DETAILED ACTION
2. This action is in response to application filed on 8/19/2026, in which claims 21, 28, and 35 was amended, and claims 21 – 40 was presented for further examination.
3. Claims 21 – 40 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21 - 40 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Remarks
5. As amended claims 21, 28, and 35, applicant argues in substance in pages 10 – 12 that Bendig et al (US 2017/0220615 A1) and Miranker (US 2012/0179644 A1) does not disclose wherein the query received at the edge location of the content delivery network to insert the data into the source table of the database of the origin server of the content delivery network is translated from an origin format of the database of the origin server into a native format of an edge datastore at the edge location that comprises the local table and the data is inserted according to the translated query into the local table of the edge datastore instead of the source table of the origin server.
In response to applicants’ argument, Examiner respectfully responds that the combine teaching of Bendig et al (US 2017/0220615 A1) and Wang et al (US 2003/0174648 A1) specifically disclose wherein the query received at the edge location of the content delivery network to insert the data into the source table of the database of the origin server of the content delivery network is translated from an origin format of the database of the origin server into a native format of an edge datastore at the edge location that comprises the local table and the data is inserted according to the translated query into the local table of the edge datastore instead of the source table of the origin server (Wang: para.[0263]).
Wang discloses content delivery system in which content are transmitted from web server to edge server upon request. The user location determines which edge server should be used to service the request (see para.[0059]). A query is directed to edge server, the edge server accepts the query, translate the query to appropriate format, and process the query. The retrieved result is translated back to the format of the received query and send to requesting entity (see para.[0263]).
Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Double Patenting
Claim 21 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,089,136 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patentable claim encompassed the limitation of instant application. The patent claim provides further detail of some of the claimed limitation in the instant application. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the functions that includes “local table of an edge datastore at the edge location that the function specified by the user input is to be assigned read and write access to via a datastore engine external to the isolated execution environment of the function, wherein the datastore engine and the edge datastore are external to the isolated execution environment and are hosted by the same edge server, and in response to reception, by the datastore engine from the function specified by the user input, of the request to insert the data into the local table of the edge datastore, wherein the data inserted into the local table of the edge location remains local to the edge location of the content delivery network without insertion of the data into the corresponding source table of the origin server of the content delivery network” in order to provide an explanatory process for executing each claimed limitation.
Instant Application #: 19/234,131
Patent Application #: US 11,089,136 B1
21. A system, comprising: one or more computing devices of an edge location of a content delivery network, wherein the one or more computing devices are configured to: receive at the edge location, a query from a remote client to insert data into a source table of a database of an origin server of the content delivery network; encounter an event during processing of the query to insert the data; in response to the encountering of the event: execute a function at the edge location; and provide, by the function to a datastore engine at the edge location, a request to insert the data into [[the]]a local table, wherein the local table includes data sourced from the source table of the database of the origin server; and in response to reception, by the datastore engine, of the request to insert the data into the local table, insert the data into the local table, wherein the query received at the edge location of the content delivery network to insert the data into the source table of the database of the origin server of the content delivery network is translated from an origin format of the database of the origin server into a native format of [[the]]an edge datastore at the edge location that comprises the local table and the data is inserted according to the translated query into the local table of the edge datastore instead of the source table of the origin server.
1. A system for implementing writes to local tables at an edge location, comprising: at least one origin server of a content delivery network, wherein the at least one origin server is configured to implement a plurality of databases with different respective schemas, and wherein the plurality of databases are accessible to a plurality of clients of the content delivery network; a configuration server of the content delivery network, wherein the configuration server is configured to: receive user input, via a management interface, a specification for one or more functions, wherein for a function of the one or more functions,
the specification indicates at least: an event that, when encountered at the edge location, will cause the function specified by the user input to execute within an isolated execution environment; and a local table of an edge datastore at the edge location that the function specified by the user input is to be assigned read and write access to via a datastore engine external to the isolated execution environment of the function; and an edge server at the edge location of the content delivery network, wherein the edge server is configured to: receive, from a remote client of the content delivery network, a query to insert data into a source table of a database of the plurality of databases of the origin server; encounter the event during processing of the query; and in response to the encountering of the event, execute the function in the isolated execution environment, wherein the function is configured to: provide, to the datastore engine, a request to insert the data into the local table of the edge datastore, wherein the local table includes data sourced from the source table of the database of the origin server, wherein the datastore engine and the edge datastore are external to the isolated execution environment and are hosted by the same edge server that executes the function in response to encountering the event during processing of the query received from the remote client of the content delivery network; and in response to reception, by the datastore engine from the function specified by the user input, of the request to insert the data into the local table of the edge datastore, insert the data into the local table of the edge datastore, wherein, based on identification of the database of the origin server as a target database of the query to insert the data into the source table of the database, the query to insert data into the source table of the origin server that was received from the remote client by the edge server of the content delivery network is translated from an origin format of the database of the origin server of the content delivery network into a native format of the edge datastore of the edge server of the same content delivery network and the data is inserted according to the translated query into the local table of the edge location instead of being inserted into the source table of the database, and wherein the data inserted into the local table of the edge location remains local to the edge location of the content delivery network without insertion of the data into the corresponding source table of the origin server of the content delivery network.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 21 – 25, 28 – 32, and 35 – 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bendig et al (US 2017/0220615 A1), in view of Wang et al (US 2003/0174648 A1).
