 can render the image(s) in response to output(s) from the environment 100 received by the display devices 216. In some embodiments, the display device can include audio device (e.g., audio devices 218) and can be configured to output audio to provide an indication of the estimated queue waiting times as described in more detail below; Paragraph 0049, The GUIs can display the indicators to the customer. In some embodiments, the GUIs can allow the customer to specify one or more customer specific parameters that can be used by the environment 100 to recommend one or more POS terminals to the customer. As one example, the GUIs can allow the customer to specify preferred POS terminal types (e.g., a lane preference types), such as self-checkout terminals, terminals that do not permit credit card transactions, terminals that only permit credit card only transaction, terminals at which tobacco products are available, terminals having a limit on the quantity of items customers can purchase at the terminal per transaction, and/or any other suitable POS terminal types; Paragraph 0053, If updated information is available, the environment 100 can process the updated information at step 416 and the process can repeat from step 406. Otherwise, the environment 100 can periodically check for updated information or wait for new information to be provided. When the customer preference/criteria has been satisfied, the management engine 120 can transmit an alert to an electronic device operated by the customer at step 418 to indicate that one or more of the POS terminals have queue characteristics that satisfies the customer preference/criteria. For example, the alert can provide instructions to the electronic device operated by the customer to display one or more indicators associated with the queue characteristics to the customers. For example, no wait at self-checkout, no wait at register five, new register opened; Examiner interprets “no wait” as the indication that the terminal is available);
and output guidance information via the output interface to one of the plurality of monitors to indicate a customer in the selected line region should proceed to the checkout terminal identified as available (Paragraph 0053, If updated information is available, the environment 100 can process the updated information at step 416 and the process can repeat from step 406. Otherwise, the environment 100 can periodically check for updated information or wait for new information to be provided. When the customer preference/criteria has been satisfied, the management engine 120 can transmit an alert to an electronic device operated by the customer at step 418 to indicate that one or more of the POS terminals have queue characteristics that satisfies the customer preference/criteria. For example, the alert can provide instructions to the electronic device operated by the customer to display one or more indicators associated with the queue characteristics to the customers. For example, no wait at self-checkout, no wait at register five, new register opened; Examiner interprets the “alert” as the “guidance information”).
Although Hogg et al. discloses to identify whether any of a plurality of checkout terminals in a checkout area are available based on status notifications received via the communication interface for the plurality of checkout terminals (Paragraph 0022, real-time information about the terminal such as identities of active terminals), Hogg et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the status notification further includes images received via the first interface from a first camera associated with each of the plurality of checkout terminals.
However, Huang et al. discloses a plurality of first cameras, each first camera being associated with one of the plurality of checkout terminals and positioned to image operations at the associated one of the plurality of checkout terminals; …; a first camera interface connected to the plurality of first cameras; …; identify whether any of the plurality of checkout terminals are available based on status notifications received via … images received via the first interface from the plurality of first cameras (Paragraph 0017, In the illustrated example environment 100, camera 120 is installed near the self-checkout station 105 to capture the customer 115's interaction with the station 105. In some embodiments, the camera 120 may be either wall-mounted or ceiling mounted. In some embodiments, the camera 120 may be strategically positioned towards the station 105's direction, which enables the camera 120 to capture the customer's actions and/or the content displayed on the station's screen 110; Paragraph 0019, In some embodiments, camera 120 may detect the customer's 115 approach to the self-checkout station 105 using motion detection techniques. Upon detection, the camera 120 may send a signal to the central server, indicating the start of a customer interaction. The server, upon receiving the start signal, may instruct the self-checkout station 105 (which is being captured by the reporting camera 120) to start recording a series of images displayed on its screen 110 during the interaction. The image recording may conclude upon receipt of an end signal from the camera 120, indicating the customer has completed their interaction and departed. Following the conclusion, the server may receive the video recording from camera 12, along with the series of images from self-checkout station 105, and store the received data in a database for further analysis).