DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 06/10/2025, in which claims 1-20 are presented for the examination.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 06/10/2025 are accepted by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,367,106. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Claims 1, 13, 20 (each recite the same limitations as claim 1) are generic to all that is recited in claim 1 o US Patent No. 12,367,106. That is, claim 1 of US Patent No. 12,367,106 falls entirely within the scope of claim 1. Claims 1, 13, 20 is anticipated by claim 1 of US Patent No. 12,367,106. Dependent claims 2-12, 14-19 are rejected for the same rationale as claim 1.
Instant application 19/234086
US Patent No. 12,367,106
1.A computer-implemented method comprising:
selecting a unit of data of a backup image; determining whether a duplicate unit of data is stored in an existing data storage construct, wherein the duplicate unit of data is a duplicate of the selected unit of data, and wherein the existing data storage construct is stored in immutable storage;
in response to a determination that the duplicate unit of data exists in the existing data storage construct, determining whether the existing data storage construct is designated as being available to be referenced; and
in response to the existing data storage construct being designated as being unavailable to be referenced, storing the unit of data in a new data storage construct.
1.A method comprising: performing an update process on at least one of a plurality of existing data storage constructs, comprising determining a state of the at least one of the plurality of existing data storage constructs, comparing the state of the at least one of the plurality of existing data storage constructs and one or more thresholds determined by performing a threshold determination process, determining whether the state of the at least one of the plurality of existing data storage constructs meets the one or more thresholds, and in response to the state of the at least one of the plurality of existing data storage constructs meeting the one or more thresholds, designating the at least one of the plurality of existing data storage constructs as being unavailable; selecting a unit of data of a backup image; determining whether a duplicate unit of data is stored in an existing data storage construct of the plurality of existing of data storage constructs, wherein the duplicate unit of data is a duplicate of the unit of data, and the existing data storage construct of the plurality of existing of data storage constructs is stored in immutable storage; and in response to a determination that the duplicate unit of data exists in the existing data storage construct of the plurality of existing of data storage constructs, determining whether the existing data storage construct of the plurality of existing of data storage constructs is designated as being available to be referenced, in response to the existing data storage construct of the plurality of existing of data storage constructs being designated as being available to be referenced, updating a reference to the duplicate unit of data, and in response to the existing data storage construct of the plurality of existing of data storage constructs being designated as being unavailable to be referenced, storing the unit of data in a new data storage construct.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 11-14, 18-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under double patenting, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9, 15-17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chhaunker et al. (US 2013/0144846, referred herein after Chhaunker).
As per claim 1, 15, 20, Chhaunker discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
selecting a unit of data of a backup image (Fig. 6, step 610, [0082]-[0084]);
determining whether a duplicate unit of data is stored in an existing data storage construct, wherein the duplicate unit of data is a duplicate of the selected unit of data, and wherein the existing data storage construct is stored in immutable storage (Fig. 6, step 615, 620, [0084]-[0086]);
in response to a determination that the duplicate unit of data exists in the existing data storage construct, (Fig. 6, step 615, 620, “yes” branch);
determining whether the existing data storage construct is designated as being available to be referenced; and ([0022], [0023], [0050], file can have pointers to be referenced);
in response to the existing data storage construct being designated as being unavailable to be referenced, storing the unit of data in a new data storage construct (Fig. 6, step 640, [0086]-[0087], “The file with the latest expiration date is saved in the shared storage as a master copy, and all other files from the group consisting of the file from step 610 and redundant files from steps 615 and 620, except for the file saved as the master copy, are deleted and replaced with a soft link that points to the master copy”).
As per claim 2, 16, Chhaunker discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising, in response to the existing data storage construct being designated as being unavailable to be referenced, updating a reference to the duplicate unit of data, wherein the backup image comprises the reference (Fig. 6, step 635, [0085], “saving the immutable file as the master copy, updating immutability information for the master file, and changing mutable redundant copies to point to the master copy”).
As per claim 3, 17, Chhaunker discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising, in response to the existing data storage construct being designated as being available to be referenced, updating a reference to the duplicate unit of data (Fig. 6, step 635, [0085], soft link (ie reference) pointer to master copy is saved).
As per claim 6, Chhaunker discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein: the backup image is one of a plurality of backup images; and the immutable storage periodically permits deletion of the existing data storage construct (Fig. 6, [0021]-[0023], “the deduplication agent deletes the mutable file and points it to the immutable file which is saved as the master copy”).
As per claim 7, Chhaunker discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 6, further comprising deleting the existing data storage construct if none of the plurality of backup images comprise references to the existing data storage construct (Fig. 6, [0021]-[0023], “the deduplication agent deletes the mutable file and points it to the immutable file which is saved as the master copy”).
As per claim 9, Chhaunker discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 8, further comprising: determining whether the existing data storage construct is designated as being available; and in response to a determination that the existing data storage construct is designated as being available, performing an update process on the existing data storage construct (Fig. 6, [0084], [0085]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chhaunker in view of Cannon et al. (US 20090125572, referred herein as Cannon)..
As per claim 10, Chhaunker does not specifically discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 9, wherein determining the one or more thresholds comprises: determining a retention period of a new container stored in the immutable storage; and determining a remaining retention period, wherein the remaining retention period is a portion of a retention period remaining for the existing data storage construct;
However, Cannon discloses determining the one or more thresholds comprises: determining a retention period of a new container stored in the immutable storage; and (Fig. 2, step 22, [0029], [0030], volume retention period is established);
determining a remaining retention period, wherein the remaining retention period is a portion of a retention period remaining for the existing data storage construct (Fig. 2, step 24, 26, [0030]-[0031]);
Therefore it would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Canon’s method for managing retention of data on WORM disk media into Chhaunker’s method of managing redundant immutable files using deduplication in storage because one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to protect the data from overwrites and deletes.
As per claim 8, Chhaunker does not specifically discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises determining one or more thresholds associated with the existing data storage construct;
However, Cannon discloses determining one or more thresholds associated with the existing data storage construct ([0011], [0012], [0028]-[0031]);
Therefore it would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Canon’s method for managing retention of data on WORM disk media into Chhaunker’s method of managing redundant immutable files using deduplication in storage because one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to protect the data from overwrites and deletes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form 892.
Fischer-Toubol teaches a method that relates to space reclamation in a data deduplication storage system.
Zhang teaches a deduplication storage system with efficient reference updating and space reclamation.
/KAMINI B PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2114