As per claim 1, Bendig et al (US 2017/0220615 A1) discloses,
A system, comprising: one or more computing devices of an edge location of a content delivery network (para,[0023]; “server 108 may include a physical server providing one or more services to client devices”).
wherein the one or more computing devices are configured to: receive at the edge location, a query from a remote client to insert data into a source table of a database of an origin server of the content delivery network (para.[0024]; “initiate operations to provide consumer data in response to a received request to create ( or manage) a data table …….request may be received through a communication module of the data collaboration service 102 from a client application 103 executed by the client device”).
encounter an event during processing of the query to insert the data, in response to the encountering of the event: execute a function at the edge location (para.[0032]; “interact with a client application 203 to do a variety of functions associated with the consumer such as social networking, work tasks”).
and provide, by the function to a datastore engine at the edge location, a request to insert the data into a local table (para.[0032]; “client application 203 may generate a request to create a data table 205 in relation to the interactions by the consumer”).
wherein the local table includes data sourced from the source table of the database of the origin server (para.[0025]; “local data set may retrieved from the
location and the range within the local data source”).
and in response to reception, by the datastore engine, of the request to insert the data into the local table, insert the data into the local table (para.[0032]; “data queries may also include datasets to populate local data fields to be inserted into the data table” and para.[0034]; “the local data field may be inserted into the data table 205. The local data field may also be populated with a corresponding local data set identified in the data query”).
Bendig does not specifically disclose wherein the query received at the edge location of the content delivery network to insert the data into the source table of the database of the origin server of the content delivery network is translated from an origin format of the database of the origin server into a native format of an edge datastore at the edge location that comprises the local table and the data is inserted according to the translated query into the local table of the edge datastore instead of the source table of the origin server.
However, Wang et al (US 2003/0174648 A1) in an analogous art discloses,
wherein the query received at the edge location of the content delivery network to insert the data into the source table of the database of the origin server of the content delivery network is translated from an origin format of the database of the origin server into a native format of an edge datastore at the edge location that comprises the local table and the data is inserted according to the translated query into the local table of the edge datastore instead of the source table of the origin server (para.[0263]; “queries the contents on each Edge Server for each request it received. ……. Edge Server accepts the content queries and translates them into the cache query so the cache can process it. It translates the cache query results into a language, which is understandable by the Content Locator as well”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate query translation of the system of Wang into the structural creation of a database table of the system of Bendig for enabling users to retrieve information from edge server without having to write the query in the format of the remote database.
As per claim 22, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated and further Wang et al (US 2003/0174648 A1) discloses,
wherein the query to insert the data is translated from the origin format of the database of the origin server into the native format of the edge datastore based on identification of the database of the origin server as a target database of the query to insert the data (para.[0263]; “queries the contents on each Edge Server for each request it received. ……. Edge Server accepts the content queries and translates them into the cache query so the cache can process it. It translates the cache query results into a language, which is understandable by the Content Locator as well”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate query translation of the system of Wang into the structural creation of a database table of the system of Bendig for enabling users to retrieve information from edge server without having to write the query in the format of the remote database.
As per claim 23, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated and further Bendig et al (US 2017/0220615 A1) discloses,
wherein to provide, by the function to a datastore engine, a request to insert data into the local table, the one or more computing devices (para.[0032]; “data queries may also include datasets to populate local data fields to be inserted into the data table” and para.[0034]; “the local data field may be inserted into the data table 205. The local data field may also be populated with a corresponding local data set identified in the data query”).
are configured to: provide, to the datastore engine via an application programming interface (API) of the datastore engine, an identifier of the table, a key to be inserted into the local table, and a value to be inserted into the local table (para.[0021]; “application programming interface (API) may be a set of routines, protocols, and tools for an application or service that enable the application or service to interact” and para.[0034]; “the local data field may be inserted into the data table 205. The local data field may also be populated with a corresponding local data set identified in the data query”).
.
As per claim 24, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated and further Bendig et al (US 2017/0220615 A1) discloses,
wherein the one or more computing devices are further configured to: prior to the providing of the request to insert the data into the local table of the edge datastore, provide, to the datastore engine, a request to create the local table and in response to reception, by the datastore engine, of the request to create the local table, create the local table of the edge datastore (para.[0032]; “data queries may also include datasets to populate local data fields to be inserted into the data table” and para.[0034]; “the local data field may be inserted into the data table 205. The local data field may also be populated with a corresponding local data set identified in the data query”).
.
As per claim 25, the rejection of claim 24 is incorporated and further Bendig et al (US 2017/0220615 A1) discloses,
wherein to provide, to the datastore engine, a request to create the local table, the one or more computing devices are configured to: provide, to the datastore engine via an API of the datastore engine, an identifier of the local table and a source for the local table (para.[0021]; “application programming interface (API) may be a set of routines, protocols, and tools for an application or service that enable the application or service to interact” and para.[0025]; “request may include a consumer identification of the consumer 110 and data queries. The consumer 110 may include an individual consumer and a group of consumers. Next, the data collaboration service 102 may create a data table 105 based on the description(s) in the data queries”).
Claims 28 – 32 are method claim corresponding to system claims 21 – 25 respectively, and rejected under the same reason set forth in connection to the rejection of claims 21 – 25 respectively above.
Claims 35 – 39 are non-transitory computer-accessible storage media claim corresponding to system claims 21 – 25 respectively, and rejected under the same reason set forth in connection to the rejection of claims 21 – 25 respectively above.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 26 – 27, 33 – 34, and 40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUGUSTINE K. OBISESAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2156
11/4/2026