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify surveillance apparatus used to identify status associated with the checkout terminals (e.g., status of the line/queue such as no wait at self-checkout) of the invention of Hogg et al. to further incorporate additional cameras being positioned at one the plurality of checkout terminals in the checkout area of the invention of Huang et al. because doing so would allow the surveillance apparatus to detect whether the customer has completed their interaction and departed (see Huang et al., Paragraph 0019). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 18, Hogg et al. discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing program instructions which when executed by a processor of a surveillance apparatus in a store settlement system cause the apparatus to perform a method comprising (Paragraph 0004, The non-transitory computer-readable medium stores executable instructions for implementing a computing process of indicating queue characteristics for active electronic terminals; Paragraph 0039, FIG. 2 depicts an exemplary embodiment of a retail sales system 200 in a store 202 utilizing an embodiment of the environment 100. As shown in FIG. 2, the system 200 can include a computing device 204 (e.g., a server) executing an embodiment of the environment 100, POS terminals 206 distributed throughout the store 202, sensors 208 disposed proximate to the POS terminals 206, sensors 209 disposed proximate to entrances 211, video cameras 210 distributed throughout the store 202, and indicator devices 212 (including light sources 214, display devices 216, audio devices 218, portable electronic devices 220). The computing device 204 can be in (wired and/or wireless communication with the POS terminals 206, sensor 208, video cameras 210, and indicator devices 212 to receive and/or output information/data to the POS terminals 206, sensor 208, video cameras 210, and indicator device 212. In some embodiments, the computing device 204 may be located locally in or near the store or may be located remotely, for example, in another town, state, or country):
identify whether customers are waiting in any of a plurality of different lines established in a checkout waiting area for different settlement types based on an image of the checkout waiting area received from a second camera (Paragraph 0022, The contemporaneous queue-related information can include contemporaneous (e.g. "real-time") information about the POS terminals and/or the employees operating the POS terminals. Contemporaneous POS terminal information can include, for example, identities of active POS terminals, a location of the active POS terminals in the store (e.g., a Garden department, TLE department, Electronics department, Pharmacy department, Front end, etc.), a type of POS terminal (e.g., terminals configured to weigh items, terminals configured to scan price look-up codes (PLUs), terminals configured for regular item scanning, terminals configured for self-checkout, etc.), peripheral POS terminal equipment at the active POS terminals (e.g., scales, credit/debit card readers, near field communication (NFC) readers, etc.), identities of cashiers currently operating the POS terminals, a current queue depth for the active POS terminals, a current queue density for the active POS terminals (e.g., average quantity of items per customer in the queue), and the like; Paragraph 0043, Video cameras 210 can capture video of areas including the POS terminals 206. The video analytics can be used to determine a queue length/depth for the queues. For example, in exemplary embodiments, the environment 100 can use video analytics to recognize a quantity of customers waiting in the queues for the POS terminals 206, which can be used by the environment 100 to estimate queue waiting times for the POS terminals 206);
identify whether any of a plurality of checkout terminals in a checkout area are available based on status notifications received via a communication interface for the plurality of checkout terminals … (Paragraph 0022, The contemporaneous queue-related information can include contemporaneous (e.g. "real-time") information about the POS terminals and/or the employees operating the POS terminals. Contemporaneous POS terminal information can include, for example, identities of active POS terminals, a location of the active POS terminals in the store (e.g., a Garden department, TLE department, Electronics department, Pharmacy department, Front end, etc.), a type of POS terminal (e.g., terminals configured to weigh items, terminals configured to scan price look-up codes (PLUs), terminals configured for regular item scanning, terminals configured for self-checkout, etc.), peripheral POS terminal equipment at the active POS terminals (e.g., scales, credit/debit card readers, near field communication (NFC) readers, etc.), identities of cashiers currently operating the POS terminals, a current queue depth for the active POS terminals, a current queue density for the active POS terminals (e.g., average quantity of items per customer in the queue), and the like; Examiner interprets “active POS terminals” as “checkout terminals available”);
when a checkout terminal is identified as available, select a line of the plurality of different lines when preset information indicates a settlement type available at the identified checkout terminal corresponds to the settlement type for which the line is established (Paragraph 0046, The display devices 216 can be disposed throughout the store 202 and can render an image to provide an indication of queue waiting times for the POS terminals 206. As an example, in some embodiments, the display devices 216 can render graphics/icons, numeric values of the estimated queue times, and/or any other indicators that can provide an indication of the estimated queue times of the POS terminals 206. The display device 216 can render the image(s) in response to output(s) from the environment 100 received by the display devices 216. In some embodiments, the display device can include audio device (e.g., audio devices 218) and can be configured to output audio to provide an indication of the estimated queue waiting times as described in more detail below; Paragraph 0049, The GUIs can display the indicators to the customer. In some embodiments, the GUIs can allow the customer to specify one or more customer specific parameters that can be used by the environment 100 to recommend one or more POS terminals to the customer. As one example, the GUIs can allow the customer to specify preferred POS terminal types (e.g., a lane preference types), such as self-checkout terminals, terminals that do not permit credit card transactions, terminals that only permit credit card only transaction, terminals at which tobacco products are available, terminals having a limit on the quantity of items customers can purchase at the terminal per transaction, and/or any other suitable POS terminal types; Paragraph 0053, If updated information is available, the environment 100 can process the updated information at step 416 and the process can repeat from step 406. Otherwise, the environment 100 can periodically check for updated information or wait for new information to be provided. When the customer preference/criteria has been satisfied, the management engine 120 can transmit an alert to an electronic device operated by the customer at step 418 to indicate that one or more of the POS terminals have queue characteristics that satisfies the customer preference/criteria. For example, the alert can provide instructions to the electronic device operated by the customer to display one or more indicators associated with the queue characteristics to the customers. For example, no wait at self-checkout, no wait at register five, new register opened; Examiner interprets “no wait” as the indication that the terminal is available);
and output guidance information via an output interface to indicate a customer in the selected line should proceed to the checkout terminal identified as available (Paragraph 0053, If updated information is available, the environment 100 can process the updated information at step 416 and the process can repeat from step 406. Otherwise, the environment 100 can periodically check for updated information or wait for new information to be provided. When the customer preference/criteria has been satisfied, the management engine 120 can transmit an alert to an electronic device operated by the customer at step 418 to indicate that one or more of the POS terminals have queue characteristics that satisfies the customer preference/criteria. For example, the alert can provide instructions to the electronic device operated by the customer to display one or more indicators associated with the queue characteristics to the customers. For example, no wait at self-checkout, no wait at register five, new register opened; Examiner interprets the “alert” as the “guidance information”).
Although Hogg et al. discloses to identify whether any of a plurality of checkout terminals in a checkout area are available based on status notifications received via the communication interface for the plurality of checkout terminals (Paragraph 0022, real-time information about the terminal such as identities of active terminals), Hogg et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the status notification further includes images received via the first interface from a first camera associated with each of the plurality of checkout terminals.
However, Huang et al. discloses identify whether any of a plurality of checkout terminals in a checkout area are available based on status notifications received via … images received via from a first camera associated with each of the plurality of checkout terminals (Paragraph 0017, In the illustrated example environment 100, camera 120 is installed near the self-checkout station 105 to capture the customer 115's interaction with the station 105. In some embodiments, the camera 120 may be either wall-mounted or ceiling mounted. In some embodiments, the camera 120 may be strategically positioned towards the station 105's direction, which enables the camera 120 to capture the customer's actions and/or the content displayed on the station's screen 110; Paragraph 0019, In some embodiments, camera 120 may detect the customer's 115 approach to the self-checkout station 105 using motion detection techniques. Upon detection, the camera 120 may send a signal to the central server, indicating the start of a customer interaction. The server, upon receiving the start signal, may instruct the self-checkout station 105 (which is being captured by the reporting camera 120) to start recording a series of images displayed on its screen 110 during the interaction. The image recording may conclude upon receipt of an end signal from the camera 120, indicating the customer has completed their interaction and departed. Following the conclusion, the server may receive the video recording from camera 12, along with the series of images from self-checkout station 105, and store the received data in a database for further analysis).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify surveillance apparatus used to identify status associated with the checkout terminals (e.g., status of the line/queue such as no wait at self-checkout) of the invention of Hogg et al. to further incorporate additional cameras being positioned at one the plurality of checkout terminals in the checkout area of the invention of Huang et al. because doing so would allow the surveillance apparatus to detect whether the customer has completed their interaction and departed (see Huang et al., Paragraph 0019). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claims 2, 12, and 19, which are dependent of claims 1, 11, and 18, the combination of Hogg et al. and Huang et al. discloses all the limitations in claims 1, 11, and 18. Hogg et al. further discloses the surveillance apparatus according to wherein the preset information contains priority ranks for the plurality of checkout terminals within each settlement type corresponding to the plurality of different lines (Paragraph 0035, In exemplary embodiments, the management engine 120 can be programmed and/or configured to provide customers with recommendations as to which POS terminal they should use based on a queue characteristic (e.g., an estimated queue wait time) as well as customer-specified criteria/preferences 170, which can be maintained by the management engine 120. The customer-specific criteria 170 can include parameters received from the customer and/or parameters associated with the customer received from sources other than the customer. The parameters received from the customer can include, for example, a preferred cashier, a preferred POS terminal, a maximum estimated queue wait time, a preferred exit location, a maximum quantity of items per transaction associated with a POS terminal, a location of the POS terminal, a maximum distance between the customer and the POS terminal, and the like; Paragraph 0049, As one example, the GUIs can allow the customer to specify preferred POS terminal types (e.g., a lane preference types), such as self-checkout terminals, terminals that do not permit credit card transactions, terminals that only permit credit card only transaction, terminals at which tobacco products are available, terminals having a limit on the quantity of items customers can purchase at the terminal per transaction, and/or any other suitable POS terminal types. As another example, customers can specify preferred employees (e.g., cashiers) operating the POS terminals. The environment 100 can generate recommended POS terminals based on the estimated queue wait times and the customer specific parameters; Examiner interprets the recommendations for the plurality of the checkout terminals based on customer preferences as the priority ranks for the plurality of checkout terminals. For example, a settlement type that is closer to the customer has a higher rating).
Regarding claims 3, 13, and 20, which are dependent of claims 1, 11, and 18, the combination of Hogg et al. and Huang et al. discloses all the limitations in claims 1, 11, and 18. Hogg et al. further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: identify which customer in the plurality of different lines has been waiting the longest among all customers in the checkout waiting area, and the line is selected based additionally on customer waiting time (Paragraph 0022, The contemporaneous queue-related information can include contemporaneous (e.g. "real-time") information about the POS terminals and/or the employees operating the POS terminals. Contemporaneous POS terminal information can include, for example, identities of active POS terminals, a location of the active POS terminals in the store (e.g., a Garden department, TLE department, Electronics department, Pharmacy department, Front end, etc.), a type of POS terminal (e.g., terminals configured to weigh items, terminals configured to scan price look-up codes (PLUs), terminals configured for regular item scanning, terminals configured for self-checkout, etc.), peripheral POS terminal equipment at the active POS terminals (e.g., scales, credit/debit card readers, near field communication (NFC) readers, etc.), identities of cashiers currently operating the POS terminals, a current queue depth for the active POS terminals, a current queue density for the active POS terminals (e.g., average quantity of items per customer in the queue), and the like; Paragraph 0043, Video cameras 210 can capture video of areas including the POS terminals 206. The video analytics can be used to determine a queue length/depth for the queues. For example, in exemplary embodiments, the environment 100 can use video analytics to recognize a quantity of customers waiting in the queues for the POS terminals 206, which can be used by the environment 100 to estimate queue waiting times for the POS terminals 206; Examiner notes that a line/queue is selected/recommended to the user based on the customer waiting time).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, which are dependent of claims 3 and 13, the combination of Hogg et al. and Huang et al. discloses all the limitations in claims 3 and 13. Hogg et al. further discloses wherein the processor identifies which customer in the plurality of different lines has been waiting the longest based on images from the second camera (Paragraph 0022, The contemporaneous queue-related information can include contemporaneous (e.g. "real-time") information about the POS terminals and/or the employees operating the POS terminals. Contemporaneous POS terminal information can include, for example, identities of active POS terminals, a location of the active POS terminals in the store (e.g., a Garden department, TLE department, Electronics department, Pharmacy department, Front end, etc.), a type of POS terminal (e.g., terminals configured to weigh items, terminals configured to scan price look-up codes (PLUs), terminals configured for regular item scanning, terminals configured for self-checkout, etc.), peripheral POS terminal equipment at the active POS terminals (e.g., scales, credit/debit card readers, near field communication (NFC) readers, etc.), identities of cashiers currently operating the POS terminals, a current queue depth for the active POS terminals, a current queue density for the active POS terminals (e.g., average quantity of items per customer in the queue), and the like; Paragraph 0043, Video cameras 210 can capture video of areas including the POS terminals 206. The video analytics can be used to determine a queue length/depth for the queues. For example, in exemplary embodiments, the environment 100 can use video analytics to recognize a quantity of customers waiting in the queues for the POS terminals 206, which can be used by the environment 100 to estimate queue waiting times for the POS terminals 206; In this case, the customer standing at the end of the line with the highest estimated waiting time is the customer that has been waiting the longest).
Regarding claim 5, which is dependent of claim 1, the combination of Hogg et al. and Huang et al. discloses all the limitations in claim 1. Hogg et al. further discloses wherein the output interface is a monitor interface connected to a plurality of monitors in the checkout waiting area (Paragraph 0010, In some embodiments, a portable electronic device receives communications to display the indicators on a display of the portable electronic device. In some embodiments the indicators are displayed via at least one display unit in the store; Paragraph 0053, If updated information is available, the environment 100 can process the updated information at step 416 and the process can repeat from step 406. Otherwise, the environment 100 can periodically check for updated information or wait for new information to be provided. When the customer preference/criteria has been satisfied, the management engine 120 can transmit an alert to an electronic device operated by the customer at step 418 to indicate that one or more of the POS terminals have queue characteristics that satisfies the customer preference/criteria. For example, the alert can provide instructions to the electronic device operated by the customer to display one or more indicators associated with the queue characteristics to the customers. For example, no wait at self-checkout, no wait at register five, new register opened).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, which are dependent of claims 1 and 11, the combination of Hogg et al. and Huang et al. discloses all the limitations in claims 1 and 11. Hogg et al. further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to identify a correspondence between the different settlement types and the plurality of different lines established in the checkout waiting area based on predetermined correspondence information stored in the storage unit indicating regions in the checkout waiting area depicted in images from the second camera (Paragraph 0022, The contemporaneous queue-related information can include contemporaneous (e.g. "real-time") information about the POS terminals and/or the employees operating the POS terminals. Contemporaneous POS terminal information can include, for example, identities of active POS terminals, a location of the active POS terminals in the store (e.g., a Garden department, TLE department, Electronics department, Pharmacy department, Front end, etc.), a type of POS terminal (e.g., terminals configured to weigh items, terminals configured to scan price look-up codes (PLUs), terminals configured for regular item scanning, terminals configured for self-checkout, etc.), peripheral POS terminal equipment at the active POS terminals (e.g., scales, credit/debit card readers, near field communication (NFC) readers, etc.), identities of cashiers currently operating the POS terminals, a current queue depth for the active POS terminals, a current queue density for the active POS terminals (e.g., average quantity of items per customer in the queue), and the like; Paragraph 0043, Video cameras 210 can capture video of areas including the POS terminals 206. The video analytics can be used to determine a queue length/depth for the queues. For example, in exemplary embodiments, the environment 100 can use video analytics to recognize a quantity of customers waiting in the queues for the POS terminals 206, which can be used by the environment 100 to estimate queue waiting times for the POS terminals 206).
Regarding claim 7, which is dependent of claim 1, the combination of Hogg et al. and Huang et al. discloses all the limitations in claim 1. Hogg et al. further discloses wherein the first camera interface is connected to a plurality of first cameras in a checkout area, each first camera being positioned to respectively image operations at one the plurality of checkout terminals in the checkout area (Paragraph 0039, FIG. 2 depicts an exemplary embodiment of a retail sales system 200 in a store 202 utilizing an embodiment of the environment 100. As shown in FIG. 2, the system 200 can include a computing device 204 (e.g., a server) executing an embodiment of the environment 100, POS terminals 206 distributed throughout the store 202, sensors 208 disposed proximate to the POS terminals 206, sensors 209 disposed proximate to entrances 211, video cameras 210 distributed throughout the store 202, and indicator devices 212 (including light sources 214, display devices 216, audio devices 218, portable electronic devices 220). The computing device 204 can be in (wired and/or wireless communication with the POS terminals 206, sensor 208, video cameras 210, and indicator devices 212 to receive and/or output information/data to the POS terminals 206, sensor 208, video cameras 210, and indicator device 212; Paragraph 0043, Video cameras 210 can capture video of areas including the POS terminals 206. The video analytics can be used to determine a queue length/depth for the queues. For example, in exemplary embodiments, the environment 100 can use video analytics to recognize a quantity of customers waiting in the queues for the POS terminals 206, which can be used by the environment 100 to estimate queue waiting times for the POS terminals 206).
Although Hogg et al. discloses a plurality of first cameras in a checkout area used to determine a queue length/depth for the queues, Hogg et. al does not specifically disclose wherein the cameras distributed throughout the store are being positioned to respectively image operations at one the plurality of checkout terminals in the checkout area.
However, Huang et al. discloses … each first camera being positioned to respectively image operations at one the plurality of checkout terminals in the checkout area (Paragraph 0017, In the illustrated example environment 100, camera 120 is installed near the self-checkout station 105 to capture the customer 115's interaction with the station 105. In some embodiments, the camera 120 may be either wall-mounted or ceiling mounted. In some embodiments, the camera 120 may be strategically positioned towards the station 105's direction, which enables the camera 120 to capture the customer's actions and/or the content displayed on the station's screen 110; Paragraph 0019, In some embodiments, camera 120 may detect the customer's 115 approach to the self-checkout station 105 using motion detection techniques. Upon detection, the camera 120 may send a signal to the central server, indicating the start of a customer interaction. The server, upon receiving the start signal, may instruct the self-checkout station 105 (which is being captured by the reporting camera 120) to start recording a series of images displayed on its screen 110 during the interaction. The image recording may conclude upon receipt of an end signal from the camera 120, indicating the customer has completed their interaction and departed. Following the conclusion, the server may receive the video recording from camera 12, along with the series of images from self-checkout station 105, and store the received data in a database for further analysis)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify surveillance apparatus used to identify status associated with the checkout terminals (e.g., status of the line/queue such as no wait at self-checkout) of the invention of Hogg et al. to further incorporate additional cameras being positioned at one the plurality of checkout terminals in the checkout area of the invention of Huang et al. because doing so would allow the surveillance apparatus to detect whether the customer has completed their interaction and departed (see Huang et al., Paragraph 0019). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 8, which is dependent of claim 7, the combination of Hogg et al. and Huang et al. discloses all the limitations in claim 7. Hogg et al. further discloses wherein the second camera interface is connected to the second camera (Paragraph 0039, FIG. 2 depicts an exemplary embodiment of a retail sales system 200 in a store 202 utilizing an embodiment of the environment 100. As shown in FIG. 2, the system 200 can include a computing device 204 (e.g., a server) executing an embodiment of the environment 100, POS terminals 206 distributed throughout the store 202, sensors 208 disposed proximate to the POS terminals 206, sensors 209 disposed proximate to entrances 211, video cameras 210 distributed throughout the store 202, and indicator devices 212 (including light sources 214, display devices 216, audio devices 218, portable electronic devices 220). The computing device 204 can be in (wired and/or wireless communication with the POS terminals 206, sensor 208, video cameras 210, and indicator devices 212 to receive and/or output information/data to the POS terminals 206, sensor 208, video cameras 210, and indicator device 212).
Regarding claims 9 and 16, which are dependent of claims 1 and 11, the combination of Hogg et al. and Huang et al. discloses all the limitations in claims 1 and 11. Hogg et al. further discloses wherein the communication interface is connected to a display control apparatus which is connected to the plurality of checkout terminals, and the display control apparatus provides the status notifications from the plurality of checkout terminals (Paragraph 0010, In some embodiments, a portable electronic device receives communications to display the indicators on a display of the portable electronic device. In some embodiments the indicators are displayed via at least one display unit in the store; Paragraph 0039, FIG. 2 depicts an exemplary embodiment of a retail sales system 200 in a store 202 utilizing an embodiment of the environment 100. As shown in FIG. 2, the system 200 can include a computing device 204 (e.g., a server) executing an embodiment of the environment 100, POS terminals 206 distributed throughout the store 202, sensors 208 disposed proximate to the POS terminals 206, sensors 209 disposed proximate to entrances 211, video cameras 210 distributed throughout the store 202, and indicator devices 212 (including light sources 214, display devices 216, audio devices 218, portable electronic devices 220). The computing device 204 can be in (wired and/or wireless communication with the POS terminals 206, sensor 208, video cameras 210, and indicator devices 212 to receive and/or output information/data to the POS terminals 206, sensor 208, video cameras 210, and indicator device 212; Paragraph 0045, In some embodiments, the light sources 214 can be disposed proximate to the POS terminals 206 and can be illuminated to provide an indication of queue waiting times for the POS terminals 206; Paragraph 0053, If updated information is available, the environment 100 can process the updated information at step 416 and the process can repeat from step 406. Otherwise, the environment 100 can periodically check for updated information or wait for new information to be provided. When the customer preference/criteria has been satisfied, the management engine 120 can transmit an alert to an electronic device operated by the customer at step 418 to indicate that one or more of the POS terminals have queue characteristics that satisfies the customer preference/criteria. For example, the alert can provide instructions to the electronic device operated by the customer to display one or more indicators associated with the queue characteristics to the customers. For example, no wait at self-checkout, no wait at register five, new register opened).
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hogg et al. (US 2015/0127401 A1), in view of Huang et al. (US 2025/0324164 A1), in further view of Glaser (US 2021/0201431 A1).
Regarding claims 10 and 17, which are dependent of claims 1 and 11, the combination of Hogg et al. and Huang et al. discloses all the limitations in claims 1 and 11. Hogg et al. further discloses wherein the different settlement types include registration followed by cash settlement, registration followed by cashless settlement, and settlement of already registered items (Paragraph 0022, The contemporaneous queue-related information can include contemporaneous (e.g. "real-time") information about the POS terminals and/or the employees operating the POS terminals. Contemporaneous POS terminal information can include, for example, identities of active POS terminals, a location of the active POS terminals in the store (e.g., a Garden department, TLE department, Electronics department, Pharmacy department, Front end, etc.), a type of POS terminal (e.g., terminals configured to weigh items, terminals configured to scan price look-up codes (PLUs), terminals configured for regular item scanning, terminals configured for self-checkout, etc.), peripheral POS terminal equipment at the active POS terminals (e.g., scales, credit/debit card readers, near field communication (NFC) readers, etc.), identities of cashiers currently operating the POS terminals, a current queue depth for the active POS terminals, a current queue density for the active POS terminals (e.g., average quantity of items per customer in the queue), and the like; Paragraph 0049, As one example, the GUIs can allow the customer to specify preferred POS terminal types (e.g., a lane preference types), such as self-checkout terminals, terminals that do not permit credit card transactions, terminals that only permit credit card only transaction, terminals at which tobacco products are available, terminals having a limit on the quantity of items customers can purchase at the terminal per transaction, and/or any other suitable POS terminal types).
Although Hogg et al. discloses different types of POS terminals (e.g., terminals that do not permit credit card transactions, terminals that only permit credit card only transaction), Hogg et. al does not specifically disclose wherein the different settlement types further include settlement of already registered items (e.g., registration via smartphone shoppers application or cart based terminal).
However, Glaser discloses wherein the different settlement types include … and settlement of already registered items (Paragraph 0025, In one preferred implementation, the system and method are used in combination with a monitoring system used for automated or semi-automated checkout. Herein, automated and/or semi-automated checkout is primarily characterized by a system or method that generates or maintains a virtual cart (i.e., a checkout list) during the shopping experience with the objective of tracking the possessed or selected items for billing a customer. The checkout process can occur when a customer is in the process of leaving a store. The checkout process could alternatively occur when any suitable condition for completing a checkout process is satisfied such as when a customer selects a checkout option within an application; Paragraph 0026, A virtual cart may be maintained and tracked during a shopping experience through use of one or more monitoring system. In performing an automated checkout process, the system and method can automatically charge an account of a customer for the total of a shopping cart and/or alternatively automatically present the total transaction for customer completion. Actual execution of a transaction may occur during or after the checkout process in the store. For example, a credit card may be billed after the customer leaves the store. Alternatively, single item or small batch transactions could be executed during the shopping experience. For example, automatic checkout transactions may occur for each item selection event. Checkout transactions may be processed by a checkout processing system through a stored payment mechanism, through an application, through a conventional PoS system, or in any suitable manner; Paragraph 0027, The checkout list can be compiled using computer vision and/or additional monitoring systems. In a semi-automated checkout experience variation, a checkout list or virtual cart may be generated in part or whole for a customer. The act of completing a transaction may involve additional systems. For example, the virtual cart can be synchronized with (or otherwise transmitted to) a point of sale (POS) system manned by a worker so that at least a subset of items can be automatically entered into the POS system thereby alleviating manual entry of the items).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify surveillance apparatus used to identify status associated with different types of checkout terminals (e.g., terminals that do not permit credit card transactions, terminals that only permit credit card only transaction) of the invention of Hogg et al. to further incorporate other types of checkout terminals of the invention of Glaser because doing so would allow the surveillance apparatus to use an automated and/or semi-automated checkout that generates or maintains a virtual cart (i.e., a checkout list) during the shopping experience with the objective of tracking the possessed or selected items for billing a customer, which can be automatically entered into the POS system thereby alleviating manual entry of the items (see Glaser, Paragraphs 0025-0027). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Kouno (US 2025/0104438 A1) – discloses departure detection circuitry 117 detects the departure of the customer, using images taken by the camera 150. For example, the departure detection circuitry 117 detects that the customer has left the checkout device 10 if he/she has moved from within a predetermined area around the checkout device 10 to outside the predetermined area. Alternatively, the departure detection circuitry 117 detects that the customer has left the checkout area A1 when he/she has moved from within the checkout area A1 to outside the checkout area A1 (see at least Paragraph 0096).
Gharabi et al. (US 2025/0232589 A1) – discloses one or more of the pole lights 145 may include or act as status lights, i.e. visual indicators to convey information about usage of associated SSTs 101. For example, they may exhibit lights with different colors to indicate a certain status pertinent to an activity occurred at the respective SST. In an example, one or more of the pole lights 145 may exhibit a green light to indicate that a transaction is completed successfully and SST is ready for the next user or a yellow light to indicate that a checkout process is still in progress at the corresponding SST. Those lights, in that sense, may give users an indication about an ongoing and/or completed checkout process performed at the SSTs. (see at least Paragraph 0046).
名取 香 (JP 6978750 B2) – discloses in the present invention, the following configuration is adopted in order to remotely grasp, monitor, and manage the congestion status around such a POS terminal. First, a plurality of cameras are installed around the POS terminal. Then, the line of shoppers (waiting status at the checkout), the number of products in the shopping cart of each shopper, and the accounting processing operation of the operator of the POS terminal are acquired and managed by the management terminal. As a result, the display makes it possible to provide services such as guiding shoppers to a vacant cash register (POS terminal) and displaying the expected waiting time. In addition, it is an accounting waiting management system that enables countermeasures such as improvement of skill level by re-education for operators of POS terminals whose accounting processing is slow (see at least Description).
/MARJORIE PUJOLS-CRUZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3624